What Have You Been Watching on TV?

Kowalski

I rarely watch TV but I watched a DVD of Romper Stomper the film about 10 years ago. Not the most PC film Ive seen  :laughing:,but an entertaining watch

They've made a new series of it and looks like they'll make a second season.  Pretty brutal and certainly not PC either. Worth a watch.

Also just finished watching Wildlands which is about the war on drugs, whether its working etc. Made by "Rusty" who wrote Marching Powder. good watch  :thumbsup:

Below The Surface - BBC4 Saturday nights

Last two episodes this weekend, but the whole series should be on IPlayer

Follows events of a terrorist hostage taking on Copehagen's underground.

Partly in English, partly in Danish with subtitles  :thumbsup:

Very clever ad on TV just now. Dilly Dilly.

It nails what is idiosyncratically English.

Annoying as fuck.

Ha! Was thinking the same thing to myself this morning. It's effective. It reminds me of what Bud did in 2000.

Below The Surface - BBC4 Saturday nights

Last two episodes this weekend, but the whole series should be on IPlayer

Follows events of a terrorist hostage taking on Copehagen's underground.

Partly in English, partly in Danish with subtitles  :thumbsup:

It’s decent but it always amazes me how many recognisable people from other Scandinavian dramas appear in the latest one. There’s somebody from Borgen and one from The Killing. They seem to have a small set of acting talent in Denmark. They make good dramas though.

TBF that's true of everywhere, it's always been true in the UK and most of ours are now doing it in americaland too, especially with the advent of streaming services and the increased demand for and exposure TV series are getting.

Off the top of my head;

Walton Goggins, The Shield, Sons of Anarchy, Justified.

Timothy Olyphant, Deadwood, Justified, Santa Clarita Diet.

Ian McShane, Deadwood, Ray Donovan, American Gods.

Paula Malcomson Deadwood, Sons of Anarchy, Ray Donovan, Broken, Come Home

Dayton Callie, Deadwood, Sons of Anarchy, Fear the Walking Dead

Mahershala Ali, The 4400, Treme, House of Cards, Luke Cage, (and the latest True Detective?)

Molly Parker, Deadwood, House of Cards, Goliath, Lost in Space

Martin Freeman, The Office, Fargo, Sherlock, Start Up.

Or maybe it's just actors from Deadwood...

Watched a couple of episodes of The Thick Of It over the weekend, probably going to go right through it again as it's one of the best comedies I've watched.

Aye, it's very good like. Veep also worth a watch for the American version.

Manc, fit ye watching Handmaid's tale on? Didn't realise it was oot yet.

Aye, it's very good like. Veep also worth a watch for the American version.

Manc, fit ye watching Handmaid's tale on? Didn't realise it was oot yet.

It got released in the US a couple of days back...i'll PM you the website I use, essentially like Netflix...but free.

'The Young Person's guide to becoming a Rock star' box set now available on All4  :thumbsup:

Hadn't seen it since its original run in 1998 and its one of my favourite ever programmes.

Quite fun spotting the areas of Glasgow, particularly the bits they try to pass off as London.

http://www.channel4.com/programmes/young-persons-guide-to-becoming-a-rock-star

Guest jinkyjoe

Caught "The Damned United" on BBC2 the other night.  Excellent film with Michael Sheen starring as Brian Clough.  Well worth a watch if you've never seen it before.  Back to fitba as it should be.

Does anyone still watch Homeland ?

Just finished season seven and thought it was the best one for some time.

Yep. By virtue of anything after season 2 being fairly pap, the last season was quite good. I only still watch it to see how long they can keep it going. It's impressive in that respect. Should have finished after season 1 really, maybe 2.