Madbadteacher Posted December 12, 2014 Share Posted December 12, 2014 I used to hate Hamilton but he's really grown on me as he's got older. He's some racer too. My favourite driver is Kimi though, he da man! Glad button has got a seat for next season, comes across as a lovely bloke Keke Rosberg was better (and more mental) IMHO Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted December 12, 2014 Share Posted December 12, 2014 Keke Rosberg was better (and more mental) IMHO I'll see your Rosberg and raise you James Hunt. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BobbyBiscuit Posted December 12, 2014 Share Posted December 12, 2014 I'm not too keen on Hamilton, he's a bit of a fud IMHO opinion. Probably win SPOTY though which does not have a particularly strong short list given how busy a sporting calendar it has been this year. Button, top bloke. SPOTY should go to McIlroy without a doubt. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted December 12, 2014 Share Posted December 12, 2014 SPOTY should go to McIlroy without a doubt. Ah yes you are quite right Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted May 25, 2015 Share Posted May 25, 2015 Anybody still watching this so called sport!? I think I'm going to give up on it, it's a pale imitation of the adrenaline fuelled edge of the seat racing that I grew up watching. Used to get up at 4am to watch a race from the other side of the world - nowadays it's a struggle tuning in for a 1pm start! Apathy may kill F1. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted May 26, 2015 Author Share Posted May 26, 2015 Anybody still watching this so called sport!? I think I'm going to give up on it, it's a pale imitation of the adrenaline fuelled edge of the seat racing that I grew up watching. Used to get up at 4am to watch a race from the other side of the world - nowadays it's a struggle tuning in for a 1pm start! Apathy may kill F1. I haven't watched one race this season, which is the first time since it moved back to BBC. Selling its soul to pointless rich countries along with other rule changes has just made it completely boring. I can't say I'm missing it either. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tlg1903 Posted May 26, 2015 Share Posted May 26, 2015 I usually just watch the highlights these days, there are some races that still are exciting to watch with plenty of overtaking. There's talk of having standardised cars and engines, that could be interesting Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted May 26, 2015 Share Posted May 26, 2015 Judging from the coverage over her they should just rename it "The Lewis Hamilton show" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted April 5, 2016 Share Posted April 5, 2016 What a farce the "sport" is turning into. They can't even agree on a qualifying format. It's a long long way from what it was when I was growing up. I think the exclusive move to Sky in 2019 may well just kill it off in terms of audience. The sport will be lost to a whole generation IMHO. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted April 5, 2016 Author Share Posted April 5, 2016 What a farce the "sport" is turning into. They can't even agree on a qualifying format. It's a long long way from what it was when I was growing up. I think the exclusive move to Sky in 2019 may well just kill it off in terms of audience. The sport will be lost to a whole generation IMHO. Haven't watched one race so far and i'm not particularly sad about that fact either. Can't see myself tuning in at all. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edinburghdon Posted April 6, 2016 Share Posted April 6, 2016 What a farce the "sport" is turning into. They can't even agree on a qualifying format. It's a long long way from what it was when I was growing up. I think the exclusive move to Sky in 2019 may well just kill it off in terms of audience. The sport will be lost to a whole generation IMHO. Completely agree with the first point, slightly torn on the last point as I really enjoy the sky coverage, think it's fantastic! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted May 15, 2016 Author Share Posted May 15, 2016 Not watched much of this at all this season but well done Max Verstappen! First cloggy to win a Grand Prix! Was helped by the fact that both Rosberg and Hamilton crashed into each other on turn 3. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1903_Redz Posted November 17, 2016 Share Posted November 17, 2016 Anyone else like Formula 1? I love it. Probably my second favourite sport behind fitba. At the sticky end of the season now with it still undecided but with Rosberg just needing to finish 3rd or better. I'm not a Hamilton fan at all. He comes across a lot better these days but i canna forget what an arrogant prick he came across when he first came on the go. I was delighted when he didn't win the drivers championship in his first season. I don't particularly like Rosberg either but i'd rather he wins it than Hamilton. Anyway, i've really enjoyed this season. Extra tracks like Baku which have been a big success, controversy surrounding Mercedes regarding how they clearly favour Rosberg over Hamilton, probably due to nationality. There's been plenty to like this season imo. In my view there are a few class acts, Hamilton, Vettel, Verstappen, Ricciardo and Alonso, i'm hoping the changes to be implemented next season even the playing field a bit and bring all these guys cars closer to each other. I know it's easy to criticise F1 but there's bound to be some other fans.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MálagaSheep Posted November 17, 2016 Share Posted November 17, 2016 I used to really like F1 but for years now i dont bother with it! Its all to do with the cars now and not the drivers. To be honest i find it very boring Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buc Posted November 18, 2016 Share Posted November 18, 2016 Not for me I can watch formula 1 drivers on the dual carriageway to Stonehaven. But for me it's just a big noise vrrrooom vrooommm vroooooomm Not for me a bit like cricket . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edinburghdon Posted November 18, 2016 Share Posted November 18, 2016 I've been a fan of formula one for years, really hoping Rosberg can win his first title as I've never really taken to Hamilton either. Fingers crossed there's a more even playing field next year, Red Bull seem to have made a step forward this year and really hoping Ferrari can give Vettel a car good enough to challenge as he's an outstanding driver. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1903_Redz Posted November 18, 2016 Share Posted November 18, 2016 Agreed ED, if the new regulations bring the cars closer to each other like they think they're going to do it could be good stuff. I was going to say 'great viewing' but that would probably be taking it too far for some. If like you say Red Bull can continue their improvement and give Verstappen a competitive car then he will definitely ruffle even more feathers than what he already has done. That boy has some potential, and i love the way he doesn't care about the established drivers opinions of him. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted November 20, 2016 Author Share Posted November 20, 2016 Used to watch most races but this season i've missed most of them. Interlagos is one of my favourite circuits so was gutted to miss the race last week, seemed like it was action packed. I don't mind Hamilton, was always a fan of Button though. It's funny, seems to have improved towards the tail end of the season, hopefully that continues through to the next. Great to see Verstappen continue his development too. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edinburghdon Posted November 21, 2016 Share Posted November 21, 2016 Used to watch most races but this season i've missed most of them. Interlagos is one of my favourite circuits so was gutted to miss the race last week, seemed like it was action packed. I don't mind Hamilton, was always a fan of Button though. It's funny, seems to have improved towards the tail end of the season, hopefully that continues through to the next. Great to see Verstappen continue his development too. It was frustrating with all the red flags but some of the racing once it did get going was nothing short of sensational... verstapen in particular. Even though my dislike of him grows with every dickhead move he's some talent, you'd need to go a long way back to find such an impressive performance in such poor conditions. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted November 26, 2016 Author Share Posted November 26, 2016 So is rosberg going to do it tomorrow or will Hamilton nick it from him? Can see Hamilton winning but rosberg finishing second anyway. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edinburghdon Posted November 26, 2016 Share Posted November 26, 2016 So is rosberg going to do it tomorrow or will Hamilton nick it from him? Can see Hamilton winning but rosberg finishing second anyway. I think Rosberg will hold on, I really hope it's not decided by technical issues though regardless of who wins Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
irnbru1903 Posted November 29, 2016 Share Posted November 29, 2016 This was the only bit of decent news on a very bad day for sport All I can say is HAHA :laughing: Perhaps if it was a sport that actually had a level playing field I would have more sympathy but it is far from that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted November 29, 2016 Author Share Posted November 29, 2016 Is he going to be suspended for being a knob? I did laugh that rosberg refused to confirm whether he would or wouldn't do it himself. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edinburghdon Posted November 29, 2016 Share Posted November 29, 2016 Is he going to be suspended for being a knob? I did laugh that rosberg refused to confirm whether he would or wouldn't do it himself. Reckon it'll be swept under the carpet now, in fairness Rosberg has dealt with the questions well. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1903_Redz Posted November 29, 2016 Share Posted November 29, 2016 Didn't see it live as i'd foolishly agreed to travel to the weeg and waste some time down there.... As i've said above i'm not a fan of either HAM or ROS but if i'd been HAM i'd have been trying to pull that stunt 4 races ago when it became clear he needed snookers. He was bound to get a result eventually. Saying that the Merc hierarchy would have probably pulled him out if he'd kept it up. The Beeb are being a bit bairny suggesting ROS isn't a worthy champion, he's maybe not the best but he's obviously earned it! Looking forward to next season... i think. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...