Sunday 23rd November 2025, kick-off 3pm

Scottish Premiership - Aberdeen v Hearts

January 2026 Transfer Window

Posted (edited)
5 hours ago, swaddon said:

Players in the auld days used to do a 16 hour shift down the pit every day and still turn out for their team on a Saturday afternoon.

Modern footballers don't know they're born.

'You cant expect a professional, paid to do nothing but play football all day to achieve the same level of physical fitness as a man who works in a chip shop all week and only plays football on saturdays'

Screenshot_20251111_155551_YouTube.jpg

Edited by tom_widdows
  • Haha 1

I can honestly say how dissatisfied and disappointed I have been with the signings especially those made in the summer window.

Aouchiche hast justified anything anywhere near his option to buy clause.

Bilalovic I have never seen anything either , then he has rarely had minutes on the pitch.

Karlsson isn’t ours , so no point mentioning him, we couldn’t afford him anyway.

Nisbet will get goals eventually.

Yengi…. Way of the pace and standard.

Milanovic I had high hopes for him, but again, not up to standard.

Frame ….. Who? Where ?

Lazetic, has flashes of ability, not an out and out goal scorer though

I could go on and on, Morris has been sorely missed, we are screaming out for a box to box physical midfielder.

our wingers are not supplying our strikers with any ammunition.

Basically all our signings have been a downgrade to what we had. 

We still look awful on the ball and clueless at the back.

Chat in the P&J today about Clarkson possibly moving on in January.

"concrete bid" over the summer from a Polish club but he didn't fancy it, usual "quotes" of things along lines of "nae staying here to freeze my nuts off on the bench" etc

Disappointing though, no use of "want-a-way midfielder", possibly because I don't think he really wants to leave.

I'd have kept/played him and binned about 4-6 midfielder ahead of him, but whadda-I-know.

7 minutes ago, wester_ross_don said:

Chat in the P&J today about Clarkson possibly moving on in January.

"concrete bid" over the summer from a Polish club but he didn't fancy it, usual "quotes" of things along lines of "nae staying here to freeze my nuts off on the bench" etc

Disappointing though, no use of "want-a-way midfielder", possibly because I don't think he really wants to leave.

I'd have kept/played him and binned about 4-6 midfielder ahead of him, but whadda-I-know.

Aye, a strange one. We are crying out for a creative player in midfield and yet we have (in my opinion) out best midfielder rotting on the bench.

Clarkson is too lightweight for our league. Skilful enough player but always seemed to disappear against teams like St Mirren with a more physical approach. 

7 minutes ago, Jute2 said:

Clarkson is too lightweight for our league. Skilful enough player but always seemed to disappear against teams like St Mirren with a more physical approach. 

This.

we have a ton of average midfielders and I look at Killian Phillips for example who seems to be having more of an impact this season than any of our guys. Clarkson is ‘nice,’ but in my opinion, not quick or strong enough. Think we saw him as our 10 when we had him on loan, then very quickly realized that wasn’t his position, so moved him back, but he doesn’t have the attributes to do more heavy lifting. Not unlike polvara in a way, I question whether Scottish football is for him.

if we were to see sivert, Clarkson, and polvara move on in Jan freeing up space for a legit signing plus give Kjarten minutes, maybe even recall Marshall, I’m good with that.

2 hours ago, OrlandoDon said:

This.

we have a ton of average midfielders and I look at Killian Phillips for example who seems to be having more of an impact this season than any of our guys. Clarkson is ‘nice,’ but in my opinion, not quick or strong enough. Think we saw him as our 10 when we had him on loan, then very quickly realized that wasn’t his position, so moved him back, but he doesn’t have the attributes to do more heavy lifting. Not unlike polvara in a way, I question whether Scottish football is for him.

if we were to see sivert, Clarkson, and polvara move on in Jan freeing up space for a legit signing plus give Kjarten minutes, maybe even recall Marshall, I’m good with that.

I disagree. It's the equivalent of saying Billy Gilmour isn't good enough. You adjust the team to get the best out of players like Clarkson, because if you do then they'll create numerous chances. They're the difference between being a sideways, laboured, slow build up team, that hopes for a mistake from the opposition, and a team that makes the incisive pass and brings the attacking players into play when they have their best chance of scoring before the opponent gets back. The fact that we didn't sign anyone to compliment Clarkson, even as an option during games, is criminal. Even Robson knew how to get the best out of him. Clarkson taking the ball from defence and immediately getting the strikers involved, with Ramadani and Shinnie pressing high was a great setup. That, with the option switch and play two defensive midfielders and a number 10 like Armstrong would be a great way to build a squad (midfield). We really only needed one additional signing to do that. There isn't a chance on earth that Marshall is close to the level of Clarkson (that's not a criticism), and the Icelandic laddy looks to me to be a replacement for Nilsen in the squad, but I doubt he'll be getting much time this season. If Polvara is open to being a utility player, then he's worth his weight in gold. Palaversa can leave with many thanks for his only good game. 

Fit Rico says.

Clarksons best spell was when Robson was caretaker and Ramadani and Shinnie were doing the heavy lifting, allowing Clarkson to do his thing.

I also don't buy into him being too lightweight for our league.

Whilst not in anyway a natural hardman, he does get stuck in, but it's just not his game.

Clarkson is arguably our most talented plaar; that JT hisna got a tune oot o him is a pretty major failure on his part. That lame performance against Motherwell is the same issue extrapolated: our midfield set-up is a disaster. Naebody up the pitch. Surely the idea of having 3 centre-backs is to give your midfield better chances to get up the pitch?

1 hour ago, Jormungandr said:

Clarkson is arguably our most talented plaar; that JT hisna got a tune oot o him is a pretty major failure on his part. That lame performance against Motherwell is the same issue extrapolated: our midfield set-up is a disaster. Naebody up the pitch. Surely the idea of having 3 centre-backs is to give your midfield better chances to get up the pitch?

The idea of us having three centre backs is because we kept losing stupid goals with only two in there! 

I've mentioned before, if we played a 3-4-1-2, then you can have Armstrong in number 10, who'd be perfect there. We do the weird 3-4-3 thing, where either him or Aouchiche play wide, and reek the place out. Largely to accommodate Karlsson I expect. Works okay when we're trying to stay solid I guess, but blunt as fuck going forward for the reason you state - the midfield then don't get forward (centrally). The back three does allow Devlin and Knoester to go for a run without too much concern back the way, which I think is important with the way JT asks his defenders to play.