Friday 20th June 2025 - SPFL 25/26 Fixtures Released

🏆️ SCOTTISH CUP WINNERS 2024/25 🏆

1 hour ago, Slim said:

Not sure the procession needed the coach and 2 ambulances following it though.

I think the coach might have been for families and the like. Also, I think someone collapsed in front of the bus at one point (I think they were fine), and I wondered if they had thought that maybe being right behind the bus would be the quickest way to get to anyone in an emergency? Or the paramedics are just massive fucking Dandies and blagged their way to a front seat at the parade.

59 minutes ago, tlg1903 said:

I've been wondering about seeing if we could get Bojan on loan too I must admit. He's not had much of a sniff at Girona since coming back from injury. 

Did anyone see Mcgrath hug Thelin during the post pen celebrations?  His eyes pure lit up when he saw him then he launched himself at him to hug.  I thought that was quite interesting given Mcgrath didn't even get a place in the squad and is also leaving. It shows impressive man management if you ask me. 

I think a bojan loan is a win win. We get a legit striker, they either get a guy who finds form and rejoins them, or he’s advertised playing for us and gets sold for decent money. All assuming it’s a successful loan.

What a fucking day. Up at 430 for flight up the road. 10 pints deep by the time I met my dad, nephew and BiL. First final for nephew and first with my dad since 90. Was close to greeting losing in 17, but fucking hell was closer today. Better not wait 35 years for another one, I’ll be 80! Wasn’t confident at all and said before I’d take a shithouse 0-0 and 9-8 on pens so the  1-1 and 4-2 on pens was even better 🤣

• Haha 1
2 hours ago, RicoS321 said:

I think the coach might have been for families and the like. Also, I think someone collapsed in front of the bus at one point (I think they were fine), and I wondered if they had thought that maybe being right behind the bus would be the quickest way to get to anyone in an emergency? Or the paramedics are just massive fucking Dandies and blagged their way to a front seat at the parade.

Players went into the coach after the council had milked the occasion for all it’s worth inside the town hall. 

Great to see so many people in the city today but not sure about the choice of beer for some of the players!!

10 hours ago, RicoS321 said:

Hope all you central belters are able to make the street parade at short notice! Great to see folk on the bridges all the way up the road to Aberdeen last night waving Dons flags. Top effort. Will take the kids to Union street today. Never know when the next one might be (I'm not even sure you have one for winning the Europa league?).

Early rise but will worth the trip 

Need a bigger balcony for next time. Not sure how I got so close as started at top of union Street then went the long way round to beat the bus.

Brilliant turn out from the city, every corner I turned there were more bodies!

4 hours ago, tlg1903 said:

I thought that was quite interesting given Mcgrath didn't even get a place in the squad and is also leaving. 

He was injured according to Thelin pre-match.

Had he been fit, could have been a Charlie Nicholas moment with him stepping up for a spot kick.

What a tremendous day winning the cup how amazing is that feeling 🙌 

Jimmy and the players did us proud so pleased for them all!! 

Thought Hampden looked great with so much red all around 

Incredible way to finish the season after all the highs and lows 

• Like 3
11 minutes ago, Goldie03 said:

Thought Hampden looked great with so much red all around

I even wore an old red strip (saltire energy one) I found that I didn't realise I had, I don't normally wear strips unless playing. Still fit perfectly, such is my athletic figure.

• Haha 2
4 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

I even wore an old red strip (saltire energy one) I found that I didn't realise I had, I don't normally wear strips unless playing. Still fit perfectly, such is my athletic figure.

Didn't know you were still playing...not bad for a octogenerian.

5 minutes ago, dons8321 said:

Didn't know you were still playing...not bad for a octogenerian.

I'm a relative youngster on this board. I play fives still, although my knees would prefer I didn't after a few bad injuries!

Posted (edited)
On 20/04/2025 at 17:15, Panda said:

I'll be in a minority that's glad it's Celtic we're playing in the final. 

The 2017 final still rankles. We should have done it that day. Shay Logan standing off Stuart Armstrong and letting him hit that equaliser in a half when Celtic offered little. The Jonny Hayes - Kenny McLean mix up that should have given us a second (and to this day I still don't know who to blame). 

Beat them on 24 May, win the cup, end a 35-year wait, and do it against a seemingly unstoppable side going for yet another treble. It would be beautiful and would finally put 2017 to bed.

And 2017 will now no longer keep me awake at night.

That's me completed the "big five" set now. Have seen us beat Celtic, Rangers, Hibs and Hearts at Hampden. Technically haven't seen us beat Dundee United there, although have seen us win a semi-final v them at Dens Park and that counts.

Edited by Panda
11 hours ago, RicoS321 said:

I'm a relative youngster on this board. I play fives still, although my knees would prefer I didn't after a few bad injuries!

9v7512.gif

• Haha 4
1 hour ago, BigAl said:

Christ almighty posting another link to BBC Scotland 😲

Haven't listened yet but away to do so now 👍

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/p0ld9r64?partner=uk.co.bbc&origin=share-mobile

Fantastic. Unforgettable. 

Great to hear Shinnie too. Legs have gone, never a leader etc etc. Get it up yis, anyone who ever spouted that trite, cliched pish. First up for the pens, and smashes it in the top corner. Proper fucking captain.

Not said much on the game since Saturday, it was too unbelievable, but we were immense to a man. Even lads like Keskinen, who didn't have a great game, Nisbet too, worked their arses off. Devlin was fucking ace (and I was so pleased to see him playing left back instead of Jensen - who was brilliant on Maeda - as he keeps things simple and is relentless in marking his man), as were the rest of the back line, especially top Dandy: Milne. Was surprised when Clarkson came off, but Palaversa worked his arse off. Every change was spot on from Thelin, and at the right time. Polvara coming on to play out of position, Tobers did well, MacKenzie solid and positionally excellent, and Gueye and Dabbagh ran themselves into the ground and challenged for everything. Thon Morris lad did alright too.

Was sitting next to Brian Irvine, and he looked fairly nervous before the pens! I was certain we were winning it when it went into pens. Our keeper was/is miles better, with Schmeichel looking tiny in the goals, comparitively.

I don't really care about next season now. A much needed break from fitba.

• Like 3
5 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

Fantastic. Unforgettable. 

Great to hear Shinnie too. Legs have gone, never a leader etc etc. Get it up yis, anyone who ever spouted that trite, cliched pish. First up for the pens, and smashes it in the top corner. Proper fucking captain.

Not said much on the game since Saturday, it was too unbelievable, but we were immense to a man. Even lads like Keskinen, who didn't have a great game, Nisbet too, worked their arses off. Devlin was fucking ace (and I was so pleased to see him playing left back instead of Jensen - who was brilliant on Maeda - as he keeps things simple and is relentless in marking his man), as were the rest of the back line, especially top Dandy: Milne. Was surprised when Clarkson came off, but Palaversa worked his arse off. Every change was spot on from Thelin, and at the right time. Polvara coming on to play out of position, Tobers did well, MacKenzie solid and positionally excellent, and Gueye and Dabbagh ran themselves into the ground and challenged for everything. Thon Morris lad did alright too.

Was sitting next to Brian Irvine, and he looked fairly nervous before the pens! I was certain we were winning it when it went into pens. Our keeper was/is miles better, with Schmeichel looking tiny in the goals, comparitively.

I don't really care about next season now. A much needed break from fitba.

Well said and I couldn't agree more about the break 

4 minutes ago, Goldie03 said:

Well said and I couldn't agree more about the break 

To each their own but I'm quite the opposite.  Can't wait for next season now 😂😂😂

• Haha 1
11 minutes ago, tlg1903 said:

To each their own but I'm quite the opposite.  Can't wait for next season now 😂😂😂

Aye, I just found it exhausting! I noticed that the shiteshow down South had games on yesterday. I don't know/care when they moved it, but not having the FA cup final on the last day is absolutely rank. Talk about devaluing the competition. I couldn't imagine having the weekend we just had, and then heading to Paisley (or wherever) next weekend for a league match. Anyway, that is just one of the many reasons that English football is for cunts.

• Like 3

Fair play to the BBC that was a quality listen that not even Paddy Bonner could ruin (all joking aside in fairness I heard him saying today was all about Aberdeen)

Like Rico, haven't commented too much on Saturday's events and agree absolutely no failures in our team, they all played their part.

In our stands the support were amazing and never stopped the entire 120+ minutes of play.

I as most of you will be aware have been fortunate to witness all bar one of our eight Scottish Cup victories and I can assure you there has never been one quite like that.

Special for me after all these years to have my 30 year old son by my side, both of us like so many others in a flood of tears.

Lastly on a personal note I got married thirteen days after the 1990 and I had said to the wife, that if we lost on Saturday her time was up and she would be getting divorce papers served as she was patently a jinx 😉

Happy to say, thirty five years of hurt gone and marriage saved 🥰

• Haha 3
Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, tlg1903 said:

It's starting to sink in a bit now but I still can't believe it.  

Fuckin

YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAS 

I keep pinching myself just to check, recheck and check again. *Still get emotional looking at all the photographs and the sheer emotion from the players. 

Waiting that phone call from Laurence Fishburne to say, Iain, you're in the matrix. We need to meet. 

Edited by JessianK
  • Haha 1