Wednesday 4th March 2026,  kick-off 8pm

Scottish Premiership - Aberdeen v Celtic

Next manager

On 27/02/2026 at 22:05, Bukta Bertie said:

I'm in a lot better mental shape than Mr. Ferguson of the Hun parish. 

Said by the man who has basically been cheerleading them on to win the league this last week.

Bet you’re sitting at hame wearing your brown brogues with your flute in one hand, signed photo of super Ally in the other whilst listening to Tina Turner full blast. :rofl2:

5 minutes ago, wokinginashearerwonderland said:

Said by the man who has basically been cheerleading them on to win the league this last week.

Bet you’re sitting at hame wearing your brown brogues with your flute in one hand, signed photo of super Ally in the other whilst listening to Tina Turner full blast. :rofl2:

I'm not cheering them on at all. I'd be equally pleased if celtic won it but realistically rangers are the most likely to win but just as long as it isn't hearts I'll be happy because them winning it would give them a massive advantage over us.

Why any Dons fan would actually want that I can't fathom.

Gives hope to the rest of us that it can be done? The optics of a third club winning it would look good to outsiders? Sorry but that's just a load of baloney.

Posted (edited)
17 minutes ago, Kowalski said:

Couldn’t give a fuck about the colour of the tie but great to see the gaffer and his captain reunited. IMG_9983.thumb.jpeg.d0666bf4fafd7598c0695286ef7af5ca.jpeg

Aye, 10 trophies in six years and we're now worried about him wearing a maroon tie, whilst a guest of a club, who won the Tennants Sixes over the same period AND got relegated.

Fergie also  stopped their quest for the Scottish Cup in 86 before a ball was kicked.

Strange behaviour by so called Dons fans

I'd love to know both their thoughts on our current crop of shyte.

Edited by TheDonbytheDee
1 minute ago, Kowalski said:

It’s not too late to delete this post before too many more see it. 

Why would I want to delete it? I'm not some insecure teenager.

I'm of the belief that once managers / players are no longer with the club that's that. I realise that's the minority view but it's my view.

Eternally grateful for the work they did for the club but that's where it ends. 

Exodus 20: 4-5.

Posted (edited)

Aw come on tae fuck Bertie-boy, there's a world o' difference between slavishly loving Alex Ferguson and advocating for the toppling o' his statue.
You had a go at 'wokism' in an earlier post. For your information, one of the earliest uses of the term 'woke' (which started out as a positive term), occurred when activists campaigned for the removal of statues honouring public figures who made their name/fortune from the slave trade or other human rights violations. I for one agree that such individuals should not be honoured ... I would also like Cromwell Road to be renamed. But ... toppling the statue of Sir Alex Ferguson because he wore a purple tie? (Appropriate since he was a guest of HMFC ... he also wore a red scarf by the way). Can ye nae appreciate why folk think yer trollin'?

That and referring tae fellow users fa disagree wi' you re. prospective Hearts title win as 'spastics'? Callin' folk spastics was funny back in primary school ..... and you suggest others 'grow up'?
Well sir, I think most o' us have grown up enough nae tae be disparagin' o' people wi neurological conditions and/or to suggest fellow posters have some physical/mental/sensory disability which prevents them from seeing things our way and no other.

Ah like the fact you are generally positive and optimistic re. Dons, and hope you continue to post in such a manner .... but for others tae be accepting o' your position, ye really need tae be tolerant o' the position of others.... that would be a good start ... or restart even.

Edited by Radiored
1 minute ago, Radiored said:

Aw come on tae fuck Bertie-boy, there's a world o' difference between slavishly loving Alex Ferguson and advocating for the toppling o' his statue.
You had a go at 'wokism' in an earlier post. For your information, one of the earliest uses of the term 'woke' (which started out as a positive term), occurred when activists campaigned for the removal of statues honouring public figures who made their name/fortune from the slave trade or other human rights violations. I for one agree that such individuals should not be honoured ... I would also like Cromwell Road to be renamed. But ... toppling the statue of Sir Alex Ferguson because he wore a purple tie? (Appropriate since he was a guest of HMFC ... he also wore a red scarf by the way). Can ye nae appreciate why folk think yer trollin'?

That and referring tae fellow users fa disagree wi' you re. prospective Hearts title win as 'spastics'? Callin' folk spastics was funny back in primary school ..... and you suggest others 'grow up'?
Well sir, I think most o' us have grown up enough nae tae be disparagin' o' people wi neurological conditions and/or to suggest fellow posters have some physical/mental/sensory disability which prevents them from seeing things your way.

Ah like the fact you are generally positive and optimistic re. Dons, and hope you continue to post in such a manner .... but for others tae be accepting o' your position, ye really need tae be tolerant o' the position of others.... that would be a good start ... or restart even.

That's good. I like feedback and I appreciate that you've taken the time to make some good points a lot of which I can take on board and work on. 

I do however struggle to accept that not wanting hearts to win the league is controversial. It's basic common sense.

I fully appreciate that my belief that men shouldn't be worshipped as if they're gods on earth is one that isn't popular with a large chunk of the Aberdeen support. I have good friends and family members who can't come to terms with it either but it's my view and I'll never change it. 

That's probably the main two bones of contention that have led to some established members taking a dislike to me or even thinking I'm a "troll".

I won't start crying about it because that's not my style but it is a shame when groupthink dictates what is and isn't accepted and also when cliques try to bully newcomers to forums. I've watched it happen countless times on AFC chat and thats what I chose to register on here instead. Disappointing that it appears to happen here also as I've found today. 

Cheers Bertie for takin' my post in the spirit it was intended.

A wee thing tho .... I find that most times I hear/read "It's basic common sense" as the conclusion to a argument/position, it's assumed that 'sense' is 'indeed' common, and that no considered/structured argument for that position is necessary to support.

Nae haein a go at ye min, but I personally tend to avoid using said figure of speech, because it actually makes no sense when you really think about it ;) 

Posted (edited)

Jist a wee note for younger folks fa might nae ken, Alex Ferguson would visit other clubs' games regularly when he was still a player wi Falkirk, Ayr Utd and also while manager o' St. Mirren.

As a young lad, match day would start wi' the buyin' o' a match programme, then hangin' around the main entrance acostin' players for their autographs ... there were at least 3 occasions where Ah spotted SAF walkin' doon Pittodrie Street on his way tae see the game .... so it could be claimed he had a connection tae the Dons way longer than might be apparent.

However, such a claim wid be outrageous in view o' the countless stadium stand seats the presence of his squeaky bum has graced over the decades.

My guess is, he's simply a fitba man - start tae finish, aa the wye through an' twice on a Sunday - fa jist enjoys a good game o' fitba .... especially if he gets in for nithin! ;) 

Edited by Radiored
Posted (edited)
16 hours ago, Bukta Bertie said:

Why? Genuinely. I don't get it.

Neither are part of the Aberdeen family anymore. 

My only comment here is we had similar to this going on over at Ab Mad, blatant fishing trips and trolling. Most folk caught on pretty quick and just ignored it, I suggest a similar approach to this type of posting here.

Anyway, back on topic, this quote fae a St Etienne players is in the BBC fitba gossip page today:

“Saint-Etienne midfielder Ben Old says new head coach Philippe Montanier has led the side to the top of Ligue 2 following four straight victories because he introduced more structure and pragmatism to the team since the departure of Aberdeen manager target Eirik Horneland”

So while absolutely not writing anyone off at this stage, my sense of deja vu has been triggered somewhat, and the red flag is ready to be run up the flagpole…

Edited by The.Moog
  • Sad 1
2 minutes ago, The.Moog said:

My only comment here is we had similar to this going on over at Ab Mad, blatant fishing trips and trolling. Most folk caught on pretty quick and just ignored it, I suggest a similar approach to this type of posting here.

Anyway, back on topic, this quote fae a St Etienne players is in the BBC fitba gossip page today:

“Saint-Etienne midfielder Ben Old says new head coach Philippe Montanier has led the side to the top of Ligue 2 following four straight victories because he introduced more structure and pragmatism to the team since the departure of Aberdeen manager target Eirik Horneland”

While absolutely not writing anyone off at this stage, my deja vu red flag has began to be run up the flag pole…

Ah. It's an easy way to shut down anyone with a different opinion to the herd. Label them a "troll" and ask people to ignore their comments.

What you're basically indulging in is an attempt to shut down anyone who doesn't agree with your own view. Trying to organise a witch hunt against that person.

When you break that down it's bullying really isn't it. 

20 minutes ago, Bukta Bertie said:

Ah. It's an easy way to shut down anyone with a different opinion to the herd. Label them a "troll" and ask people to ignore their comments.

What you're basically indulging in is an attempt to shut down anyone who doesn't agree with your own view. Trying to organise a witch hunt against that person.

When you break that down it's bullying really isn't it. 

Bit of self reflection could be useful at this point. While I agree with your point about differing opinions being shut down, that’s not strictly what you’ve been doing these last weeks.

You’ve been prolific on a board that’s reasonably subdued so are going to create some form of impact just with that. On top of that, you’ve often been provocative and antagonistic with your views. Sometimes appearing to court controversy to attract attention to your opinions. None of that is a crime and it’s fair you defend your right to do it. Personally, I don’t mind a different point of view being thrust into a public discussion, certainly creates topics to debate and life about the place but it can be difficult to sympathise when you consistently call others out for their views (being overly negative, spastics etc etc) and then behave like your being attacked when the opposite happens. 

Not telling you how to behave by any means, just suggesting maybe toning down the controversial bait until folk get to know you. I’m fairly new on here myself (although used to post decades ago) and have had to temper my natural argumentative self a bit as I settle in. Makes for a much more enjoyable time if we just respect each others right to a view and have open and honest discussion. 

1 hour ago, The.Moog said:

So while absolutely not writing anyone off at this stage, my sense of deja vu has been triggered somewhat, and the red flag is ready to be run up the flagpole…

Ben old is an excellent player (Wellington phoenix alumni).

2 hours ago, Ajja said:

Bit of self reflection could be useful at this point. While I agree with your point about differing opinions being shut down, that’s not strictly what you’ve been doing these last weeks.

You’ve been prolific on a board that’s reasonably subdued so are going to create some form of impact just with that. On top of that, you’ve often been provocative and antagonistic with your views. Sometimes appearing to court controversy to attract attention to your opinions. None of that is a crime and it’s fair you defend your right to do it. Personally, I don’t mind a different point of view being thrust into a public discussion, certainly creates topics to debate and life about the place but it can be difficult to sympathise when you consistently call others out for their views (being overly negative, spastics etc etc) and then behave like your being attacked when the opposite happens. 

Not telling you how to behave by any means, just suggesting maybe toning down the controversial bait until folk get to know you. I’m fairly new on here myself (although used to post decades ago) and have had to temper my natural argumentative self a bit as I settle in. Makes for a much more enjoyable time if we just respect each others right to a view and have open and honest discussion. 

Sadly even although I have blocked Bertie, due to him blocking me simply for having the audacity of having a differing opinion to him, I am still subject to his posts when other posters "quote" what he has said.

I find it incredible that Bertie can call anybody out for bullying or shutting down a poster when he was seeking out the option for blocking posters because he simply didn't agree with them. If memory serves then what I, and others, had posted wasn't even controversial but ol' Bertie decided, on a public forum to discuss AFC, that he didn't want to read anything that was contrary to his own beliefs.

To read what he said about Sir Alex and God through "quotes" is incredibly trollish behaviour and either of the aforementioned could never do anything to tarnish their legacy with our great club. They are most likely a very strong part why Bertie is an AFC fan (or so they say) and Sir Alex and God could wear the sash or get a Celtic birthday cake ;) for all I care and still be rightly regarded as AFC legends forever more.

27 minutes ago, THFN1983 said:

Sadly even although I have blocked Bertie, due to him blocking me simply for having the audacity of having a differing opinion to him, I am still subject to his posts when other posters "quote" what he has said.

I find it incredible that Bertie can call anybody out for bullying or shutting down a poster when he was seeking out the option for blocking posters because he simply didn't agree with them. If memory serves then what I, and others, had posted wasn't even controversial but ol' Bertie decided, on a public forum to discuss AFC, that he didn't want to read anything that was contrary to his own beliefs.

To read what he said about Sir Alex and God through "quotes" is incredibly trollish behaviour and either of the aforementioned could never do anything to tarnish their legacy with our great club. They are most likely a very strong part why Bertie is an AFC fan (or so they say) and Sir Alex and God could wear the sash or get a Celtic birthday cake ;) for all I care and still be rightly regarded as AFC legends forever more.

You see this is the thing. You're absolutely entitled to feel the way you do about Alex Ferguson and Willie Miller but doing so doesn't make you more of a Dons fans than me. It just means you see something differently to me.

I don't worship men it's as simple as that. You do and that's perfectly fine.

No need for nastiness. 

20 minutes ago, Bukta Bertie said:

Yes how dare someone actually post on an internet forum. It'll never catch on.

Everyone can see what you’re trying to do. It’s just that you’re not very good at it. I can give you some tips if you fancy?