Tuesday 6th January 2026, kick-off 8pm

Scottish Premiership - Rangers v Aberdeen

Jimmy Thelin

7 hours ago, swaddon said:

Jimmy has told the players to be "smarter and stronger" in 2026.

Lead by example, Jim.

Exactly - he needs to be looking much closer to home.

I’m frankly fed up with the soundbites and “talking a good game” he constantly does, which then week after week translates into absolutely no change to the rudderless bilge we see on the pitch.

Saw an interview with Nancy earlier. He looks and sounds utterly lost too - had very familiar vibes.

We just had to pick this year to be shite again didnt we…

Said it before, i want the Motherwell guy. Other than that it’s back to square one and who the fuck do we get?

Leven until the end of the season?

the window is huge. We have some players that add 3-4 we could be decent. But not under Thelin. 

On 31/12/2025 at 14:09, THFN1983 said:

This season in the league we have scored 20 goals in 19 games, the joint third lowest tally, which is truly abysmal! We also have conceded 23 goals in those 19 games which puts us in 6th spot for that stat.

We are horrendous to watch, there doesn't appear to be any patterns of play, we're slow, ponderous, boring and so far removed from an "exciting" brand of football it's unreal.

Some more stats that showcase the reality of what AFC supporters have to endure is that from the 19 league games played this season we have only scored 7 goals in the first half. Those 7 goals came in 4 matches so in 15 out of the 19 league games we haven't scored in the first half, this hardly indicates we are a team that presses early on to get an early goal and overwhelm the opposition.

It's also 4 league games from 19 played in which we have managed to score more than 1 goal (Killie, St Mirren, Dundee X2) and in only one game we have managed to come back from a losing margin to win the game (Killie 2-1) and one game where we got a draw from a losing position (St Mirren 3-3) so in 11 games where we have conceded first we have only managed to pick up 4 points.

In total we have managed to find the net in 12 out of 19 league games which again underlines just how hopeless we have been up front and we have conceded in 13 of those 19 games so our defence isn't really any better.

I don't think it's a strong stretch of the imagination to look at our performances, points accrued, goals scored & conceded since Jimmy came in and foresee more of the same with the added bonus of the tombola getting rolled out on an almost game by game basis.

We all wanted Jimmy to be the ONE but in reality he is just another ONE in the long list of ONES that have massively failed.

Thanks for the Scottish Cup Jimmy but this is a results, and to a lesser extent performances, based business and with the exception of May 25 you have been no better than Glass, Robson, Goodwin etc.

Make that 20 premier league matches played and scored in in the first half in 4 of them!!!!

Add in it's now 4 points from losing positions in 12 games.

Sorry but Pele's team, McGhee's team, Alex Millers team would beat this current team comfortably.

Time is well and truly up for Jimmy. Lets not waste money in Jan on any players for him as it's just money down the drain.

38 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said:

Leven until the end of the season?

I don't know how heavily involved Leven is on the training pitch, but a lot of our issues are coming from the training pitch.

The goal we conceded today was failing to defend a set piece with the defence all over the place. That's the sort of thing a manager delegates to his coaches.

And Leven has been part of a few failed management teams now.

That would be my view ahead of any clamour to appoint him. But, again, like I said in my first line, I don't know how much power he has on the training ground or if he's being directed by the other coaches Thelin brought with him.

Posted (edited)

Peter Leven's stats ...
Played 11
Won 6
Drew 4
Lost 1.

Goal difference +11
Clean sheets 6

..... If Jimmy had comparable stats over 20 games, we would be on 40 points ... 2 clear o' the green filth an' 4 behind the diets .... 

Jist sayin' like .... 

Edited by Radiored
17 minutes ago, Radiored said:

Peter Leven's stats ...
Played 11
Won 6
Drew 4
Lost 1.

Goal difference +11
Clean sheets 6

..... If Jimmy had comparable stats over 20 games, we would be on 40 points ... 2 clear o' the green filth an' 4 behind the diets .... 

Jist sayin' like .... 

Eleven games you say?

Jimmy's first 11 league games were:-

Played 11

Won 10

Drew 1

Lost 0

Goal difference +14

🤷‍♂️

28 minutes ago, Radiored said:

Peter Leven's stats ...
Played 11
Won 6
Drew 4
Lost 1.

Goal difference +11
Clean sheets 6

Jist sayin' like .... 

Wouldnt be averse to Leven carrying on til the end of the season at least....assuming Jimmy goes

Just woken up... having a nightmare with my symptoms checked the result. Shrugged and turned off the website. 

It clearly is not working. Either their is a language barrier or this team are choosing when to perform and when not to. Tactics, defending, passing, tackling and scoring. You know the easy bit. ball > net > goal > celebrate > happy > points on table. which seems to be impossible for this team on a regular basis.

Post match from the BBC 

Aberdeen manager Jimmy Thelin tells BBC Scotland: "I won't talk much about the game but more about ourselves. The desire, there's too many individual decisions.

"Football is more than technique and systems. It's how you act on the football pitch. It's about responsibility. We've been here before, we've bounced back, but now we're back some steps again.

"Even if you don't have the perfect game, it should always feel like we give the fans everything and right now we aren't doing that. That's not good enough.

"I'm the manager, I'm responsible, but sometimes the players have to look in the mirror and know what football is about."

49 minutes ago, THFN1983 said:

Make that 20 premier league matches played and scored in in the first half in 4 of them!!!!

Add in it's now 4 points from losing positions in 12 games.

Sorry but Pele's team, McGhee's team, Alex Millers team would beat this current team comfortably.

Time is well and truly up for Jimmy. Lets not waste money in Jan on any players for him as it's just money down the drain.

Just had a look at the stats since the St Mirren game in Nov last year when the wheels came off. Since then we've played 47 premier league games of which we've.....

Scored 44 goals = 0.94 goals a game

Conceded 75 goals = 1.6 goals a game

Came back from conceding first to win...... 2 times from 27 games = 7%

Came back to draw from conceding first...... 5 times from 27 games = 19% with a total of 11 points from 81 when we conceded first.

Scored in 12 first halves and conceded in 21 first halves.

Scored in 20 2nd halves and conceded in 30 2nd halves.

There is no metric anywhere, other than a lucky cup final win in May, to suggest that Jimmy can deliver what is required to change our fortunes. These results and performances have been happening for close to 14 months and change is essential or we'll find ourselves dragged further down and looking over our shoulder rather than looking upwards and trying to catch 4th, 3rd etc.

5 minutes ago, Elgindon said:

Post match from the BBC 

Aberdeen manager Jimmy Thelin tells BBC Scotland: "I won't talk much about the game but more about ourselves. The desire, there's too many individual decisions.

"Football is more than technique and systems. It's how you act on the football pitch. It's about responsibility. We've been here before, we've bounced back, but now we're back some steps again.

"Even if you don't have the perfect game, it should always feel like we give the fans everything and right now we aren't doing that. That's not good enough.

"I'm the manager, I'm responsible, but sometimes the players have to look in the mirror and know what football is about."

He’s either already lost, or is about to lose, the dressing room. 

Best for all parties if he quits tonight. 

• Like 3

Lets check the next fixtures in January. 12 points available 

Da huns home and away = 0 points

Cup game v's Raith Rovers = Shock cup loss. 

home to Livingston = Again a game we will struggle to win = 1 point

Kilmarnock = Little bounce again 3 points.

We will struggle to get 4 points. Out the cup (Risk factor > Lost dressing room) 

I really don't know where I stand on Thelin anymore. A few weeks ago I was confident he was getting January to make signings, and then at least until the split. 

And, I do kinda feel he deserves to defend the Scottish Cup. 

The Falkirk game for me though was one where the spotlight was really being shone on Thelin. Yes he went four at the back, but 4-2-4 didn't work. Then 4-2-3-1 with Armstrong at No.10 looked fairly promising as Armstrong began to look a threat. He kept that for 24 minutes before switching it again with Nisbet playing off Lazetic. That lasted six minutes before another change. That's just flinging darts and hoping for something.

What now for Ibrox? Go five at the back again? Start Karlsson but haul him off like he does every game when he's doing little? Keep starting one of Nisbet and Lazetic despite neither working as a lone striker? Shinnie benched again with Devlin shoehorned in somewhere to take the armband? 

I've got no confidence in this team anymore, and I struggle to see Thelin having a really clear plan of what to do. My guess is the first half will be one game plan and it'll be ripped up at half-time.

7 hours ago, Panda said:

Eleven games you say?

Jimmy's first 11 league games were:-

Played 11

Won 10

Drew 1

Lost 0

Goal difference +14

🤷‍♂️

Fair point min ...  Robson's early stats are also pretty damn good .. and we all know how that transpired. Should also be noted that Leven's 11 games, he played Smelltic twice. 
Ah'm nae for a second suggestin' Peter Leven is the 'Messiah', but to me he's a safer bet (Should Jimmy go) than any Ah can think o' that we could realistically appoint - at least in the short term.

(... and errm ... is it jist co-incidence, or have we got worse since the moment Lutz turned up ;) )

2 hours ago, Panda said:

I really don't know where I stand on Thelin anymore. A few weeks ago I was confident he was getting January to make signings, and then at least until the split. 

And, I do kinda feel he deserves to defend the Scottish Cup. 

The Falkirk game for me though was one where the spotlight was really being shone on Thelin. Yes he went four at the back, but 4-2-4 didn't work. Then 4-2-3-1 with Armstrong at No.10 looked fairly promising as Armstrong began to look a threat. He kept that for 24 minutes before switching it again with Nisbet playing off Lazetic. That lasted six minutes before another change. That's just flinging darts and hoping for something.

What now for Ibrox? Go five at the back again? Start Karlsson but haul him off like he does every game when he's doing little? Keep starting one of Nisbet and Lazetic despite neither working as a lone striker? Shinnie benched again with Devlin shoehorned in somewhere to take the armband? 

I've got no confidence in this team anymore, and I struggle to see Thelin having a really clear plan of what to do. My guess is the first half will be one game plan and it'll be ripped up at half-time.

Whatever the game plan, we’ll play like timid, scared wee lassies, totally surrender all possession & territory & not lay a glove on them - or have a shot on target.

Pretty much same as every game then…

Posted (edited)
4 hours ago, The.Moog said:

Whatever the game plan, we’ll play like timid, scared wee lassies, totally surrender all possession & territory & not lay a glove on them - or have a shot on target.

Pretty much same as every game then…

Oooooh ... a sneaky wee bit o' sexism in there, eh? ;) 

Mind you ... if ye'd compared our attempts at closin' them doon early as 'geriatric', Ah widna be as quick tae as flag yer comments as 'ageist' :D 

Edited by Radiored
3 minutes ago, TheDonbytheDee said:

Has he been sacked?

A few reports, nothing official.

Sounds like someone is at it.

Just got that from a usually-reliable individual. Awaiting verification.