redordead Posted 7 hours ago Report Posted 7 hours ago Great hit. Been a pretty even game TBF. If I was Motherwell I'd be raging about that shinnie tackle on the edge of the box. Aw fuck sake mitov Quote
Mason89 Posted 7 hours ago Report Posted 7 hours ago We’ve conceded quite a few goals under Jimmy which simply shouldn’t happen on a football pitch 1 Quote
redordead Posted 7 hours ago Report Posted 7 hours ago Just put the fucking ball in front of him. Trying to thread that ball to feet as lazetic runs through. Just put it through and he'll get there. Quote
2stars Posted 6 hours ago Report Posted 6 hours ago 3 minutes ago, Mason89 said: We’ve conceded quite a few goals under Jimmy which simply shouldn’t happen on a football pitch You would be raging about that in an under 11s game- so fucking bad. Players shouldn’t need to be told to be aware of that Quote
Kowalski Posted 6 hours ago Report Posted 6 hours ago Just now, redordead said: No the best, no the worst Really? We are pish. 3 subs in the 90th minute? Jesus wept Jimmy. I would really like to know why Clarkson is barely getting a look in. 3 Quote
irnbru1903 Posted 6 hours ago Report Posted 6 hours ago I see Abmad has been abandoned. A bit like our pride. How can Thelin think that is acceptable? On the positive side another undeserved point at home. 1 Quote
Kowalski Posted 6 hours ago Report Posted 6 hours ago Motherwell 65% possession and more shots on target than us. Formation clearly not working and a complete rethink needed. Quote
2stars Posted 6 hours ago Report Posted 6 hours ago 4 minutes ago, Kowalski said: Really? We are pish. 3 subs in the 90th minute? Jesus wept Jimmy. I would really like to know why Clarkson is barely getting a look in. Agree- we are creating very little - not sure why Clarkson isn’t getting a look in but we are crying out for something going forward we also are brilliant at marking space but Motherwell just pass it around us Not sure if this is to do with the 3/5 in defence we resorted to after losing so many games that we are overrun in midfield but we are so easy to play through Quote
THFN1983 Posted 6 hours ago Report Posted 6 hours ago Well if ever a game summed up my thoughts about Jimmy then this is it. What seemed like a decent starting 11 very quickly turned out to be wrong as the first half totally bypassed us and we were lucky to not be down to 10 men before half time. Jimmy changes a couple of players for the start of the 2nd half but not the shape and we amble through the 2nd half and surprisingly get a good goal, against the run of play to be fair. We then, and not for the first time, shoot ourselves in the foot and concede a horrendous goal. Jimmy, for whatever reason, takes until the 90th minute to make a triple substitution and expects miracles when there's 5 minutes left. I really try to be positive but anyone watching that game could see we were 2nd best, by some distance, for almost the full 90 minutes and Jimmy was left looking hopeless by a manager with a fraction of his budget. Quote
Panda Posted 6 hours ago Report Posted 6 hours ago That was really boring to watch. Very little movement from back to front. Polvara and Shinnie sat on the half way line when we went forward, so we were always trying to break Motherwell down without enough players to do so, and if we didn't catch them on the break, then plan b was to lob it into the box and hope it fell for us. Polvara and Shinnie were both okay defensively - Polvara won headers that probably none of our other central midfielders would. It's not that they had particularly poor games. But if they're sitting deep then someone else needs to go forward. The 3-4-1-2 / 5-3-2 (whatever you want to call it) would work better. So often we look a man short in midfield. I know Thelin came here with a reputation for his Elfsborg team winning games while not having much of the ball, but it's not a pretty watch. 2 Quote
BigAl Posted 6 hours ago Report Posted 6 hours ago 20 minutes ago, THFN1983 said: Well if ever a game summed up my thoughts about Jimmy then this is it. What seemed like a decent starting 11 very quickly turned out to be wrong as the first half totally bypassed us and we were lucky to not be down to 10 men before half time. Jimmy changes a couple of players for the start of the 2nd half but not the shape and we amble through the 2nd half and surprisingly get a good goal, against the run of play to be fair. We then, and not for the first time, shoot ourselves in the foot and concede a horrendous goal. Jimmy, for whatever reason, takes until the 90th minute to make a triple substitution and expects miracles when there's 5 minutes left. I really try to be positive but anyone watching that game could see we were 2nd best, by some distance, for almost the full 90 minutes and Jimmy was left looking hopeless by a manager with a fraction of his budget. Not a lot in that that I could disagree with. I remember being told that life with Thelin in charge would be a rollercoaster and they aren't wrong. Unfortunately we seem to be encountering far more lows than highs. Over the piece trying to stay calm about our latest home disappointing performance, and unlike the Hibs game I'm not still traumatised from four hours in the AEK Athens stadium, I will probably have to say that ultimately that was a point gained, rather than two dropped. Let's take the league break and someone have a word in Jimmy's ear about how important it is that we turn it on in two weeks and send these Jambo cunts back down the road with a bloody nose Quote
The.Moog Posted 6 hours ago Report Posted 6 hours ago Well lets start with the positives: We didnt lose. Cracking finish fae Karlsson Young Lobban was decent again. Er, that’s about it. Motherwell, like us, have absolutely nothing up front. Good job, cause they are a significantly better football team than us. All with a squad constructed for probably less money than we paid for Keskinen alone. Let that sink in for a minute. The 3 at the back has worked well and been a necessity recently, but we had 3 defenders on 1 ineffective striker all day today - basically two players wasted. Combine that with the lack of forward threat from midfield (who were also outnumbered often - see 3 at the back for that) and it seems obvious why we create basically fuck all. If we can see it, Jimmy can see it, yet he changes nothing, baffling. As for 3 subs in the 90th minute, WTF is that? Yet ANOTHER comedy goal conceded from a corner, though this one was an absolute doozy. Honestly, just embarrassing stuff. So another disappointing, predictable and fairly tedious performance - to be followed by exactly the same in Thelin’s post match interview no doubt… Quote
THFN1983 Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago We can all sense exactly what Jimmy will be saying in his post match presser can't we?? Perhaps someone should ask Jimmy... Why 3 subs in the 90th minute? What does he honestly expect they can influence in such a short time? Why does Kjartansson and Bilalovic never get game time when Lobban has shown that youth can bring a lot more than expected? Why, when we can all see it, does he never change shape mid-match but persists when it obviously isn't working? What he will do when Karlsson has to miss a few games? Our over-reliance on him to create magic will be our downfall. I can only hope this new guy Lutz will be having a good few words in Jimmy's ear over the next couple of weeks! Quote
Elgindon Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago 1 hour ago, BigAl said: Nisbet has been so anonymous that I haven't even seen him on the park E.D. Poor excuse IMO Most of the sides that have come up here this season seem to move the ball about better than us,and get up the park quicker.We're so slow and obvious half the time,doesnt help that not enough of us are looking for the ball,or running into space for an opening.If 'Well werent so toothless up front they would have deservedley come away with the 3 points. The goals were scoring are more often than not an act of individualism,rather than great build up play. Will write this one off generously,as post Euro lethargy but Thelin needs to stop hoping things will start to happen,and work a bit harder on the weaknesses in training Quote
dons8321 Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago 20 minutes ago, The.Moog said: Well lets start with the positives: We didnt lose. Cracking finish fae Karlsson Young Lobban was decent again. Er, that’s about it. Motherwell, like us, have absolutely nothing up front. Good job, cause they are a significantly better football team than us. All with a squad constructed for probably less money than we paid for Keskinen alone. Let that sink in for a minute. The 3 at the back has worked well and been a necessity recently, but we had 3 defenders on 1 ineffective striker all day today - basically two players wasted. Combine that with the lack of forward threat from midfield (who were also outnumbered often - see 3 at the back for that) and it seems obvious why we create basically fuck all. If we can see it, Jimmy can see it, yet he changes nothing, baffling. As for 3 subs in the 90th minute, WTF is that? Yet ANOTHER comedy goal conceded from a corner, though this one was an absolute doozy. Honestly, just embarrassing stuff. So another disappointing, predictable and fairly tedious performance - to be followed by exactly the same in Thelin’s post match interview no doubt… Just like the 2nd half against Killie we're relying on the opposition forwards being crap...it's going come back to bite us. We've no pace in midfield which is why Polvara and Shinnie (as was posted earlier) sit too deep; Armstrong was really poor today. Topi when he came on was also poor. Molloy did OK. Loban again looked a more than decent player. This fannying around at the back again nearly cost us in the first half when Mitov played a hospital pass to Milne. I'd add another positive to your list...we're leaving Karlsson up near the half-way line when defending a corner. Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago Just back. I thought we were shyte to be honest. Was like a training game for Motherwell the first 20 minutes. A very frustrating watch. You think we get ahead, with a great goal and see the match out, but no. The usual need to shoot ourself in the foot. The subs at the end were just pointless. Quote
OneBrianIrvine. Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago One step forward, one step back.It’s just Groundhog Day. Lack of bodies in midfield, like for like subs. Bafflingly late subs. Slow to react to in game situations. For clarity on a new forum, I’m not screaming Jimmy out but that was another hard watch, first half in particular was dreadful. If we’re going with the 3 up against a set up like that one of them has to be brave enough to step out. As for their goal embarrassing naïveté again. I don’t think that was a post European hangover either - if it was lethargy then why wait until 91st minute to make 3 changes? No sadly that’s just where we are as a team. I did like Topi rushing to back up young Lobban when Hendry went off his nut but goal aside that was the only highlight. Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago One positive from today, is that it is far easier to post my match thoughts in here than on Abmad. Just a pity the players couldn't provide a new forum bounce. 3 Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago 38 minutes ago, Elgindon said: Most of the sides that have come up here this season seem to move the ball about better than us,and get up the park quicker.We're so slow and obvious half the time,doesnt help that not enough of us are looking for the ball,or running into space for an opening.If 'Well werent so toothless up front they would have deservedley come away with the 3 points. This. Even Falkirk looked more organised and discipled than us, and they were two divisions below us not so long ago. These clubs are doing it on a fraction of what we are spending on our squad. Quote
Radiored Posted 4 hours ago Report Posted 4 hours ago 28 minutes ago, dons8321 said: Armstrong was really poor today. Yeah, for such an experienced, and obviously talented professional wi' a huge reputation, he was pretty shite. Fae what Ah've seen so far, Ah'm wonderin' if two games a week is beyond him these days. Ah nearly wished for him tae be replaced by Palaversa!! Quote