Sunday 18th January 2026, kick-off 2.30pm

🏆 Scottish Cup - Aberdeen v Raith Rovers

Aberdeen v Rangers

1 hour ago, Panda said:

So you genuinely think I don't want us to win the Scottish Cup, because I'd like us to have some free Saturdays?

There's nothing much else to say to that.

OK 'cos journalists are paragons of honesty.  A few years ago the Club in North London I was involved with had a player called Will Lewis, really nice chap, reasonable footballer...sure you'll know the name...another paragon of honesty.

5 hours ago, OrlandoDon said:

He was far from perfect, but I thought gyamfi had one of his better games.

I’d agree with this. 

still, overall, thoroughly depressing to be losing back to back games to a shite huns team. Basics done and they did us, that’s just embarrassing.

fuck, we’re a mess at the moment.

I meant to add on my just back post. Does anyone else think Karlsson has chucked it? 

You may have thought so before yesterday, but he was really poor yesterday. I didn't even know he was playing until well into the first half.

I think it is reasonable to suggest he doesn't want to be here now.  

1 hour ago, TheDonbytheDee said:

I meant to add on my just back post. Does anyone else think Karlsson has chucked it? 

You may have thought so before yesterday, but he was really poor yesterday. I didn't even know he was playing until well into the first half.

Yes I agree. 

My first inkling of his presence (the PA’s fucking hopeless) was when I glanced at the big screen during some sort of hold-up, and saw the image of him in discussion with Interim Pete. 

A luxury, some say fanny dancer. 

Posted regarding this on here about 30 minutes into yesterday's game.

No objection from me if he is recalled from his loan and replaced by someone that wants to be here and is a team player 

His time here has contained more lows than highs.

14 hours ago, The.Moog said:

zero physicality

Exactly the words that were going through my mind watching the game yesterday.  We play like a bunch of wifies (if you can still get away with that saying). Allowing somebody like Raskin to be winning headers speaks volumes about what is wrong with the team. 

With each game that passes it actually makes me think someone like Robinson is exactly the kind of manager we need.

....and the director of fitba should be absolutely nowhere near the bench.  Like watching Cathro and Levein all over again.

The Scotsman report on yesterday’s bunfecht is fucking appalling. I read via Pressreader, and infringement of copyright is a red card offence, quite correctly, so I cannot copy n paste.   

Mark Atkinson, whoever the fuck he is, uses up a considerable proportion of his allocated word count having a right go at Dons fans for the content of their vocal input, and the small quantity of harmless objects thrown at the Hun subs. 

Not a syllable or as much as a phoneme concerning the sectarian content of our visitors’ singing, and the general moronic abuse that the bastards were dishing out, or of the vandalised seating. 

2 hours ago, TheDonbytheDee said:

Have said this since the very first time I seen him "play" for us (well to be honest In my opinion he has never actually "played" for us, he only ever plays for Jesper fkn Karlsson) we can give him a one way ticket and return to sender. Huge let down, won't be missed at all. 

3 hours ago, TheDonbytheDee said:

Absolutely.

Played like a guy protecting himself for his next move - which doubtless is being lined up for this month.

Either way, folk like him are zero use to us at this time - and he’ll be costing a fortune in Aberdeen terms - so just send him back now.

It’s probably been mentioned already but having 2 men on the 6yrd line at a goal kick is fucking nonsense 

The keeper, defenders, rest of the team, the opposition, the people in the stands and everyone tuning in on tv knows it’s fucking nonsense 

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, wokinginashearerwonderland said:

Exactly the words that were going through my mind watching the game yesterday.  We play like a bunch of wifies (if you can still get away with that saying). Allowing somebody like Raskin to be winning headers speaks volumes about what is wrong with the team. 

With each game that passes it actually makes me think someone like Robinson is exactly the kind of manager we need.

....and the director of fitba should be absolutely nowhere near the bench.  Like watching Cathro and Levein all over again.

Zero physicality is one of the real glaring issues - among many.

It looks like a squad constructed by a nice gentle Scandinavian person - someone with absolutely no knowledge of the basic requirements of football in the Scottish league - to play in a nice gentle Scandinavian league.

Funny that.

The alarming thing is nobody at the club seems to have pointed this fundamental flaw out during any recruitment at any point in the last 18 months.

Aye, Peter Leven, that includes you (with apologies if you did but just got ignored - though based on your formation and approach this last two games I do find that hard to believe)

Edited by The.Moog

Except I think Nilsen was supposed to bring that steel. Which I think he did, it’s just that he brought other stuff that didn’t work out well and his form tailed off quickly.

Lazetic also pretty steely, but to no great effect. I think Gyamfi has it in him too. 

8 minutes ago, Don Julio said:

Except I think Nilsen was supposed to bring that steel. Which I think he did, it’s just that he brought other stuff that didn’t work out well and his form tailed off quickly.

Lazetic also pretty steely, but to no great effect. I think Gyamfi has it in him too. 

Constantly trying to get into a wrestling match with CH’s (and losing) instead of doing your job isn’t physicality, its stupidity.

Nilsen isnt really a midfield enforcer - just another Scandi not suited to our football.

Gyamfi its too early to comment, though the fact that a stiff breeze seems to be enough to injure him doesn’t bode well.

Either way, we need a few more than 3 physical players - and certainly at CH.

3 hours ago, blinlemon said:

The Scotsman report on yesterday’s bunfecht is fucking appalling. I read via Pressreader, and infringement of copyright is a red card offence, quite correctly, so I cannot copy n paste.   

Mark Atkinson, whoever the fuck he is, uses up a considerable proportion of his allocated word count having a right go at Dons fans for the content of their vocal input, and the small quantity of harmless objects thrown at the Hun subs. 

Not a syllable or as much as a phoneme concerning the sectarian content of our visitors’ singing, and the general moronic abuse that the bastards were dishing out, or of the vandalised seating. 

I said to my loon yesterday, that we have written the Hun papers back page headline for tomorrow. 

I do hope that the cups thrown onto the pitch,  were full of pish and not over priced, watered down Pepsi. Far too expensive to be wasting on any of that lot.

3 hours ago, wokinginashearerwonderland said:

Was Lutz sitting on the bench?  I never saw him, so couldn't say.

Another performance & result that was totally predictable considering the squad that we operate with; the most meek, boring and bottle merchants you'll ever see assembled on a football pitch.

We're now at 22 games played in the league this season with 20 goals scored and a GD of -8. We've scored in the first half in 4 of those 22 games which makes it 18/22 games (82%) of games played where we haven't scored in the 1st half which is incredible for all the wrong reasons.

I genuinely wouldn't miss a single player from this squad if they were to be sold or released this window which is surprising in itself as there's usually a "fan favourite" that escapes the wrath of supporters but there's none to be seen this time.

Lutz has THE biggest task on his hands to identify the right manager to want to come to a club like Aberdeen as on the field we're an absolute basket case. Regardless of who comes in it'll take at least 3-4 transfer windows to weed out all the sub-standard players that are required to get 11 on the pitch come match day who the supporters have faith in.

To get zero reaction from this squad in the past 2 games since Thelin's sacking, and especially after Lutz's video, shows that they aren't up to the job and it really wouldn't surprise me one bit if Raith do a job on us in the cup. Lets just pray that we scrape through to the end of the season safe from the bottom 2 spots, we've got a sizeable advantage on them at the minute but my guess is that'll be eroded bit by bit as the weeks progress.

4 minutes ago, THFN1983 said:

Another performance & result that was totally predictable considering the squad that we operate with; the most meek, boring and bottle merchants you'll ever see assembled on a football pitch.

We're now at 22 games played in the league this season with 20 goals scored and a GD of -8. We've scored in the first half in 4 of those 22 games which makes it 18/22 games (82%) of games played where we haven't scored in the 1st half which is incredible for all the wrong reasons.

I genuinely wouldn't miss a single player from this squad if they were to be sold or released this window which is surprising in itself as there's usually a "fan favourite" that escapes the wrath of supporters but there's none to be seen this time.

Lutz has THE biggest task on his hands to identify the right manager to want to come to a club like Aberdeen as on the field we're an absolute basket case. Regardless of who comes in it'll take at least 3-4 transfer windows to weed out all the sub-standard players that are required to get 11 on the pitch come match day who the supporters have faith in.

To get zero reaction from this squad in the past 2 games since Thelin's sacking, and especially after Lutz's video, shows that they aren't up to the job and it really wouldn't surprise me one bit if Raith do a job on us in the cup. Lets just pray that we scrape through to the end of the season safe from the bottom 2 spots, we've got a sizeable advantage on them at the minute but my guess is that'll be eroded bit by bit as the weeks progress.

That’s grim. 

it’s almost as if the tactics are shite 

46 minutes ago, TheDonbytheDee said:

Was Lutz sitting on the bench?  I never saw him, so couldn't say.

The TV cameras showed him at one point sitting on the bench, aye.