BigAl Posted 13 hours ago Report Posted 13 hours ago Why would that be of any relevance to anyone of an Aberdeen persuasion 3 1 Quote
Bukta Bertie Posted 13 hours ago Report Posted 13 hours ago 1 minute ago, BigAl said: Why would that be of any relevance to anyone of an Aberdeen persuasion I don't like huns. Not many Aberdeen fans do. Although to be fair he did knock them back to join the Harry Hotspurs as a young man. Quote
BigAl Posted 13 hours ago Report Posted 13 hours ago The man's religion is the least of our concerns about Stephen Robinson I'd respectfully suggest 1 1 Quote
Bukta Bertie Posted 12 hours ago Report Posted 12 hours ago 1 minute ago, BigAl said: The man's religion is the least of our concerns about Stephen Robinson I'd respectfully suggest Huns particularly the Ulster Scots are almost always rangers fans. It might not concern you but it certainly does me and it's something we absolutely should be keeping an eye on. I'd not employ a single one of them at the club. Not even as a till girl in the shop. 2 Quote
Kowalski Posted 12 hours ago Report Posted 12 hours ago 22 minutes ago, Bukta Bertie said: It hasn't been touched on yet but there is an elephant in the room. Is there still a mute function on this forum? Asking for a friend. 4 Quote
BigAl Posted 12 hours ago Report Posted 12 hours ago Just now, Kowalski said: Is there still a mute function on this forum? Asking for a friend. Yes. 1 Quote
Bukta Bertie Posted 12 hours ago Report Posted 12 hours ago 3 minutes ago, Kowalski said: Is there still a mute function on this forum? Asking for a friend. Is your friend a Hun? Asking for a proper Aberdeen fan. Quote
Mason89 Posted 12 hours ago Report Posted 12 hours ago 3 hours ago, Bukta Bertie said: I don't like Dumbarton. Boghead Youth Army (hated but rated) 1 Quote
Panda Posted 11 hours ago Report Posted 11 hours ago 1 hour ago, irnbru1903 said: he employs Jim Goodwin mark 2. Is he though? Under Goodwin, St Mirren finish 9th and 7th, and although he left them in sixth he never completed the season (they finished 9th). Best they did in either cup was a semi-final. Robinson was his direct replacement, and in each of his full seasons they have finished 6th, 5th, 6th (their first top six finishes since 1985), won the League Cup and will be leaving them in the Scottish Cup semis. They qualified for Europe for the first time in 37 years. This is his first poor season in the league as manager, and can be attributed to injuries and yeah, poor signings. But they've still won a cup and did it by beating four Premiership teams on the way, including Hearts, and thumping Motherwell and Celtic. And that doesn't mention his record at Motherwell too, which ranks above Goodwin at both Dundee United and Aberdeen. I totally accept the negativity towards his appointment and that many of us expected something else, but he is a significantly better manager than Jim Goodwin. 1 Quote
STFU_Donny Posted 11 hours ago Report Posted 11 hours ago On 15/01/2026 at 17:43, STFU_Donny said: I think my head would explode if we appointed Robinson. FFS 2 Quote
Jupiter Posted 11 hours ago Report Posted 11 hours ago it hasn't been announced yet, maybe he will say no. Hopefully. Quote
OrlandoDon Posted 11 hours ago Report Posted 11 hours ago (edited) 26 minutes ago, Panda said: Is he though? Under Goodwin, St Mirren finish 9th and 7th, and although he left them in sixth he never completed the season (they finished 9th). Best they did in either cup was a semi-final. Robinson was his direct replacement, and in each of his full seasons they have finished 6th, 5th, 6th (their first top six finishes since 1985), won the League Cup and will be leaving them in the Scottish Cup semis. They qualified for Europe for the first time in 37 years. This is his first poor season in the league as manager, and can be attributed to injuries and yeah, poor signings. But they've still won a cup and did it by beating four Premiership teams on the way, including Hearts, and thumping Motherwell and Celtic. And that doesn't mention his record at Motherwell too, which ranks above Goodwin at both Dundee United and Aberdeen. I totally accept the negativity towards his appointment and that many of us expected something else, but he is a significantly better manager than Jim Goodwin. Good post, Panda! You made my post so much easier and shorter, was going to post something similar. He’s an experienced coach, Goodwin glass and Robson were not. Thelin had minimal knowledge/experience of our league, opponents, and players. Robinson will also have more of an idea than most of the type of player that’s needed for the SPL. We also have lutz (assuming rumors are false) and the return of Mowbray to find players. i suggested here early season that Robinson could be an option and got blasted for it, so no surprise that there’s so much negativity. But he has done well as a coach in the league. And won a cup. And not just with one SPL team. the big however is that he doesn’t seem to match the whole long term approach, philosophy of the club, and the glamor of a new coach. I’m certainly disappointed in this announcement, surely we could have done better. Seems like desperation/panic to me, and id be surprised if he came before summer. When i suggested him before one major negative voiced was the quality of their play. Haven’t seen enough of his teams to comment, although I have certainly been wooed more by the play of falkirk and Motherwell. Don’t remember the chat when Alex miller was hired, or Roy Aiken, and in more recent times when goodwillie came. Certainly my most deflating hire for us to date and I’ve been a fan approx 45 years, even though there are signs he could be a good fit/hire. Edited 11 hours ago by OrlandoDon 3 Quote
tlg1903 Posted 11 hours ago Report Posted 11 hours ago 17 minutes ago, Jupiter said: it hasn't been announced yet, maybe he will say no. Hopefully. Which remains a possibility given St Mirren are in the semi but if he did it would be even further humiliation and the club being thrown into full on crisis. The die is cast, Robinson seems the much lesser of those two evils and his record isn't exactly awful as others have mentioned. Who knows, maybe it will work out. Stranger things have happened, look at how much Dundee have progressed under Pressley. Quote
OrlandoDon Posted 11 hours ago Report Posted 11 hours ago (edited) 6 minutes ago, tlg1903 said: Which remains a possibility given St Mirren are in the semi but if he did it would be even further humiliation and the club being thrown into full on crisis. The die is cast, Robinson seems the much lesser of those two evils and his record isn't exactly awful as others have mentioned. Who knows, maybe it will work out. Stranger things have happened, look at how much Dundee have progressed under Pressley. So we go for Pressley when Robinson knocks us back!! Pretty sure yogi is waiting by the phone too! Edited 11 hours ago by OrlandoDon 1 Quote
Panda Posted 11 hours ago Report Posted 11 hours ago I would expect he'll be announced in the morning (presuming everything has gone smoothly, which with us recently is no guarantee). Absolutely no reason for him to have to wait until summer. McInnes left Kilmarnock for Hearts last season. Be interesting to see his managerial team. Would Docherty stay as assistant having been a manager against Robinson previously? Quote
OrlandoDon Posted 11 hours ago Report Posted 11 hours ago 13 minutes ago, Panda said: I would expect he'll be announced in the morning (presuming everything has gone smoothly, which with us recently is no guarantee). Absolutely no reason for him to have to wait until summer. McInnes left Kilmarnock for Hearts last season. Be interesting to see his managerial team. Would Docherty stay as assistant having been a manager against Robinson previously? A cup double? We have 9 league games, playing them twice too. That’s not much. Interesting if he stays then plays to beat us, and vice versa! Would be slightly odd to see him hired and move in summer, he’ll potentially help get us relegated then take over! Quote
OxfordDon Posted 10 hours ago Report Posted 10 hours ago (edited) The word underwhelming doesnt even begin to describe this potential appointment (much better ones are all four letters long). Edited 10 hours ago by OxfordDon 1 Quote
Brochred Posted 9 hours ago Report Posted 9 hours ago 3 hours ago, Bukta Bertie said: Huns particularly the Ulster Scots are almost always rangers fans. It might not concern you but it certainly does me and it's something we absolutely should be keeping an eye on. I'd not employ a single one of them at the club. Not even as a till girl in the shop. As someone who grew up detesting the huns, Derek Johnstone, in particular, although he had a fair amount of competition, if one comes to us then, if they then see the light, then that's OK. See Ferguson, Miller, Bett, young Ferguson there are countless others as well. So Ideally we'd have team full of Simpsons Hewitts, Scott Booths and Andy Considines but I'm not against giving them an opportunity to turn from the dark side. 1 Quote
Radiored Posted 8 hours ago Report Posted 8 hours ago Aye, fair enough, the disease we see as Hunnishosis is nae easily cleansed .... might need a period o' quarantine ... as was the case wi' Sir Alex ... but it can be achieved. It's a bastard o' a disease tho ... takes hold very rapidly ... as could be witnessed merely in the faces o' Ryhun, Barrhun, etc within a very short time o' bein' smitten wi the blue pox. Ah'm holdin' oot hope Cameron hisna been close enough tae the 'superspreaders' tae be incurable .. but hey, time will tell, and he's only one player - albeit performin' a fraction o' a level above the rest o' the shite 1 Quote
THFN1983 Posted 8 hours ago Report Posted 8 hours ago My take on things for what it's worth. When Lutz was interviewed for his position my guess is he was made aware by Cormack etc. that a change of manager could very well be happening soon due to Jimmy's league record and Cormack wanted assurances that if that were to happen that Lutz could attract a better calibre/name of manager than we've been able to in the past few years. We all know about Lutz's contacts in the football world and he's got the gig off the back of reassuring Cormack that he could get X/Y/Z in the door if/when Jimmy got punted. Fast forward to Jan and Jimmy is indeed punted and Lutz rifles through all the names in his black book along with other names that applied and complies a list and gets whittled down. Sadly no one from Lutz's list is interested in coming in January and the sweat starts coming on Lutz's brow. Leven was only meant to be a stop gap but now he'll be in position for longer-term. The results worsen and panic starts creeping in and Horneland is spoken to either officially or otherwise and he departs his job but unbeknownst that there is a clause stipulating that he can't take control until the summer. Lutz pacifies the FMB that it's fine, we'll be safe from relegation and the rebuild will begin but then Horneland starts getting cold feet and we reach put to this other German geezer, he comes over and sees what a shot show it is and says fuck that. During this time we get pumped out the cup, drop down the league and Cormack asks Lutz what's happening with the manager search and Lutz can't get anyone at all until the summer, which is obviously too late the way things are going. So Cormack and the FMB tell Lutz to sit this one out and go for Robinson. Lutz is either fired or resigns, Leven goes along with Doc and the other guy and we get Robinson and hopefully avoid relegation. 2 Quote
Bukta Bertie Posted 4 hours ago Report Posted 4 hours ago 5 hours ago, Brochred said: As someone who grew up detesting the huns, Derek Johnstone, in particular, although he had a fair amount of competition, if one comes to us then, if they then see the light, then that's OK. See Ferguson, Miller, Bett, young Ferguson there are countless others as well. So Ideally we'd have team full of Simpsons Hewitts, Scott Booths and Andy Considines but I'm not against giving them an opportunity to turn from the dark side. I can agree there are huns and then there's uber-Huns but even Ferguson fooled us into thinking he was the anti-hun but eventually returned into the hun fold so perhaps that should be a lesson to us all. It would seem a leopard can't change it's spots. Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 3 hours ago Report Posted 3 hours ago 8 hours ago, OrlandoDon said: Don’t remember the chat when Alex miller was hired, Well, you bloody well should! The worst manager we have ever appointed and was only ever going to end one way. F*ck knows what Milne was sniffing when he signed Alex f*cking Miller. Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 3 hours ago Report Posted 3 hours ago So a chance we could see the return of Langfield! Been told the delay is back room staff appointments, but should be resolved for an announcement later today. Quote
Bukta Bertie Posted 2 hours ago Report Posted 2 hours ago If he isn't officially announced on the club webpage today there will be a certain amount of worry setting in across the Dons fanbase or for some a sense of relief Exciting times. Quote
Mason89 Posted 2 hours ago Report Posted 2 hours ago I’m starting to come to terms with the fact that we’ll never be able to rid Aberdeen FC of Stewart Milne & Jamie Langfield A hundred years from now, Milnes ghost will still be haunting the place with eerie noises of new stadiums, while the Clangbot3000 takes goalie drills on the pitch. Quote