Summer rebuild

12 hours ago, wokinginashearerwonderland said:

What is going on with the transfer policy?

Jet - 30

Ramirez - 30

Woods - 30

Watkins - 30

Brown - 36

Gallagher - 30

Is this a fitba team we are building or a retirement home? 

We started five players 23 and younger last night, and brought on a sixth. And among the descriptions of the performance was "naive" and "inexperienced at that level".

We've also just signed a 20 year old and 21 year old on loan, and David Bates is only 24.

7 hours ago, wokinginashearerwonderland said:

Longstaff would probably be our best midfield player but I don't see the point in loans 

The first eight words you've written there is the answer you're looking for.

57 minutes ago, Panda said:

We started five players 23 and younger last night, and brought on a sixth. And among the descriptions of the performance was "naive" and "inexperienced at that level".

We've also just signed a 20 year old and 21 year old on loan, and David Bates is only 24.

Longstaff is a brilliant piece of business.

Well done Glass.

9 minutes ago, HaarDon said:

If Griffiths is going out on loan to Dundee, surely we could have shown some interest.

Do him and Brown not get on?

Is he just too much of a risk to even loan these days?

He is a basket case and not worth bringing in. 

2 hours ago, Jute said:

He is a basket case and not worth bringing in. 

Very much this. His best days are past him and would appear to have very little self control. We don’t need that type of bampot in our team. 

all these transfers, just a shame we weren’t able to execute them before being pumped out of Europe. I know there’s a bigger picture, but currently I’m not seeing what our identity is. 

8 hours ago, HaarDon said:

If Griffiths is going out on loan to Dundee, surely we could have shown some interest.

Do him and Brown not get on?

Is he just too much of a risk to even loan these days?

Coincidence that suddenly a potential loan for another club happens (seem to recall a few have tried over the last couple of seasons) after Strachan starts working for BOTH Dundee & Celtic?

13 hours ago, Panda said:

We also started with five players of 30 and over and brought on two more and we were humped.

2 hours ago, wokinginashearerwonderland said:

We also started with five players of 30 and over and brought on two more and we were humped.

Aberdeen started with a team with an average age of 26.8. Qarabag had an average of 26.6.

I'm not really getting your point here - you asked about Glass' transfer policy when he is signing, and playing, young players - far more so than the last manager did. Not sure there's a massive difference between being 28 and 30 either. The only real senior players in the team are Brown & Hayes, one of which probably won't be first choice this season when everyone is fit. 

1 hour ago, Panda said:

Aberdeen started with a team with an average age of 26.8. Qarabag had an average of 26.6.

I'm not really getting your point here - you asked about Glass' transfer policy when he is signing, and playing, young players - far more so than the last manager did. Not sure there's a massive difference between being 28 and 30 either. The only real senior players in the team are Brown & Hayes, one of which probably won't be first choice this season when everyone is fit. 

My point was not to do with the average age of our team compared to someone else, nor whether Glass has or has not played young players and also nothing to do with the last manager.  Simply that it was strange to sign six players 30+. Brown aside, who is exceptional,  these guys are journeymen. 

Walsall get their first win of the season, climbing off the bottom of English League 2 after dropping Ash Taylor.

Strange he can look fairly competent for us but stinks the place out in the English bottom tier, same happened last time he left us IIRC.

42 minutes ago, Slim said:

Walsall get their first win of the season, climbing off the bottom of English League 2 after dropping Ash Taylor.

Strange he can look fairly competent for us but stinks the place out in the English bottom tier, same happened last time he left us IIRC.

I’d suggest we’re a more long ball league and he’s pretty solid in the air. Gets less exposed for his limitations up here.

13 hours ago, LA-Don said:

I’d suggest we’re a more long ball league and he’s pretty solid in the air. Gets less exposed for his limitations up here.

Ach aye possibly son - I'd go more for Walsall are a pile of shite with players who dinnae know what they're doing

Poor Ash - shit by association

On 09/08/2021 at 23:46, Jute said:

Being reported club have rejected a £500k bid for Hedges.

Apologies for the source. 

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/aberdeen-knock-back-500k-bid-24722701

Sun reporting an offer for Hedges has been knocked back this afternoon.

Seems a bit bizarre that they are reporting it as £500k which is what we rejected three weeks ago.

Something doesn't add up.

1 hour ago, BigAl said:

Sun reporting an offer for Hedges has been knocked back this afternoon.

Seems a bit bizarre that they are reporting it as £500k which is what we rejected three weeks ago.

Something doesn't add up.

Maybe they think we're desperate now that he's injured.

Very surprised nobody left yesterday. We have 7 central midfield players at the club who all do very similar jobs and Kennedy who is clearly not rated by the management. Disappointed we never brought in a creative number 10 as we have nobody for that role. Can see us struggling to break teams down especially while Hedges is injured. Also think we are very light at the back as only have 2 centre backs and a midfielder playing there. Plus point is keeping Hedges and Ferguson as they are two of the better players at the club. Be interesting to see how Ferguson reacts to not getting his move. Hopefully he gets on with the job and does not spit the dummy and sulk for rest of season.