THE DONSTALK BOOK CLUB

Kowalski

Finished Macbrides latest 'Flesh House' last week and beginning to see Bazig's point of view

It was OK and I do like the fact I know most of the places he mentions in his books but it just didnt flow. it also reminded me of the style of story writing that i was coming up with in Standard grade english, but Ill probably read his next one anyway (so long as I only pay £5max). Felt a bit cheated at the end too and I reckon he was 'encouraged' to change it.

Haven't read it Al but if it's even half as good as 'Birdsong' by Faulks it will be worth reading.

I've heard that thats a really good read and intend giving it a read if this one is any good. Faulks seems to be a really highly rated author at present. Only one of his I've read to date is Engelby

Just started on "Human Traces" by Sebastian Faulks

Anyone else on here read it ?

This boy Faulks writes a fair book.

Bit on the long side and a little heavy going in terms of detail, but he does tell a good story :thumbsup:

Have got "Birdsong"  and also "On Green Dolhpin Street" by him to read as well.

51QT7QPG0RL.jpg

I finished "CHOPPER 5" when I was offshore... already read the first 4... number 6 to go... and apparently number 7 too according to Amazon!

It's aboot my level though... fitba bams and ozzie crims.

Now my realtime favourite list (off ma shelf that I can see oot of hundreds as mates who've seen my book collection will confirm):

Hells Angels - Hunter S Thomsom

Porno - Irvine Welsh

Glue - Irvine Welsh(fuck that "Bedroom Secrets" shite he wrote)

A Short History Of Almost Everything - Bill Bryson (fit a trip thru time)

On The Road - Jack Kerouac

Bloody Casuals: Diary of a Fitba Hooligan - Jay Allan (if ye canna sleep before a huns game this is the one)

1984 - George Orwell

Mein Kampf - Adolf Hitler

How To Catch Bigger Pike - Paul Gustafson

The Wasp Factory - Ian Banks

Island - Aldous Huxley

Brave New World - Aldous Huxley

The Motorcycle Diaries - Che Guevara

A Chancer - James Kelman

How Late It Was, How Late - James Kelman

Jaws - Peter Benchley (alot dirtier than the film - dirty cheatin wife in the diner!)

Sunset Song - Lewis Grassic Gibbon (Just cos I'm fae Stoney and am curious aboot incest!)  ;D

That is a fab film - I might just have to add the book to my santa list  :thumbsup:

51QT7QPG0RL.jpg

I finished "CHOPPER 5" when I was offshore... already read the first 4... number 6 to go... and apparently number 7 too according to Amazon!

It's aboot my level though... fitba bams and ozzie crims.

Now my realtime favourite list (off ma shelf that I can see oot of hundreds as mates who've seen my book collection will confirm):

Hells Angels - Hunter S Thomsom

Porno - Irvine Welsh

Glue - Irvine Welsh(fuck that "Bedroom Secrets" shite he wrote)

A Short History Of Almost Everything - Bill Bryson (fit a trip thru time)

On The Road - Jack Kerouac

Bloody Casuals: Diary of a Fitba Hooligan - Jay Allan (if ye canna sleep before a huns game this is the one)

1984 - George Orwell

Mein Kampf - Adolf Hitler

How To Catch Bigger Pike - Paul Gustafson

The Wasp Factory - Ian Banks

Island - Aldous Huxley

Brave New World - Aldous Huxley

The Motorcycle Diaries - Che Guevara

A Chancer - James Kelman

How Late It Was, How Late - James Kelman

Jaws - Peter Benchley (alot dirtier than the film - dirty cheatin wife in the diner!)

Sunset Song - Lewis Grassic Gibbon (Just cos I'm fae Stoney and am curious aboot incest!)  ;D

Last two books i read.

Enjoyed the motorcycle diaries, wish i had read the book before seeing the film though.

Only just finished Porno the other night, really good read and i heard rumours that the movie may be back on

This was about 1902(ish) before the amalgamation of the three teams in Aberdeen to form the current AFC.   Hibs wanted to come up and take over.  :-\

and if they had succeeded then they wouldn't have had to wait for over a century for success in the Scottish Cup  ;)

Just finished reading the Count of Monte Cristo. Took me like two years to read after having read several books while reading it. In parts its really good but lots of it is really quite boring and quite complicated because minor details at the start of the book turn into major events at the end so you really have to pay attention.

You obviously didn't if it took you two years to read

:lolabove: :lolabove: :lolabove:

Andrew's advice on how to get through life...

Part 1 - How to read a book and truly understand it.

Next week, Part 2 - How to open doors and walk through them