New stadium thread

Loirston chosen for new stadium

Aberdeen FC set to move

EXCLUSIVE

By Charlie Allan :wave:

Published: 03/04/2009

THE Evening Express can today reveal the preferred location for Aberdeen’s new community stadium.

The £38 million community facility, which will become home to Aberdeen FC, will be at Loirston Loch in the south of the city.

It follows a year-long series of feasibility studies to decide if the site at Nigg would be the best location for the stadium.

The report on the recommendation of the Nigg site will now go out to consultation and will be referred to the council’s policy and strategy committee on April 28.

A number of other potential sites across the city, including one at King’s Links, were examined by Aberdeen City Council and Aberdeen FC and it was decided all of them were unsuitable.

Aberdeen FC managing director Duncan Fraser, who is also a member of the Arena Project Advisory and Monitoring Board created to advise of the best site and stadium design, said: “These recommendations have still to be approved and at the appropriate time, there will be a full consultation process with fans.

“Their feedback will be important.â€

For more on this story, and an exclusive image of the new arena, pick up today’s Evening Express or check back later

• Replies 3k
  • Views 612.3k

Most Popular Posts

• Aye, I hate those odd numbers, like 17,000.

• Kinda off topic, but it's related to Aberdeen planning to cut capacity to 16,000. Been having a look at the season ticket prices at Hearts, Hibs and ourselves.  Hearts have sold 17,500, Hibs

• tom_widdows
    tom_widdows

Personally think the comment about the new urban park was ill advised. Aberdeen city doing something to improve the beach area that isnt a retail park should be applauded and to see it belittled

Posted Images

Admittedly the transport options will be a concern but fuck me it’s right next to the AWPR. Not standalone nor not integrated. What a load of bollocks.

Milne's "I'm very happy" position on North Tonight last night was sickening to see.

Irrespective of whether or not this is a good decision and a good plan, it was sickening to see.

The original plan was to redevelop Pittodrie. Stage 1 of that was the RDS. The rest is history.

And it's been a pretty pathetic miserable history since he came on board over 20 years ago.

I just hope the bad karma that his greedy little grasping persona brings doesn't sink the ship.

Well said and pretty much my thoughts too.

Admittedly the transport options will be a concern but fuck me it’s right next to the AWPR. Not standalone nor not integrated. What a load of bollocks.

I meant it's a stand alone project (i.e. it's not part of any city development plan or any other projects for the area). It's not even remotely integrated with the city of Aberdeen. The AWPR is a bypass. The clue is in the name.

Just wondering what the new stadium will actually be called. At the moment it is Kingsford Stadium, as that is what is on the planning make ups. I quite like Aurora! It means 'new dawn' which is appropriate and it plays on the Dons nickname! I really like how our stadium is one of the most quirky names in Scotland, in that it is not named after a team or town or area. Aurora would keep that tradition. Definitely not up for 'Aberdeen Arena' or any exhibition centre type name like that! No doubt it will end up being named after a sponsor to raise funds to pay for construction!  ::)

I meant it's a stand alone project (i.e. it's not part of any city development plan or any other projects for the area). It's not even remotely integrated with the city of Aberdeen. The AWPR is a bypass. The clue is in the name.

Everyone drives from the shire or the outskirts of the city. Anyone else can fuck off!

Out of interest has anyone seen or heard from 100% Anti-Kingsford?

He promised to return the day of the reckoning...guess that’s a no then

The 'Marie Boulton Stadium'  :D;D

but the onus is entirely on the club to make a success of it - no one else.

Sorry no, local councillors also have a duty to make things work in an area, doesn't have to mean financially, but it is part of their remit.

Not responding in any way to any of 'his/her' posts nor have I read them. Not interested in anything he/she says.

On the Fradi stadium.

Unfortunately, the Ferencvaros Stadium has been very bad for the hardcore fans who followed the club.  The new stadium has membership scheme which involves finger printing (i.e. before you get club card they scan your thumb) and many of the hardcore fans have boycotted the stadium.

Budapest derbies are slowly dying in terms of atmosphere - apart from at Honved which is still a little old school.

For a long while Ferencvaros ultras groups (and there are hundreds of members) were following Ferencvaros II B team instead of first team but the club have clamped down on that.

The Ferencvaros stadium was the Ülloi út then the Flórián Albert Stadium.  The new stadium which is Groupama?? is on the same site (i.e. they didn't move 8 miles outside Budapest) and the pitch, as far as I know, was just re-orientated closer to metro/tube stops.

So, to put it mildly, the new Fradi stadium does a lot for family fans, is great for advertising, corporate hosting and UEFA like it.  However, the stadium has killed atmospheres due to harsh regulations used to exclude fan groups and apart from when it's used for the games of the national team its not been a good move for the hardcore.

Yes, the hardcore politics of Fradi hardcore fan groups could change and new relationships are built and derby matches become like old but essentially the disappearance of old school stadia in Budapest (MTK have also developed its ground) has crushed a lot of the past atmosphere.

Note also - most Hungarian clubs build and redeveloped the ORIGINAL grounds - I.E. did not move away 8 miles.  One club Puskás Akadémia built a futuristic training academy/come stadium in middle nowhere (and that is tainted by political corruption) but most clubs have redeveloped old stadia and the jury is out (amongst fans) as to whether the news structures do anything for anyone apart from money men who run clubs.

ID registration schemes and ticket schemes in Budapest continue to create various problems as regards boycotts for all supporters in Hungary. It changes from game to game, season to season and the national team games can be good at Fradi stadium.  However, the new stadium is not fan friendly. That is about it.

Ah, the good old days  :laughing:

No bud, you won't miss anything down Pittodrie way.

As it, ain't going to happen.

Absolutely 'gems' of the highest order.

I would go as far as saying they both ALL deserve knighthoods.

When I think about NKS - I just think 'oooooooohhhh, you are heroes'.

These heroes galvanised and focused support FOR the stadium, I now agree with you  :laughing:

The club current plans fail on so many levels. Go onto the portal and read reports - it's obvious it falls short and will not progress in October.  It may well be mothballed but it would make sense to find a more suitable site now for the sake of Derek Mc.

:spaz:8)

Just wondering what the new stadium will actually be called. At the moment it is Kingsford Stadium, as that is what is on the planning make ups. I quite like Aurora! It means 'new dawn' which is appropriate and it plays on the Dons nickname! I really like how our stadium is one of the most quirky names in Scotland, in that it is not named after a team or town or area. Aurora would keep that tradition. Definitely not up for 'Aberdeen Arena' or any exhibition centre type name like that! No doubt it will end up being named after a sponsor to raise funds to pay for construction!  ::)

I'm going to build a house next door just so that the stadium's official address is "No.2, Kingsford Stadium"

"The RowieDome"

The DriveAndFuckOff arena.

Bon Accord Arena (BAA) has always been my preferred choice but no doubt we'll get Fat Fiona's Fanny Pad Pavilion or The Duncan & Todd ( we really support Celtic) Stadium or Codona's Cathedral of Dreams or some other such pish.

Wellllllll, ye ken fit tae dee there!  :thumbsup:

As long as it doesn't become known as Milne's Morgue, they can call it whatever they like.

The selling of stadium naming rights is a modern phenomenon and is one of the most absurd.

Whenever a corporation pays for this, they will never get it back. I don't care what their brand strategy or global marketing strategy might be, it's an act of a rampant ego and chances are, of a raving sociopath slash psychopath too.

I'm not making this shit up. There have been recent exhaustive studies to profile CEO's and other business barons. The chances of them being sociopaths are incredibly high, which given the demands of their jobs and particularly the routes they required to get there, isn't really surprising.

The Bus Stop?

Wellllllll, ye ken fit tae dee there!  :thumbsup:

Fit?

The Optical Warehouse, you have no idea of the amount of new stuff we have, cool as f'uck, impress your friends Arena?

I'll think about it.

Not being called in by the Scottish Government.

Bad news for the No mob I guess.

Not being called in by the Scottish Government.

Bad news for the No mob I guess.

No Kingsford Stadium acknowledge the Scottish Governments decision to not call in the AFC Kingsford Application.  This now leaves the way clear for the decision to be examined through the courts.

We believe that the decision by Aberdeen City Council is unlawful and we will seek to prove that the council has failed to legally process and consider this application.

NKS have now raised over £40,000 towards this action and is now seeking to reach our funding target of £60,000.  We would encourage all those who wish to protect the Green Belt and environment to support our campaign and donate using the details on our website.

These folk are living in cloud cuckoo land.

If they use their life savings to fight this they will regret the outcome which will not be overturned by any court in the land.

Lets get this new stadium built  :thumbsup:

They’re a bunch of arseholes right enough.

Let’s pack in this ridiculous farce of a stadium in the country.

These folk are living in cloud cuckoo land.

If they use their life savings to fight this they will regret the outcome which will not be overturned by any court in the land.

Lets get this new stadium built  :thumbsup:

I agree, all these folks are doing is adding stress into their lives and draining their own finances all just to delay the building for a few years. They're not going to get the decision overturned as there's so much weight behind the Yes decision now. Sure they'll maybe hold it up for a wee while but it'll eventually go ahead.

Don't get me wrong, i'd love for us to remain in the same spot on Pittodrie Street. That's home and i wish it could remain so. We all know Pittodrie Stadium is quite embarrassing these days tho. I don't doubt Milne has let her slide into the state she's in now to advance his own plans / agenda, the seats in the South Stand are a disgrace! Also there's nothing better than on big match day than getting the early train from Inverurie into town, noising up the Highland Zombies and Dhims at the same time. Walking to various bars on our way to the game and reverse the process afterwards, all within walking distance. It's a great day out but the image and future of the club is more important than me and others having a fun time 4 times a year.

One thing i'd like to know is, are they going to be able to make the grass grow on the new stadiums pitch? They've maybe already made some sort of comment about this but i haven't seen it. They sure as fook can't make the grass grow at Pittodrie so i hope they've considered this at the new site. Maybe the sun gets up higher in Westhill does it?  :spaz: