Thursday 11th December 2025, kick-off 8pm

UEFA Conference League - Aberdeen v RC Strasbourg Alsace

🔴⚪️ Stand Free ⚪🔴

Aberdeen v RC Strasbourg

History will be made on Thursday December 11th when Aberdeen take on Ligue 1 outfit RC Strasbourg Alsace. It will be the first time in Aberdeen's illustrious 58 year history in European competition that we will have played a team from France.

RC Strasbourg finished seventh in Ligue 1 last season. They used to be great, then they were pish, then they were good again. A bit like us.

I fancy a 2-1 home win under the lights at Pittodrie. It'll be one of those memorable European nights that the old stadium has seen over the decades.

In for this one, but my hearts not in it.

You feel obliged to go when you purchase the three match ticket.

Hadn't really heard of this team before and know little about them.

South Stand

Work

Home

Nae fussed on the score, just hope no injuries picked up ahead of the Killie game, which for me anyway,  is far more important.

Posted (edited)

In too but also not really that up for it. 

Always try to take the opportunity to watch decent European sides at Pittodrie when I can as you never know how often we get that going forward. Likely facing a few years of watching teams from the Faroes etc. 

Suspect we’ll see some fringe players for this. 

Drive from Edinburgh

Y and pie

Drive home 

Edited by Ajja

Article about Strasbourg in the P&J.

Went bust about the same time as Oldco and started again as an amateur team, in the French fourth division, keeping their 20k + attendances.

Now owned by the same folk that own Chelsea, which their fans aren't best pleased about and do some protest thing at every home game.

Difficult game for us, regardless of their form, but sounds like they have a few issues going on, which may help their cause.

58 minutes ago, TheDonbytheDee said:

That's a fair old effort for a game you're not overly fussed about.

Cap doffed. 

That's the thing with the 3 ticket purchase. I didn't go to the Frankfurt game last time out, despite having paid for it. I'll go to this one, but feel exactly the same about it as I did the Frankfurt one. I don't really care about it. 

I can't wait until we're back to proper European knockout fitba next time we make it.

This is a game I would have suggested resting Aouchiche, but then he's French so probably wants to play against his fellow countrymen, and after two goals on Saturday he'll be high in confidence. So really he has to stay.

Lazetic looked like he was hobbling off on Saturday, and with Nisbet scoring I think he might be the only change from Saturday.

I'm in the same boat as several others as in that I have the three game package and not really overly bothered about this one. Added to that I have woken up today feeling like absolute shit so fitness test on Thursday morning may well dictate whether I actually make the journey up from behind enemy lines on the west coast.

On the basis that I do attend, then......

First 190 miles drive

South Stand

Second 190 miles drive

2-2 (Topi & Nisbet)

Close to my fitba consumption threshold at pres,will see how work goes/if arsed on Thursday.Forecast mild and dry,which helps on the Y

In - Sudcurve maybe

3 - 2 Dons. Lazetic hat trick 

28 minutes ago, Elgindon said:

Close to my fitba consumption threshold at pres,will see how work goes/if arsed on Thursday.Forecast mild and dry,which helps on the Y

In - Sudcurve maybe

3 - 2 Dons. Lazetic hat trick 

Haha. I passed that point as I stepped onto the train to Dundee with a bag of cans. First was a battle, second a chore third was a pleasure  😆

• Haha 1