OrlandoDon Posted Sunday at 18:47 Report Posted Sunday at 18:47 I’d assume it’s all money, nothing to do with opportunities to win leagues etc. We won the cup and look at hearts at present, as much as the old firm has dominated there’s always a possibility. Add that cormack has spend and appears willing to back a manager in order to compete. if reports of a 750k payoff/settlement have any validity, plus the consequences of walking straight into a new job, I’d assume there’s issues with st etienne paying then him immediately signing with us. He won’t or can’t sign with us until that’s resolved, and why would st etienne resolve this quickly to suit the manager. He wasn’t fired but you could question if he was tapped up by us so they’d be reluctant to part with such a significant sum if he had a job lined up, and questions asked about our involvement prior to him leaving the French club. Concerning, but I’d assume not unavoidable and time consuming. All speculation of course, could be totally wrong! Quote
BigAl Posted Sunday at 19:22 Report Posted Sunday at 19:22 54 minutes ago, 2stars said: Agree- if he doesn’t sign up it will be down to money 34 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said: I’d assume it’s all money, nothing to do with opportunities to win leagues etc. We won the cup and look at hearts at present, as much as the old firm has dominated there’s always a possibility. Add that cormack has spend and appears willing to back a manager in order to compete. if reports of a 750k payoff/settlement have any validity, plus the consequences of walking straight into a new job, I’d assume there’s issues with st etienne paying then him immediately signing with us. He won’t or can’t sign with us until that’s resolved, and why would st etienne resolve this quickly to suit the manager. He wasn’t fired but you could question if he was tapped up by us so they’d be reluctant to part with such a significant sum if he had a job lined up, and questions asked about our involvement prior to him leaving the French club. Concerning, but I’d assume not unavoidable and time consuming. All speculation of course, could be totally wrong! 100% nothing to do with the money on offer guys Quote
swaddon Posted Sunday at 19:25 Report Posted Sunday at 19:25 Maybe he's waiting to see if Celtic will offer him their job first. Not that I'm pointing the finger at any of our previous Celtic-minded managers... Quote
OrlandoDon Posted Sunday at 19:25 Report Posted Sunday at 19:25 2 minutes ago, BigAl said: 100% nothing to do with the money on offer guys Do tell!! Quote
2stars Posted Sunday at 19:29 Report Posted Sunday at 19:29 (edited) 7 minutes ago, BigAl said: 100% nothing to do with the money on offer guys Care to elaborate? Stewart Milne offered him a hoose to stay in then realised he doesn’t have any to offer… I am at the stage where if it is not this guy will be someone else and whoever it is good luck to them Edited Sunday at 19:30 by 2stars 2 Quote
swaddon Posted yesterday at 07:44 Report Posted yesterday at 07:44 The club are still talking to Horneland according to the P & J. Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted yesterday at 07:54 Report Posted yesterday at 07:54 Maybe he just got fed up of the rain, whilst in the City. Quote
Blow.Up.Sheep Posted yesterday at 08:10 Report Posted yesterday at 08:10 I must admit, I am now at the stage of not really giving a flying fuk who our next manager is. If it is Horneland then good luck to him (he is going to need it) If it is nae Horneland then I guess eventually it will be somebody else and whoever that somebody else is then good luck to them as well (as they will also fukin need it). A mate of mine said to me the other day that we are turning into a complete joke of a club. I disagreed with him by saying we are not turning into a joke we have been a huge joke of a club for fkn years. This is just another example of how totally fuked up we really are. 2 Quote
Mason89 Posted 23 hours ago Report Posted 23 hours ago I don’t think we’re any worse of a joke club than any other joke club in Scottish football but I agree that I’m past caring who the new manager is. 1 Quote
wokinginashearerwonderland Posted 23 hours ago Report Posted 23 hours ago His CV is very underwhelming. Must be about the equivalent of if Callum Davidson were to get the Rosenborg job. Pretty obvious Horneland would be nowhere near the top of the list if Lutz had not been around and it makes a mockery of the whole recruitment process. Said it before on here but Lutz may as well manage the team himself. He's now on the bench at matches, he has already told us how we are going to play, we are signing the players only he has seen play and now about to appoint a manager because he has been trailing him for ages. Really hope this falls through and we revert to someone who has experience of managing in Scotland. 1 Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 23 hours ago Report Posted 23 hours ago Doom n gloom on here today and from at least two who can't blame our miserable weather. We're seventh in the league and still in the cup. We've been in far, far worse positions than this in Februaries gone by. 3 3 Quote
Mason89 Posted 23 hours ago Report Posted 23 hours ago Dumbarton is beautiful regardless of the weather. The castle this morning coming through the mist was a joy to behold I’ve been to Woking many times. It doesn’t have the same effect Quote
wee toon red Posted 22 hours ago Report Posted 22 hours ago We're not a joke of a club by any realistic assessment. Fans are frustrated at the length of time it's taking to get the right coach - even though we were told at the outset it could take up to six months - and because we got pumped in our last game the feelings are magnified. It'll be fine. 3 Quote
Blow.Up.Sheep Posted 21 hours ago Report Posted 21 hours ago There is never much as what can be classed as "miserable weather" where I am, so I canna really blame the weather for my doom and gloom. But fk me our beloved club is nae really helping the matter are they? But then again I do know that over the years and decades I have learned to lower my expectations with everything associated with our club and by doing so I cling to some lingering piece of hope that one day I might just be pleasantly surprised that we eventually get something right. But until that happens we are all doomed I tell ya doomed. Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 20 hours ago Report Posted 20 hours ago (edited) 59 minutes ago, Blow.Up.Sheep said: There is never much as what can be classed as "miserable weather" where I am, so I canna really blame the weather for my doom and gloom. But fk me our beloved club is nae really helping the matter are they? But then again I do know that over the years and decades I have learned to lower my expectations with everything associated with our club and by doing so I cling to some lingering piece of hope that one day I might just be pleasantly surprised that we eventually get something right. But until that happens we are all doomed I tell ya doomed. What are our expectations though? We are 123 years old and have won 4 titles, 8 Scottish Cups, 5 League cups and two European Cups, with the majority won over a 6 year period from 1980. You need a bit more about you to support a team that doesn't win much trophies, but it's what makes days like last May all the more special. Bigot fans will never feel what we did last May. Take comfort from us just being us. Whether we are shit or decent, it's still our team. The manager thing will sort itself out, let them paid to sort it, sort it and don't over think it. I could have listed our Tennants Sixes wins, Drybrough Cups, Aberdeenshire shields and master trophies. We're far better than that though. Edited 20 hours ago by TheDonbytheDee 6 Quote
Panda Posted 20 hours ago Report Posted 20 hours ago 2 hours ago, wokinginashearerwonderland said: Really hope this falls through and we revert to someone who has experience of managing in Scotland. Such as? Quote
Mason89 Posted 20 hours ago Report Posted 20 hours ago 5 minutes ago, TheDonbytheDee said: What are our expectations though? A well run Aberdeen should be the club best positioned to scoop up anything not won by the smellies A well run Aberdeen should be able to give both smellies a game when we play them, especially at home Finishing in a European place should be achievable every year 3 Quote
RicoS321 Posted 20 hours ago Author Report Posted 20 hours ago (edited) 25 minutes ago, Mason89 said: A well run Aberdeen should be the club best positioned to scoop up anything not won by the smellies A well run Aberdeen should be able to give both smellies a game when we play them, especially at home Finishing in a European place should be achievable every year That seems about right. But I'd argue that the expectation of a continuous "well run" club is in itself a little unfair. There's not a club in the world that is perennially well run. It's perfectly normal and acceptable to be up and down considering the number of factors that affect a club, and the turnover of staff. We don't continuously spend enough to guarantee we'll finish above the rest, and certainly not Hearts and Hibs. We probably spend enough to ensure that we don't get relegated, which is why we never have been. A European place should be achievable every year. A European place is not guaranteed (as it is for the Huns and Tims), and a slight failure in the transfer market (say 40% success as opposed to 60%) would be enough to see us miss out. The margins aren't great and will never be. Edit: to add, there is no correlation between being well run and the time it takes to appoint a manager, either. Edited 20 hours ago by RicoS321 5 Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 19 hours ago Report Posted 19 hours ago 56 minutes ago, Mason89 said: A well run Aberdeen should be the club best positioned to scoop up anything not won by the smellies A well run Aberdeen should be able to give both smellies a game when we play them, especially at home Finishing in a European place should be achievable every year We are the club who have played in more European gamed outwith the Tims and deadco. Without knowing or checking, we can't be far off most semi finals and finals competed in, outwith the bigots, since our inception. Could be way off the mark with that one. I'd be happy to see a good team on the park. A good youth system, with youngsters getting a chance and not laying down to the cheeks and others like we are too prone to do. Quote
LeonMikeIsFat Posted 18 hours ago Report Posted 18 hours ago That afc chat manager thread has gone chicken oriental. What a strange bunch of loons. Anyway, get the noggie in! Quote
Panda Posted 18 hours ago Report Posted 18 hours ago 1 hour ago, TheDonbytheDee said: Without knowing or checking, we can't be far off most semi finals and finals competed in, outwith the bigots, since our inception. Think we share that accolade with Dundee United. Quote
swaddon Posted 18 hours ago Report Posted 18 hours ago 11 minutes ago, Panda said: Think we share that accolade with Dundee United. Aye, but we won most of ours. 1 Quote
wokinginashearerwonderland Posted 17 hours ago Report Posted 17 hours ago 3 hours ago, Mason89 said: A well run Aberdeen should be the club best positioned to scoop up anything not won by the smellies A well run Aberdeen should be able to give both smellies a game when we play them, especially at home Finishing in a European place should be achievable every year The "strategy" that Deadly Dave has implemented makes all of that very difficult to achieve on a consistent basis. We want to sell on all of our best talent so as soon as we produce a few decent players they are offski. It means you will have one good season followed by one shite season and so on. You are never going to get consistency if you are changing out half of your squad every season. Even just the loans make consistency a problem. Think I am right in saying we have signed seven players on loan this season. How can you get any kind of cohesion going when you only have players for six months at a time? You can never build for the long term. Quote
wokinginashearerwonderland Posted 17 hours ago Report Posted 17 hours ago 3 hours ago, Panda said: Such as? There are plenty of options. From the more experienced like Stevie Clarke, John McGlynn or Michael O'Neill. A current SPL guy such as Robinson, or someone lower down the chain like Scott Brown or Gary Naysmith. I'd argue that any of the above would stand a better chance of success than taking in someone from Norway that knows very little about either our club or about fitba in this country. Quote
BigAl Posted 16 hours ago Report Posted 16 hours ago 2 hours ago, TheDonbytheDee said: We are the club who have played in more European gamed outwith the Tims and deadco. Without knowing or checking, we can't be far off most semi finals and finals competed in, outwith the bigots, since our inception. Could be way off the mark with that one. I'd be happy to see a good team on the park. A good youth system, with youngsters getting a chance and not laying down to the cheeks and others like we are too prone to do. Total Scottish Cup & League Cup semi final appearances AFC 39+27=66 Hibs 39+23=62 Hearts 36+21=57 Arabs 21+19=40 Source: stevesfootballstats.uk 1 2 Quote