UEFA Europa League Play off - 1st leg

Thursday 21st August 2025

Aberdeen v FCSB, kick-off 7.30pm

Hearts v The Scottish Cup Winners

That’s the Edinburgh Tattoo has been pulled tomorrow night. Really cannot see this going ahead.

If I am honest playing this later in the season might benefit us. 

14 minutes ago, Panda said:

We'd be going into our Europa League play-off having played just one game (Celtic) if this gets called off.

Morton in the league cup not before the play off games? 

30 minutes ago, Jute said:

Morton in the league cup not before the play off games? 

So it is, it's the opposite way around isn't it? 

Aye fair enough. I've written to my MSP to request a postponement.

• Haha 1
Just now, Jute said:

Game currently on.

Quite bloody right. I just made the essential journey of going for my morning coffee and there's just a bit of a breeze. Shorts, t-shirt and sandals weather. Perfect for fitba.

Just now, RicoS321 said:

Quite bloody right. I just made the essential journey of going for my morning coffee and there's just a bit of a breeze. Shorts, t-shirt and sandals weather. Perfect for fitba.

Blowing a gale here but not enough for the game to be off. 

IMG_7256.thumb.jpeg.494a5037fc1479c343498b2c9f1e4597.jpeg

Think the starting XI won't be too far off this. 

My only concern about tonight is if it's the white European strip or the granite strip. 

Result wise, getting more and more confident as kick-off approaches. The talking up of Hearts - much of it by Tony Bloom - is bordering on the ridiculous. They're a decent side on their day, that's all. Think a streetwise Aberdeen will win it tonight.

30 minutes ago, Panda said:

IMG_7256.thumb.jpeg.494a5037fc1479c343498b2c9f1e4597.jpeg

Think the starting XI won't be too far off this. 

My only concern about tonight is if it's the white European strip or the granite strip. 

Result wise, getting more and more confident as kick-off approaches. The talking up of Hearts - much of it by Tony Bloom - is bordering on the ridiculous. They're a decent side on their day, that's all. Think a streetwise Aberdeen will win it tonight.

I wish I shared your confidence as I think we are still a way to go defensively (cup final when we went to a 3 aside) before we could be classed as streetwise.  I personally think Milanovic will be on from the start for extra height.  I also wouldn't be surprised to see Devlin at left back with Shinnie in midfield.  Time will tell, Thelin is hard to predict.  

47 minutes ago, tlg1903 said:

I wish I shared your confidence as I think we are still a way to go defensively (cup final when we went to a 3 aside) before we could be classed as streetwise.  I personally think Milanovic will be on from the start for extra height.  I also wouldn't be surprised to see Devlin at left back with Shinnie in midfield.  Time will tell, Thelin is hard to predict.  

Aye, with the conditions, and lack of striker, I wonder if he might go back three with Shinnie in midfield. 

I'd go something along these lines, perhaps with a lamppost ahead of Yengi instead of Keskinen, as he isn't that great up front. Meant to be a 3-5-2, but the thing didn't work

Screenshot_20250804-181529.png

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, tlg1903 said:

Re bloom some of his quotes about ending ugly sister domination seem almost a bit mad vlad. 

It shows, I think, an ignorance of Scottish football. Like "Why haven't You all been challenging the Old Firm, do you need me to come up and show you how it's done?"

He'll soon realise there are two massive clubs we're all up against. That when you begin to put a good side together that might challenge, you very quickly find other clubs with bigger budgets coming in to snap your best players up. Bloom might find his large pit of money is emptied just trying to stave off interest from English League One clubs with bigger pockets than Hearts.

Has the approach of others been poor, absolutely, and Aberdeen have underperformed for years that we only appear to slowly be trying to fix. 

But to win the league you essentially need to get lucky in one transfer window, surprise everyone, hope Celtic and Rangers have poor seasons, and get it right in one campaign before the vultures steal your best players at the end of the season. Even in England, the romantic Leicester City story, they haven't got close to a title again.

Bloom is promising the days of a two-horse race are over and that Hearts will challenge every season. They're not even challenging for third every season.

Edited by Panda
17 minutes ago, Panda said:

It shows, I think, an ignorance of Scottish football. Like "Why haven't You all been challenging the Old Firm, do you need me to come up and show you how it's done?"

He'll soon realise there are two massive clubs we're all up against. That when you begin to put a good side together that might challenge, you very quickly find other clubs with bigger budgets coming in to snap your best players up. Bloom might find his large pit of money is emptied just trying to stave off interest from English League One clubs with bigger pockets than Hearts.

Has the approach of others been poor, absolutely, and Aberdeen have underperformed for years that we only appear to slowly be trying to fix. 

But to win the league you essentially need to get lucky in one transfer window, surprise everyone, hope Celtic and Rangers have poor seasons, and get it right in one campaign before the vultures steal your best players at the end of the season. Even in England, the romantic Leicester City story, they haven't got close to a title again.

Bloom is promising the days of a two-horse race are over and that Hearts will challenge every season. They're not even challenging for third every season.

Hard to argue with any of that.  That said for someone else to win the league I think the only way it happens is by finishing second one season, somehow navigating the CL qualifiers assuming second place gets you into it, and getting to the league phase. Only then is a club going to have the finance to take a proper swing for 1st place in the league imo.

Posted (edited)
21 minutes ago, tlg1903 said:

527799529_1331164485685356_4602044997803657574_n.jpg

Forgot about Nilsen. Makes sense alongside Clarkson. Hope the Aouchiche lad does a power of work to help out (not questioning his work rate like, seemed reasonable, just got caught on the ball a bit). Think I'd have gone back three. Surprised to see Milne keep his place, but pleasantly so. 

Edit: just spotted Sokler on the bench, and nae Ambrose. 

Edited by RicoS321

It’s a good line up and not surprising to see palaversa on the bench and nilsen back. We will need his strength and leadership. 

All this moaning about 50mph winds, you lot need to try living in Wellington, that’s fuck all here, more of a gentle breeze. Doesn’t even register if it’s below 100km and trains and sports continue like normal. Think somewhere win the South Island recently had gusts of 250 kmh 🫣 which is bonkers. Anyway, I digress, get fucking stuck in and wipe the smiles from attendance FC please.

Shambles, shinnie dives into midfield. Kisses it and they get in behind. He then gets to put it into the net too.

He's past it at left back. Also can't believe we've played clarkson in the middle at tynecastle. We've learned nothing.