UEFA Europa League Play off - 1st leg

Thursday 21st August 2025

Aberdeen v FCSB, kick-off 7.30pm

Hearts v The Scottish Cup Winners

There's been good and bad.  Crosses into our box still seem a problem but some of our passing and movement has been very encouraging.  Milanovic is impressing when he gets on the ball and when we are attacking it is with intent.   All is not lost. 

1 minute ago, tlg1903 said:

There's been good and bad.  Crosses into our box still seem a problem but some of our passing and movement has been very encouraging.  Milanovic is impressing when he gets on the ball and when we are attacking it is with intent.   All is not lost. 

How has big yengi been so far? Second half hat trick??

1 minute ago, OrlandoDon said:

Some good, more bad.  Don't think he's won a header yet and some of his first touches have left a lot to be desired.  That said he's had a couple of nice wee lay offs and has hit the post (mishit effort though).  Also was really unlucky with a heel flick he tried.  

Nielsen’s like that cunt at work who’s been a supervisor for the last 10 years because he can’t actually do the work itself but doesn’t have the leadership skills to get promoted. So he’s just there getting in the way, contributing nothing.

Totally unacceptable half. Poor all over. Outworked, ponderous on the ball. Keskinen still pish, Jensen having a howler, yengi is very poor, shinnie is getting dragged all over the place and the French boy is pretty much non existent apart from avoiding a few tackles then losing it.

If I have to explain to Jimmy why playing Clarkson , Adil and keskinen together at tynecastle isn't going to work, he probably isn't up to the job. 

Three show ponies in a fight, second half needs to be miles better because if we get battered here and on Sunday we're  in for a poor season.

The goal is a series of errors. Shinnie loses it, Knoester slips allowing the first cross in, then Shinnie mis-hits the clearance and puts it into the net.

We've been tidy enough in midfield, but haven't created much. Few times we've broke well on the counter and the final ball has been really poor.

Hearts have won the second balls outside our box and when they do we looked panic.

Shinnie is being asked to bomb forward a lot. I'd actually put Jensen over there and put on Devlin at right back. Milne also looking a bit nervous.

Don't agree with the Clarkson criticism, think he's been one of our better players.

24 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said:

Name your odds 😂

Not too much on show from us to get excited about.

Milanovic probably top performer so far.

Don't think some of the criticism about Clarkson is justified.

All criticism of Yengi, completely justified 

Our £1.5m man posted missing in midfield

We could have done worse than sign Harry Milne

2 minutes ago, BigAl said:

How the fuck has Yengi missed that 🙄

I think he was trying to control it with his left then hit it with his right but it comes of his shin and trundles out 🤦‍♂️

First half thought we looked exactly like a match-unfit team playing an opponent who have had 4 confidence-boosting wins against lower opposition.  

Playing somewhat better now, although Yengi is definitely the new Gueye, and should thank his lucky stars Ambrose exists as a comparison.

Only 60mins but Milanovic looks an excellent find.

Edit:  Stop.

Morris Time.

giphy.gif

3 minutes ago, OxfordDon said:

First half thought we looked exactly like a match-unfit team playing an opponent who have had 4 confidence-boosting wins against lower opposition.  

Playing somewhat better now, although Yengi is definitely the new Gueye, and should thank his lucky stars Ambrose exists as a comparison.

Only 60mins but Milanovic looks an excellent find.

Edit:  Stop.

Morris Time.

giphy.gif

Bollocks 2-0

3 minutes ago, OxfordDon said:

I don’t think that was too unexpected. We weren’t quite ready for that match in terms of match sharpness or up front. We definitely need to get a number 9 signed ASAP. Think that was clearly illustrated when we sent Boyd up front.

Hearts are what I would expect under McInnes. I think they will do well enough this season but I don’t see them splitting the old firm. 

I think we have signed some decent players. Milanovic looks handy, and I think there could be a player in the French lad once he settles in. Yengi was pretty unconvincing and I don’t think he’s a number 9. 

Hearts had a few very good individual performances (thought McIntee looked very good for them, the type of midfielder we need) but they were just aggressive, forced mistakes, and we handed them their two goals. I don't think we walked off thinking they were miles better than us. At times when we actually got playing, individually we had a bit more about us, but look like a team that needs games.

If that was a pre-season friendly I'd be thinking we showed signs of promise but need a finisher and need to be more aggressive when chasing those second balls. My worry was last week we'd be a little undercooked - fitness wise we're fine but no real rhythm to us.

Easy to blame lack of friendlies, but was very little cohesion in that front three. Yengi - what I will say for him is he gets into the right positions, that's about all I can say for him. Milanovic and Aouchiche showed flashes, but neither of them hurt Hearts. 

Clarkson for me our best player. Great deliveries that deserved better finishes.

Meh, annoying to lose to Hearts, but I don't think we're far away from still having a good season. 

We created nothing in that game. Clarkson on the ball was decent. That's not the issue here, when we don't have the ball he doesn't win it back and at tynecastle he's brushed off it, as was shinnie, as was Adil, as was keskinen. Special mention to yengi for lack of presence at his size.

Were not going to win games unless the opposition sit off of us. Too many passengers or to be fair to them not enough physicality in our side.

At tynecastle i'd have brought kjartan/polvara in with Nilsen ( who also looked off it physically today ) to ensure we won the physical battle because EVERYBODY ( except Jimmy apparently) knew how this game would play out.

The result wasn't the worst but I'm really angry that we've learned nothing, moved too slow in the window and our preparation for this season has been piss poor.

Was a struggle following it on the Beeb website text updates. But chuckle of the day went to Craig Levein "Yengi getting subbed off - thats the fastest we've seen him move all day".

Willie Miller gave Yengi absolute dogs abuse for doing fuckall all game. 

54 minutes ago, redordead said:

We created nothing in that game. Clarkson on the ball was decent. That's not the issue here, when we don't have the ball he doesn't win it back and at tynecastle he's brushed off it, as was shinnie, as was Adil, as was keskinen. Special mention to yengi for lack of presence at his size.

Were not going to win games unless the opposition sit off of us. Too many passengers or to be fair to them not enough physicality in our side.

At tynecastle i'd have brought kjartan/polvara in with Nilsen ( who also looked off it physically today ) to ensure we won the physical battle because EVERYBODY ( except Jimmy apparently) knew how this game would play out.

The result wasn't the worst but I'm really angry that we've learned nothing, moved too slow in the window and our preparation for this season has been piss poor.

I don’t think you can say we’ve moved too slow in the window. If you want to sign more yengi’s then they’d be here tomorrow, but if we want to sign legit quality within our budget that takes time, frustration rejection, and plan B, C, D etc. 

I expected to lose the first two games as we’re just not ready, squad wise or fitness wise. One plus of the league cup is competitive preseason, I don’t quite understand our lack of games to date. You can play endless inter squad games but I don’t think you get that bite and aggression that hearts and co bring. It’s frustrating the window is open for 4 weeks of our season and we’re still building a team. I said before we needed to replace the coach who went back home last season with an aggressive Scotsman who knows the league, we’re a bit of a soft touch.

Aye, that was predictable. We were fairly shite. I'm going to say bottom six level. Milanovic was half decent, although not defensively, and whilst he beat his man several times, never really escaped him. Not sure about Aouchiche. Yengi pish. Nilsen looked like he hadn't played in six months. Jensen gave it away too often and immediately fucked up when moved to left back (because he isn't a fucking left back). Milne looked shaky. Shinnie wasn't great, but after he sold himself for the first, Knoester should have been first to that ball, even before he slipped. We just weren't very sharp all game. 

Not sure where we are yet, would like to see more of the new lads before passing judgement. It doesn't look promising though. I said we'd need a number 8 to do the yards, and I still think we do. A striker obviously a must.