Scotland squad

Internet collapsed, so I missed the goal. Looked fairly pedestrian after it. McLennan been okay, McRorie not great at right wing back, and Ferguson to slow to move the ball in midfield - he's better than that. Hornby looking pap up front again, an ideal McBurnie replacement.

Lost 1-0. That pitch was ridiculously bad, like watching something in the 80s. Made for a very slow game, Scotland doing very little and probably deserving to lose in the end. Hornby should have scored with the last touch of the game though, good ball fae McLennan. The dons were okay, nothing special. Shame for the u21s like, they'd been doing well.

Aye. Whole defence should have been across that way though, they could have doubled up on that guy. Tierney slow to get back in. McTominay could then have been side on ushering the player out wide.

Edit: Tierney and Jack. 

Edited by RicoS321

24 minutes ago, DantheDon said:

We really need to start putting away some of our chances. We get into good positions but the final ball is letting us down. It will be really frustrating but definitely the Scotland way for us to throw this away now.

Griffiths and McBurnie coming on.

Edited by dons8321

Aye, wasn't a great result. Could have played all day and not scored, they were comfortable in the end. If that result had been under any other circumstance, the manager would be taking a fair bit of abuse, but they're a decent team that we shouldn't be expecting to beat away from home without a very good performance. We lacked a cutting edge, Dykes works very hard but he's not going to get on the end of his own knock downs. Christie and McGinn looked knackered, Fraser or Forrest in the squad would have made a difference. O'Donnell and Jack had good games tonight, Gallagher too. Thought for a second Burke had turned into a footballer, but then he ran out of play with the ball in customary fashion. Oh well.

7 hours ago, DantheDon said:

Isreal are not a bad team, but we really need to be doing better against these teams. Incredibly frustrating when we've beaten the Czechs twice and again find ourselves behind them in the group. But classic Scotland do the hard work and fail against the smaller teams.

I don't see it as smaller teams, plus we were certainly fortunate to face the team that we did in the Czech Republic. We're in pool B against decent sides with good players. We got promoted from the C league and held our own in B, that's not bad, baby steps. Don't know if getting into A and facing the likes of Portugal and Spain twice is what we need just yet.

For what it's worth, the boy that scored today is only 21 and in the last year scored in the champions league against Real Madrid and Man City. We had two Motherwell players playing! And for the most part, much like the dons, we're playing so much better than in recent years. We're not painful to watch any more. I'd argue that while Israel and Slovakia have good individuals, we were the better team today and last weekend, just didn't take our chances. A natural scorer or two scores a few over the last two games and we win both. Defensively we are solid, and we knock it around, and we had chances to win these games. I'm ok with where we are, onwards and upwards.

Another Nations League in the B section won't do us any harm. As said above, playing Spain, France, Italy etc won't do us any good yet, the team's still got a lot of learning to do. We should manage a decent WQ qualification campaign, although qualifying will definitely be tough, and then, if I'm right, the next Nations League could lead us to Euro 2024 so probably better being in League B for that anyway.

2 hours ago, HaarDon said:

Absolutely mental that he's allowed in the squad.

It reeks of desperation.

When your striking options are Griffiths (unfit, not playing), McBurnie (shite), Dykes (might be shite, dropped by QPR, doesn't score goals), Shankland (average Scottish Premiership striker), Nisbet (see Shankland), then I think desperation isn't a surprise.

6 minutes ago, wee toon red said:

When your striking options are Griffiths (unfit, not playing), McBurnie (shite), Dykes (might be shite, dropped by QPR, doesn't score goals), Shankland (average Scottish Premiership striker), Nisbet (see Shankland), then I think desperation isn't a surprise.

We've got Lyndon don't worry ?

Had pretty much forgotten we were even playing tonight.

Three quick games coming up though with tonight, Sunday and next Wednesday.

Nine points would be brilliant, seven point probably not bad but fear we'll take four out of nine over the course of the week.

As for a starting line up, haven't got a scooby doo ::)