Scotland squad

Well, big game tomorrow. Surely the camp is buzzing knowing that a win is a huge step towards 2nd and the playoffs........but I'm not dismissing a disaster against Moldova or the Faroes.

See McTom replacing Hanley, would like to see Fraser alongside Dykes, that seemed to be a solid partnership before Fraser got injured. Would prefer Turnbull ahead of McGregor but don't see that happening. Prefer McKenna for pace at the back but really don't know who is better, Hendry, McKenna, Gallagher, or Cooper.......but I'd assume it wont be Gallagher given he's not consistently playing for us and hasn't looked great.

Gordon

McTom McKenna Tierney

ODonnell McGinn Gilmour McGregor Robertson

Fraser Dykes

2-1 us, Fraser and McGinn

8 minutes ago, LA-Don said:

Well, big game tomorrow. Surely the camp is buzzing knowing that a win is a huge step towards 2nd and the playoffs........but I'm not dismissing a disaster against Moldova or the Faroes.

See McTom replacing Hanley, would like to see Fraser alongside Dykes, that seemed to be a solid partnership before Fraser got injured. Would prefer Turnbull ahead of McGregor but don't see that happening. Prefer McKenna for pace at the back but really don't know who is better, Hendry, McKenna, Gallagher, or Cooper.......but I'd assume it wont be Gallagher given he's not consistently playing for us and hasn't looked great.

Gordon

McTom McKenna Tierney

ODonnell McGinn Gilmour McGregor Robertson

Fraser Dykes

2-1 us, Fraser and McGinn

Not a cat in hells chance that Jack Hendry doesn't start for Scotland tomorrow and rightly so.

McKenna's on the bench

Also Fraser not playing first team football so Adams to start up top with Dykes

29 minutes ago, BigAl said:

Not a cat in hells chance that Jack Hendry doesn't start for Scotland tomorrow and rightly so.

McKenna's on the bench

Also Fraser not playing first team football so Adams to start up top with Dykes

^^^this. Adams and dykes were excellent against Austria, there's no chance we'd be splitting up that pairing. McTominay will be lucky to start too, he's nae been great for Scotland. 

Looking forward to it. Hopefully it won't be a total shambles getting in this time. I notice they've said that they won't be refusing entry for folk with no vaccine passport, which is useful.

McTominay has to be the most overrated player in our squad. If he was a Burnley player he would not be anywhere near the Scotland team but we seem desperate to shoe horn him in. One, he’s definitely not a centre half so why are we picking him ahead of recognised defenders and I would have McGregor, Gilmore, Armstrong, Jack, McGinn or even Turnbull or McLean before him in midfield. We seem to get this notion that if a player plays for an English Prem team that he must be included in the Scotland team without actually assessing if he brings anything to the party. Plus he’s English. 😉

1 hour ago, wokinginashearerwonderland said:

McTominay has to be the most overrated player in our squad. If he was a Burnley player he would not be anywhere near the Scotland team but we seem desperate to shoe horn him in. One, he’s definitely not a centre half so why are we picking him ahead of recognised defenders and I would have McGregor, Gilmore, Armstrong, Jack, McGinn or even Turnbull or McLean before him in midfield. We seem to get this notion that if a player plays for an English Prem team that he must be included in the Scotland team without actually assessing if he brings anything to the party. Plus he’s English. 😉

It's probably a little harsh, but in the main I agree. We just don't need him in most games. 

16 minutes ago, HaarDon said:

Mctominay played 1 very good game .can't remember against who but he needs to show up for games and not be a prima donna... 

I still like Ryan Fraser ...don't shoot me 

I would play Fraser as well today as think he will help create supply for Adams or Dykes. 

On train through to Glasgow now. I am not convinced we are going to win tonight. Zahavi has apparently scored 31 in 67 international games. Don’t think our entire squad has got 31 goals between them. Can’t see us keeping him out tonight. 

1 hour ago, Jute said:

image.thumb.jpeg.f4d6fae3b9c4e50018d86f9d87403de7.jpeg

Why on earth would you let Dykes take another penalty, he got lucky against Austria and any keeper reviewing his last pen for Scotland would have thought "he'll put it down the centre again".  But then again all our corners/free-kick have been rank...good to know we've got a set-piece specialist on board.

Edited by dons8321

3 minutes ago, BigAl said:

Very un Scotland like

A 93rd minute scrambled winner

That'll do for me.

Second 45 they were outstanding.

Billy Gilmour has a real chance to be Scotland's record cap holder.

He is some player and, despite his build doesn't shirk a challenge.  Obviously I'm biased but I think Calvin Ramsay is a better full-back than Paterson but it's typical of Scotland we produce 2 really good left FBs at the same time and now we've got 2 really (potentially) good right FB at the same time.  Maybe someday we'll have 2 strikers...too far?

7 hours ago, wokinginashearerwonderland said:

McTominay has to be the most overrated player in our squad.

Delighted to be proved wrong. In fairness to the boy, he was great towards the end and really stood up to be counted. Thoroughly deserved his goal.

Hard to recall ever having seen Scotland play better than they did in the second half. Looked like Hampden was absolutely bouncing.

Hoping we will look back at this as one of those coming of age moments for our national team because they really did show how good they can be if they show a bit of belief, actually pass the ball and play with a decent tempo. Also great to see Dykes get his goal after missing the penalty.

Tierney and Robertson also seem to have blended into a brilliant partnership down the left and look to be loving playing alongside each other.

What a bounce that was. I will admit to considering the pub when Zahavi scored Great goal from Super John McGinn. Could not believe it when we conceded again so quickly. Thought Gilmour and McGinn were excellent but Robertson was a deserved man of the match. Thought Patterson struggled in first half but had a better in second half. 

Aye, that was cracking. Great way to win against those time wasting fucks. Totally deserved and a fantastic second half all round. The ref was fucking rank, what the fuck he was doing with var for our great second goal, I don't know. Totally ruined the moment. Fucking weird. Just get the easy decision right. Some bounce at the third, well done McTominay, assuming he got a deserved boot up the arse at halftime. Well done again Clarke, we've not been in this type of position in qualifying in a long time.

56 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

Aye, that was cracking. Great way to win against those time wasting fucks. Totally deserved and a fantastic second half all round. The ref was fucking rank, what the fuck he was doing with var for our great second goal, I don't know. Totally ruined the moment. Fucking weird. Just get the easy decision right. Some bounce at the third, well done McTominay, assuming he got a deserved boot up the arse at halftime. Well done again Clarke, we've not been in this type of position in qualifying in a long time.

Meant to mention the ref. He was one of worst I have seen at international level. I just assumed Fergie had just chined McTominay in the tunnel to produce the improved performance. 

Great result 100% deserved.

Israel looked a far better team technically and at any time could score in that first half when mctomibay and Patterson were shite. Defending awful for their 2nd goal.

They certainly had a great team tqlk at half time.

We played with intent to win that game.

A few wayward passes , awful corners from mcginn and we still don't shoot at goal enough and head the ball aimlessly up the pitch when it's easier to bring it down and pass it.

However our interplay and vision was great at times though still need to be more clinical at finishing....Dykes and Adams guilty of that.

I still don't rate Adams as he seems to fumble with the ball at times in a mcgennis styley.

Much prefer to see Nisbet with Dykes against Faroes and Moldova.

Anyway thoroughly enjoyed that game and happy for the full Hampden supporters.

Wish I was there.

Israel are a very good team but cheating fucks.

I also thought the referee was pretty decent 🙄

You seem determined to shoehorn Nisbet into the team HD. Did you watch the Moldova game at Hampden? One of the worst performances by a striker I've seen. He was terrible.

Adams movement and hold up play was good for us when others were struggling in the first half. He makes space for others very well and works hard. He's not as good, but reminds me of Kenny Miller. A good team player. Nisbet should be launched into the Faroe sea.

We had seventeen shots last night, with nine on target, scoring three. Think the lack of shots criticism was harsh.

6 minutes ago, Goldie03 said:

Well that was a tremendous watch, sore throat from screaming and nearly peed my pants when the winner went in 🤣

That game had everything, great free kick, missed penalty, wtf was the ref doing with var and that goal, late winner wow!!

Was a really entertaining match esp 2nd half

17 hours ago, HaarDon said:

Adams injured for Faroes game.

Step forward Mr Nisbet

😁😁😁

Would rather see Christie play, or Fraser up with Dykes. We need more creativity to break down teams like this. Other than that, same team and get it done. Plus Christie takes penalties!