Sunday 15th February,  kick-off 2.30pm

Scottish Premiership - Motherwell v Aberdeen

Next manager

15 hours ago, Slim said:

It's hardly realistic if you're jumping to conclusions without knowing any of the facts.

The person tasked with fixing the "shambles" has only been in the job for about 2 months. 

So aye, calm doon.

It's hardly "jumping to conclusions" tho is it?

Anyway, keep wearing your red tinted glasses min I am sure you will be fine.

Jist stay calm 

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Blow.Up.Sheep said:

It's hardly "jumping to conclusions" tho is it?

"It is more like he is not really all that sure if he wants the job or not" is literally an example of jumping to conclusions.

Edited by Panda
2 hours ago, Panda said:

"It is more like he is not really all that sure if he wants the job or not" is literally an example of jumping to conclusions.

Nope min, that is an opinion.
I think you might find that having an opinion and jumping to conclusions is not exactly the same thing 🙄 

19 minutes ago, Blow.Up.Sheep said:

Nope min, that is an opinion.
I think you might find that having an opinion and jumping to conclusions is not exactly the same thing 🙄 

You can have an opinion that is based on jumping to conclusions though. It did seem like you'd drawn a conclusion with your comment. One based on guesswork with sparse evidence either way. I'm not sure if it involved jumping though. Perhaps just a stride. 

2 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

You can have an opinion that is based on jumping to conclusions though. It did seem like you'd drawn a conclusion with your comment. One based on guesswork with sparse evidence either way. I'm not sure if it involved jumping though. Perhaps just a stride. 

Think we will jist have to agree to disagree Rico and move on min.

Match day, will it be on? if so will we keep a clean sheet? and will we get three points.

Oh and will we ever appoint a permanent manager who is finally capable of getting a tune out of this current bunch of so called "professionals"  

Think my frustration with this is that when you see how the model we are supposed to have in place works elsewhere the director of football is supposed to have the replacement for the manager lined up before he sacks the current one. It’s quite clear that this was not the case when we sacked Thelin. From outside it looks like we have only started looking after we sacked Thelin. 

1 hour ago, Jute said:

Think my frustration with this is that when you see how the model we are supposed to have in place works elsewhere the director of football is supposed to have the replacement for the manager lined up before he sacks the current one. It’s quite clear that this was not the case when we sacked Thelin. From outside it looks like we have only started looking after we sacked Thelin. 

dinna you go jumping to conclusions now min, that winna be well received on here by some.

But, For what it's worth I totally agree with you 

To be fair to Lutz ( tin hat on) he only came in I dunno late October/early November and we were getting some results then so not inconceivable that they did not foresee sacking Thelin just after the new year.

So the next time we need  a manager that process will hopefully be in place. 

Posted (edited)

I may be out of sync with many, but I just don't get all the angst on this. Replacing any member of staff is a tricky process, let alone something as crucial to a football club as a manager. Why do folk expect it do be done quickly? I'd much rather it were done right.

There's so much we don't know about what's happening behind the scenes, who is available, who is not. It's not as easy as simply having identified a few names beforehand and then them magically being in a position to say yes right off the bat. 

Apart from the Cup (which is a long-shot given the state of the team) this season is basically a write-off now. So far better to limp on and get the "right" person than do something quickly.

Even then, there are so many variables that the "right" person may not succeed. Most managers fail. Even if the "right" person says yes, there are wider factors. I don't think it would be too speculative to suggest that Jimmy not bringing his family with him had a negative impact, as did the loss early on of a key member of his coaching staff. 

Life is full of shitty variables that mean the best laid plans o' mice and men gang aft agley.

Edited by Don Julio
Posted (edited)
33 minutes ago, Goldie03 said:

To be fair to Lutz ( tin hat on) he only came in I dunno late October/early November and we were getting some results then so not inconceivable that they did not foresee sacking Thelin just after the new year.

So the next time we need  a manager that process will hopefully be in place. 

I was just about to say similar.Think Thelins position was becoming untenable just as Luts was getting his feet under the table,so not really fair to expect him to have someone lined up at that point.

Even if he had potential replacements in mind,doesnt mean theyre available...or want to come at that time.Saying that,any sort of update to keep Blow up sheeps knickers dry wouldnt go amiss

• Haha 1

What sort of update would keep everyone happy though?

If there's a potential issue with the manager's previous club then any public announcement could prejudice the resolution of that issue.

If there's a potential issue with the preferred candidate himself then any public announcement could have an impact on our plan B, plan C, plan Z, etc.

If we're in negotiations with any party on any topic, it's usually best not to show your hand until those negotiations are concluded.

If we're looking for an announcement just to say we've made an announcement, people are still going to be pishing their pants over the vagueness of it.

There will be plenty of time and scope to hold people to account once the process is concluded and we get the full story, getting the pitchforks out and demanding speed takes priority is how we'll end up with someone like Robinson.

• Like 3