Jute Posted 7 hours ago Report Posted 7 hours ago McGlynn doing a decent job at Falkirk but his time at Hearts was a disaster so not sure he is cut out to manage at club of our size. Quote
wee toon red Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago I'd rather have McGlynn than Robinson, that's for sure. Although I'd also hope that club had potentially more exciting options lined up. 1 Quote
The.Moog Posted 4 hours ago Report Posted 4 hours ago McGlynn has done a fabulous job at Falkirk. As mentioned though, he was a disaster at the diets so that’s a massive red flag. He’s also a fair age now so that’s doesn’t help. I think he’s found his level and a good fit at the bairns, so its a no fae the Moog jury - but then I’ve been pretty clear who I want already… Quote
Goldie03 Posted 2 hours ago Report Posted 2 hours ago If we get Klaus can we change our name to Red Bull Aberdeen - we have a ready made mascot Quote
Jute Posted 2 hours ago Report Posted 2 hours ago 14 hours ago, STFU_Donny said: Not sure how much weight to give to bookies odds but John McGlynn is the current favourite at evens. On the plus side the meltdown from the smug cunt of a Falkirk fan in my office when I told him McGlynn was favourite was almost worth McGlynn getting the job. Quote
Slim Posted 1 hour ago Report Posted 1 hour ago 43 minutes ago, Goldie03 said: If we get Klaus can we change our name to Red Bull Aberdeen - we have a ready made mascot Plus we already wear the Klaus family colours. 1 Quote
Panda Posted 1 hour ago Report Posted 1 hour ago Klauß actually means "victory of the people", which is the type of thing you want in your manager. Thelin means "protector of the people". Nice, but perhaps too defensive and cautious, and slow to react when we need to go on the offensive. Pfannenstiel means "panhandle"... 1 Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 1 hour ago Report Posted 1 hour ago Was McGlynn not at the diets, when they were in one of their administration phases? I can't really mind He did well at Raith and has done a spectacular job at Falkirk. Went through an entire league campaign in League One unbeaten, did great last season in the Championship, which is a tough league, until a wobble at the end of the season and has defied most predictions for this season. Falkirk were heavily tipped for relegation, even their own fans didn't think anything other than a tough campaign ahead for them. They don't even play like the usual yo-yo clubs, kicking anything that moves, bar the ball. They look light years ahead of us footballing wise, which just shouldn't be. I don't think we will have a Scottish manager, I think it will be another European, one with a sketchy record and known to Lutz. If we were to appoint McGlynn though, the key for the appointment would be for him to have a young assistant, who could potentially progress to manager in a few years. Quote
wokinginashearerwonderland Posted 1 hour ago Report Posted 1 hour ago McGlynn is the sort of guy I think we should be appointing. He's kind of done the hard yards to move up the chain and be deserving of the chance to work at a bigger club which was always the way it used to work. I get the clamour for Eskou but we would be appointing him purely on the basis of six good months at Motherwell which sounds very knee jerk. If he stays at Motherwell it is a safe bet that they will be fighting relegation a years time. A McGlynn type has a proper body of work over a sustained period. I'd be stunned if it happened though. My money is on Ian Cathro or the German or American equivalent. Quote
Panda Posted 10 minutes ago Report Posted 10 minutes ago I wouldn't be adverse to McGlynn, and if he was 20 years younger with hair and minus the baseball cap, he'd probably be a shoe-in. I think McGlynn almost does himself out of big jobs because his face doesn't fit. He has that lower league gaffer look about him and that's how people view him. However, if Falkirk had decent strikers they'd be above Motherwell and Hibs right now. I hear the same thing from McGlynn most weeks that they had so many chances but couldn't finish. You do feel if the man had a budget he'd do very well. I met him in summer - which every potential Aberdeen manager should be doing to be honest - and can confirm he's a very likeable guy. Quote