St mirren - Dons

I think we are all extremely disappointed with how things are going atm.

There's talking the talk but the legs are broken for the walk.

Seems every other team can get some sort of result bar us.. that is just unacceptable.

Glass wanted results immediately and panic bought for sure.

This team may play a more attacking style than DMs but without goals or winning games what's the point.

I was highly critical last week and remain so.

This shit season after season keeps happening to us who are supposedly a top 3/4 team in the league. Well not any more we aren't.

Sort it out Cormack!!!

On 26/09/2021 at 17:19, Jute said:

Lewis was poor today and is not playing as well as he has for us but even at that level he is a far better keeper than Woods. Abysmal keeper who was signed as a cheap bench filler for injuries nothing more. No way he should be considered. Tom Ritchie supposedly looked good in the challenge cup games (saved a couple of penalties) but he was loaned to Huntly yesterday. Think we are going to have to stick with Lewis. 

But Woods looked capable enough in his game time last season, he looked far more assured and reliable than Lewis, granted Lewis was excellent in his first 2 Seasons, but he's fast becoming a horror show, and he's been leading up to it too, not like it's been a one game thing, he's been rank rotten for Months now, he seems to be completely devoid of confidence, he should absolutely be our 1st Choice, but he's playing poorly and directly costing us goals with some dumfounding goalkeeping, I think he's very much in need of some time on the bench, a kick up the arse so to speak. 

Aye,thought Woods looked decent enough in his stint last year.

Do we persist with Lewis while we tinker with what the best defensive combo is,and hope his confidence returns with a settled line up. Dont think its any coincedence that his form,along with the rest of the side,has dipped since McKenna left/Devlin got injured. 

I am not doubting Lewis' poor play and lack of confidence......but......

Last 3 seasons we've bounced between a back 3,4, and 5. In 3 seasons we've had Logan, Devlin, Taylor, Considine, McKenna, Leigh, Hoban, McCrorie, Hayes, Ramsay, McKenzie, and Bates, Gurr, and Gallagher. That's 14 players. 15 if you add Jon Gallagher. Plus we've had changes in management, coaches, and tactics/style of play. Have we ever really developed shape, formation, understanding, and continuity/chemistry? A strong, stable, and consistent defense always makes your keeper look better.

While I rate Ramsay and McKenzie, they are youthful and naive, and they don't have a solid and stable central paring to help them, or strong and consistent players around them. In the past we used to praise the work of McGinn and Hayes when helping Logan and Considine, or Shinnie, our young guys don't have the same experienced and effective support.

Lastly, have we had a consistent midfield protecting the defense, particularly a strong holding mid filling that central spot?? Again plays a factor in a shit defense and that affects' a dodgy keeper.

2 hours ago, Elgindon said:

Aye,thought Woods looked decent enough in his stint last year.

Do we persist with Lewis while we tinker with what the best defensive combo is,and hope his confidence returns with a settled line up. Dont think its any coincedence that his form,along with the rest of the side,has dipped since McKenna left/Devlin got injured. 

Not sure devlin has anything to do it. The guy was pish long before Lewis started his wobbles. McKenna, yes. Captaincy, yes. 

28 minutes ago, manc_don said:

Not sure devlin has anything to do it. The guy was pish long before Lewis started his wobbles. McKenna, yes. Captaincy, yes. 

Aye,I meant Lewis form probably aligning with a settled defence,inc the early McKenna/Devlin combo,McKenna/Considine/ even Taylor

On 27/09/2021 at 05:06, HaarDon said:

Seems every other team can get some sort of result bar us.. that is just unacceptable.

How has that happened?

Let's look at the six teams above us.

Rangers - People were queuing up to say Gerrard was too inexperienced, and a year before he won the league there there were fans who wanted him out.

Hibs - Fans wanted Jack Ross out last season because they kept blowing it at Hampden.

Hearts - Fans demonstrated outside Tynecastle for him and Budge to go.

Motherwell - Not actually a very popular manager with the fans.

Dundee Utd - Start of season fans were saying he's not up to it. He was getting slated during the Dundee derby up until they scored.

Celtic - well, the fact they're sixth on this list says it all.

Sometimes a bit of patience pays off.

On 27/09/2021 at 05:06, HaarDon said:

6 hours ago, KennyFuckinPowers said:

But Woods looked capable enough in his game time last season, he looked far more assured and reliable than Lewis, granted Lewis was excellent in his first 2 Seasons, but he's fast becoming a horror show, and he's been leading up to it too, not like it's been a one game thing, he's been rank rotten for Months now, he seems to be completely devoid of confidence, he should absolutely be our 1st Choice, but he's playing poorly and directly costing us goals with some dumfounding goalkeeping, I think he's very much in need of some time on the bench, a kick up the arse so to speak. 

He never kept on clean sheet in his games last season and never looked like he would. He was rotten at Hamilton from memory and rarely kept a clean sheet there. Lewis’ form has dipped but he still kept over 10 clean sheets last season something Woods in his best form is unlikely to do. 

11 minutes ago, Jute said:

He never kept on clean sheet in his games last season and never looked like he would. He was rotten at Hamilton from memory and rarely kept a clean sheet there. Lewis’ form has dipped but he still kept over 10 clean sheets last season something Woods in his best form is unlikely to do. 

Best I can say about woods is that he's a competent back up.  I wish we still had cerny. 

5 hours ago, Panda said:

How has that happened?

Let's look at the six teams above us.

Rangers - People were queuing up to say Gerrard was too inexperienced, and a year before he won the league there there were fans who wanted him out.

Hibs - Fans wanted Jack Ross out last season because they kept blowing it at Hampden.

Hearts - Fans demonstrated outside Tynecastle for him and Budge to go.

Motherwell - Not actually a very popular manager with the fans.

Dundee Utd - Start of season fans were saying he's not up to it. He was getting slated during the Dundee derby up until they scored.

Celtic - well, the fact they're sixth on this list says it all.

Sometimes a bit of patience pays off.

You mean like waiting for McInnes to win anything?

8 years of mediocrity apart from a cup win.

My patience ran out years ago.

15 hours ago, scotfree said:

With Main scoring in this game means that 3 ex Dons players have scored against us this season so far. Anderson, May and Main...

Has he actually been credited with the goal? Because he sure as shit never touched it 😂

In any case, all 3 goals you mention were fucking pathetic, Anderson's in particular, how Lewis managed to let that happen I'll never know, same applies to St Mirren's 3rd there, as for May's, could have been stopped long before it reached goal, but Lewis again, could have dealt with it so much better. Was more on a tired Ramsay and Gallagher defending like he plays Pub league that one though. 

21 hours ago, scotfree said:

With Main scoring in this game means that 3 ex Dons players have scored against us this season so far. Anderson, May and Main...

A wee bit of trivia. There are 11 players playing in the Scottish Premiership that have played with Aberdeen. Charlie Mulgrew, Mark Reynolds, Peter Pawlett, Gary Mackay-Stevens, Bruce Anderson, Rat Jack, Rat Wright, Steve May, Craig Bryson, Joe Shaughnessy and Curtis Main.