Saints vs. dons - sat 1230

Just now, rocket_scientist said:

Aye we ken that but you don't bullshit, neither in what you post nor having great bullshit within your person.

Usually. First time for everything ?

Trust me Rocket

I'm full of shit

Normally had a couple o' dumps before 9am ?

Just now, BigAl said:

Trust me Rocket

I'm full of shit

Normally had a couple o' dumps before 9am ?

That's unusual, I would've thought. Not that I've canvassed dumping patterns of old cunts like us.

Aye we're all full of it from time to time. The catharsis of ridding ourselves of waste and not hanging around with wasters - the continuously negative fuckers and professional complainers are the saddest in my opinion - is a beautiful thing

18 minutes ago, royal deeside cowie said:

Keep it on topic, chaps

Like you did with your first post addressed to me, where you pretended we knew each other and you made references to my wife?

Given that 10 of your total 14 posts have been addressed to one poster (me) without any semblance of topic-keeping, you got some real serious creepery about ye. Weirdo. 

It's my understanding that the 8 are Anderson, Kennedy, Ojo, Ferguson, McGeouch, Bryson, McKenna, and Devlin. So, for the accies game I'm thinking -

Hernandez-Taylor-Hoban-Logan

Campbell-Virtanen

Hedges-McGinn-Hayes

Edmonson

Still enough to beat accies I think, plus surely this group can sit deep for the whole game and punt long hopeless balls up near a forward. Ugh. Great opportunity for Campbell and even Virtanen to make a statement, especially since we were so pish in midfield against the huns. In all honesty, I'd rather see McGinn up top and Wright or McLennan come in, either at 10 or wide with Hedges at 10. I'd hope we'd play more football with McGinn up front but that didn't happen with Anderson there against the huns.

Edited by LA-Don

21 hours ago, ayrshire_don74 said:

Really, what a load of simpering obsequious nonsense.

Bryson, Mcgeoch were there senior seasoned professionals who should know far better. Give Mcgeoch is coming back from injury makes it even more bewildering. They have been given dispensation to create a sports bubble in order for them to do their job, they blew it.

Fair doos min. Each to their own, but your suggestion of obsequiousness would be countered by me suggesting that yours, and others, reaction is evidence free, hand wringing and hysterical. The moral outrage flying around over this is social-media-age weird. Or I'm missing some key information. If I am, then it's because this thread is completely evidence-free and so was the information provided by Sturgeon. Can anyone tell me what actually happened and in what way it broke the rules of the "social bubble"? From the only photo that appears to be circulating, the players were sitting in a pub at a pre-booked (I'm guessing, given pub capacities) table in a group larger than that allowed for the general public (which I assumed the social bubble dispensation allowed; they'd spent the entire day together on a fitba pitch after all). Can anyone say which rule was broken? Are you allowed to socialise with 10 others only on a fitba pitch? Not allowed in pubs? Is there any ambiguity at all over the rules? Has anyone seen a copy of the rules? Should I be reporting any footballer I see out in a restaurant on their own or with family? Should I report three fitba players in a pub together? What I find outrageous is that the leader of a country can give people a telling off like some over-bearing mother without actually making clear what rule has been broken, and that no "journalist" saw fit to ask. It will - definitely - result in footballers being harassed for being in public together despite being within the rules. Feel free to disagree, of course, but if you're going to then tell me exactly what the rules of the social bubble are and exactly which rule they've broken. If anyone has any evidence of players partying until 3am, with their arms round the general public whilst off their tits, then please share. Something that would take a minor infringement, perhaps even misunderstanding of the rules, to a real offence deserving of the level of outrage. Again, I'm not saying they didn't make a mistake, I'm just questioning the gravity and the disproportionate outrage (if 5 Hibs players did the same in Edinburgh at the weekend, they'd have been fine because there wasn't a covid outbreak there, for example).

I think this has to be looked at from a 'common sense' point of view

I am working from home because my employer has deemed it is safer than having everyone back in the office. Site visits are restricted and risk assessed and any meetings with Clients are done over skype etc
Technology allows me to do this.
On the front line of my industry, building sites are (or at least are meant to be) restricted to specific numbers of workers with strict protocols, and given so many people in the construction trade are self employed it is in their interest to minimise their risk of catching the virus as if they do get it, they wont be allowed anywhere near a building site, so will lose their income, and potentially even lose their subcontractor role. The phrase 'don't fuck with your livelihood' springs to mind.

Professional footballers much like construction workers, can't work from home and to allow to them to continue working there are specific protocols they have to follow to prevent them spreading the virus not just amongst their colleagues but also against others they come into contact with IE opposition players & club officials. Its not a coincidence only the SPL has been allowed to start again.

For all we know both players in question could have actually caught it from a neighbour, a relative or even a trip to the supermarket which can be classed as 'acceptable risks' and given the clubs apparent testing protocol they would have just been told to go home on the assumption the only time they had been near a fellow player was at the Sevco match and/or training ground.
However they chose to go to a packed city centre pub where social distancing was effectivelly impossible especially given their local celebrity status, eveyone's friend alcohol and how shocking their performance was against the clubs biggest rivals (angry fans wanting a word). That is not an acceptable risk and as I see it could potentially be argued constitutes gross professional misconduct.

I seriously doubt my employer would accept it if 7 colleagues and I all went out boozing, caught the virus and couldn't to our job for 14 days, embarassed the company, inconvenienced clients and so on. They might not be able to sack us all but it would certainly be an official warning and should redundancies be required our names would move to the top of the list.

Generic PR statement from whoever looks after that side of things at the club, probably a 3rd Party firm.

I think they were gipes, I don't have an issue with them going out for a beer after a game as regardless ofthe score they are mainly non Aberdeen fans and don't feel the hurt we do with a defeat, footballers playing at a higher level would take defeat personally, but I doubt much of our boys do, hence we don't win fuck all.

I think they misjudged the situation badly and after having football taken away from us for so long it is rather sad that after one game it was taken away from us again due to the action of players at our club. I could have accepted the younger lads doing it and if had happened under the Fergie era, you would have imagined Tattie Cooper would have been first at the door of the nightclub, but the fact guys like Hayes and Bryson, coming to the later stages of their career really should have known better and could have set a better example.

7 hours ago, tom_widdows said:

I think this has to be looked at from a 'common sense' point of view

I am working from home because my employer has deemed it is safer than having everyone back in the office. Site visits are restricted and risk assessed and any meetings with Clients are done over skype etc
Technology allows me to do this.
On the front line of my industry, building sites are (or at least are meant to be) restricted to specific numbers of workers with strict protocols, and given so many people in the construction trade are self employed it is in their interest to minimise their risk of catching the virus as if they do get it, they wont be allowed anywhere near a building site, so will lose their income, and potentially even lose their subcontractor role. The phrase 'don't fuck with your livelihood' springs to mind.

Professional footballers much like construction workers, can't work from home and to allow to them to continue working there are specific protocols they have to follow to prevent them spreading the virus not just amongst their colleagues but also against others they come into contact with IE opposition players & club officials. Its not a coincidence only the SPL has been allowed to start again.

For all we know both players in question could have actually caught it from a neighbour, a relative or even a trip to the supermarket which can be classed as 'acceptable risks' and given the clubs apparent testing protocol they would have just been told to go home on the assumption the only time they had been near a fellow player was at the Sevco match and/or training ground.
However they chose to go to a packed city centre pub where social distancing was effectivelly impossible especially given their local celebrity status, eveyone's friend alcohol and how shocking their performance was against the clubs biggest rivals (angry fans wanting a word). That is not an acceptable risk and as I see it could potentially be argued constitutes gross professional misconduct.

I seriously doubt my employer would accept it if 7 colleagues and I all went out boozing, caught the virus and couldn't to our job for 14 days, embarassed the company, inconvenienced clients and so on. They might not be able to sack us all but it would certainly be an official warning and should redundancies be required our names would move to the top of the list.

No, it doesn't have to be looked at with common sense. That's the whole point about the coronavirus, what we think is safe and common sense (we're sitting at a table, everyone will be socially distanced, we've been together all day anyway etc) is not applicable. That's exactly why the hand wringing pish has to stop. It's like listening to folk (not you tw) who two months ago were grassing on their neighbours for taking two walks, the hysteria that's been raised. The only rule that they broke was going out in an 8. Three groups of three could have gone to that very same pub at different tables and been within the rules, but would still have got the virus (in other words, breaking the rules had no bearing). It's a very, very minor transgression that has had a large impact. It's like driving at 35 in a 30 and hitting a dog that ran out in front of you. We've all done it, but most have us haven't hit the dog. I went to the park yesterday in a covid free part of the country and there were folk of all ages queuing for ice creams and a train ride. Bunched together, most without masks. I can guarantee they weren't all office workers. They would have all thought that "common sense" would dictate that because they were outside they'd be fine. Had there been a spreader in the queue, I'm almost certain they wouldn't have been. The players had a table for something to eat in a pub. The likelihood is that pub wouldn't have been busy when they went in, hence they got a table. I've heard from various people that soul bar (which I believe is where they were), was allowing people from different parties to share tables because they were busy (this could be gossip of course). They allowed a massive queue to build up outside (as per photos). There should be no queues at any bar, full stop. Sounds to me like the pub were most at fault here, putting their customers completely at risk through bad practice (common sense, some would say). They're a business that's had to close it's doors entirely because it didn't do what the people would declare common sense. They made a mistake, just like most folk. There'll be plenty more on the way. Sturgeon talked about not putting the blame on folk, before blaming the Aberdeen players. I think the player's statement was very good, I'd have been a bit more aggressive given the hysterical reaction and the singling out by Nicola Sturgeon. She should have said: "this virus doesn't respect common sense. You might think that the rules defy common sense. This incident shows that a relatively innocuous thing can have a major impact when plotted across several people in several locations. It highlights the need to not waver even slightly from the rules, because they are there for a reason". Or words to that effect. I think her reaction was pathetic, the sort of thing I'd expect from deflector in chief fae doon in Westminster. She could really have used the dons players' example to get people to really think about what they're doing. As I say, a minor incident with a major(ish) impact. I'd be saying the same if it was another club too, I'm nae some nut job partisan AFC wank.

51 minutes ago, BigAl said:

Just heard McInnes interview on STV

"We are without three centre halfs and four centre forwards"

Right get the centre half's part as he has played three in a game before but the four centre forwards

I mean seriously Derek ?

I'm assuming he didn't mean he'd have played them all, just that we're down to our fifth choice, which is mental really. Who is that anyway? Ruth? Get him in.

I'm guessing he'll go with McGinn, or something wild like Ferguson.

16 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

I'm assuming he didn't mean he'd have played them all, just that we're down to our fifth choice, which is mental really. Who is that anyway? Ruth? Get him in.

I'm guessing he'll go with McGinn, or something wild like Ferguson.

Aye I ken Rico.

Trust me I was taking the piss about the four centre forwards mate.

Personally I would put McGinn up top tomorrow night 

Waiting for a central defensive pairing of McCrorie and Considine, and big Ash up top. Although, is Andy suspended? Anyone else up top and it's the little guy chasing long high wasted balls, much like the last game with Anderson. Tactics won't be changed so big Ash makes sense!!

24 minutes ago, LA-Don said:

Waiting for a central defensive pairing of McCrorie and Considine, and big Ash up top. Although, is Andy suspended? Anyone else up top and it's the little guy chasing long high wasted balls, much like the last game with Anderson. Tactics won't be changed so big Ash makes sense!!

Considine is suspended. I suspect McGinn will be one chasing long balls.

It was "leaked" last week that Ferguson was to be our striker against Hamilton before it was postponed. I expect that will be the plan tonight as well. 

I'd go with                             Lewis

Hernandez, Taylor, Hoban, MacKenzie

McCrorie, Campbell

Kennedy, McGinn, Hayes

Ferguson

In reality, I expect Campbell at left  back rather than Mackenzie. No great problems with that other than it takes away showing MacKenzie that there is a definite pathway into the first team. And likely Ojo given a chance to redeem himself in defensive midfield. 

34 minutes ago, Ten Caat said:

It was "leaked" last week that Ferguson was to be our striker against Hamilton before it was postponed. I expect that will be the plan tonight as well. 

I'd go with                             Lewis

Hernandez, Taylor, Hoban, MacKenzie

McCrorie, Campbell

Kennedy, McGinn, Hayes

Ferguson

In reality, I expect Campbell at left  back rather than Mackenzie. No great problems with that other than it takes away showing MacKenzie that there is a definite pathway into the first team. And likely Ojo given a chance to redeem himself in defensive midfield. 

Not adverse to that selection TC.

Might however swap Ferguson and McGinn around.

Of course we might have the wild card of a new striker in prior to kick off