TheDonbytheDee Posted 11 hours ago Report Posted 11 hours ago 16 minutes ago, RicoS321 said: Away from the Strasbourg thread, just wondered whether anyone has actually bothered to check the league table in this pish? I haven't checked it once. It just doesn't feel like an actual competition. It could be to do with the ridiculous format, or perhaps that the whole thing is so pathetically contrived. Even if we were winning every game, I still wouldn't have been looking at the league. I regularly check the premier league (nae religiously, but every couple of fixtures). I suspect it's just the sheer volume of fixtures. I remember when we were last in it with Robson, and it ruined the entire season. The saturation of games took a long time to get over. Again, it's not really for the fan that goes to games. Those that appreciate a wee break but feel obliged to go. A return to the old format would be amazing. Three brilliant competitions of knockout format. Fuck the telly. Dave C winna be happy when he reads it. I'm sure he reads the AFC forums. Agree with you. If going back to the old way, can we play everything on Tuesday and Wednesday nights and cut back on the Sunday games. A big bugbear of mine. 2 Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 11 hours ago Report Posted 11 hours ago The zombies play the Hungarian team tonight, who are managed by Robbie Keane and assisted by Stephen Glass. I'm sure they will both be hoping to skelp the zombies. Fingers crossed. Quote
OrlandoDon Posted 11 hours ago Report Posted 11 hours ago (edited) 48 minutes ago, RicoS321 said: Away from the Strasbourg thread, just wondered whether anyone has actually bothered to check the league table in this pish? I haven't checked it once. It just doesn't feel like an actual competition. It could be to do with the ridiculous format, or perhaps that the whole thing is so pathetically contrived. Even if we were winning every game, I still wouldn't have been looking at the league. I regularly check the premier league (nae religiously, but every couple of fixtures). I suspect it's just the sheer volume of fixtures. I remember when we were last in it with Robson, and it ruined the entire season. The saturation of games took a long time to get over. Again, it's not really for the fan that goes to games. Those that appreciate a wee break but feel obliged to go. A return to the old format would be amazing. Three brilliant competitions of knockout format. Fuck the telly. Bring back the original 3, to be generous make the European cup for top 2. Make football interesting again! to me it’s been 6 European friendlies, obviously want us to do well but no great appeal. If anything I’d prefer we used the squad and kept key players fresh for the league, obviously an ass backwards approach. Edited 11 hours ago by OrlandoDon 2 Quote
tlg1903 Posted 7 hours ago Report Posted 7 hours ago 4 hours ago, RicoS321 said: Away from the Strasbourg thread, just wondered whether anyone has actually bothered to check the league table in this pish? I haven't checked it once. It just doesn't feel like an actual competition. It could be to do with the ridiculous format, or perhaps that the whole thing is so pathetically contrived. Even if we were winning every game, I still wouldn't have been looking at the league. I regularly check the premier league (nae religiously, but every couple of fixtures). I suspect it's just the sheer volume of fixtures. I remember when we were last in it with Robson, and it ruined the entire season. The saturation of games took a long time to get over. Again, it's not really for the fan that goes to games. Those that appreciate a wee break but feel obliged to go. A return to the old format would be amazing. Three brilliant competitions of knockout format. Fuck the telly. Never going to happen sadly Quote
RicoS321 Posted 6 hours ago Report Posted 6 hours ago 48 minutes ago, tlg1903 said: Never going to happen sadly Why? Why do we need those UEFA cunts anyway? Just dee our own tournament. You get in touch with the lads at Real Madrid, and I'll speak to the Copenhagen boys and we'll get something up and running by the start of next year. Get the Russians back in for the away trip jeopardy. 2 Quote
tom_widdows Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago (edited) Invent time travel, ignore such trival things like assasinating certain historical figures or risking having a teenage relative fancying you, go back to july/august 1987 and take out the guy who drew Real Madrid Vs Napoli in the first round of the European Cup just before he sticks his hand in the bowl It is alleged the sponsors were banking on that being the final and were pissed off. That really set the ball rolling to create the champions league (which to be fair, was made up of actual champions when it started). Alternatively have Franco's magic middens kicked out for their fans behaviour the previous year. Of course if Rick and Morty are to be trusted such an act would immediately lead to the Nazis taking over the world Edited 5 hours ago by tom_widdows Quote
tlg1903 Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago 1 hour ago, RicoS321 said: Why? Why do we need those UEFA cunts anyway? Just dee our own tournament. You get in touch with the lads at Real Madrid, and I'll speak to the Copenhagen boys and we'll get something up and running by the start of next year. Get the Russians back in for the away trip jeopardy. God loves a trier Rico Thanks btw, I've had a grade A cunt of a day and that made me chuckle. 1 Quote