Saturday 24th January 2026, kick-off 3pm

Scottish Premiership - Aberdeen v Livingston

Aberdeen v Raith Rovers

There is probably more chance of Cameron being an Aberdeen player next season than there is Clarkson.

He isn't going to sign a new deal and he'll have one year left on his current one in summer - every chance he moves on (be surprised if he didn't).

Cameron is a loan at the moment. We got close to making the Scales & Christie deals permanent. We'll try with Cameron too.

But it's not a competition between the two anyway. That they both started today suggests they may well be starting together in future too. The mistake was Armstrong being paired with them - was better when Shinnie came on.

1 hour ago, Panda said:

There is probably more chance of Cameron being an Aberdeen player next season than there is Clarkson.

He isn't going to sign a new deal and he'll have one year left on his current one in summer - every chance he moves on (be surprised if he didn't).

Cameron is a loan at the moment. We got close to making the Scales & Christie deals permanent. We'll try with Cameron too.

But it's not a competition between the two anyway. That they both started today suggests they may well be starting together in future too. The mistake was Armstrong being paired with them - was better when Shinnie came on.

Nonsense, Clarkson is under contract, Cameron isn't. The only way we get Cameron is if he's average in his time with us. If he's good or very good, the Huns keep him. There is no upside beyond his performances in the short time he's here. 

It's not a direct competition between Clarkson, Armstrong and Cameron. But, if we want to get the best out of Clarkson, then he plays behind Shinnie and Aouchiche. If we want the best out of Armstrong, then he plays ahead of two sitting where Cameron is. Due to Thelin's setup, Armstrong has barely played any minutes in the role he'd suit best, and now Cameron comes in and prevents that further. Playing him further back is a big mistake. I'm not convinced that both Clarkson and Cameron will cope on the pitch at once in the SPFL, and I think we'll see one dropping out in due course. I think we should have brought in a midfielder to get the best out of the ones already there, rather than another one very similar in style.

Well what a weird starting 11.

Anyway my thoughts, as previously stated, Milanovic was terrible. I can't remember anything he has ever produced. He is slow,predictable and consistently fails to play any positive passes. He should never play again. Against a better team a midfield 3 of Armstrong, Clarkson and Cameron will be easily bossed, but thought Cameron was the best of the 3. I thought Polvara did well as a cb. I was confident when he had the ball at his feet when they were fannying  about at the back, that he would keep possession , which was more than can be said for any of the others, it looked like we were going to fuck it up on a  number of occasions. Jack just needs to hoof it out, that time in the 2nd half when he got the ball about 30 yards out in the middle of the park and then somehow managed to run it out at the corner flag, desire me. Keskinnen had his best game for a while and he looked far better when hitting the byeline. Nisbet needs help up top. I can't understand why we couldn't, against a lower league team play 2 forwards, even just to try it given all the other formations we have played this year, have been unsuccessful. Before the last 3 games I might have been willing to give Leven a chance, but with his team line ups and subs, it's a no from the brochred jury.Motherwell in the next round. We need to improve but we can definitely best them. Huns get lower league home tie, well I never...

1 hour ago, RicoS321 said:

Nonsense, Clarkson is under contract, Cameron isn't. 

It's not nonsense at all.

Do you think Clarkson will be here next season? I don't.

And I don't think we've brought Cameron in just to fill a hole for five months. I think we want him here long term. Loans turning into permanent deals aren't a new thing. 

Also, if Cameron can't get into this Rangers team, he's even less chance next season when they start throwing the chequebook about. I'm not convinced even a strong second half to the season is enough for Rangers.

33 minutes ago, Panda said:

And I don't think we've brought Cameron in just to fill a hole for five months. I think we want him here long term. Loans turning into permanent deals aren't a new thing. 

Also, if Cameron can't get into this Rangers team, he's even less chance next season when they start throwing the chequebook about. I'm not convinced even a strong second half to the season is enough for Rangers.

Out of curiosity, have they even paid for Barron? 

2 hours ago, OrlandoDon said:

Out of curiosity, have they even paid for Barron? 

Cameron is worth a place on his set piece deliveries alone. Given the age of Shinnie and Armstrong,, the assumed fee for Aouchiche, and the likelihood of Clarkson leaving I think it is worth an offer to the Huns now. Assuming we are paying a percentage of his wage fire the remainder of the fee into a term deposit and pay them when it matures in 2028? Rohl probably hasn't fully grasped the Scottish dynamic yet and may assume things are above board and logical?

I would agree him and Clarkson is too light weight a combo but how the fck didn't Scott Brown see red? His name? 

12 hours ago, Kowalski said:

Nisbet looked furious at Karlsson trying to have a pop himself there. 

And quite rightly so, I feel kind of sorry for Nisbet, he puts in a shift every time he is on the park but as a striker the service he gets is fukin abysmal. And as for Jesper fkn Karlsson I seriously hope we have bought him a one way ticket back to where he came from and we never see him in a dons shirt again. Only ever "plays" for Jesper fukin Karlsson and is most certainly NOT a team player. That has been very very clear since he arrived, please return him to sender.

7 hours ago, Panda said:

It is. Clarkson, as it stands, will be here next season. If he's playing every week, the dynamic changes significantly, and the change of management might see to it that he is. Although I suspect we might not find out, because we'll quickly discover that him and Cameron in the same side will struggle and he'll make way for the Hun loanee.

If Cameron does very well for us between now and summer then he's good enough for the Hun squad, just as Barron was. If he's anything less than very good then the price that it'll cost to get him won't be worth it. If they think for a second that he might be an advantage to us, then they'll accept a bid from some championship fodder from down south instead, without the slightest regard for the player. The chances of us wanting, and getting, Cameron next season are exceedingly slim.

Posted (edited)
On 17/01/2026 at 11:16, The.Moog said:

If we continue the insanity of the passing it about the 6 yard box & inverted fucking wingers I think I’ll spontaneously self combust.

Now, where did I put that household fire extinguisher again… 🤔

Bit late posting as not long back from A&E getting treatment for 3rd degree burns.

Deary me that was grim again. Its abundantly clear now that formation is being imposed from above. No football person in their right mind would persist with this inverted winger nonsense surely?

Disappointed in Lutz and Leven here. They should be making a stand to put a stop to it.

The Clarkson / Mitov clusterfuck was a particular highlight too. Someone make it stop!!

As for the game, just more of the same turgid crap, though a wins all that matters in the cup. This lot are not beating Motherwell though, no chance.

Agree with lots of the comments:

Nisbet played well, put in a shift and linked play well. He’s just getting hung out to dry with absolutely zero service.

Cameron did fine. That midfield was all over the shop though. A decent team will destroy it.

Milanovic - not a footballer.

Gyamfi - having serious doubts. That one where he let it bounce, lost it then fouled the Raith boy to stop a breakaway was a particular highlight.

Karlsson - selfish, self centred prick. Just get rid.

Topi - put in a shift, but he’s just not a footballer. Game intelligence of a blacmange. Near £1million fee, fuck me.

We lost about 95% of the high balls into the box again today. The Raith No. 9 Hamilton won everything. Milne cannot time a defensive header to save his life despite being about 6’5”. Polvara not much better though he’s not a CH, so I’ll cut him some slack.

For the love of god AFC go sign a couple of proper CH’s with presence and arial ability or we are in serious trouble again.

Big week ahead, let’s just hope we can get some transfer business done cause by christ we need it…

Edited by The.Moog
23 minutes ago, Blow.Up.Sheep said:

Fuk sake min, hope you are ok 

SF 

For the avoidance of doubt (if needed) that was a joke based on my previous post & the way we played (again)… 😂

Posted (edited)
7 minutes ago, The.Moog said:

For the avoidance of doubt (if needed) that was a joke based on my previous post & the way we played (again)… 😂

😃 ach well I must have missed the joke as it went woosh over ma heed. Or maybe I should start reading from page 1 onwards instead from the recent page back 🤨 
But hey at least there was some concern for your well being 👍

Edited by Blow.Up.Sheep
20 minutes ago, Mason89 said:

Who is it that is setting this style of play bollocks, the football monitoring board? 

It's the strategy etc. identity or some pish. The inverted wingers is a function of the signings though. As I mentioned earlier in the thread, Keskinen hits the byline far more often on his wrong foot, and he's the closest we've got to a winger. Milanovic and Bilalovic are fast, but not over ten yards. Karlsson doss exactly the same thing every time, and has zero pace whatsoever, and it's quite unbelievable that he's ever been able to play on the wing (or as part of a team). Playing out from the back is absolutely fine. It just needs the correct blend of when to do so and when not to. It makes sense from the point of view of drawing the opponent out and retaining possession. It makes no sense when the opposition are in shape and pressing. We seem to have instituted it as a fundamental at a high level, and associated it with "entertainment". It ignores player ability. It also ignores the far bigger problem of pitch quality for large parts of the season. Our goalies always start off being able to kick accurately, which mysteriously tails off after November. It's very hard to pick a forty yard pass on a bobbly pitch in rainy conditions. That never gets acknowledged in our playing out from the back utopia.

30 minutes ago, Mason89 said:

Who is it that is setting this style of play bollocks, the football monitoring board? 

My point exactly. Surely the “football people” at the club would not be sticking with this insanity. It must be coming from the top.

DC etc must have seen something clever on football manager or somewhere similar.

Inverted wingers can work, the greek lad at the diets is a great example, but they also get proper overlaps from the FB’s and midfielders flooding the box which are things we abjectly fail to do.

Continuing with this formation with this squad is just a monumental act of self harm and a complete dereliction of duty from all involved…

45 minutes ago, The.Moog said:

My point exactly. Surely the “football people” at the club would not be sticking with this insanity. It must be coming from the top.

DC etc must have seen something clever on football manager or somewhere similar.

Inverted wingers can work, the greek lad at the diets is a great example, but they also get proper overlaps from the FB’s and midfielders flooding the box which are things we abjectly fail to do.

Continuing with this formation with this squad is just a monumental act of self harm and a complete dereliction of duty from all involved…

That is why I don't think our on the pitch issues are down to Leven. He is being told to play this suicidal way. 

I'm not saying it would be any better if he were to change how we play under him, but we didn't play this way when he was caretaker before and after the Warnock sideshow.  Seems strange he would continue to play the way which saw Thelin sacked.

A piece in the press yesterday with Lutz saying that we fans should buy in to new ways, which was his defence for sitting in the dugout as it happens in other clubs. I assume he means in the USofA, as I can't remember seeing it in Europe, but I could be speaking shyte as I don't follow much fitba outwith of Scotland. 

36 minutes ago, TheDonbytheDee said:

That is why I don't think our on the pitch issues are down to Leven. He is being told to play this suicidal way. 

I'm not saying it would be any better if he were to change how we play under him, but we didn't play this way when he was caretaker before and after the Warnock sideshow.  Seems strange he would continue to play the way which saw Thelin sacked.

A piece in the press yesterday with Lutz saying that we fans should buy in to new ways, which was his defence for sitting in the dugout as it happens in other clubs. I assume he means in the USofA, as I can't remember seeing it in Europe, but I could be speaking shyte as I don't follow much fitba outwith of Scotland. 

I dont think it’s just the US, Lutz wasn’t here that long, I think it’s anywhere you have a director of football type roll. The British game in general is not forward thinking.

lots of itchy feet. Expect activity this week, I suspect we didn’t want too much change before the cup game. Now that’s out the way think we may see a manager and a player or two.

no clue if graham is any good, but we have been willing to pay for relatively foreign unknowns, would like us to push the boat out for a Scottish player. We’ve missed much more than hit with Scottish players of late, and it’s been highlighted recently that we need to be more Scottish.

Thelin played inverted wingers at elfborg. Topi appears to be the inverted type who likes to cut in, prob due to him not being quick enough to blow but defenders like Morris. Milanovic too, and karlsson. Although I do recall watching highlights of milanovic on the left in Aussie, surprised we haven’t at least tried him on that side.

Hard to move away from it when you don’t have more traditional wingers. As has been said before, flawed squad design.