RicoS321 Posted Tuesday at 21:03 Report Posted Tuesday at 21:03 Just now, Jormungandr said: I think we're doing man-for-man but being slower to react than them every time. That second one was dropped right into an area where someone should have been, but the hun forward raced onto it first. Aye, that's what it looks like, but I can't for the life of me remember what Thelin was doing. It's safe to say that Leven hasn't had time to address it. Maybe that's all we do until Sunday. Quote
Nordicus Posted Tuesday at 21:16 Report Posted Tuesday at 21:16 should've been a few half time subs Quote
RicoS321 Posted Tuesday at 21:24 Report Posted Tuesday at 21:24 Clarkson on. Shinnie doing the defending for three? Quote
OxfordDon Posted Tuesday at 21:36 Report Posted Tuesday at 21:36 Karlsson hattrick redemption arc.Ā You heard it here first. Quote
redordead Posted Tuesday at 21:40 Report Posted Tuesday at 21:40 Will we ever learn that you don't score from corners by all standing on the goal line Quote
tlg1903 Posted Tuesday at 21:44 Report Posted Tuesday at 21:44 Jesus wept Karlsson, take that first time ffs 1 Quote
Nordicus Posted Tuesday at 21:44 Report Posted Tuesday at 21:44 clarkson seems to have passed to a rangers player every time 1 Quote
wee toon red Posted Tuesday at 21:47 Report Posted Tuesday at 21:47 I know weāve not been great but weāve created enough to have got something out of this. Their goals were two horrendous set pieces but other than that theyāve rarely threatened. Quote
Jormungandr Posted Tuesday at 21:58 Report Posted Tuesday at 21:58 Well, we would probably have got humped worse than that if JT was still there, so that's a small positive. Quote
Elgindon Posted Tuesday at 21:58 Report Posted Tuesday at 21:58 (edited) Game like that came too soon for us,looked like they were smelling blood after the first goal but avoided a doing.Hopefully learned a thing or 2 for Sunday Edited Tuesday at 22:07 by Elgindon Quote
Don Julio Posted Tuesday at 22:01 Report Posted Tuesday at 22:01 An improvement. If we could learn to defend set pieces and show composure in front of goal, weād be a hell of a lot better! Thought Polvara did well after recent poor performances, albeit he missed a sitter. 1 Quote
Kowalski Posted Tuesday at 22:03 Report Posted Tuesday at 22:03 17 minutes ago, Nordicus said: clarkson seems to have passed to a rangers player every time But harsh that, he found a few Dons players.Ā Ā And his corners are much better than Karlssonās! 3 Quote
RicoS321 Posted Tuesday at 22:08 Report Posted Tuesday at 22:08 12 minutes ago, wee toon red said: I know weāve not been great but weāve created enough to have got something out of this. Their goals were two horrendous set pieces but other than that theyāve rarely threatened. Bilalovic with two, Polvara header, Karlsson attempt, Clarkson playing it on his wrong foot. Yep, you'd expect at least a goal from those.Ā It wasn't the worst performance, a lot of good effort. Shinnie ran his arse off, so likely won't manage Sunday! Thought Polvara was really good at right centre half, I've mentioned before that I think that might be his position. Nisbet worked hard but nothing came off for him. Bilalovic also worked hard and hopefully he'll make up for those chances on Sunday (the first I don't think was as easy as it looked as he was running full pelt). Kjartansson probably just needs used judiciously between now and the end of the season, he hasn't got the legs for the SPFL yet. Gyamfi isn't great.Ā I can see us trying similar on Sunday and hoping that one of those chances gets taken.Ā It was interesting to note that they had a set piece coach. Maybe we need to repurpose Ambrose to be one of those.Ā Quote
The.Moog Posted Tuesday at 22:08 Report Posted Tuesday at 22:08 (edited) That lot really are nothing special, they just do the basics much better than us. We created a good few chances, the usual poor execution and decision making let us down. No surprise there. We are just reaping the results of incredibly poor recruitment (players either unsuited to Scottish football or unable to play the formation(s) we use), incredibly poor coaching (Thelin must take the lions share of the blame here) Ā resulting in a really poor squad of players. Only positive, didnāt let that wank up front score, though we managed to make that dog bothering arsehole in midfield look like prime Pirlo - another embarrassment. The bench told us everything we needed to know about those āegosā today too. itās reset and restart time - again. Hopefully the clear out starts this month⦠Edited Tuesday at 22:11 by The.Moog Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted Tuesday at 22:09 Report Posted Tuesday at 22:09 Didn't expect a win, but didn't get a humping. Think it's going to need a bit of time and patience to get the confidence back into this squad of players. We fans need to get behind the team on Sunday. Quote
Panda Posted Tuesday at 22:16 Report Posted Tuesday at 22:16 (edited) Thought we were helped by Rangers being pretty bang average to be honest. Barron basically took on our midfield by himself. Clarkson gave us some impetus late on, good to see someone running forward with the ball, but Lazetic and Karlsson were both a waste of time.Ā We played three at the back, presumably to get the wing backs high since we had no width, but Gyamfi and Devlin aren't players who are going to take on the full-back. Whoever wins the league this season, it'll be the poorest champions I can remember, and yet we've lost 4/5 to the top three, and 10/11 to the top six. Edited Tuesday at 22:18 by Panda Quote
OrlandoDon Posted Tuesday at 23:09 Report Posted Tuesday at 23:09 Didnāt see much and didnāt expect much, but I suppose I expected a poorer result. It did seem we appeared to be livelier and more energetic, plus I did think Kjarten has potential. As has been said, very much a holding mid, but I think he has ability. We also created and missed chances. as has been said, we have such a squad imbalance thereās only so much you can change. Surprised lobban didnāt play, I wonder if we consider dropping Milne and playing devlin and polvara with knoester. Lobban an Jensen as wing backs, I just donāt rate gyamfi. Kjarten and shinnie with Clarkson at 10. Maybe adil and Armstrong with a forward, does it matter who? No width so no real point in going away from the back 3 at present, a very limited 9, signings def needed. Ā Ā 1 Quote
Panda Posted Tuesday at 23:13 Report Posted Tuesday at 23:13 2 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said: I wonder if we consider dropping Milne and playing devlin and polvara with knoester. Lobban an Jensen as wing backs, I just donāt rate gyamfi. Kjarten and shinnie with Clarkson at 10. Maybe adil and Armstrong with a forward, does it matter who?Ā That's 12 players min, and that's before you shoehorn Allan Campbell in there. 1 Quote
OrlandoDon Posted Tuesday at 23:46 Report Posted Tuesday at 23:46 (edited) 36 minutes ago, Panda said: That's 12 players min, and that's before you shoehorn Allan Campbell in there. Na. Drop mitov! Although I count 11. mitov devlin polvara knoester lobban Kjarten shinnie jensen adil Clarkson ArmstrongĀ 9 huh. 12. 2 from adil Clarkson Armstrong. Campbell will need to wait. Edited Tuesday at 23:49 by OrlandoDon Quote
DonUnder Posted yesterday at 00:49 Report Posted yesterday at 00:49 3 hours ago, The.Moog said: Our defence and defending is just a disgrace. Our coaching of set pieces and basic defending is a disgrace. Our lack of ability to do absolute basics is a disgrace. Complete reset required - again. We need to clean house, clear the decks all over the park and start again. Depressing stuff, again⦠I'm not convinced it's "5"s we need. The goals we are conceding are not towering headers. The Falkirk guy was a big lad but he had to stoop. We need a defender that attacks the ball a McKimmie or a Mabbut? Showing my age but big slow centre halves are exactly that. Reading the game shouldn't need to be taught and, by the time they are pro's, it's too late anyway. 3 Quote
OrlandoDon Posted yesterday at 01:30 Report Posted yesterday at 01:30 30 minutes ago, DonUnder said: I'm not convinced it's "5"s we need. The goals we are conceding are not towering headers. The Falkirk guy was a big lad but he had to stoop. We need a defender that attacks the ball a McKimmie or a Mabbut?Ā Showing my age but big slow centre halves are exactly that. Reading the game shouldn't need to be taught and, by the time they are pro's, it's too late anyway. Hate to say it, we need the john Hughes type who will attack everything, head the ball, the opponent, the team bus, whatever needed to win. That was McLeish too. For a big loon, Milne should be totally dominant at the back in the air and scoring regularly at corners and free kicks. I know, deliveries are usually shit). Throw in pace and composure on the ball and we have a winner. Knoester isnāt bad but molloy is poor in the air, devlin too, havenāt ever seen gyamfi or Jensen head the ball. Tobers hasnāt been on the field enough to receive a high ball. Is it him? Polvara isnāt aggressive and every other mid is a finesse players or short. Pretty sureĀ weāre repeating ourselves, we are a team full of finesse. We need piano players and piano movers. Perhaps Milne is better suited to holding mid? Quote
OrlandoDon Posted yesterday at 01:51 Report Posted yesterday at 01:51 Although, in October and November we were winning games and getting shutouts. Including not conceding to hearts. Itās a more recent thing losing shitty goals and making mistakes. Same defenders/playersā¦. Quote
DonUnder Posted 20 hours ago Report Posted 20 hours ago In the second half Keskinen put a couple of low crosses into the box against Falkirk which Nesbitt was second to. OK we're told he's not a 9 but it was the boy Lissah that was first to those too. It's the same skill/mind set.Ā Perhaps he just had a good day but is he worth a look - would Swansea let him go? If we are just recruiting big defenders to head away punts up the park we'd be better looking to the Highland League. Ā Quote
RicoS321 Posted 17 hours ago Report Posted 17 hours ago 2 hours ago, DonUnder said: Lissah that was first to those too. It's the same skill/mind set.Ā Perhaps he just had a good day but is he worth a look - would Swansea let him go? We don't need another right back. He looked decent though.Ā Quote
Blow.Up.Sheep Posted 17 hours ago Report Posted 17 hours ago My take on it, is it could have been one helluva lot worse and I was expecting a royal scelpin what never happened, becaue they are nothing more than a mediocre team. We had our chances and with bit more composure things might have been different. I don't go along with all the slagging that NIsbet gets from a large percentage of our support, I think it's pretty harsh on him to be fair. He is by no stretch of the imagination our biggest problem. He works his sox off all the time he is on the pitch and with better service to him and playing him in his correct and strongest position he will deliver, he was unlucky with a very clever header that was well saved by huns keeper. He was right to square to Bilalovic when the two of them were through on goal and there is where Bilalovic just needs to show a bitty more composure and it's 1-1 (different game) Karlsson needs to be returned to sender (big let down) and not a team player, have been saying that since the first time I saw him play for "us" he always appears to be playing for Jesper Karlsson and not the DonsĀ Clarkson needs to be starting every week, but it might be too late if his mind is already switched off and made up (huge fuk up by Jimmy Thelin with regards to dropping Clarkson)Ā Anyway it could have been a lot worse last night, we are nae great but either were they. Onwards and upwardsĀ 1 1 Quote