EE: Hitmen backed to bag 30 goals

http://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/Article.aspx/768290

ABERDEEN’S front men are ready to match the 30-goal target set for them by manager Jimmy Calderwood.

That’s the verdict of reserve team coach Sandy Clark after spending the last month sharpening up their front-men for the big SPL kick-off.

Calderwood wants his four main strikers to deliver at least 30 goals between them to bolster Aberdeen’s chances of qualifying for Europe.

That’s something that has happened only twice in the last 10 seasons. But Clark is convinced Lee Miller, Darren Mackie, Chris Maguire and new man Tommy Wright have it in them to give Calderwood what he wants.

“It’s a very reasonable target,†said Sandy, who was a top-class striker himself with Hearts, Rangers and West Ham.

“All four are capable of delivering their fair share and will get their chance over the course of the campaign.

“It is very rare nowadays for one strike pairing to get the luxury of playing together all season.

“Injuries and suspensions mean you tend to find the combinations change quite a lot.

“But a target of 30 goals means they will need to get about seven or eight each.

“It’s not really a lot when you look at it that way, so we will all be disappointed if they stay fit and can’t deliver that total.

“Lee was our top scorer last season and I’m sure he will score more than his fair share again.

“Darren is fit again and eager to make up for lost time after only getting four last time.

“Darren always seems to score the important ones though, and I am certain he will continue that.

“Wee Chris is going to be a lot more involved as well and I’m excited by the thought of what he could achieve in the new season.

“Tommy will do his bit as well.

“I was sent to watch him play and was impressed by his aggression and sheer will to get in about defenders and win the ball.

“If we get the ball wide so that it can be delivered into the area the way Tommy likes it, I am certain he will score a good number of goals.â€

In the days when Sandy was a player, most Scottish clubs had one striker who was expected to deliver the bulk of that 30-goal target on his own – but he accepts times have changed.

“Football has become more squad orientated, so you don’t see many teams sticking with the same strikers all of the time,†he said.

“In one of the seasons I played for Hearts, we only used 14 players the whole season.

“When you are playing every week it stands to reason that you will have more chance of scoring goals.

“But strikers now find their playing time restricted because their club may choose to go with one up or make some other tactical change.

“I played with Ally McCoist at Rangers and John Robertson at Hearts, who were among the greatest of what you would class as old fashioned poachers.

“They did very little in games at times, but would then pop up with the goals that mattered.

“Few clubs can afford the luxury of players like those now.

“The strikers have become the first line of defence, so they have to be a lot more mobile and be willing to track back a lot more than some of the great names from the past did.â€

Sandy spent extra hours in Holland supervising special shooting drills at their training ground in Delden.

He was delighted with the way the players improved the quality of their shooting and movement over the course of 10 days.

“They are looking sharp and are now ready to go,†he said.

“Strikers are only as good as the delivery they get and that is something we worked on a lot.

“Most of our drills involve moving the ball about at pace and firing into the area early for the strikers.

“We also incorporate a bit of competition to add a bit more bite to the training.

“They take part in various shooting competitions and you would be amazed at how competitive they get at times.

“The quality of finishing was exceptional at times. But the strikers now have to prove they can do the same when the real action starts.â€

I too agree its a very reasonable target and you could say a higher target should be set as if you dont aim high mediocrity can set in.

• Replies 212
  • Views 39k

I see Samuel Etoo has managed to bag over 30 goals himself already this season. 

I doubt he'll be willing to sign for us though.

Are the goals scored by midfielders when played up front included as strikers goals or not?

Someone get the rules for the thread about strikers scoring goals again we have yet more technical misunderstandings to adjudicate  8)

No. There was this arguement when Sone had a few games up front and scored a couple.

Midfielders playing up front aren't "Hitmen" - they're merely "hired muscle" or "goons".

I'll go with the latter rather than the former there!

Bit off topic but Miller out for the Celtic game and the fisrt game after the split

LEE Miller is out of Aberdeen’s SPL clash with Celtic in Glasgow next weekend.

Miller’s booking in last Saturday’s 1-1 draw with Motherwell at Fir Park pushed him over the SFA’s penalty points threshold and earned him a two-game ban.

It means the Dons will be without their top scorer for the trip to Celtic Park and their first match after the SPL split.

For more on this story, pick up a copy of today's Evening Express or check back later.

Damn, that's the flood of goals expected at Timothy Park foiled

No.

Well they fucking should be!

I don't know whether to laugh or cry, but Sandy Clark is in the EE this morning saying that the strikers have done well this season  :o

My strikers have done well for Aberdeen FC

Sandy Clark defends hitmen

By Sean Wallace

Published: 14/04/2009

ON THE WRIGHT ROAD: Tommy Wright scored his only league goal for Aberdeen against St Mirren in March.

More Pictures

ABERDEEN FC striker coach, Sandy Clark, today defended the club’s shot-shy attack.

The four hitmen – Lee Miller, Darren Mackie, Tommy Wright and Chris Maguire – have netted a combined total of only 23 goals this season.

They are set to fall short of Aberdeen FC manager Jimmy Calderwood’s target of 30 goals for the campaign.

Aberdeen FC scoring legend Frank McDougall recently slated the strikers’ lack of goals in the Evening Express, but Clark insists they do carry a potent threat.

Clark said: “The strikers at the club have done a good job and have scored some important goals this season.

“Lee Miller in particular has had a great season which saw him recognised at international level.’’

For more on this story, pick up a copy of today's Evening Express or check back later.

Don't really think thats true at all, apart from Miller, who obviously has won a cap, but even still, our strikers do not score enough goals. Can't see them scoring 7 in the next 6 games.

Aye, but hes playing in some mickey mouse league though, whether he could do it against the world elite in the SPL is another thing  ;D

To be fair, there's no way he'd manage 30 goals in the SPL.

Everyone would just kick the fuck out of him.

To be fair, there's no way he'd manage 30 goals in the SPL.

Everyone would just kick the fuck out of him.

No one would be able to catch him to kick the fuck out of him!

But he'd have shite service etc...never get 30 ;)

Seriously though, I personally think that this is the biggest amount of pish I've heard that cunt (Sandy Clark) come out with. Really is trying to justify his job here.

The strikers, in general, have been poor. The service, in general, has similarly been poor but the strikers have not taken as many chances as they should.

Miller is a first pick but his partners have not pushed on at all and established themselves, the pick of whom is probably Maguire but he has been desperate at times.

The strikers, in general, have been poor. The service, in general, has similarly been poor but the strikers have not taken as many chances as they should.

Miller is a first pick but his partners have not pushed on at all and established themselves, the pick of whom is probably Maguire but he has been desperate at times.

Completely agree. Its not that the strikers aren't getting the chances, they are (albeit not hundreds of chances), but there have been many times this season where they just don't pull the trigger (or more often than not just waste it). This is something that needs to be addressed. I think our only hope is Maguire takes confidence from his goals in Scotland and a for AFC and starts to push on. Mackie and Wright are not the answers.

Mackie and Wright are not the answers.

What rhymes with Crappy and Shite?

But he'd have shite service etc...never get 30 ;)

Seriously though, I personally think that this is the biggest amount of pish I've heard that cunt (Sandy Clark) come out with. Really is trying to justify his job here.

Have we not been through this before, Sandy Clark is reserve coach is he not?

And coach to the strikers.

Okay, fair enough.

I thought the reserves were scrapped? Or is that as of the following season. I still think he's a waste of space though.

Clark is a coach not a miracle worker. You can't polish a turd as my old gran used to say.

I'm not asking him to be a miracle worker. I just don't really think that we need him at the club.

Clark is a coach not a miracle worker. You can't polish a turd as my old gran used to say.

What does your new one say? She probably talks more sense :thumbsup: