Sunday 23rd November 2025, kick-off 3pm

Scottish Premiership - Aberdeen v Hearts

Scotland squad

20 minutes ago, tlg1903 said:

But he is eligible and we are short on wide players.  That's the reality of the situation.  At best I would feel unease at taking a player like that into the squad and I totally get your opposition to it.  That said football fans are fickle and if he was brought in then scored a goal that won us a game in the WC I know I would be fine with it. 

We are clearly short on both wide players and creative  players. Plus will doak be healthy, seems an injury prone player? If we had a Peter weir, davie cooper, or McFadden that would be great, but I don’t think we have even one legit left midfielder/left winger in the squad. I really want things to work for Lewis Morgan and Ryan gauld, but they’ve been injured and not been in recent squads, Barnes is clearly a different level.

we have very little talent and depth, I get the resistance, but I think it’s ridiculous if we don’t at least ask.

1 hour ago, tlg1903 said:

But he is eligible and we are short on wide players.  That's the reality of the situation.  At best I would feel unease at taking a player like that into the squad and I totally get your opposition to it.  That said football fans are fickle and if he was brought in then scored a goal that won us a game in the WC I know I would be fine with it. 

What if over the next seven months we found 11 players who all had Scottish grannies, no interest in Scotland but want to play at a World Cup?

What are we actually supporting then? 

Or what if we couldn't get tickets because all the Welsh and Northern Irish fans with Scottish grannies wanted to support a team at the World Cup so snapped up our allocation?

Nah, not having it. 

23 minutes ago, Panda said:

What if over the next seven months we found 11 players who all had Scottish grannies, no interest in Scotland but want to play at a World Cup?

What are we actually supporting then? 

Or what if we couldn't get tickets because all the Welsh and Northern Irish fans with Scottish grannies wanted to support a team at the World Cup so snapped up our allocation?

Nah, not having it. 

Im only for it if it’s a position we are clearly lacking, and we’re talking one or two players, big strength of us is squad harmony and unity, don’t need to negatively impact that. We also have to consider we’re an older team and there’s not a lot of talented youth out there, a bit concerning.

I’m a fan of Josh doig, Lennon miller, jack Milne etc, would not be keen to see these guys moved back over some newbie.
Barnes has been on the radar for a while and offers something we do not have. we’re really lacking legit forwards. Liam Delap is eligible. Is he any less Scottish than Che Adams?

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, OrlandoDon said:

we’re talking one or two players,

1 hour ago, OrlandoDon said:

Liam Delap is eligible. Is he any less Scottish than Che Adams?

So you want Barnes, Adams, Delap, Hirst. Luis Binks is also touting himself for a call up. So we're not talking one or two, we're talking potentially five. You could throw Angus Gunn in there too - although he at least has a Scottish dad, let's not forget he initially turned us down for England.

And then there was Elliot Anderson, who thankfully has finally picked England, who said: "I went away with the Scotland team and I left camp after a few days.... I'm really thankful I've done that now.

"I'm definitely English. That's where I see myself. It's just I hadn't really been called up to England throughout the ages when I was younger so I thought I'd take the opportunity to play for Scotland. Then, once I got that belief that I thought I was good enough to play for England, it hit me, and I focused on England."

If you try to make international football like club football and let them switch about, then what is the point of international football?

We could have had Elliot Anderson playing for Scotland in a friendly v England, then later playing for England against Scotland.

Edited by Panda

Ah'd cautiously welcome Harvey tae the Scotland Squad ... but would want assurances that his name was inspired by that great Scot Alex of Sensational band fame .... also would want verified photographic proof he has enjoyed eatin' haggis and at least one rowie topped wi' raspberry jam.

As a prospective Dons player though .... he would absolutely need tae buy his battered fish, chips, mock chop supper etc fae a 'chipper' ... and nae a fkn 'chippie'!!  

Itherwise, in either case he can go shove jellied eels an a yorkshire pud up his 'sassenarse' ;) 

Having started the Harvey Barnes debate earlier in the week nothing I have subsequently read changes my stance and I find myself in complete agreement with Panda 😲

You either have the burning desire in your blood to play for Scotland above any other possibility or frankly you're a mercenary.

It really is that simple in my eyes 👍