Sunday 18th January 2026, kick-off 2.30pm

🏆 Scottish Cup - Aberdeen v Raith Rovers

January 2026 Transfer Window

1 hour ago, wee toon red said:

I don't see signing Welsh as desperation at all. He's a good age, coming into his peak years, Scottish and performing well in our division. He's exactly the type of signing we should be making.

He’s also performing well, & in his system, under our next manager too, so what’s not to like…

Regarding Welsh, it appears that O'Neill might have taken him back with a view to playing him before they potentially move for another central defender.

Am I wrong in thinking that if this happens, then Welsh wouldn't be able to join and play for us this season 🤔

7 minutes ago, BigAl said:

Regarding Welsh, it appears that O'Neill might have taken him back with a view to playing him before they potentially move for another central defender.

Am I wrong in thinking that if this happens, then Welsh wouldn't be able to join and play for us this season 🤔

I think they can only play for two clubs in one season. Something I read about a loon on loan at Villa from Liverpool.

Might be shyte I'm speaking. 

1 minute ago, TheDonbytheDee said:

I think they can only play for two clubs in one season. Something I read about a loon on loan at Villa from Liverpool.

Might be shyte I'm speaking. 

Aye min, that's fit I was getting at in my post.

Pretty sure that that is still the case. 

3 hours ago, swaddon said:

In that case, I'd better get some fitba boots and head up the road.

We’ve all watched some amount of shite play for us but the only time I was convinced they would be better off with me, was at Rugby Park for Bossus debut 

1 minute ago, Mason89 said:

We’ve all watched some amount of shite play for us but the only time I was convinced they would be better off with me, was at Rugby Park for Bossus debut 

A goalkeeper so bad that Diamond & Severin pretty much stood in the 6 yard box when he had to come on against the deid club. 

7 minutes ago, Stewart said:

A goalkeeper so bad that Diamond & Severin pretty much stood in the 6 yard box when he had to come on against the deid club. 

I was at the Killie game in the cup and the 9-0 and in my opinion, the Killie game was the bigger humping 

53 minutes ago, BigAl said:

That would be correct. If he plays for Celtic then he could only play for them or Motherwell for rest of season as you are only allowed to play for two clubs in one season. 

40 minutes ago, Mason89 said:

I was at preseason in Holland when we signed Bossu and was there to witness Leighton shouting at Calderwood asking which of his mates recommended we sign “this clown” after a pre match work out. Calderwood then told press he was signed on Leighton’s recommendation a couple of days later. 

49 minutes ago, Mason89 said:

Aye I was at that game also. We actually got lucky that night it only ended up 4-2.

It wasn't Bertie's debut however as that had been the previous round at Somerset Park and although he kept a clean sheet in that game still managed to look completely shite

11 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said:

I highly doubt welsh is being recalled to play for Celtic. They’ve had him for years and know exactly what he is. Makes no sense for a temp manager to recall and play him.

Cannot find the article just now but O’Neil in his first stint did say he would have kept Welsh to play as cover.

2 hours ago, OrlandoDon said:

I highly doubt welsh is being recalled to play for Celtic. They’ve had him for years and know exactly what he is. Makes no sense for a temp manager to recall and play him.

2 hours ago, Jute said:

Cannot find the article just now but O’Neil in his first stint did say he would have kept Welsh to play as cover.

Speculation that Trusty has done his hamstring.

Not the article to which you refer, but this is taken from the online page of Glasgow World

"It remains to be seen what Celtic’s plans are for Welsh, having struggled defensively at times so far this term. With Cameron Carter-Vickers sidelined until this summer and fresh concern over Trusty’s fitness, the former Scotland Under-21 ace could be handed more game time.

There is also the chance that he could head to Pittodrie after managerless Aberdeen made contact with Celtic regarding Welsh’s availability."

4 hours ago, Mason89 said:

I still try to block that game out from memory. Truly appalling.