Films

manc_don

This concept interests me, the re-watching of a film already seen.

One of my daughters is visiting this weekend and is taking her mother to La La Land. She's already seen it and it was hardly months ago when it first came out. She's not a thick cunt, doing a Ph.D. in highly specialised medicine having racked up first class honours and distinctions and stuff.

But I think it's fucking stupid to go see a film again. You've seen it already! Why bother going again? My son wanted to join me to see T2, having seen it within 7 days earlier. What's wrong with these cunts, including my own? Understandable if it's Pulp Fiction (or other Tarantino's) or other brilliant films (of which there are very few) but wait a couple of years at least. Kids these days...

I don't disagree. It has to be a really special film for me to watch it again so soon after initially seeing it. Django Unchained sprang to mind as I was thinking about films I could watch quickly again. But even that one was a couple of years when I think about it. There are films that I've seen several times but enough time has to pass between each showing so that I don't remember every single details.

My own Mither, also an intellectual type like your daughter would watch The Green Mile regularly. A terrific film I know but not one that I could watch sometimes several times a month.

Anyway. Next on my list is Gold. And then we'll see fit's fit.

Watched Hacksaw Ridge recently. It was a good film but i felt like i'd seen it before, up until he starts saving ab'dy in the last 40 mins or so.

It was a bit, Full Metal Jacket / Saving Ryan's Privates etc. up to that point.

Went to watch a dodgy copy of the latest Star Wars movie the other night.... the film was in the worst letter box format ever and was actually on my screen twice, in the top half and again in the bottom half.  :gonk: Fooking nightmare.

As a non film buff may I butt in here and say that watching films you like over and over again is a pleasure.

It's the same with reading books.

Mrs Donsdaft doesn't understand it, she'd rather read some drivel than re-read a classic.

I don't get the adversion at all, after all if you hear a good piece of music you don't think " that was great but I've heard it now so I never want to hear it again."

Just watched Manchester by the Sea.

Boring as fuck. Sorry.

Turned it off after an hour.

What am I missing here???

Casey Affleck as i said before has to be the most miserable fucking actor on the planet.

He plays such depressing characters in very boring films.

Not the best of films for me.

He'll be after an oscar.  It's always boring and depressing films that nab them.

Told the Mrs when i get home from the trip at the end of the month we're going in to see T2.

She's just informed me that because it's her birthday tomorrow / today she went in to see it tonight with a couple of pals. Telt her i wasn't impressed as i'd been looking forward to it. She replies "can't you just watch it on Kodi?" I despair with wimmin sometimes (a lot).  :gonk:

Got the nephew down for the fitba this w/e and he fancied seeing the 'Great wall' last night,without either of us knowing much about it

Wasnt what we expected,a watchable film with some impressive scenes,but felt like we'd seen most of it before(think of a Chinese lesser version of Lord of the rings)    6.5/10

I'm finally going to see Moonlight this week

Yesterday I saw Twentieth Century Women which was rather quirky and pretty good

Also a bril wee Italian film 7 Minuti - based on a true story about female workers in a textile factory - shades of 12 Angry Men and resonates with the whole Brexit immigration debate - well worth a watch  :thumbsup:

Saw 8'days a week and loved it but I am a huge Beatles fan. (Them being by far the greatest musicians ever by a fucking country mile....that's no an opinion that's a FACT  :surprised:)

Really enjoyed 'Lion' mostly because it's a true story and an absolute tragedy ..won't say too much.

Looking forward to seeing T2 .cannae wait.

Saw 8'days a week and loved it but I am a huge Beatles fan. (Them being by far the greatest musicians ever by a fucking country mile....that's no an opinion that's a FACT  :surprised:)

Really enjoyed 'Lion' mostly because it's a true story and an absolute tragedy ..won't say too much.

Looking forward to seeing T2 .cannae wait.

My girlfriend has bought me the book, says I have to read it before we watch the film.  Have you read it?  Like the look of the film anyway!

Watched hacksaw ridge today along with a streetcat called bob. Two very different kinds of films (obviously). Can't recall if someone had watched hacksaw ridge already (thought they had) but brilliant film, high intensity and again based on a true story.

Streetcat called bob was also a true story, one which I could relate to having seen the very guy and cat it was about on the 38 bus home after work once. Nice seeing party of London I'd lived and work near.

Watched hacksaw ridge today along with a streetcat called bob. Two very different kinds of films (obviously). Can't recall if someone had watched hacksaw ridge already (thought they had) but brilliant film, high intensity and again based on a true story.

Streetcat called bob was also a true story, one which I could relate to having seen the very guy and cat it was about on the 38 bus home after work once. Nice seeing party of London I'd lived and work near.

Aye Hacksaw Ridge was a good film.

As was Get Out which I saw last night.

This week I've seen Beauty and thd Beast and finally Hidden Figures - both were very good

For the first time this year I actually have no idea what I'm gonna go see  next

Not a lot on the horizon that looks particularly good IMO.

Last night I watched Criminal Activities on Netflix. It was nae too bad.