If Our Manager Wasn't Mark McGhee...

would he have been binned last season, or even this season? Or would he be the subject of serious abuse from supporters if he hadn't been such a great player for us?

I never wanted McGhee in, and I said on these pages that one of the reasons for that was that i couldn't stand the pain of seeing of one of our greatest ever players (that's something that will never change) leaving the club in such a sad way again.  Willie Miller being sacked as manager was one of the saddest days as a Dons fan.

But, I got pretty fed up last season, I know some were less patient in the length of time it took for them to get fucked off with him (i.e. pre season training, 2009  ;)) and the excuses just now are wearing thin... the results wore thin some time ago and as for selelction and tactics, well...

I'm not calling for him to go, but he's not just drinking in the last chance saloon surely? They're calling time and putting the chairs up on the tables. We can't go on like this, legend or not, but where the fuck do we go from here whether he stays or not?

• Replies 116
  • Views 20.9k

Nope. He built a team from (if I remember) virtually all young dons,of rejects and free transfers. Spent virtually fuck all even by the standards of the day. Derek MacKay for example 5 games in the cup in 70, effectively won it for us, on a free, dropped afterwards

Oh and I feel old now

Calderwood was our Turnbull. McGhee should be our McNeil, he isnae.

Nope. Turnbull was ruthless. Calderwood kept too much faith wi players

Gordon Strachan.  Your time of destiny is upon you!

Is that what it said on yer post-it note when ye made yer one man drive-by protest this evening?

I could have picked you up!  :thumbsup:

Why would you have? he doesn't care.. have you not been listening to him the last 2 weeks he's been saying he doesn't care about AFC on an AFC forum?  :wave:;D

If only.  :-[

Don't think he'll touch us with a barge pole

To be honest not really sure who we should get, but there wil always bew plenty of folk out there who think they are the one to suceed where so many other have tried and failed

Is it in a glass on his mantleplace?

Quote from: Labirinth7 on April 12, 2010, 01:15:05 AM

This mess is completely the board of directors fault.  We had assembled a great squad in 06/07 which went on to finish 3rd.  They then cashed in to the first bidders and have chronically underinvested since. :-[ Its not MM or JC's fault.  The current predicament is a result of cutbacks to wages. 

I only wish that the board had given JC the near million quid it cost to repace him to spend on players last summer. I think we would then have been looking forward to europe again next season.

Déjà vu folks?

Yay. someone gets it!

This is the AFC way. If the rumblings of discontent get too loud. our intrepid board of directors take the short term option time and time again.  They sack the manager. Twenty years this has been the cycle of failure,

League position slips under current manager.

Red army get pissed off

board say they support the current emcumbment

Red army get more pissed off and moan louder about it

board say they support manager again BUT GIVE HIM NO MORE CASH TO WORK WITH

Relegation/embarassment looms. sacking

drag in new manager

Start at top

All this has been is a diversion from the utter ineptitude as to how this club is run.

So, he is therefore a scapegoat

100% spot on.

How can it be the manager's fault when we have sold or let go every quality player we've had in last 5 years and each time replaced them with lesser value players?

Totally Milne & the board that have killed AFC.

And to the retards calling for McGhee to go.

1. We don't have the money to waste doing it, and

2. Who the fuck would replace him? Couldn't afford compo so would need to be someone out of a job who was interested in helming the fucking titanic of football.

Also, bad day, but we are still a fair way off a relegation playoff, yet.....

Are you on crack?

Fuck me, deluded asc or What?! We have to get rid or we'll be playing div 1 football next season.

100% spot on.

How can it be the manager's fault when we have sold or let go every quality player we've had in last 5 years and each time replaced them with lesser value players?

Totally Milne & the board that have killed AFC.

And to the retards calling for McGhee to go.

1. We don't have the money to waste doing it, and

2. Who the fuck would replace him? Couldn't afford compo so would need to be someone out of a job who was interested in helming the fucking titanic of football.

Also, bad day, but we are still a fair way off a relegation playoff, yet.....

So your explanation for McGhee deciding to have 7 strikers and no full backs is...?????

The Directors will always find money to sack a shite manager.

Milnes had nae much to do with this een. Miller appointed the clown - Miller should be sacked inna.

McGhee made a disaster of his first season - so he had less funds to spend - that's McGhee's fault.

Yeah but McGhee was the "fans choice" apparently.

In answer to the question in the thread title and in "Have I Got News For You" style

" could we possibly be any worse off ? "