Wednesday 3rd December, kick-off 7.45pm

Scottish Premiership - Aberdeen v St Mirren

New stadium thread

12 minutes ago, tom_widdows said:

Fair enough.

I yield to your local knowledge and chastise myself for ever doubting Aberdeen City Council would finally allow anything other than flats and retail parks to be constructed.

It’ll still be a shambles. Beach bouley at the bottom end closed for good - transport plans for a stadium closer to the beach will need to be well thought out. 

Posted (edited)
17 minutes ago, swaddon said:

I'm seeing on the BBC Sport gossip that Aberdeen's plan to sell Pittodrie will be rejected by the council. There's a link to a P & J article there, but I'm not paying to read it.

Press Reader is your friend

https://www.pressreader.com/search?query=dave cormack&in=ALL&orderBy=Relevance&searchFor=Articles

Alternatively on a Apple device  press show reader option which bypasses their paywall

tl;dr nothing new

Edited by OneBrianIrvine.
Posted (edited)

The link shows some articles , can read freely, If this is the latest it says council finance boss challenges Dave to find buyer himself:

"If Dave Cormack needs to raise capital to fund the stadium, he should be looking to the private market to sell Pittodrie.  If he was confident in it's value I am sure he would be able to sell it."

Mr Cormack turned down the chance of a reply

quite right too (of the council bloke)

Edited by Nordicus

From the outside, it looks to me Labour are using Cormack to paint the SNP/Lib Dems in a bad light to win them votes in the next council election.

Labour have previously done little to move on Aberdeen's stadium plans and I doubt we'll see any progress once they're back in power.

38 minutes ago, Panda said:

Shots fired! 

The cynic in me suspects the club is trying to use a convenient provocation to put this into the public domain 18 months out from council elections.

21 minutes ago, OneBrianIrvine. said:

Afraid to say I pay little attention to all this now and that’s as a supporter. The general public I’m sure pay little heed.

Aside - the only thing I dislike on this forum is seeing links to the South African weirdos website. 

Agreed,just rumbles on.Nae sure what SA website you mean?

Personally think the comment about the new urban park was ill advised.

Aberdeen city doing something to improve the beach area that isnt a retail park should be applauded and to see it belittled and labelled a 'drain on council resources' is a harking back to the 80s where swimming pools, playparks, playing fields etc were sold off for profit or the early 2010s where to paraphrase Alexi Sayle

'Austerity is the idea that the global financial crash of 2008 was caused by there being too many libraries in Wolverhampton

If the club wants the be part of the community, it should want the community to be a nice place to live. 

1 hour ago, swaddon said:

Cormack just wants to Make Aberdeen Great Again.

Dinna go there min.

I thought Dave was off the alcohol now.

Sounds like he's been on a bender and then sat down and wrote that shyte.

Just what the City needs right now, more division.

I don't live in Aberdeen so it's harder for me to judge how well this will go down.  From the outside looking in though can I ask, do the club not have a point?  Would the city not benefit hugely from this project as well as the bonus of keeping AFC within the city? I mean, if you think of all the money the club has brought into the Aberdeen economy over the years and bear in mind the club has never been outwith the top flight since reaching it.  That's a lot of away fans spending a lot of money in bars, hotels, restaurants, taxis etc since 1903. 

I've never been comfortable with Aberdeen going into any sort of partnership with the council, and I say that no matter what party is in power.

Aberdeen doesn't have a grown up council, either in power or in opposition. It has a collection of idiots who are doing more harm than good to the city. 

Dave Cormack is gaining nothing from engaging with them. He's being sold an unrealistic dream by the opposition and hitting a brick wall with those in power. 

It's a shite state of affairs, but honestly, I'd go talk to Aberdeenshire council (who I also don't trust truth be told, but they have in the past suggested various sites for the stadium). Go build it at Portlethen within walking distance of the train station. Next time we win the cup, hold the fucking parade in Inverurie. 

Posted (edited)

From a FOI request a few years ago. Here was Aberdeenshire Council's proposed sites for the new stadium.

Interestingly, there was one next to Kingsford, which made their opposition to Kingsford all the more puzzling.

IMG_4098.thumb.jpeg.d135f27a5efe3677472cc1669769993b.jpegIMG_4099.thumb.png.48c65b2c7eefe8b4f349327ac90ea9bc.pngIMG_4100.thumb.jpeg.4c9870762f4285c4fd367206cef2b4ed.jpegIMG_4101.thumb.png.e67ff53dd15b1fb532d9cf9c24875540.pngIMG_4102.thumb.jpeg.03ac4233d4dd1df63881b5cbeb1e846c.jpeg

Edited by Panda