swaddon Posted Tuesday at 16:45 Report Posted Tuesday at 16:45 I don't want to be stepping on anyone's toes, but I used to start all the match threads on Aberdeen Mad, and now I've got my feet firmly under the table here, I thought I would take the liberty of doing the same on DonsTalk. The Dons take on the league leaders at Pittodrie on Sunday 23rd November at 3 pm. Hearts haven't lost a league game all season, and have scored goals aplenty. Aberdeen have lost lots of games this season, and haven't scored many goals. Nevertheless, I fancy the Dons to win 1-0. 3 Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted Tuesday at 16:54 Report Posted Tuesday at 16:54 Well done Swaddon. If it disappears later, check the Brewdog thread. 3 Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted Tuesday at 17:12 Report Posted Tuesday at 17:12 Really looking forward to this one. I don't care much for international fitba, so chomping at the bit for Sundays game. Jimmy would be forgiven a lot, if we stopped the Gorgie mobs unbeaten run. In South Stand 2-0 - Nisbet and Devlin. Quote
Elgindon Posted Tuesday at 17:31 Report Posted Tuesday at 17:31 (edited) Wee bit nervous about this one,hope we're fired up for it,and Luts has given JT some gentle steel toecap encouragement on how to play fitba In - Y Prediction - 2 - 2. Lazetic,Karlsson Edited Tuesday at 17:35 by Elgindon Quote
manc_don Posted Tuesday at 18:17 Report Posted Tuesday at 18:17 1 hour ago, swaddon said: I don't want to be stepping on anyone's toes, but I used to start all the match threads on Aberdeen Mad, and now I've got my feet firmly under the table here, I thought I would take the liberty of doing the same on DonsTalk. The Dons take on the league leaders at Pittodrie on Sunday 23rd November at 3 pm. Hearts haven't lost a league game all season, and have scored goals aplenty. Aberdeen have lost lots of games this season, and haven't scored many goals. Nevertheless, I fancy the Dons to win 1-0. Usually a first come first serve so fire away! Anything for an easy life Really don’t know what to make of this game and hoping that it’s not just the heart leading things, but feels like we could sneak this. I’d love to see mcwinless’ smug face wiped clean off and the gorgie mongrels put back in their box. Their fans (quite rightly so) have been unbearable online. All I hope is we’ve somehow worked out what our best midfield is and find a way to score a goal or two. out bed bed work Dons 1 - 0 Hearts, Karlsson Quote
OneBrianIrvine. Posted Tuesday at 19:51 Report Posted Tuesday at 19:51 (edited) Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaasssssssssss Oops wrong thread but FFS look at that goal Edited Tuesday at 19:52 by OneBrianIrvine. Quote
OneBrianIrvine. Posted Tuesday at 19:59 Report Posted Tuesday at 19:59 Right what I wanted to post when McTom distracted me No match thread has had me discomfited so I did think to myself Swaddon must be going tonto Again (brewbrouhaha aside) appreciate how we’ve been welcomed(tolerated ) here Quote
BigAl Posted Tuesday at 20:45 Report Posted Tuesday at 20:45 As Manc says first come, first served in terms of starting match threads. Used to be Manc, but he became lazy and we just shared it out. Regarding the game Out Golf Red TV 2-1 Shinnie & Topi Nae idea 1 Quote
RicoS321 Posted Tuesday at 22:06 Report Posted Tuesday at 22:06 Hopefully Shankland goes on a three day bender. 1 4 Quote
Radiored Posted yesterday at 01:11 Report Posted yesterday at 01:11 Hate tae be the dampener, but Ah'm expectin' we get a doin' .... Ah'll be jumpin up an' doon like a dafty if we get a point. .... sorry folks, Ah dae think we're gettin better, but dinna think we're good enough yet .... even if Ah dinna think Farts are as good as their lofty league position might suggest. Prediction .... Dons 0, Farts ? Quote
CurlsLikeTattie Posted yesterday at 11:02 Report Posted yesterday at 11:02 18 hours ago, swaddon said: I don't want to be stepping on anyone's toes, but I used to start all the match threads on Aberdeen Mad, and now I've got my feet firmly under the table here, I thought I would take the liberty of doing the same on DonsTalk. The Dons take on the league leaders at Pittodrie on Sunday 23rd November at 3 pm. Hearts haven't lost a league game all season, and have scored goals aplenty. Aberdeen have lost lots of games this season, and haven't scored many goals. Nevertheless, I fancy the Dons to win 1-0. I am hoping you regain your form in starting match threads, akin to when Jimmy took over. You were to thank for that unbeaten run - before your form fell off a cliff and ruined the team Here's to a new board bounce and a new run of form! Oot 2-1 us Nisbet & Devlin Quote
OneBrianIrvine. Posted yesterday at 11:12 Report Posted yesterday at 11:12 13 hours ago, RicoS321 said: Hopefully Shankland goes on a three day bender. I tried to like this but apparently I’ve run out of reactions?!? what a weird concept to have a limit but guess that’s the platform anyway made me laugh The guy will be cock a hoop and even more of a danger. Unfortunately I don’t see us taking anything from this. 2 Quote
BigAl Posted yesterday at 12:49 Report Posted yesterday at 12:49 1 hour ago, OneBrianIrvine. said: I tried to like this but apparently I’ve run out of reactions?!? In all the years of being a moderator/admin on here and they are many, I've never come across this scenario before. Think you've broken the site It is a new one to me, but we will investigate and clarify in due course and get back to you. 2 Quote
tlg1903 Posted 22 hours ago Report Posted 22 hours ago 9 hours ago, OneBrianIrvine. said: I tried to like this but apparently I’ve run out of reactions?!? what a weird concept to have a limit but guess that’s the platform Had a wee dig into that, turns out you were all limited to ten reacts a day by default. I think it's all tied into the reputation system so the limits are to stop people trying to game the system and improving a profile ranking which obviously no-one on this site gives flying fuck about. I've removed the limit for everyone (I think) so you should be able to react away to your hearts content. If you could check for me please before it hits midnight that would be much appreciated. 1 Quote
OneBrianIrvine. Posted 21 hours ago Report Posted 21 hours ago Sorted. Bloody hell got the forum modified; we couldn’t even post a bloody apostrophe for the past couple of years on Mad… thanks tlg 1 1 Quote
BigAl Posted 21 hours ago Report Posted 21 hours ago Nice work mate. I had a very quick look at lunchtime but nothing was jumping out on me and been really busy (seriously for once) so never went back to it. Can only think as I said previously that surely no one ever encountered this before Quote
tlg1903 Posted 21 hours ago Report Posted 21 hours ago 19 minutes ago, BigAl said: Nice work mate. I had a very quick look at lunchtime but nothing was jumping out on me and been really busy (seriously for once) so never went back to it. Can only think as I said previously that surely no one ever encountered this before It actually happened to me just after the cup final but I was a bit pissed and completely forgot all about it until OBI mentioned it there. 1 Quote
BigAl Posted 20 hours ago Report Posted 20 hours ago 13 minutes ago, tlg1903 said: It actually happened to me just after the cup final but I was a bit pissed and completely forgot all about it until OBI mentioned it there. A bit pissed Shouldn't have held back and gone all in 1 Quote
Panda Posted 15 hours ago Report Posted 15 hours ago How many moderators does this forum actually have? Quote
Jute Posted 11 hours ago Report Posted 11 hours ago 4 hours ago, Panda said: How many moderators does this forum actually have? Everyone but you basically. Feel we are struggling to find our best side. Recent changes have definitely made us look better defensively but we still do not look like scoring many goals as we do not create many chances. Would like to see us to try Lazetic and Nisbet as a pairing up front but doing that probably means dropping Karlsson or Armstrong. Really hope we can be ones to burst Hearts bubble but suspect we won’t. In train then pub Y pub then train 1-2 Nisbet with Dons goal. Quote
BigAl Posted 10 hours ago Report Posted 10 hours ago The imposter has gone Welcome back, the real Jute 2 Quote
Blow.Up.Sheep Posted 7 hours ago Report Posted 7 hours ago Equal with St Midden we have currently scored the least amount of goals in the league (8) Conceding goals is not really as big a problem as a lot of folks tend to be making out, as outside the ugly sister and the diets we are 4th in that department (conceded 12 till now) So it's clear the scoring is by far a bigger problem than conceding, so I will say it once again Jimmy. FFS this is not fkn rocket science, start with two up top in at least every home game (namely Nisbet and Lazetic) and build the rest of the starting 11 around them. Do that at home and for sure 100% we will win more games than we draw or lose, it's pretty fkn simple really, but yet you continue to try ramming square pegs into round holes. You just need to stop being a stubborn tw@t. Start this game with Nisbet and Lazetic up front and we will win this, starting with anything else is asking for trouble and will be 0-0 at best. do the right thing and we will win 2-0 and burst their bubble, do the wrong thing and the diets train will keep on trucking 1 Quote
Blow.Up.Sheep Posted 7 hours ago Report Posted 7 hours ago On 18/11/2025 at 20:45, swaddon said: I don't want to be stepping on anyone's toes, but I used to start all the match threads on Aberdeen Mad, and now I've got my feet firmly under the table here, I thought I would take the liberty of doing the same on DonsTalk. The Dons take on the league leaders at Pittodrie on Sunday 23rd November at 3 pm. Hearts haven't lost a league game all season, and have scored goals aplenty. Aberdeen have lost lots of games this season, and haven't scored many goals. Nevertheless, I fancy the Dons to win 1-0. meant to say, good job mate 1 Quote
wee toon red Posted 6 hours ago Report Posted 6 hours ago The simplicity of more strikers = more goals never ceases to amaze me. Two up front guarantees nothing, unless the proposal is a big man/wee man set up where we launch the ball from the back in a 00s Martin O'Neill style. Removing a midfielder to stick another striker in the team is far more likely to result in our midfield being (even more) over-run, almost zero possession and no protection for the defence. The answer isn't more strikers, it's midfield players who are more comfortable on the ball and can pick a pass, ideally to hard working wingers and/or attacking midfielders who aren't afraid to have a go at the opposition defence. Quote
RicoS321 Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago Just now, wee toon red said: The simplicity of more strikers = more goals never ceases to amaze me. Two up front guarantees nothing, unless the proposal is a big man/wee man set up where we launch the ball from the back in a 00s Martin O'Neill style. Removing a midfielder to stick another striker in the team is far more likely to result in our midfield being (even more) over-run, almost zero possession and no protection for the defence. The answer isn't more strikers, it's midfield players who are more comfortable on the ball and can pick a pass, ideally to hard working wingers and/or attacking midfielders who aren't afraid to have a go at the opposition defence. It's simplistic, no more so than suggesting we have to take out a midfielder, but it also takes into account the actual goalscorers in our squad. Nisbet is completely nullified without another striker, so we're left with Lazetic being the only viable option. We have already adapted our defence to accommodate our defenders with a back three, it seems strange we wouldn't attempt to do similar further up the park. A 3-5-2 would work, as would a 3-3-2-2 (I claimed in another thread), or a 3-4-1-2. All would provide three midfielders. The 3-3-2-2 would allow Clarkson to sit behind two high pressing midfielders, the 3-4-1-2 would allow Armstrong to play in front of two holding midfielders. The wing backs would probably be slightly more defensive (as required, depending on circumstances) due to the additional striker. The downside would be Karlsson on the bench. He could play behind the strikers of course, or we have him as a high impact sub, maybe moving to a back four to chase games. Quote