tlg1903 Posted Wednesday at 11:33 Report Posted Wednesday at 11:33 2 minutes ago, manc_don said: He left WSW, canāt be thick jokes aside, heās always come across as pretty grounded. Genuinely excited by his signing. Yeah me too, how quick is he Manc?Ā Saw him doing sprints in video put up on the first day back to pre season and he looked pretty rapid but it's not so easy to be sure over such short distances.Ā Quote
Panda Posted Wednesday at 18:07 Report Posted Wednesday at 18:07 (edited) 7 hours ago, RicoS321 said: Why's that?Ā Why wouldn't I want Shankland at Aberdeen? I think his attitude stinks and he's spent most of his career pissing away his talent. With respect to Hearts, a player of that talent should be playing on a bigger stage than them and should be a first pick for Scotland (it's not like he's being kept out of the team by far superior players). That Hearts made him captain might explain the shambles of a season they had last year. He's no leader. He's the first to lose his head in games and his bi-annual meltdowns at Pittodrie show it. And, from what I hear, Hearts will be paying a fortune to get him to stay. We'd need to at least match that to get him here, which would make him the highest paid player at Pittodrie by some distance. Edited Wednesday at 18:10 by Panda 1 Quote
OxfordDon Posted Wednesday at 19:12 Report Posted Wednesday at 19:12 1 hour ago, Panda said: Why wouldn't I want Shankland at Aberdeen? I think his attitude stinks and he's spent most of his career pissing away his talent. With respect to Hearts, a player of that talent should be playing on a bigger stage than them and should be a first pick for Scotland (it's not like he's being kept out of the team by far superior players). That Hearts made him captain might explain the shambles of a season they had last year. He's no leader. He's the first to lose his head in games and his bi-annual meltdowns at Pittodrie show it. And, from what I hear, Hearts will be paying a fortune to get him to stay. We'd need to at least match that to get him here, which would make him the highest paid player at Pittodrie by some distance. Would be inclined to agree.Ā That ship has sailed, bridge is burnt, sheep has bolted etc Quote
Reekie_Red Posted Wednesday at 20:48 Report Posted Wednesday at 20:48 9 hours ago, tlg1903 said: how quick is he Manc?Ā He's quick from the couple of times ive seen him Morris probably just shades him in an all-out sprint, but I'd say he is one of our top 2 in the quick-categoryĀ 1 Quote
manc_don Posted Wednesday at 21:23 Report Posted Wednesday at 21:23 33 minutes ago, Reekie_Red said: He's quick from the couple of times ive seen him Morris probably just shades him in an all-out sprint, but I'd say he is one of our top 2 in the quick-categoryĀ Agree with this. Heās pretty rapid. Also thereās generally a bit of excitement about what heās going to do next. 1 Quote
Reekie_Red Posted yesterday at 08:00 Report Posted yesterday at 08:00 Interesting article on the Beeb website highlighting which Scottish players are currently available for free. A few could be good additions for us if we are willing to meet their wage demands.Ā Upfront theres Steve Fletcher, Jordan Rhodes and Chris Martin have been released by Wrexham, Blackpool and Bristol Rovers respectively.Ā In midfield, Tom Cairney has bee released by Fulham, whilst Stuart Armstrong and Barry Bannan are leaving Sheffield Wednesday. Jamie Lindsay has been released by Bristol Rovers and, whilst a return to Scotland is highly unlikely, Liam Henderson has been released by Empoli after they were relegated from Serie A.Ā If we are looking to up our Scottish contingent to remain above-board compliance-wise, would any of these fit ? Quote
RicoS321 Posted 23 hours ago Report Posted 23 hours ago 3 minutes ago, Reekie_Red said: Interesting article on the Beeb website highlighting which Scottish players are currently available for free. A few could be good additions for us if we are willing to meet their wage demands.Ā Upfront theres Steve Fletcher, Jordan Rhodes and Chris Martin have been released by Wrexham, Blackpool and Bristol Rovers respectively.Ā In midfield, Tom Cairney has bee released by Fulham, whilst Stuart Armstrong and Barry Bannan are leaving Sheffield Wednesday. Jamie Lindsay has been released by Bristol Rovers and, whilst a return to Scotland is highly unlikely, Liam Henderson has been released by Empoli after they were relegated from Serie A.Ā If we are looking to up our Scottish contingent to remain above-board compliance-wise, would any of these fit ? No 1 Quote
wee toon red Posted 23 hours ago Report Posted 23 hours ago 33 minutes ago, Reekie_Red said: Interesting article on the Beeb website highlighting which Scottish players are currently available for free. A few could be good additions for us if we are willing to meet their wage demands.Ā Upfront theres Steve Fletcher, Jordan Rhodes and Chris Martin have been released by Wrexham, Blackpool and Bristol Rovers respectively.Ā In midfield, Tom Cairney has bee released by Fulham, whilst Stuart Armstrong and Barry Bannan are leaving Sheffield Wednesday. Jamie Lindsay has been released by Bristol Rovers and, whilst a return to Scotland is highly unlikely, Liam Henderson has been released by Empoli after they were relegated from Serie A.Ā If we are looking to up our Scottish contingent to remain above-board compliance-wise, would any of these fit ? No to all on the grounds of a mix of age, wage and ability. Quote
tlg1903 Posted 23 hours ago Report Posted 23 hours ago Armstrong would interest me but apparently Wrexham are after himĀ Quote
DantheDon Posted 22 hours ago Report Posted 22 hours ago 1 hour ago, tlg1903 said: Armstrong would interest me but apparently Wrexham are after himĀ Armstrong was a decent player, but it feels like heās been on the move every window recently which might suggest heās not the player he once was. With the position he plays, his age and likely high wage demands not sure it would be a good move for us. Only one I would have been tempted by is Angus Gunn but we are well covered in the goalkeeping department.Ā 1 Quote
tlg1903 Posted 22 hours ago Report Posted 22 hours ago 5 minutes ago, DantheDon said: Armstrong was a decent player, but it feels like heās been on the move every window recently which might suggest heās not the player he once was. With the position he plays, his age and likely high wage demands not sure it would be a good move for us. Only one I would have been tempted by is Angus Gunn but we are well covered in the goalkeeping department.Ā Aye, his wage demands would be prohibitive but I could see him sitting in that no 10 spot being very effective for us.Ā Quote
DantheDon Posted 19 hours ago Report Posted 19 hours ago BBC have pulled this quote from the interview with Dave Cormack on Red TV:Ā "There's a lot of competition for the same players, particularly young players in Scotland.ā A hint that we are looking at players in Scotland and not just foreign recruits.Ā Quote
Panda Posted 19 hours ago Report Posted 19 hours ago 4 hours ago, Reekie_Red said: Ā Upfront theres Steve Fletcher, That's enough of that, thanks. 2 Quote
baggy89 Posted 19 hours ago Report Posted 19 hours ago 31 minutes ago, DantheDon said: BBC have pulled this quote from the interview with Dave Cormack on Red TV:Ā "There's a lot of competition for the same players, particularly young players in Scotland.ā A hint that we are looking at players in Scotland and not just foreign recruits.Ā Possibly we were looking at Josh Mulligan? Quote
BigAl Posted 18 hours ago Author Report Posted 18 hours ago 5 hours ago, RicoS321 said: No Jesus min, dinnae sit on the fenceĀ Quote
BigAl Posted 12 hours ago Author Report Posted 12 hours ago Beat me to it by one minuteĀ In fairness you have an age advantageĀ 1 Quote
BigAl Posted 12 hours ago Author Report Posted 12 hours ago The next Lewis Ferguson. Sold for several million a couple of years from nowĀ Quote
wee toon red Posted 12 hours ago Report Posted 12 hours ago Defensive minded midfielder? Given we also announced today that weāre scrapping our u19 team then heās got to have been signed for the first team despite only being 18. Promising. Quote
OrlandoDon Posted 11 hours ago Report Posted 11 hours ago apologies for the source, certainly sounds a first team player. Ā https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/kartan-mar-kjartansson-seals-aberdeen-35497797?int_source=amp_continue_reading&int_medium=amp&int_campaign=continue_reading_button#amp-readmore-target Quote
tlg1903 Posted 11 hours ago Report Posted 11 hours ago 25 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said: apologies for the source, certainly sounds a first team player. Ā https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/kartan-mar-kjartansson-seals-aberdeen-35497797?int_source=amp_continue_reading&int_medium=amp&int_campaign=continue_reading_button#amp-readmore-target āI got a warm welcome from the guys, and I couldnāt have asked for anything more. ā Aberdeen is a big club in Iceland, we know the history with the European cups, so it was an easy decision to come here. āItās a good move for this stage in my career and I think the Scottish game will suit my style of play." Clearly he's Jim Bett's lovechildĀ Quote
tlg1903 Posted 10 hours ago Report Posted 10 hours ago Just watched his RTV interview, poor lad looked really uncomfortable but, as was mentioned at the end, it was his first ever on screen interview and in a language that is not his own.Ā He does look very serious for an 18 yo though, he basically says he's a no 6 that likes to drive forward with the ball.Ā Speaking of which this does make me wonder if Polvara will be playing behind the striker next season (assuming he doesn't leave).Ā We already had Shinnie, Palaversa, Clarkson and Nilsen vying for those roles and he's always been a bit of an awkward fit in the def mid role.Ā Ā Ā Quote
RicoS321 Posted 10 hours ago Report Posted 10 hours ago Like the sound of the lad. However, we do need to be looking at someone who can run up and down all day, and it's very unlikely to be an 18 year old.Ā Quote
OrlandoDon Posted 10 hours ago Report Posted 10 hours ago 28 minutes ago, tlg1903 said: Just watched his RTV interview, poor lad looked really uncomfortable but, as was mentioned at the end, it was his first ever on screen interview and in a language that is not his own.Ā He does look very serious for an 18 yo though, he basically says he's a no 6 that likes to drive forward with the ball.Ā Speaking of which this does make me wonder if Polvara will be playing behind the striker next season (assuming he doesn't leave).Ā We already had Shinnie, Palaversa, Clarkson and Nilsen vying for those roles and he's always been a bit of an awkward fit in the def mid role.Ā Ā Ā Doesnāt help that our interviewer (mal??) is awful. We need a proper reporter/interviewer as we develop and improve our online/social media presence. Heās very amateur. Reminds me of the commentators before we had Rob McLean. His questions are very poor and he doesnāt help the guy at all.Ā 2 Quote