Panda Posted yesterday at 17:52 Report Posted yesterday at 17:52 50 minutes ago, The.Moog said: but have to say it looks affa like Thelin mark II. But that to me isn't a bad thing, as I fully supported us going down the Thelin road and why I argued if we were changing manager that we should be going for someone similar rather than just abandoning the plan and plumping for Stephen Robinson. It didn't work out for Jimmy because of many things - some outwith his control, which we still need to fix - but mainly due to his own stubbornness and his own failings. Pinning my hopes on Horneland being a Thelin upgrade by just bringing in the tactics we thought Thelin was bringing. 3 Quote
The.Moog Posted yesterday at 18:47 Report Posted yesterday at 18:47 48 minutes ago, Panda said: But that to me isn't a bad thing, as I fully supported us going down the Thelin road and why I argued if we were changing manager that we should be going for someone similar rather than just abandoning the plan and plumping for Stephen Robinson. It didn't work out for Jimmy because of many things - some outwith his control, which we still need to fix - but mainly due to his own stubbornness and his own failings. Pinning my hopes on Horneland being a Thelin upgrade by just bringing in the tactics we thought Thelin was bringing. Agreed re most of that. I was a big supporter of the Thelin move too. It didn’t work out for a number of reasons as you say, but the main one was he just turned out to be a not very good manager, certainly in this league. I definitely don’t want Robinson either, not because he’s not a decent manager but because as you say his style doesn’t suit us or the squad. Not writing Horneland off at all, and he’ll get my full support, just has some recent parallels that cannot be ignored either so aye, we’ll just have to hope he’s the upgraded model… 1 Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted yesterday at 20:51 Report Posted yesterday at 20:51 4 hours ago, swaddon said: If he does get the top job in world football, he needs to be told that Scandinavian managers at Aberdeen are expected to reach the Scottish Cup final in their first season. The new managers contract has a clause in it that states, nae cup, nae cock. Chapped aff in the centre circle, at our next home game, following our exit. It's how they have taken so long to get someone. Leven only found out his contract had the same clause in it last Saturday morning. 2 Quote
Jupiter Posted yesterday at 21:55 Report Posted yesterday at 21:55 The big question is how many other managers said no before they found this Horneland chap Quote
tlg1903 Posted yesterday at 22:13 Report Posted yesterday at 22:13 14 minutes ago, Jupiter said: The big question is how many other managers said no before they found this Horneland chap To each their own but I honestly couldn't give a toss. Not getting your no1 target happens all the time in football but given the recency of this guys departure from St Ettiene and how quickly the club seem to have moved would suggest he became the no1 target the moment he became available. 2 Quote
2stars Posted yesterday at 22:22 Report Posted yesterday at 22:22 Maybe his departure from St Ettiene was hastened by him applying for the job? May never know- and still not a done deal yet if you had been on the shortlist and waiting a call following interview last week you might be a bit miffed by apparent change of direction Quote
OrlandoDon Posted 23 hours ago Report Posted 23 hours ago interesting reading about this guy, quite an intense and fiery guy apparently. Have we been waiting for this guy or is this a sudden development? Has previous ties to lutz too it appears, nearly hired him twice before. Quote
OrlandoDon Posted 23 hours ago Report Posted 23 hours ago 7 hours ago, CurlsLikeTattie said: 4 at the back and a +79 goal difference. That'll do me. And not afraid to hoof the ball up the park. Are you seeing into the future and our stats for next year? Or until the end of the season? Quote
OrlandoDon Posted 23 hours ago Report Posted 23 hours ago 59 minutes ago, 2stars said: Maybe his departure from St Ettiene was hastened by him applying for the job? May never know- and still not a done deal yet if you had been on the shortlist and waiting a call following interview last week you might be a bit miffed by apparent change of direction Maybe clutching at straws but were we waiting for him to be available and his departure from st etienne was know to be happening? It was just a matter of time and maybe them getting their new guy? Hence the quiet and us not putting out statements of being close etc?? Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 15 hours ago Report Posted 15 hours ago 8 hours ago, Jupiter said: The big question is how many other managers said no before they found this Horneland chap Not really. We're a small club in footballing terms and a lot of the names approached, just wouldn't have fancied the job. Take heart from the fact you'll soon have a new guy to write off. You enjoy that. 1 Quote
Kowalski Posted 14 hours ago Report Posted 14 hours ago It’s a good chance to dust off St Etienne’s greatest hits. I heard he’s on the phone to finalise the deal as we speak. 2 Quote
swaddon Posted 11 hours ago Report Posted 11 hours ago He'll take one look at the squad and say "You're In a Bad Way". 2 Quote
Kowalski Posted 11 hours ago Report Posted 11 hours ago 17 hours ago, Panda said: Pinning my hopes on Horneland being a Thelin upgrade by just bringing in the tactics we thought Thelin was bringing. From what I recall Thelin was famous for low possession football but winning games. This guy appears to prefer possession football (good). Quote
2stars Posted 11 hours ago Report Posted 11 hours ago 14 minutes ago, Kowalski said: From what I recall Thelin was famous for low possession football but winning games. This guy appears to prefer possession football (good). As long as it is not passing it from full back to centre half to other centre half to other full back and back again- possession with purpose is needed, not possession for the sake of it to stop the other team having the ball and doing absolutely fuck all with it, until one of said centre backs gives it away and defence is left exposed or retaining possession from a goal kick by having centre back pass the ball along the 6 yard box to Mitov, who is then under pressure to do something with it which he is not very good at If that bio is accurate, he likes possession in the opponents half, not the low block, so that would definitely be a positive 1 Quote
OrlandoDon Posted 8 hours ago Report Posted 8 hours ago The silence is painful….. we getting him? Quote
tlg1903 Posted 7 hours ago Report Posted 7 hours ago 1 hour ago, OrlandoDon said: The silence is painful….. we getting him? It's frustrating but it is what it is. With the Motherwell game postponed this would be a great time to announce. Quote
Panda Posted 2 hours ago Report Posted 2 hours ago I did wonder with it being so soon since he left St Ettiene if there would be something still to sort out with them; either compensation or a payoff etc. Scott Burns appears to be hinting at that being the hold up. Good job we've got no games any time soon. Can't see the Tannadice pitch surviving the expected rain next week either. Quote
swaddon Posted 2 hours ago Report Posted 2 hours ago Hopefully Dundee United won't survive the next week either. 2 Quote
tom_widdows Posted 1 hour ago Report Posted 1 hour ago 6 hours ago, tlg1903 said: It's frustrating but it is what it is. With the Motherwell game postponed this would be a great time to announce. https://youtube.com/clip/UgkxFXrF9WxL_WoD2uKxqqOeTrG_xgmgOOq2?si=7J66ANsLVWtsTap5 Quote