tlg1903 Posted Monday at 20:22 Report Posted Monday at 20:22 2 hours ago, Panda said: Goodwin was at St Mirren (as manager) for nearly three years, and is coming up to his third anniversary at Dundee United, so there's one comparison. I don't think his St Mirren or Dundee United sides have ever impressed the same way McGlynn's Falkirk side has. Does his age matter? He's early 60s, it's not that old really. I'm still intrigued by Robert Klauß, who you could argue has a track record that edges Thelin in that he has been involved at big clubs before, has more coaching experience, and has managed outwith his own country. He would fit your young manager profile. However, I would be really keen to see how McGlynn - in his own words - got on with money to spend. Interestingly, Jamestown Analytics, apparently, rated McGlynn above McInnes & Robinson, but they ignored the ratings to appoint McInnes, likely because the optics of bringing McGlynn back for a third spell wouldn't have been great. Where did you hear that re JA prefferring Mcglynn for Hertz? Quote
Panda Posted yesterday at 00:34 Report Posted yesterday at 00:34 4 hours ago, tlg1903 said: Where did you hear that re JA prefferring Mcglynn for Hertz? 2 Quote
CurlsLikeTattie Posted 23 hours ago Report Posted 23 hours ago Do any of the former AbMadders miss the wonderful insights of Red John, his superior knowledge of the game and foreign leagues, and his views on who we should be appointing? No? Nobody? Thought not. Anyway, I have no f****n idea as long as it is not Robinson from the current list of 'favourites'. Law of averages suggests we will get it right eventually Quote
BigAl Posted 23 hours ago Report Posted 23 hours ago 23 minutes ago, CurlsLikeTattie said: Do any of the former AbMadders miss the wonderful insights of Red John, his superior knowledge of the game and foreign leagues, and his views on who we should be appointing? No? Nobody? Thought not. Anyway, I have no f****n idea as long as it is not Robinson from the current list of 'favourites'. Law of averages suggests we will get it right eventually Did he not get invited o'er here Would we not want him on here ? Quote
Blow.Up.Sheep Posted 22 hours ago Report Posted 22 hours ago On 17/01/2026 at 15:09, The.Moog said: Sad that any of us can even think that way these days, guess that’s how far we’ve fallen… We have not actually fallen Moog. We are where we are simply because Dave fkn Cormack and his mate have sucked and drained every ounce of ambition from the top of the club to the bottom. Our ego fkn maniac chairman should be hounded out of the country never mind the toon and deported for life. I would be happy with McGlynn as manager and take in Scott Brown to be his number 2. But like others have said it is highly unlikely that someone as long in tooth as McGlynn would have the patience to tolerate the Colgate teeth and the penguin thief. Quote
Mason89 Posted 22 hours ago Report Posted 22 hours ago Cormack would be alright if he just kept out of the football entirely, launched Stewart Milne into the Sun, renamed the training facility after Teddy Scott & stopped trying to cover his failings using local politics 3 Quote
CurlsLikeTattie Posted 21 hours ago Report Posted 21 hours ago 1 hour ago, BigAl said: Did he not get invited o'er here Would we not want him on here ? Let's just say he wasn't everyone's cup of tea 1 Quote
OrlandoDon Posted 20 hours ago Report Posted 20 hours ago 2 hours ago, Blow.Up.Sheep said: We have not actually fallen Moog. We are where we are simply because Dave fkn Cormack and his mate have sucked and drained every ounce of ambition from the top of the club to the bottom. Our ego fkn maniac chairman should be hounded out of the country never mind the toon and deported for life. I would be happy with McGlynn as manager and take in Scott Brown to be his number 2. But like others have said it is highly unlikely that someone as long in tooth as McGlynn would have the patience to tolerate the Colgate teeth and the penguin thief. I dont think Dave is doing a bad job, I don’t understand your strong dislike. I certainly understand your frustration with the current situation. Of course the club and Dave have made mistakes, that’s not abnormal in football, and has been acknowledged I think. football is an impossible business. Most clubs and managers fail. Most replace managers regularly, most don’t win anything. That’s the game. cormack has brought investment. A training ground. A director of football. Increasing playing funds. We’re signing players who played for ac Milan, man city, PSG, Liverpool, loaner from spurs, highly regarded youngsters, internationalists. I get many of these haven’t worked out but it’s much greater ambition than league 1 and 2, wycombe Stockport and the likes. I certainly think we can get better balance, and I think that has been acknowledged too. rangers and Celtic have been a mess this season, hearts have recently been a mess. We’ve signed managers, with the exception of glass, that while not always my choice, made sense. its always darkest before dawn, perhaps we’re close to the beginning of something special. We won a trophy last season, maybe luckily, maybe we repeat? Unlikely but I think we’ve got a man in charge who is fully invested, will spend, is ambitious, and wants success. That’s not easy. 6 1 Quote
wee toon red Posted 19 hours ago Report Posted 19 hours ago 58 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said: I dont think Dave is doing a bad job, I don’t understand your strong dislike. I certainly understand your frustration with the current situation. Of course the club and Dave have made mistakes, that’s not abnormal in football, and has been acknowledged I think. football is an impossible business. Most clubs and managers fail. Most replace managers regularly, most don’t win anything. That’s the game. cormack has brought investment. A training ground. A director of football. Increasing playing funds. We’re signing players who played for ac Milan, man city, PSG, Liverpool, loaner from spurs, highly regarded youngsters, internationalists. I get many of these haven’t worked out but it’s much greater ambition than league 1 and 2, wycombe Stockport and the likes. I certainly think we can get better balance, and I think that has been acknowledged too. rangers and Celtic have been a mess this season, hearts have recently been a mess. We’ve signed managers, with the exception of glass, that while not always my choice, made sense. its always darkest before dawn, perhaps we’re close to the beginning of something special. We won a trophy last season, maybe luckily, maybe we repeat? Unlikely but I think we’ve got a man in charge who is fully invested, will spend, is ambitious, and wants success. That’s not easy. Excellent post. As I said elsewhere, because fans are frustrated with our current situation, everyone’s getting it in the neck, deservedly or not. 1 Quote
Don Julio Posted 17 hours ago Report Posted 17 hours ago 4 hours ago, CurlsLikeTattie said: Let's just say he wasn't anyone's cup of tea Fixed that for you. 1 3 Quote
wee toon red Posted 14 hours ago Report Posted 14 hours ago Bit of momentum behind Robinson now being the favourite? Or (hopefully) just social media doing its thing? 2 Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 13 hours ago Report Posted 13 hours ago 41 minutes ago, wee toon red said: Bit of momentum behind Robinson now being the favourite? Or (hopefully) just social media doing its thing? Has to be someone on the wind up. Quote
Panda Posted 12 hours ago Report Posted 12 hours ago 1 hour ago, wee toon red said: Bit of momentum behind Robinson now being the favourite? Or (hopefully) just social media doing its thing? 32 minutes ago, TheDonbytheDee said: Has to be someone on the wind up. He's definitely being considered, whether he's now the front runner I don't know. Putting two and two together, the reason he's been so angry in his recent interviews is because he's seeing his chances of getting it dwindle with every defeat. Olusanya also feels like a Robinson signing, but again I'm speculating. Had to laugh at the tweet that started tonight's gossip though, which said it'd be a "huge coup". Trust me, he'd walk to Pittodrie for the job. 2 Quote
2stars Posted 11 hours ago Report Posted 11 hours ago 1 hour ago, Panda said: Had to laugh at the tweet that started tonight's gossip though, which said it'd be a "huge coup". Trust me, he'd walk to Pittodrie for the job. Hopefully if he is walking, by the time he gets here, we have appointed someone else 2 5 Quote
wee toon red Posted 11 hours ago Report Posted 11 hours ago Other accounts now saying mcglynn is the leading contender so probably safe to say that no-one has a clue. 1 Quote
Elgindon Posted 10 hours ago Report Posted 10 hours ago 25 minutes ago, wee toon red said: Other accounts now saying mcglynn is the leading contender so probably safe to say that no-one has a clue. Sources - probably fitba forums Quote
tlg1903 Posted 9 hours ago Report Posted 9 hours ago 1 hour ago, wee toon red said: Other accounts now saying mcglynn is the leading contender so probably safe to say that no-one has a clue. This is my feeling too. Lutz is a complete unknown quantity and has clearly given the press absolutely hee haw. If were to offer odds I would give evens on it ending up being a candidate that hasn't even been mentioned anywhere relation to the job. Quote
OrlandoDon Posted 9 hours ago Report Posted 9 hours ago 3 minutes ago, tlg1903 said: This is my feeling too. Lutz is a complete unknown quantity and has clearly given the press absolutely hee haw. If were to offer odds I would give evens on it ending up being a candidate that hasn't even been mentioned anywhere relation to the job. I think there’s absolutely nothing to Robinson or mcglynn. Is lazy and boring journalism, nothing to report so make shit up for attention. Quote
tlg1903 Posted 8 hours ago Report Posted 8 hours ago 2 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said: I think there’s absolutely nothing to Robinson or mcglynn. Is lazy and boring journalism, nothing to report so make shit up for attention. I think there might be something to Mcglynn 2bf but not Robinson. I actually quite like Robinson, I think he usually speaks well and he's certainly a good manager at this level. His players clearly love playing for him and it's fair to say he's managed to get a tune out of players we couldn't in Phillips and Richardson, Phillips in particular. Right now though he doesn't seem a good fit for me because it would be the first time he would be taking a team that was expected to win most of it's games. He's never done that before, nor have any managers in the Cormack era come to think of it. Even Thelin came from a club that was regarded as punching. Mcglynn on the other hand has done that in league one with aplomb and then taken that team to dominate the league above which is notoriously cuthroat the very next season. The more I think about Mcglynn getting the job the more I warm to it 2bh. Quote
Panda Posted 8 hours ago Report Posted 8 hours ago 14 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said: I think there’s absolutely nothing to Robinson or mcglynn. Is lazy and boring journalism, nothing to report so make shit up for attention. There IS something to the Robinson links. Again, I don't know if the boy tweeting it is right that he's now the front runner, but he is on the club's radar and has fans in the Dons boardroom. And to be fair to the guy who tweeted about Robinson today, he broke the Olusanya story hours before it, which other media are now reporting. (although, granted, he hasn't signed yet, but it appears he's been first to an exclusive there). McGlynn sounds more like a guess, and I say that because the site posting it (footy insiders) has form for being way off the mark with things. But as is often the case when there's a vacancy, it's about timing, and McGlynn is very much the in-form manager just now, so I'd be surprised if he wasn't in the conversation. Quote
tlg1903 Posted 8 hours ago Report Posted 8 hours ago 7 minutes ago, Panda said: There IS something to the Robinson links. Again, I don't know if the boy tweeting it is right that he's now the front runner, but he is on the club's radar and has fans in the Dons boardroom. And to be fair to the guy who tweeted about Robinson today, he broke the Olusanya story hours before it, which other media are now reporting. (although, granted, he hasn't signed yet, but it appears he's been first to an exclusive there). McGlynn sounds more like a guess, and I say that because the site posting it (footy insiders) has form for being way off the mark with things. But as is often the case when there's a vacancy, it's about timing, and McGlynn is very much the in-form manager just now, so I'd be surprised if he wasn't in the conversation. If true this is fairly depressing 1 Quote
OrlandoDon Posted 6 hours ago Report Posted 6 hours ago Just don’t see it with Robinson. It doesn’t add up. We’ve done much to mold ourselves into a bigger and more ambitious club in recent years, major business focus, investment, improved game day experience, bigger squad, player trading model, planning around playing in Europe, director of football etc. Dave is also, like myself, living in American sporting culture, and Robinson isn’t his type. We are a bigger and more professional club now, with bigger goals and ambitions. Robinson is a step backwards. He’s had a little success, and I could be wrong, but I don’t see a progressive coach there with modern methodology. Does he even have a style of play that matches what lutz and Dave want? Both have said an appealing brand of football is required. It would almost be like hiring Goodwin again. But with a little more experience. It makes no sense to hire Lutz with his more world game experience, then hire from Dow the road at st mirren. The Motherwell checks the boxes, this guy does not. Neither does mcglynn. i’d even argue it would be slightly more more realistic if st mirrwn were where Motherwell are, fighting at the top end of the league, getting praise for their style of play etc. but they are not. I know they won the league cup, but I jus don’t think signing a manager from the team 3rd bottom of the league matches our philosophy and ambition. We chose not to hire Calvin Davidson when he had domestic success, I expect Robinson to get the slightest of glances before we hire a more glamorous coach and vision aligned coach. Quote
OrlandoDon Posted 6 hours ago Report Posted 6 hours ago 22 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said: Just don’t see it with Robinson. It doesn’t add up. We’ve done much to mold ourselves into a bigger and more ambitious club in recent years, major business focus, investment, improved game day experience, bigger squad, player trading model, planning around playing in Europe, director of football etc. Dave is also, like myself, living in American sporting culture, and Robinson isn’t his type. We are a bigger and more professional club now, with bigger goals and ambitions. Robinson is a step backwards. He’s had a little success, and I could be wrong, but I don’t see a progressive coach there with modern methodology. Does he even have a style of play that matches what lutz and Dave want? Both have said an appealing brand of football is required. It would almost be like hiring Goodwin again. But with a little more experience. It makes no sense to hire Lutz with his more world game experience, then hire from Dow the road at st mirren. The Motherwell checks the boxes, this guy does not. Neither does mcglynn. i’d even argue it would be slightly more more realistic if st mirrwn were where Motherwell are, fighting at the top end of the league, getting praise for their style of play etc. but they are not. I know they won the league cup, but I jus don’t think signing a manager from the team 3rd bottom of the league matches our philosophy and ambition. We chose not to hire Calvin Davidson when he had domestic success, I expect Robinson to get the slightest of glances before we hire a more glamorous coach and vision aligned coach. Geez. Can’t edit, too many typos and Calvin Davidson!! Quote