Panda Posted yesterday at 02:46 Report Posted yesterday at 02:46 5 hours ago, RicoS321 said: Failed Hibs manager Maloney would be up there with Warnock. I doubt it would happen. I've actually went down a bit of a Maloney rabbit hole, looking at his tactics at Wigan and why it went wrong, and also at his short time at Celtic with O'Neill (he's actually still at Celtic as he's the pathway manager). And you (and me, considering my earlier comment) are being a bit harsh on him. Hibs - was his first job and he only got five months in it. Wigan - was a very difficult situation with points deductions and losing his best players, but his sacking was a surprise, and the general feeling is they've got worse since he left. I would actually say Wigan was probably his Bristol City/Derek McInnes and he'll be better for it. By all accounts he was pretty instrumental in the dugout at Celtic in getting them results. Favours a 4-3-3, attacking football, yet at Wigan and Celtic he improved the defensive side of things too. I'm not saying he's my first choice. I'd like us to cast the net far and wide before hanging my hat on anyone. However, I do think the club will consider him, and if they do I could warm to it. Like I said, ticks a lot of boxes for the club. Would be more of a head coach than manager, fulfills that popular phase "knows the league". Knows a few players as well - managed Shinnie at Wigan and was keen to keep him, tried to sign Kevin Nisbet. And hey, it might mean Mark "if you're no training with intensity, you'll no be in ma team" Fotheringham might follow him up the road. Fuck it, get the Maloney thread started. Bring him home. Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted yesterday at 06:32 Report Posted yesterday at 06:32 (edited) The Wigan fans were supposedly upset when Maloney left the managers role, probably a bit like us with Thelin. Wycombe fans were upset when Anthony Stewart left for us, so best not use that as a metric for signing either players or manager. Edited yesterday at 06:34 by TheDonbytheDee 1 Quote
Jute Posted yesterday at 08:06 Report Posted yesterday at 08:06 If we are following the process Pfannenstiel will already have a list of coaches that can come in and mean minimum disruption to the supposed system we are implementing so this should be a relatively quick process. Only delays will be if the preferred candidate is currently employed and his current club do not want to let him go. Quote
Mason89 Posted yesterday at 08:12 Report Posted yesterday at 08:12 5 minutes ago, Jute said: If we are following the process Pfannenstiel will already have a list of coaches that can come in and mean minimum disruption to the supposed system we are implementing so this should be a relatively quick process. Only delays will be if the preferred candidate is currently employed and his current club do not want to let him go. The supposed system we’re implementing requires massive disruption Quote
Blow.Up.Sheep Posted yesterday at 08:44 Report Posted yesterday at 08:44 I would be tempted to go for Scott Brown and partner him up with Neil Lennon or Barry Robson 1 1 Quote
Elgindon Posted yesterday at 08:52 Report Posted yesterday at 08:52 (edited) ^^We all have to resist temptations at times Edited yesterday at 08:57 by Elgindon Quote
Jute Posted yesterday at 09:10 Report Posted yesterday at 09:10 25 minutes ago, Blow.Up.Sheep said: I would be tempted to go for Scott Brown and partner him up with Neil Lennon or Barry Robson Quote
wee toon red Posted yesterday at 09:21 Report Posted yesterday at 09:21 Three criteria for me, otherwise I'm reasonably open to whoever the club picks: 1. Not Neil Lennon 2. Not Stephen "Jim Goodwin mk2" Robinson. 3. Not one of these modern idealogues like Nancy, Amorim, Postecoglu, who are willing to lose every game due to their religious adherence to a system. At our level, we need a manager who can work with what they've got and adapt it as necessary depending on the opposition, not some egomaniac who thinks they have football figured out and just need their board to throw a fortune at the right players for the system. Easy... 2 Quote
Blow.Up.Sheep Posted yesterday at 10:47 Report Posted yesterday at 10:47 1 hour ago, Jute said: we could do a helluva lot worse than going for Scott Brown. Ok maybe not with Lennon or Robson but he would need somebody along side him, is that Leven or maybe Tony Doc. I dinna ken but out of the names being thrown around and mentioned early doors Brooner could be a decent shout and maybe even a realistic one. The motherwell boss surely will not walk away already, would he. and Robinson would be Goodwin (take 2) So for me I would be happy with Brown PS By the way, Ange Postecoglu is still on the dole Quote
The.Moog Posted yesterday at 10:54 Report Posted yesterday at 10:54 2 hours ago, Blow.Up.Sheep said: I would be tempted to go for Scott Brown and partner him up with Neil Lennon or Barry Robson Just say no kids… 2 Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted yesterday at 11:19 Report Posted yesterday at 11:19 To give Robinson his due, he won a trophy we would have liked to have won. His hammer throwers also beat Hearts, Motherwell and Celtic to win the trophy. I wouldn't like to see him here and don't think he will, but he does a decent enough job for them. Same applies to Martindale at Livi. I really haven't a clue who we will end up with, but I doubt it will be a manager currently working, or out of work in Scotland. 1 Quote
CurlsLikeTattie Posted yesterday at 11:58 Report Posted yesterday at 11:58 35 minutes ago, TheDonbytheDee said: I really haven't a clue who we will end up with, but I doubt it will be a manager currently working, or out of work in Scotland. I can tell you with a degree of certainty that it WILL be a manager who either: Currently manages in Scotland Has previously managed in Scotland Has never managed in Scotland Has maybe won something Narrows it down somewhat, but not sure who it will be from within those parameters. OK. I have no idea but will get behind whoever it is (with certain exceptions like Neil Lennon) Quote
CurlsLikeTattie Posted yesterday at 12:02 Report Posted yesterday at 12:02 4 minutes ago, Kowalski said: Not much to excite me there. Aye, the Askou fella has started of well in Scotland, but so did Jimmy! Come on Pingu, let's see who's in your little black book. Quote
Panda Posted yesterday at 12:10 Report Posted yesterday at 12:10 Not wishing to start any rumours, and I haven't heard anything about Aberdeen actually wanting the fella, but persuading Askou may not be as difficult as I first thought... Quote
swaddon Posted yesterday at 12:39 Report Posted yesterday at 12:39 I don't want to be older than the Dons manager. I feel old enough already. So that rules out Simon Rusk, Scott Brown, Steven Naismith and Michael Skubala. 1 Quote
OrlandoDon Posted yesterday at 12:51 Report Posted yesterday at 12:51 40 minutes ago, Panda said: Not wishing to start any rumours, and I haven't heard anything about Aberdeen actually wanting the fella, but persuading Askou may not be as difficult as I first thought... What makes you say that? Quote
Slim Posted yesterday at 12:55 Report Posted yesterday at 12:55 How in the name of fuck is Simon Rusk being linked? His managerial career is: 42 games in charge of non-league Stockport (lasted 9 months, sacked while mid-table with one of the largest budgets, his replacement got them promoted twice in 3 years to League 1) Assistant to Mark McGhee at Dundee for 3 months as they got relegated 7 games as caretaker manager at Southampton - 0 wins Hasn't had a job since June 2025. Quote
OrlandoDon Posted yesterday at 12:59 Report Posted yesterday at 12:59 I do think quality of football played will be a major factor. And someone with significant management experience. if John mcglynn was 43 and not 63 I’d take him! Quote
RicoS321 Posted yesterday at 13:10 Author Report Posted yesterday at 13:10 14 minutes ago, Slim said: How in the name of fuck is Simon Rusk being linked? His managerial career is: 42 games in charge of non-league Stockport (lasted 9 months, sacked while mid-table with one of the largest budgets, his replacement got them promoted twice in 3 years to League 1) Assistant to Mark McGhee at Dundee for 3 months as they got relegated 7 games as caretaker manager at Southampton - 0 wins Hasn't had a job since June 2025. His brother Farley S Rusk was a massive Dandy. Quote
The.Moog Posted yesterday at 14:02 Report Posted yesterday at 14:02 (edited) 2 hours ago, Panda said: Not wishing to start any rumours, and I haven't heard anything about Aberdeen actually wanting the fella, but persuading Askou may not be as difficult as I first thought... Neither it should be - a massive step up and opportunity. No manager at any club outside the big 5 should ever be turning any of them down. He also fits the profile, identity & style we want to implement - the difference is he’s actually managed to do it at his club, unlike Thelin. I’d be very happy with this one… Edited yesterday at 14:11 by The.Moog 2 Quote
Don Julio Posted yesterday at 14:39 Report Posted yesterday at 14:39 I'd certainly have him on my short list to interview. I know folk always moan about Tony Mowbray, but I'm not sure why? (Cue enlightenment...) Quote
Elgindon Posted yesterday at 14:44 Report Posted yesterday at 14:44 3 minutes ago, Don Julio said: I'd certainly have him on my short list to interview. I know folk always moan about Tony Mowbray, but I'm not sure why? (Cue enlightenment...) That was a great attacking hibs side he had.Currently at WBA,not sure he'd want to come here,also think he said he didnt want to wotk in Scotland again? Quote
Elgindon Posted yesterday at 16:01 Report Posted yesterday at 16:01 1 hour ago, Elgindon said: That was a great attacking hibs side he had.Currently at WBA,not sure he'd want to come here,also think he said he didnt want to wotk in Scotland again? Actually he was sacked from WBA after 5 months due to poor results Quote
blinlemon Posted yesterday at 18:59 Report Posted yesterday at 18:59 (edited) The Red TV interview with Interim Pete’s predictably cagey. Sorry to see Jimmy go, is non-committal on the chance he’ll be given the gig, has ambitions, cites the away games at Fir Park and Dens as inspirations due to the fans’ backing, had a heart-to-heart (including those who appear to need a transplant) with the squad today, where Shinnie also laid down his tuppence worth, and generally spoke the expected managerese with a poker face throughout. I like the boy a lot, but that’s not me making a pitch for him to get the gig. Edited yesterday at 19:00 by blinlemon Quote