Friday 20th June 2025 - SPFL 25/26 Fixtures Released

🏆️ SCOTTISH CUP WINNERS 2024/25 🏆

4 minutes ago, tom_widdows said:

Angus Gunn currently a free agent.

Comeback to his Dad's first pro club for a bit to get his career back on track?

Of course he would automatically become invisible to Steve Clarke and Co but international football is a sideshow

Would being back up here get him on Clarke’s radar. 

It will interesting to see if we have any Scottish players on the radar. It’s not ideal if we hold off sending young guys out on loan to meet a quota, but it will be interesting to see who of the youngsters who have been on loan are ready to make an impact at first team level. Ryan Duncan is the one who I would expect to come back into the first team squad and be expected to make an impact next season or be moved on. 
I think the quota situation necessitates us moving foreign players who aren’t making an impact on, Vinnie, Ambrose etc. However I would be a bit reluctant to let guys like Clarkson, Morris and Polvara go unless we are offered silly money. There is no guarantee that we will get anyone who is better than these guys in, so I think it’s a bit of a Ramadani Situation where we potentially weaken ourselves letting them go. I’d be trying to get them signed on longer deals now off the back of winning the cup. 

Posted (edited)
53 minutes ago, DantheDon said:

It will interesting to see if we have any Scottish players on the radar. It’s not ideal if we hold off sending young guys out on loan to meet a quota, but it will be interesting to see who of the youngsters who have been on loan are ready to make an impact at first team level. Ryan Duncan is the one who I would expect to come back into the first team squad and be expected to make an impact next season or be moved on. 
I think the quota situation necessitates us moving foreign players who aren’t making an impact on, Vinnie, Ambrose etc. However I would be a bit reluctant to let guys like Clarkson, Morris and Polvara go unless we are offered silly money. There is no guarantee that we will get anyone who is better than these guys in, so I think it’s a bit of a Ramadani Situation where we potentially weaken ourselves letting them go. I’d be trying to get them signed on longer deals now off the back of winning the cup. 

Yeah. I think that’s the concern. We don’t want to pad out the squad with mediocre Scottish players just to meet a quota. I’d even consider Duncan in that category. But who is out there? If we didn’t have mitov then Gunn is a good suggestion, but I’d take mitov over Gunn. Also the reason I wondered if Taylor at left back was a possibility. Got criticized for overly suggesting allan Campbell, especially since he’s apparently been rather gash at united, but I suppose it’s that type of player, maybe even the Ross McCrorie type, good Scottish talent whose career has stalled for some reason, form or injury.
Is allan Campbell a young sivert/shinnie who has lost his way? How about Glenn Middleton? Ross Stewart at Southampton? How about Robby mccrorie, I don’t think he’s a legit first choice keeper but similar to doohan with the reminder that Milton has had injuries. David watson at killie is or was highly regarded, Ryan hardie at Plymouth? I think the MLS boys, Ryan Gould and Lewis Morgan are out of our price range? Not recommending, just throwing out names!
suggestions??

Edited by OrlandoDon
2 hours ago, RicoS321 said:

He'll probably be second choice now, after they ditch thon useless Danish cunt.

He's been promised he'll be second choice in a year when Schmeichel retires, so it's not really a surprise he's going there.

Homegrown quota:

In a 25-man European squad, we need eight Scots, four of which need to have come through your youth system.

So...

Dimi Mitov

Second goalkeeper 

Third goalkeeper (Tom Ritchie, but someone on this thread saying he's been told he can leave?)

Nicky Devlin

Alex Jensen 

Jack Milne

Slobodan Rubezic

Richard Jensen

Gavin Molloy

Kristers Tobers

Mats Knoester

James McGarry

Graeme Shinnie

Sivert Nilsen

Leighton Clarkson

Ante Palaversa

Dante Polvara 

Pape Gueye

Shayden Morris

Topi Keskinen

Nicolas Milanovic

Peter Ambrose

Vicente Besuijen

Ryan Duncan

Ester Sokler

Fletcher Boyd

Finlay Marshall 

Dylan Lobban

Alfie Bavidge

Adam Emslie

New striker

New left back

New energetic midfielder 

That's a 33-man squad. Not all those youth players will make the squad, but a few first teamers will miss the cut even if they somehow survive the summer cull. Difficult to see Richard Jensen return, and most likely James McGarry too. Peter Ambrose's time may have come as well. Besuijen you imagine might go too, but then he's kinda the type of player Thelin could work with, especially if Okkels isn't signing permanently. 

Rubezic said in an interview he's returning (he scored yesterday I see), but is there a place for him, Molloy and Milne? Do we turn down Dorrington if offered him again on loan?

Nisbet said in post-match interview at Hampden it's his last game, and didn't offer much encouragement that he was coming back.

Looking at Celtic, can we find the next Niall mcginn type? McGinn was out of contract, at least a loan with an agreed price to buy? Daniel Cummings (out of contract I think and is a goal scorer) , Jude bonnar, what’s the deal with Scott Bain if doohan is going there? Is David turnbull realistic now we may have more transfer funds and guaranteed euro footie? Rory Wilson at villa, Bailey rice at rangers?

3 minutes ago, Panda said:

Homegrown quota:

In a 25-man European squad, we need eight Scots, four of which need to have come through your youth system.

So...

Dimi Mitov

Second goalkeeper 

Third goalkeeper (Tom Ritchie, but someone on this thread saying he's been told he can leave?)

Nicky Devlin

Alex Jensen 

Jack Milne

Slobodan Rubezic

Richard Jensen

Gavin Molloy

Kristers Tobers

Mats Knoester

James McGarry

Graeme Shinnie

Sivert Nilsen

Leighton Clarkson

Ante Palaversa

Dante Polvara 

Pape Gueye

Shayden Morris

Topi Keskinen

Nicolas Milanovic

Peter Ambrose

Vicente Besuijen

Ryan Duncan

Ester Sokler

Fletcher Boyd

Finlay Marshall 

Dylan Lobban

Alfie Bavidge

Adam Emslie

New striker

New left back

New energetic midfielder 

That's a 33-man squad. Not all those youth players will make the squad, but a few first teamers will miss the cut even if they somehow survive the summer cull. Difficult to see Richard Jensen return, and most likely James McGarry too. Peter Ambrose's time may have come as well. Besuijen you imagine might go too, but then he's kinda the type of player Thelin could work with, especially if Okkels isn't signing permanently. 

Rubezic said in an interview he's returning (he scored yesterday I see), but is there a place for him, Molloy and Milne? Do we turn down Dorrington if offered him again on loan?

Nisbet said in post-match interview at Hampden it's his last game, and didn't offer much encouragement that he was coming back.

So based on that, at worst, bavidge since we have so few forwards anyway, Duncan, Boyd, Milne, Delvin, shinnie. That 6, hopefully Mackenzie and perhaps a Scottish keeper……?

So, will the club be taking a day off today from all matters or will we get the details later on of players leaving and being released 🤔

6 hours ago, Panda said:

Homegrown quota:

So...

Dimi Mitov

Second goalkeeper 

Nicky Devlin

Alex Jensen 

Jack Milne

Slobodan Rubezic

Richard Jensen

Gavin Molloy

Kristers Tobers

Mats Knoester

James McGarry

Graeme Shinnie

Sivert Nilsen

Leighton Clarkson

Ante Palaversa

Dante Polvara 

Pape Gueye

Shayden Morris

Topi Keskinen

Nicolas Milanovic

Peter Ambrose

Vicente Besuijen

Ryan Duncan

Ester Sokler

Fletcher Boyd

Finlay Marshall 

Dylan Lobban

Alfie Bavidge

Adam Emslie

New striker

New left back

New energetic midfielder 

Besuijen was playing well before his injury so think he might be one Thelin will keep on. 

I would turn down Dorrington if offered again. We have plenty of cover there even with Jensen (R) leaving. 

I would expect Ambrose to go out on loan as we paid a fee for him so cannot see us freeing him. 

6 hours ago, OrlandoDon said:

So based on that, at worst, bavidge since we have so few forwards anyway, Duncan, Boyd, Milne, Delvin, shinnie. That 6, hopefully Mackenzie and perhaps a Scottish keeper……?

Cannot see Mackenzie staying. All the talk is he is leaving. Even during the cup final coverage they talked about his last game for the club. 

Dorrington well up for coming back:

”Obviously, I love the city, I love the club, the staff, the players. I love Tottenham as well. They’re kind of in charge of what I do.

“I’d be grateful if Aberdeen came back in for me but it’s all in Tottenham’s hands.”

We would probably need to lose one of Tobers or Milne (or even Devlin) to make it work unless we plan to go to a back 3 more often. 

Considering he'd barely played a first game game when he came to us in January, you could see the improvement as the remainder of the season went on, I could see him being a vital piece in our team next season if he returned. 

I have not been convinced by Tobers so far, although that's perhaps a little unfair.

48 minutes ago, Slim said:

Dorrington well up for coming back:

”Obviously, I love the city, I love the club, the staff, the players. I love Tottenham as well. They’re kind of in charge of what I do.

“I’d be grateful if Aberdeen came back in for me but it’s all in Tottenham’s hands.”

We would probably need to lose one of Tobers or Milne (or even Devlin) to make it work unless we plan to go to a back 3 more often. 

Considering he'd barely played a first game game when he came to us in January, you could see the improvement as the remainder of the season went on, I could see him being a vital piece in our team next season if he returned. 

I have not been convinced by Tobers so far, although that's perhaps a little unfair.

Aye saw that quote from Dorrington, but similar to you I'm thinking it is unlikely to happen. Whilst it would be good for the lad gaining exposure to European football, the negative for us, despite him looking a pretty handy player, is the potential impact upon Jack Milne's future development. The club having awarded him with a four year contract obviously have high hopes for him. Can't see us losing Tobers anytime soon given the alleged level of fee we supposedly paid for him. I would imagine Spurs would want to take Dorrington back for pre season and get a look at him now, meaning any return loan is likely to be after our season has started.

On the subject of Jack Milne, I don't wish to build him up too much, but every time I've seen the lad, I've been impressed. Given his age now, he really needs to be nailing down a starting berth next season.

Confirmation of MacKenzie signing for Plymouth Argyle expected today ?

Can't help but think if he goes, he could have done just a little bit better than that, however i can think of a few players that have played for both clubs this century, Chris Clark, Russell Anderson, Sam Cosgrove, Steven McLean and the one most would instantly forget, Jim Paterson,

That was quick, if true 😉

P.S Good luck lad, nae going to chuck any seats shit your way over this.

Jack set to swap Aberdeen for Plymouth

Jack MacKenzie is set for a move to Plymouth Argyle.

Sky Sports report that the Aberdeen left-back has agreed a three-year deal with the English side.

His contract is up this summer and he looks set to sign off at Pittodrie as a Scottish Cup winner as he heads down south for the next chapter of his career.

Other EFL clubs were said to be keen but it looks like Plymouth have won the signing race.

You have to wonder if we even tried to keep MacKenzie, or at least told him he wouldn't be first choice. Surely if he thought he was going to get a game for us then Plymouth and League 1 wouldn't have been where he chose to go instead?

16 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said:

So that two of the quota gone. Keen for rumors, who we gettin’???

Rico is available although might not be fit for a full ninety minutes any longer 😉

• Haha 1
1 hour ago, BigAl said:

Rico is available although might not be fit for a full ninety minutes any longer 😉

Even if they just need me for one game to absolutely nail Connor Barron, that'd be fine. I'd likely break my own legs in the process, but they've had a good run.

• Haha 1
1 hour ago, OrlandoDon said:

So that two of the quota gone. Keen for rumors, who we gettin’???

Hopefully the lads in recruitment are still pished, and we spunk some wild levels of cash in the next couple of days. We've all done it.

13 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

Hopefully the lads in recruitment are still pished, and we spunk some wild levels of cash in the next couple of days. We've all done it.

Looking forward to our new signing Charlie Smirnoff.

• Haha 2

Cove goalkeeper Nicholas Suman signed under freedom of contract.

Can't help but think we must be signing a.n.other keeper as well.

Don't know anything about Suman is he coming in a number two choice or are we signing another keeper 🤔

20 minutes ago, BigAl said:

Can't help but think we must be signing a.n.other keeper as well.

Don't know anything about Suman is he coming in a number two choice or are we signing another keeper 🤔

I've seen a bit of him. Shite haircut but very solid keeper. Big strong lad, good presence and tidy spot stopper.

I'm quite happy to see him given a shot. Don't think he'd let us down.

Scott Burns saying all our loan signings are returning to their parent clubs.

Deal for Nisbet unlikely owing to costs involved 

Ronan Hale anyone now that County confirmed as being relegated

38 minutes ago, BigAl said:

Thought we'd have used our sub goalie position to bring in a Scottish laddie.