Saturday 7th February,  kick-off 7.30pm

Scottish Cup - Aberdeen v Motherwell

Next manager

The German Stephen Glass? Except perhaps this time we'd have the set up at the club that Glass should have had.

You know what, it'd be interesting, I wouldn't be against it. Obviously has no managerial record to speak of, but 12 years coaching and being in the dugout isn't a lack of experience really. And if he's head coach rather than overall manager, then it's not really a step up that should be behind him.

Didn't realise he had retired so young (29/30). I do remember him being a very capable right back for Celtic. Won 21 caps for Germany too which ain't bad going.

Posted (edited)
46 minutes ago, Panda said:

The German Stephen Glass? Except perhaps this time we'd have the set up at the club that Glass should have had.

You know what, it'd be interesting, I wouldn't be against it. Obviously has no managerial record to speak of, but 12 years coaching and being in the dugout isn't a lack of experience really. And if he's head coach rather than overall manager, then it's not really a step up that should be behind him.

Didn't realise he had retired so young (29/30). I do remember him being a very capable right back for Celtic. Won 21 caps for Germany too which ain't bad going.

I think that’s not quite accurate, as much as it’s prob tongue in cheek, 9 years as asst at shamrock rovers and Atlanta utd vs 13 yrs as asst at stuttgart, leipzig, spartak, and currently asst with the Belgium national team since 2023. 1 cap for Scotland vs 21 for Germany, watford dunfermline and hibs vs Celtic stuttgart and Sevilla. Played champions league, won the eufa cup and super cup. Obviously guarantees nothing, doesn’t mean this makes a good coach/manager.

he’s 43, good age, coaching experience, obviously German like lutz, possibly knows lutz, and knows Scottish football to an extent.

not ideal but enough intrigue from me. Much more appealing than a lambert, Lennon, or Billy Davies! plus his last name isn’t Robinson so that’s a plus. Definitely a lot of uncertainty around the club at present, but like you said, def learned from the glass experience, and we do have the structures in place to provide greater support.

Edited by OrlandoDon
2 hours ago, Panda said:

And if he's head coach rather than overall manager, then it's not really a step up that should be behind him

*Beyond him.

I should get a proofreader.

1 hour ago, OrlandoDon said:

I think that’s not quite accurate, as much as it’s prob tongue in cheek,

I mean, I wasn't literally claiming Andreas Hinkel was the German Stephen Glass. 

9 years as asst at shamrock rovers and Atlanta utd vs 13 yrs as asst at stuttgart, leipzig, spartak, and currently asst with the Belgium national team since 2023. 1 cap for Scotland vs 21 for Germany, watford dunfermline and hibs vs Celtic stuttgart and Sevilla. Played champions league, won the eufa cup and super cup. Obviously guarantees nothing, doesn’t mean this makes a good coach/manager.

Point of order: Glass also played for Newcastle, and he was at Shamrock for two years, not nine. 

Also, Glass reached the heights by playing for the Dons, min.

All irrelevant but I had to scratch that itch.

he’s 43, good age,

Yes, and as someone in my 40s I'd strongly argue that is still very young. His best years (and mine) are still ahead of him.

possibly knows lutz, .

IMG_3459.thumb.jpeg.7f5eff84cf0c037a5d3f203b708bdf8f.jpeg
That makes them best pals in my book.

not ideal but enough intrigue from me. Much more appealing than a lambert, Lennon, or Billy Davies! plus his last name isn’t Robinson so that’s a plus. Definitely a lot of uncertainty around the club at present, but like you said, def learned from the glass experience, and we do have the structures in place to provide greater support.

And if it falls through, Robbie Neilson is still available.

Whoever comes in has to hit the ground running.

Our dour support will not tolerate much more on the pitch shitshows and who could blame them. 

Unlike other clubs, our dour support still turn up in numbers, both home and away.

It's maybe easier if you play in front of one man and his dog.

Bring it on.

7 hours ago, OrlandoDon said:

I think that’s not quite accurate, as much as it’s prob tongue in cheek, 9 years as asst at shamrock rovers and Atlanta utd vs 13 yrs as asst at stuttgart, leipzig, spartak, and currently asst with the Belgium national team since 2023. 1 cap for Scotland vs 21 for Germany, watford dunfermline and hibs vs Celtic stuttgart and Sevilla. Played champions league, won the eufa cup and super cup. Obviously guarantees nothing, doesn’t mean this makes a good coach/manager.

he’s 43, good age, coaching experience, obviously German like lutz, possibly knows lutz, and knows Scottish football to an extent.

Das mountainbike?

51 minutes ago, wee toon red said:

Heard a rumour it could be this guy:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eirik_Horneland

Aye, saw the rumours he was spotted in Aberdeen last night. 

Would be odd in that he's literally just been sacked a few days ago by St Ettiene. So does that mean we've sat waiting for him to get sacked, or changed our mind from who we were going to appoint to him when he became available?

Nilsen was his captain at Brann. Maybe that's why he didn't leave in the January transfer window...

That wasn't the name I was given on Tuesday, even though I can't remember it, but it wasn't that.

4-0 up at Ibrox, to win the league next season and the Dandies in the stand bouncing around singing , so Horny, horny horny horny.

Bring it on!

• Haha 1
2 hours ago, TheDonbytheDee said:

That wasn't the name I was given on Tuesday, even though I can't remember it, but it wasn't that.

4-0 up at Ibrox, to win the league next season and the Dandies in the stand bouncing around singing , so Horny, horny horny horny.

Bring it on!

"Nisbet makes it four, and the Dons supporters are in Horneland!"

• Haha 1

Horneland was reportedly interviewed for the Hearts job, but they appointed Neil Critchley instead.

Anyway, it's looking very likely to happen. Supposedly arrived in Aberdeen on Sunday, had been kept hidden since then but was spotted last night.

If he does get the top job in world football, he needs to be told that Scandinavian managers at Aberdeen are expected to reach the Scottish Cup final in their first season.

• Thanks 1
  • Haha 2
6 hours ago, Panda said:

Aye, saw the rumours he was spotted in Aberdeen last night. 

Would be odd in that he's literally just been sacked a few days ago by St Ettiene. So does that mean we've sat waiting for him to get sacked, or changed our mind from who we were going to appoint to him when he became available?

Nilsen was his captain at Brann. Maybe that's why he didn't leave in the January transfer window...

Was at Malmaison last night apparently.

I’ve been told it’s come rather out of left field this week since he only came available at the weekend. They are serious about him though.

If the deal is done, he’ll get my support but have to say it looks affa like Thelin mark II.

Some success in Noggieland but knows fuck all about fitba here.

Just got to cross the fingers and hope he’s more Askou than JT, but hmmmm…

Just now, The.Moog said:

Was at Malmaison last night apparently.

I’ve been told it’s come rather out of left field this week since he only came available at the weekend. They are serious about him though.

If the deal is done, he’ll get my support but have to say it looks affa like Thelin mark II.

Some success in Noggieland but knows fuck all about fitba here.

Just got to cross the fingers and hope he’s more Askou than JT, but hmmmm…

His style of play sounds very well suited to the Scottish game was my big take from what I've read about him. 

58 minutes ago, swaddon said:

If he does get the top job in world football, he needs to be told that Scandinavian managers at Aberdeen are expected to reach the Scottish Cup final in their first season.

Reach?

They’re expected to win it now…

Just now, tlg1903 said:

His style of play sounds very well suited to the Scottish game was my big take from what I've read about him. 

I did like the bit about going long from the the back and only playing out on the deck some of the time. Big step forward.

This was a wee concern though

“The two CBs are a huge part of the way Brann play, as their ability to break the lines via both passing and carrying is just one way in which Brann get into these situations in the first place”. 

Knoester could be capable of that & who knows, maybe Tobers too if we ever get to see him, but otherwise no chance, and we still need to address the lack of arial ability back there too.

Fingers crossed as I say…