Next manager

35 minutes ago, wokinginashearerwonderland said:

Jesus, we're getting a bit pedantic now boys.  We're not having anybody that's had any kind of success out with their budget eh?

Here's one for you then........Tommy Wright. He only won the cup with St Johnstone and was in the top half of the league for the most part.  In my book that would be punching above your weight by St Johnstone's standards but the guy's not good enough for us. He has had more success than Goodwin and Ross combined but most of you would turn your nose up at the prospect.

Tommy Wright's teams were brutal to watch, and he's an arsehole. That's two reasons to not want him.

I don't think pointing out Lennon's failures and weaknesses is "pedantic" but each to their own.

It’s only one criterion on the list of things we should be looking for in a manager, the ability to build and lead a team that is stronger than its individual components.

Playing style is another. 

If Tommy Wright hadn’t made an arse of the Killie job and wasn’t a renowned hoofball merchant then his name would probably be on the shortlist. But he did and he is so he isn’t.

If Ross had a track record of playing attractive progressive football then he’d be a good option despite his track record. But he doesn’t. He’s a dour, overly conservative coward. He has lost just about every big game he has ever managed and makes zero sense as an option considering the reasons we sacked Derek McInnes.

Jack Ross is basically Derek McInnes with the positive attributes removed and the negative attributes turned up to 11.

• Like 5
  • Haha 1

19 minutes ago, Slim said:

Playing style is another. 

If Tommy Wright hadn’t made an arse of the Killie job and wasn’t a renowned hoofball merchant then his name would probably be on the shortlist. But he did and he is so he isn’t.

If Ross had a track record of playing attractive progressive football then he’d be a good option despite his track record. But he doesn’t. He’s a dour, overly conservative coward. He has lost just about every big game he has ever managed and makes zero sense as an option considering the reasons we sacked Derek McInnes.

Jack Ross is basically Derek McInnes with the positive attributes removed and the negative attributes turned up to 11.

A good playing style is idealistic crap unless you have the luxury of De Bruyne, Messi and Salah in your team.  If we have learnt anything in the last 12 months it is that winning football is what fans want.  None of us have liked our team losing despite having hundreds of goal attempts and loads of possession. If we went to Ibrox and Parkhead and won four times in the season you wouldn't care what style of football we were playing.

7 hours ago, OrlandoDon said:

And as I keep saying, regardless of money, why does Charlie Nicholas come to us? London and a top club like arsenal to Aberdeen?? I didn’t expect that. We were not Ferguson’s dons by then.

https://www.afc.co.uk/2021/12/29/afc-archive-signing-charlie-nicholas/

“I was at Arsenal and it was clear I wasn’t in George Graham’s plans. I was never a guy who would hang about if I didn’t feel wanted. I have never been like that. I don’t see any merit in that for anyone.

“I was sent all over the place with Arsenal reserves and George even sent me away with the youth team. I was even sent up to Cambridge University to sit on the bench. It was clear my Arsenal career was over. There was no point in picking a fight, my time was up.

“So when Aberdeen came in for me I went up and met the chairman, Dick Donald. I met him in a hotel in Aberdeen and I was really impressed with him as a person and his ambitions for Aberdeen. It was a few days before New Year when I went up. Dick was a gentleman and I was impressed with his plans and ambitions for Aberdeen. I said give me a couple of days to think about things but I did say I wasn’t sure about coming back to Scotland.”

Yet, it was Graham, who indirectly, opened the door for Aberdeen to pull off their landmark, signing coup.

“If I was being honest I wasn’t really thinking about going back to Scotland before I joined Aberdeen”, Nicholas admitted. “Celtic were interested. There was an approach through Davie Hay to see if I would be interested in going back?
“I would have thought about it although I felt I was harshly treated at Celtic when I left. I was basically booted out the door and told that I had asked for a transfer, which was never the case.

“I then went to France and I had always wanted to play abroad. I went to Toulon, who were in the French top-flight at the time. I flew out with the Arsenal secretary Ken Friar and we had agreed a deal with them but then George blocked it. Brian Clough then came in for me to take me to Nottingham Forest and Jim Smith tried to get me to Queen’s Park Rangers and Newcastle but George wouldn’t allow those moves either.”

It left Nicholas running out of options and patience.

“George Graham wouldn’t have a meeting with me,” he added. “I had to go to Ken Friar but he said it was up to the manager to agree to a deal for me. George wouldn’t let me resurrect the deal with Toulon or go to England so I just told Ken that I wanted to go to Aberdeen.

“Aberdeen was a deal that George wasn’t adversed to. So I decided that was where I wanted to go and I phoned Dick on Hogmanay to tell him that I was going to Aberdeen and that is when the story began to break.”

• Thanks 1

1 minute ago, Slim said:

Idealist? Probably you’re right, I still daydream about knocking in the winner for us in the Champions League final. That’s probably what I was doing when I didn’t see these hundreds of goal attempts you saw us have in the last 12 months.

Confused between actual shots and xG.

7 hours ago, OrlandoDon said:

Nobody is asking for or expects us to do anything financially irresponsible. I don’t see us as that club anyway, and don’t think we have been for close to 20 years. What Dundee did in the past means fuck all to me, plus they went to shit financially anyway. I don’t expect or want that.

What I am asking is that we explore every opportunity. And as I repeatedly say, if you don’t ask you don’t get. What’s the worst that can happen, we get told to fuck off.  And as I keep saying, regardless of money, why does Charlie Nicholas come to us? London and a top club like arsenal to Aberdeen?? I didn’t expect that. We were not Ferguson’s dons by then.

never heard of the Celtic manager until they signed him. And look at the players they are bringing in. they could have easily gone for a predictable premiership reject but failing with Eddie Howe, they went out and were creative. Seems to be working for them. So far. While we are on a different financial level to Celtic, let’s be equally ambitious and creative within our constraints.

Hiring glass was ambitious and risky,  but it was clear to most if not all of us that he didn’t have the experience. It showed. Learn from that.

Goodwin may be up and coming but he isn’t experienced either. He hasn’t achieved a single thing at st mirren other than preventing them from being shite. No cup, cup finals, or Europe. The expectation and pressure in that job is totally different to us. I just don’t see that much appeal to him. He may be great in the future, he may even end up shite this year and st mirren finish nearer the bottom than top of the league.

ross in not unlike mcinnes. He has proven he’s capable. Lennon is capable too. Goodwin just doesn’t have it for me. Yet. At the same time, I hope we are creative and look outside of the token fishbowl where we can all guess the candidates. I hate being linked to the same dour bunch. Again. Sorry to keep saying, shoot for the moon, but be responsible financially.

Can we afford OGS? Probably not. Duncan Ferguson? Unlikely. But why not ask? Leicester won the league. Never saw that coming. Villa just signed coutinho. Erickson to Brentford. Money talks but it’s still surprise signings. Why not someone special to Aberdeen? I do feel we are an appealing job and think there’s a good one out there for us. If we look and if we ask.

Fuck it, I'll have one more go. Every single example you're throwing out is not comparable and you seem completely unable to see that. It's just weird. You do realise that signing an arsenal reserve team player in the eighties for well within budget isn't the same as signing a manager being paid £7.5M? That Celtic signing Postecoglu, well within budget, isn't remotely the same thing? Or your other random attempts at comparison. It'd be like a Dundee United fan questioning why they weren't chasing European success because they got to the final in '87. 

The fact that you state that your not suggesting we do anything financially irresponsible shows that you don't understand what you're proposing. That means that you must think Solskjaer is willing to take a 95% pay cut to join Aberdeen, which is a little bit fucked up. I mean, I love the Dons, but I'm not fucking delusional, it really isn't that great a job. However, if we humour the stupid suggestion for a second and he agrees to join the Dons. After we've checked his hard drive, what do you think the first demand is going to be from the fans? Ye canna sign Ole Gunnar Solskjaer and nae gie him a budget! You then have to either match those demands or hang the guy out to dry. You can't have both, and one is useless without the other. As soon as you go down the Solskjaer route, you're opening the club up to financial disaster. You become the Huns, basically. It's not a great look. If Cormack is asking Solskjaer then he has plans for this club that are disastrous and he's not fit to be chairman. Luckily, he won't be doing that, because he's not am idiot. As I stated in my original post about Nicholas' original suggestion, it's really unhelpful to have these types of ideas without laying out the critical thought process behind it. Imagine we were one day to get fan representation at board level and this was the kind of idiotic shite that was being added? It would utterly ruin us. I'm not a massive fan of Cormack, but it's really unfair on him to have this type of thinking out there. Anything he does in comparison is always going to look shite.

30 minutes ago, Slim said:

Idealist? Probably you’re right, I still daydream about knocking in the winner for us in the Champions League final. That’s probably what I was doing when I didn’t see these hundreds of goal attempts you saw us have in the last 12 months.

We'd be third in the league if you base it on goal attempts Slim

https://spfl.co.uk/stats-centre

Mr Solskjaer's salary is only the start.  His second question would be how much do I get to spend in the summer?  Our budget being a factor of 100/200 times lower than his would end the phone call.  Not only is it a ridiculous proposition but even if he wanted to come he'd be useless dealing with free transfers, risky prospects and those who have failed at other clubs: that's the market we are dealing in.

2 hours ago, Panda said:

I don't think pointing out Lennon's failures and weaknesses is "pedantic" but each to their own.

I said it was pedantic dismissing Lennon's trophy wins were simply because he had a big budget at Celtic.  You might as well argue that Fergie won 13 league titles at Man Utd because he had a big budget.  

Can't quote Ernie stupid shit! Anyway I agree we can't attract top quality managers we're a provincial club destined to never win the leauge title ever again! Total joke of a game! Need a wealthy Russian billionaire or Saudi to take us over because without that we're destined to be a provincial club for eternity! 

1 hour ago, tom_widdows said:

Going on that story Nicholas could have potentially beaten Jean Marc Bosman to the punch had the Dons not come looking

Funnily enough, I also remember (perhaps incorrectly) that Gillhaus sat out almost a year with us after his contract had ended but we wouldn't agree a fee with clubs interested in signing him?

Edited to add...

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/hans-gillhaus-recalls-aberdeen-highlights-2475605

If there was a bad time for Gillhaus in Scotland, it was at the end. When his two-and-a-half year contract expired, Aberdeen retained his registration and demanded prohibitive transfer fees from interested clubs, such as Borussia Dortmund and Feyenoord. When he finally moved to Vitesse Arnhem in March 1993, it had been 11 months since he last played. Asked if he was unfairly treated, Gillhaus replies: “I think so. At that time, there was no Bosman. My contract ended, but I was without a club for eight months. I was jobless. It shouldn’t have ended like that.”

Edited by baggy89

41 minutes ago, baggy89 said:

Funnily enough, I also remember (perhaps incorrectly) that Gillhaus sat out almost a year with us after his contract had ended but we wouldn't agree a fee with clubs interested in signing him?

Edited to add...

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/hans-gillhaus-recalls-aberdeen-highlights-2475605

Well remembered. I had completely forgotten that. 

3 hours ago, LightbulbMoment2021 said:

Can't quote Ernie stupid shit! Anyway I agree we can't attract top quality managers we're a provincial club destined to never win the leauge title ever again! Total joke of a game! Need a wealthy Russian billionaire or Saudi to take us over because without that we're destined to be a provincial club for eternity! 

Well that post is really much ado about nothing 😉

5 hours ago, RicoS321 said:

Fuck it, I'll have one more go. Every single example you're throwing out is not comparable and you seem completely unable to see that. It's just weird. You do realise that signing an arsenal reserve team player in the eighties for well within budget isn't the same as signing a manager being paid £7.5M? That Celtic signing Postecoglu, well within budget, isn't remotely the same thing? Or your other random attempts at comparison. It'd be like a Dundee United fan questioning why they weren't chasing European success because they got to the final in '87. 

The fact that you state that your not suggesting we do anything financially irresponsible shows that you don't understand what you're proposing. That means that you must think Solskjaer is willing to take a 95% pay cut to join Aberdeen, which is a little bit fucked up. I mean, I love the Dons, but I'm not fucking delusional, it really isn't that great a job. However, if we humour the stupid suggestion for a second and he agrees to join the Dons. After we've checked his hard drive, what do you think the first demand is going to be from the fans? Ye canna sign Ole Gunnar Solskjaer and nae gie him a budget! You then have to either match those demands or hang the guy out to dry. You can't have both, and one is useless without the other. As soon as you go down the Solskjaer route, you're opening the club up to financial disaster. You become the Huns, basically. It's not a great look. If Cormack is asking Solskjaer then he has plans for this club that are disastrous and he's not fit to be chairman. Luckily, he won't be doing that, because he's not am idiot. As I stated in my original post about Nicholas' original suggestion, it's really unhelpful to have these types of ideas without laying out the critical thought process behind it. Imagine we were one day to get fan representation at board level and this was the kind of idiotic shite that was being added? It would utterly ruin us. I'm not a massive fan of Cormack, but it's really unfair on him to have this type of thinking out there. Anything he does in comparison is always going to look shite.

Ok, I'll go in a different direction and try to humor you a little in the process. You will never win this argument no matter how hard you try.

I traded a couple of emails with Haardon the other day. We disagree strongly on vaccines but there's zero hard feelings, just a difference of opinion. No love lost. I've no reason to dislike the guy, or any of you, we just see things differently. I respect him for reaching out too. That type of mentality is getting harder to find. People are losing friends daily because of disagreements in opinions. I like donstalk, debate with a bunch of complete strangers who really know very little about each other and why we think the way we do.

We all have mindsets and opinions, and that's great. I accept that. I've also lived my first 23 years of life in Scotland, the last 26 years in the US. I'm probably more American in my thinking now. I will passionately fight my point at times, and try to educate others at times too. I think I'm smart, but not that smart. I won't lie, there are people here who use words that still call for me to reach for a dictionary. I've coached football a lot, full time for a while, and am highly trained and qualified/licensed/credentialed. Doesn't make me an expert, but I think I have a more educated football brain than many.

I was raised in Lanark, went to teacher training college in Edinburgh, Moray House. My first teaching job was at Bannerman High School in Castlemilk/Baillieston. While in college I coached summer football/soccer camps in the US during the summers. After a year teaching I came back out to the US for a summer. Never came back. I do visit, used to be yearly, but been here 26 years now. If I had listened to many of my Scottish friends and family I'd still be teaching at Bannerman.

I've lived in Tennessee, Florida, and California. Married and divorced by 33. I won't get vaccinated. Have my reasons. Recently quit my job because of my beliefs, walking away from six figures as I said the other day. I don't have a job lined up yet. That's a 100% pay cut. I have 3 and 5 year old boys. My older boy just got kicked out of preschool because his parents aren't vaccinated, not even him. I've dated models, porn stars, hung out with celebs, done more blow than can line Pittodrie. Spent way too much time in Hollywood and Vegas. I already own a house in Florida and when I sell my LA house I'll probably pay off the Florida one. No debt. Unless the world/US goes to shit in the next three months which is possible. Trump was nuts but I'd take him over Biden and this admin any day of the week. I'm opinionated and I express that. Daily. And I'm wrong sometimes. I live life and take risks, and I feel I get rewarded for that. I've won more than I've lost. It's the only way to live if you ask me. Calculated and educated risks.

Here's my point. There are reasons for Ross, Goodwin, Lennon, Adams, as you stress, and all the other predictable names. Boring as fuck. All your reasons are safe and valid. But boring as fuck. I think you have to open your eyes, really open them. Isn't football meant to be entertainment? I think Cormack has tried to bring more of that, both off and on the park. But yes, as pointed out, results do matter. I'd argue Cormack is more American thinking now, and in Glass he was willing to take a calculated risk. It failed. I just hope he doesn't crumble and conform to the more Scottish safer mindset of Goodwin or Ross. Of course I want us to be fiscally responsible and not put the club in jeopardy. But surely we can find a more creative and inspiring mind. My initial response to Ole was simply that it's not that daft an idea - my point, as I keep saying, is that you never know. If you never explore or ask you'll never know what could have been. Surprises do happen.

My life has been nuts, but at least you know me a little more and maybe understand me a little more. I don't make it easier at times. But I wouldn't have it any other way. That's how I live. Others would choose to still be teaching at Bannerman because it's safer. I don't want our club to be safer and conform, I want bravery and risk. Calculated of course. Bigger risk bigger reward.

You misread me Lightbulbetc, I believe we could have won the title a couple of times since the extraordinary 80's and I believe we can at least challenge going forward and win a cup or few along the way.  That's the target isn't it?  But we won't do it by employing a Hollywood manager at 10 times our salary and 100 times our player budget levels any more than we could by employing Andy Robertson, Gilmour and Lukaku.  It will need a sustained period of good management, revenue from sales and Europe to fund the team, a few decent breaks in the market and a great team attitude.  Idealistic I know but even after all my Dons supporting years I still live in hope!

• Like 4

1 hour ago, LA-Don said:

Ok, I'll go in a different direction and try to humor you a little in the process. You will never win this argument no matter how hard you try.

I traded a couple of emails with Haardon the other day. We disagree strongly on vaccines but there's zero hard feelings, just a difference of opinion. No love lost. I've no reason to dislike the guy, or any of you, we just see things differently. I respect him for reaching out too. That type of mentality is getting harder to find. People are losing friends daily because of disagreements in opinions. I like donstalk, debate with a bunch of complete strangers who really know very little about each other and why we think the way we do.

We all have mindsets and opinions, and that's great. I accept that. I've also lived my first 23 years of life in Scotland, the last 26 years in the US. I'm probably more American in my thinking now. I will passionately fight my point at times, and try to educate others at times too. I think I'm smart, but not that smart. I won't lie, there are people here who use words that still call for me to reach for a dictionary. I've coached football a lot, full time for a while, and am highly trained and qualified/licensed/credentialed. Doesn't make me an expert, but I think I have a more educated football brain than many.

I was raised in Lanark, went to teacher training college in Edinburgh, Moray House. My first teaching job was at Bannerman High School in Castlemilk/Baillieston. While in college I coached summer football/soccer camps in the US during the summers. After a year teaching I came back out to the US for a summer. Never came back. I do visit, used to be yearly, but been here 26 years now. If I had listened to many of my Scottish friends and family I'd still be teaching at Bannerman.

I've lived in Tennessee, Florida, and California. Married and divorced by 33. I won't get vaccinated. Have my reasons. Recently quit my job because of my beliefs, walking away from six figures as I said the other day. I don't have a job lined up yet. That's a 100% pay cut. I have 3 and 5 year old boys. My older boy just got kicked out of preschool because his parents aren't vaccinated, not even him. I've dated models, porn stars, hung out with celebs, done more blow than can line Pittodrie. Spent way too much time in Hollywood and Vegas. I already own a house in Florida and when I sell my LA house I'll probably pay off the Florida one. No debt. Unless the world/US goes to shit in the next three months which is possible. Trump was nuts but I'd take him over Biden and this admin any day of the week. I'm opinionated and I express that. Daily. And I'm wrong sometimes. I live life and take risks, and I feel I get rewarded for that. I've won more than I've lost. It's the only way to live if you ask me. Calculated and educated risks.

Here's my point. There are reasons for Ross, Goodwin, Lennon, Adams, as you stress, and all the other predictable names. Boring as fuck. All your reasons are safe and valid. But boring as fuck. I think you have to open your eyes, really open them. Isn't football meant to be entertainment? I think Cormack has tried to bring more of that, both off and on the park. But yes, as pointed out, results do matter. I'd argue Cormack is more American thinking now, and in Glass he was willing to take a calculated risk. It failed. I just hope he doesn't crumble and conform to the more Scottish safer mindset of Goodwin or Ross. Of course I want us to be fiscally responsible and not put the club in jeopardy. But surely we can find a more creative and inspiring mind. My initial response to Ole was simply that it's not that daft an idea - my point, as I keep saying, is that you never know. If you never explore or ask you'll never know what could have been. Surprises do happen.

My life has been nuts, but at least you know me a little more and maybe understand me a little more. I don't make it easier at times. But I wouldn't have it any other way. That's how I live. Others would choose to still be teaching at Bannerman because it's safer. I don't want our club to be safer and conform, I want bravery and risk. Calculated of course. Bigger risk bigger reward.

I won the argument about sixteen replies ago, as everyone on here bar you can grasp. You haven't provided a single piece of contrary evidence. Great story though.

• Haha 1

53 minutes ago, Ernie said:

You misread me Lightbulbetc, I believe we could have won the title a couple of times since the extraordinary 80's and I believe we can at least challenge going forward and win a cup or few along the way.  That's the target isn't it?  But we won't do it by employing a Hollywood manager at 10 times our salary and 100 times our player budget levels any more than we could by employing Andy Robertson, Gilmour and Lukaku.  It will need a sustained period of good management, revenue from sales and Europe to fund the team, a few decent breaks in the market and a great team attitude.  Idealistic I know but even after all my Dons supporting years I still live in hope!

You youngsters just lack ambition.

• Haha 1

12 hours ago, wokinginashearerwonderland said:

I said it was pedantic dismissing Lennon's trophy wins were simply because he had a big budget at Celtic.  You might as well argue that Fergie won 13 league titles at Man Utd because he had a big budget.  

You've mixed up "having a big budget" with "having 10 times the budget of your nearest challenger."

At Celtic, only twice was Lennon up against a decent Rangers team - his first full season (they finished 2nd) and last season (finished 2nd).

Every other season Mark McGhee could have won the league.