manc_don Posted July 6, 2019 Share Posted July 6, 2019 Send him to a prem club on loan. See if he can get his mojo back. We're not going to get enough of a fee back. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted July 6, 2019 Share Posted July 6, 2019 Send him to a prem club on loan. See if he can get his mojo back. We're not going to get enough of a fee back. It would have to be a hell of an improvement to see him anywhere near our first team. The reverse is that if he goes somewhere and does nothing (which is currently the most likely scenario given the last 4 years of his career) then even fewer clubs will be willing to take a punt on him, thus we only get 10% of his salary covered, as opposed to the 20-40% we might get by getting rid now. He's not been unprofessional in any way whilst here, just nae been good enough. Offload him and reduce the numbers in the squad thus giving Anderson a chance. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DantheDon Posted July 6, 2019 Share Posted July 6, 2019 Whether May can recapture any kind of goalscoring form after moving on will be interesting to see. But here he will be wasted like Stewart as he isnt suited to our system. Hes tried hard and you cant fault his workrate but hes not a natural finisher. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ayrshire_don74 Posted July 6, 2019 Share Posted July 6, 2019 what goal scoring form ? one season at top level Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DantheDon Posted July 6, 2019 Share Posted July 6, 2019 what goal scoring form ? one season at top level Yeah, and a couple at a lower level. When you look at it its not a lot but he was doing well at that point. I cant really put my finger on why it worked out for him then but not now. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LA-Don Posted July 6, 2019 Share Posted July 6, 2019 Yeah, and a couple at a lower level. When you look at it its not a lot but he was doing well at that point. I cant really put my finger on why it worked out for him then but not now. The guy was young, fit, injury free, and full of confidence. We signed a damaged man, health wise and psychologically. Sad to see the decline but it happens. Not unlike the James Wilson story, cruciate injury and he’s gone from Man Utd to squad player in Scotland. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DantheDon Posted July 6, 2019 Share Posted July 6, 2019 The guy was young, fit, injury free, and full of confidence. We signed a damaged man, health wise and psychologically. Sad to see the decline but it happens. Not unlike the James Wilson story, cruciate injury and he’s gone from Man Utd to squad player in Scotland. You are probably right, It makes you think maybe that is what is wrong with our approach to recruitment in general. Look at the players who went on to do well with us and most of them were on an upward trajectory. Think Severin, Hayes, Mcginn, Maclean etc. Of course there are exceptions, Rooney being the stand-out. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted July 7, 2019 Share Posted July 7, 2019 ...as he isnt suited to our system What is "our system"? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chris Frae Killie Posted July 7, 2019 Share Posted July 7, 2019 What is "our system"? It is an interesting question! When we had Hates and McGinn playing on top form, we played a system where we attacked teams down the flanks and it was very entertaining to watch. Since we lost both of them (I know McGinn is back) we lost our width and became a more defensive 1 up front long ball team. Hopefully this new full back and winter can give us more width along with Wright finally showing what he can do on a consistent basis. It has the makings of an exciting system! "It's the hope that kills us!" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
redordead Posted July 7, 2019 Share Posted July 7, 2019 What is our system is a great question. Last season I'm not even sure that the players knew. So far it looks like much of the same with new personnel. I'm hoping that wright finally gets a run as he is for me the most creative player we have. I've also thought that Gallagher looks good from what I've seen. For me the big issue is, do we bench Sam and try to play on the ground and create more with Wilson , wright, Gallagher and McLennan? All very mobile.Or do we hope that Sam will start winning long balls and rely on him to score all our goals again. A tactic that seen some of the worst football that I can remember last season. No slight to Sam as he hit the newel for a period. Derek also clearly rates Main, I don't see where he fits in unless we go 2 up front. Does anybody else have an idea of how we will line up? You'd expect Thursday to be an indicator. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
KennyFuckinPowers Posted July 7, 2019 Author Share Posted July 7, 2019 What is our system is a great question. Last season I'm not even sure that the players knew. So far it looks like much of the same with new personnel. I'm hoping that wright finally gets a run as he is for me the most creative player we have. I've also thought that Gallagher looks good from what I've seen. For me the big issue is, do we bench Sam and try to play on the ground and create more with Wilson , wright, Gallagher and McLennan? All very mobile.Or do we hope that Sam will start winning long balls and rely on him to score all our goals again. A tactic that seen some of the worst football that I can remember last season. No slight to Sam as he hit the newel for a period. Derek also clearly rates Main, I don't see where he fits in unless we go 2 up front. Does anybody else have an idea of how we will line up? You'd expect Thursday to be an indicator. The guy scored 21 goals last season. And he's also far more effective when the ball is actually played to his feet. We should have Main or Wilson playing off of him, like we should have done with Stewart last season. Fuck Stewart though, he's not our player. Cosgrove is, as it stands, our most effective forward, our manager just seems to enjoy punting the ball, something we didn't do, or certainly not as much, when we had a trio of Hayes, McGinn & Rooney. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted July 8, 2019 Share Posted July 8, 2019 Frank Ross off to Ayr Utd on six month loan Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jute Posted July 8, 2019 Share Posted July 8, 2019 Frank Ross off to Ayr Utd on six month loan Will do him good as he needs game time. Looked decent at start of last season before he got injured. Just noticed David Dangana also out on loan to Stranraer. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wee toon red Posted July 8, 2019 Share Posted July 8, 2019 Either the loan will do Ross good or prove that he isn’t up to it with us. He is that young any more so needs regular football somewhere. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted July 8, 2019 Share Posted July 8, 2019 Been unlucky with injury, but I don't think Frank Ross will make it like, he's nae quite got enough pace and I think that'll do it for a player in his position. Similar level to Cammy Smith in my opinion. Ethan Ross has the attributes to make it I reckon. If Frank could trick Ethan into going to Ayr instead of him, then he might get some game time before McInnes notices. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted July 9, 2019 Share Posted July 9, 2019 Should loan Stevie May to Cove until January so he can bang a few in down in league 2, also means he doesn’t have to move. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ten Caat Posted July 9, 2019 Share Posted July 9, 2019 If he went to St J (or one of the Dundee clubs) he wouldn't really have to move either. Wherever he ends up I hope it works out well for the loon. It hasn't worked out for him with us but no one can ever question his attitude Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
KennyFuckinPowers Posted July 10, 2019 Author Share Posted July 10, 2019 This Dylan McGeouch saga is dragging on. According to Richard Gordon last night, we have had an offer accepted for him. Yesterday though, here is an article with Jack Ross, claiming he wants McGeouch to stay and claims McGeouch himself wants to stay. https://www.sunderlandecho.com/sport/football/sunderland-afc/latest-sunderland-afc-news/jack-ross-reveals-the-latest-on-dylan-mcgeouchs-sunderland-future-451969 I know things change quickly in Football, but this is dragging on, I was told we had an offer for him accepted over a week ago, but he rejected our contract, which was a 4 year contract, then we tried to go down the Loan route, but would appear he's maybe had a change of heart and wants to come permanently. I have a feeling we'll sign him one way or another, be it permanently or a loan, but I hope he's not holding us to ransom, maybe hoping someone else comes in for him or that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
redordead Posted July 10, 2019 Share Posted July 10, 2019 McGeouch really doesn't excite me. I'm thinking that fergie and Bryson will play Defensive centre. Surely we have enough options to play behind the striker if DMC would make up his mind. Wright could play there, as could ean ever slowing McGinn, or Gallagher or God forbid we play Wilson off the striker where he can make runs. What we need is a back up defensive CM. I thought that when bigrimana was released, that he was ideal and had given us a hard time in the past. Don't know why he never pushed on last season. Face didn't fit possibly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ten Caat Posted July 10, 2019 Share Posted July 10, 2019 I was against signing him last summer and when I heard we were after him again was totally underwhelmed. It's a strange situation all round, even his contract at Sunderland was only for 12 months but with either Sunderland or the player himself able to invoke a further 12 months if they wished to do so and I believe it was the club who chose to invoke it. I think it's quite obvious they were hoping to net themselves a fee by doing so, but McGeouch himself is now demanding that Sunderland cough up a percentage of this and Sunderland aren't playing ball. He is supposedly on £8k/week down there....I don't think we would stretch to that for him (I've no doubt we could just don't think we would in his case) which is why he will be wanting Sunderland to give him a pay-off. Why would he move to take a pay cut? It's my belief he (or his agent) is using our interest to try to drum up further interest. I'm fairly certain he views us a last resort option. Just dont think he fancies moving up north. I think if Hibs matched our offer, as I don't doubt they could, he would jump at it assuming he could get Sunderland to give him a pay-off (or have the buying club give him a signing on fee to cover what he would lose out on wages wise). However the new Hibs boss supposedly isn't interested, so with the Old Infirm not likely to be interested either and Hearts equally unlikely to be interested, the only option for him is likely to be another English club or head abroad to maintain the level of wages he is expecting. To my mind he has fucked us around once too often and we should be looking elsewhere, but DM sees something in him that I don't so wouldn't surprise me to see him signing on reluctantlyin a few weeks time once he realises he has no interest elsewhere. But I'm hoping we pull a rabbit out the fire in the interim and leave the baldy wee c@nt stewing for a year in the Sunderland reserves. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted July 10, 2019 Share Posted July 10, 2019 I was against signing him last summer and when I heard we were after him again was totally underwhelmed. It's a strange situation all round, even his contract at Sunderland was only for 12 months but with either Sunderland or the player himself able to invoke a further 12 months if they wished to do so and I believe it was the club who chose to invoke it. I think it's quite obvious they were hoping to net themselves a fee by doing so, but McGeouch himself is now demanding that Sunderland cough up a percentage of this and Sunderland aren't playing ball. He is supposedly on £8k/week down there....I don't think we would stretch to that for him (I've no doubt we could just don't think we would in his case) which is why he will be wanting Sunderland to give him a pay-off. Why would he move to take a pay cut? It's my belief he (or his agent) is using our interest to try to drum up further interest. I'm fairly certain he views us a last resort option. Just dont think he fancies moving up north. I think if Hibs matched our offer, as I don't doubt they could, he would jump at it assuming he could get Sunderland to give him a pay-off (or have the buying club give him a signing on fee to cover what he would lose out on wages wise). However the new Hibs boss supposedly isn't interested, so with the Old Infirm not likely to be interested either and Hearts equally unlikely to be interested, the only option for him is likely to be another English club or head abroad to maintain the level of wages he is expecting. To my mind he has fucked us around once too often and we should be looking elsewhere, but DM sees something in him that I don't so wouldn't surprise me to see him signing on reluctantlyin a few weeks time once he realises he has no interest elsewhere. But I'm hoping we pull a rabbit out the fire in the interim and leave the baldy wee c@nt stewing for a year in the Sunderland reserves. Do we really need players to be absolutely committed to the dons as their number one choice without looking at any other options or assessing their personal situation? If it takes a few weeks, then it takes a few weeks. It's quite a big decision to move town, especially if there is family involved, so a few extra days isn't the end of the world. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ten Caat Posted July 10, 2019 Share Posted July 10, 2019 Do we really need players to be absolutely committed to the dons as their number one choice without looking at any other options or assessing their personal situation? If it takes a few weeks, then it takes a few weeks. It's quite a big decision to move town, especially if there is family involved, so a few extra days isn't the end of the world. Yes we do We should have learned from the magoo fiasco. I don't want us being anyones back up option Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant Posted July 10, 2019 Share Posted July 10, 2019 Yes we do We should have learned from the magoo fiasco. I don't want us being anyones back up option As much as I agree in principle I just don't think this is practical. We'd just have nae players. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LA-Don Posted July 10, 2019 Share Posted July 10, 2019 I rate McGeouch, i think there’s a player there. But as people say, I think he’s not really interested in coming to us. Saying that, the only one quoted in the media is Ross saying he wants to keep him but that doesn’t say whether DMG wants to stay. I was never convinced GMS wanted to be here and he saw us as simply an opportunity to be seen and get another move, this would be the same in my opinion. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
KennyFuckinPowers Posted July 10, 2019 Author Share Posted July 10, 2019 Joe Lewis confirmed as the Captain. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...