dons8321 Posted 19 hours ago Report Posted 19 hours ago 53 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said: It’s my 30th thanksgiving this year. Sweet potato with marshmallows, served most years but I’ve never tried it. Just can’t. Would be like glazing the turkey with WD-40. 30th Thanksgiving? You don't look a day over 10! 3 Quote
OrlandoDon Posted 19 hours ago Report Posted 19 hours ago 2 minutes ago, dons8321 said: 30th Thanksgiving? You don't look a day over 10! Beef tallow, great on the skin, makes you look younger every day! Quote
OneBrianIrvine. Posted 19 hours ago Report Posted 19 hours ago 1 hour ago, OrlandoDon said: It’s my 30th thanksgiving this year. Sweet potato with marshmallows, served most years but I’ve never tried it. Just can’t. Would be like glazing the turkey with WD-40. enjoy rest of your evening Quote
BigAl Posted 18 hours ago Report Posted 18 hours ago Just in the door five minutes ago at 1.50 am. Not going to put myself off my sleep by saying anything tonight about that pile of shite. Unfortunately already have my ticket for Strasbourg game so going through it all and probably worse in two weeks time. As if that's not bad enough Prague ticket secured also. At least there is always the drink Must be fucking certifiable. Anyone looking for a Livi ticket. Good night all 1 Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 16 hours ago Report Posted 16 hours ago Sounds like I didn't miss much then. I fell asleep just after nine, it was a long day, and it was 1-0 at half time and a Nisbet goal too. Woke up to see it was 1-1 and another ropey second half performance. Agree on Ricos thoughts on Karlsson. Really hoped big things from him, but maybe we're seeing why it hasn't happened for him in Italy. Undoubtedly got talent, but not a team player in my opinion. I remember him having a pop at Malloy a few weeks ago, against Motherwell and it was Karlsson that made the bad passback to him, which left Malloy no choice than to hoof it away and put it back to Motherwell. Be nice if somebody had a quiet word with him or even gave him a slap in training. No detached retina's though. A player like Jensen, can be a frustrating watch, but gets a lot of stick. He does stick to his job and grafts away on the pitch. I posted earlier that Europe wasn't great for us this season and I stick by that. Hopefully we bounce back at Livi. Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 15 hours ago Report Posted 15 hours ago 2 hours ago, BigAl said: Just in the door five minutes ago at 1.50 am. Not going to put myself off my sleep by saying anything tonight about that pile of shite. Unfortunately already have my ticket for Strasbourg game so going through it all and probably worse in two weeks time. As if that's not bad enough Prague ticket secured also. At least there is always the drink Must be fucking certifiable. Anyone looking for a Livi ticket. Good night all A great effort min. I doff my cap to folk like you making treks up to watch us. Some do it for every home game. Just a pity the team don't give the effort a lot of our fans do. Quote
Radiored Posted 14 hours ago Report Posted 14 hours ago My watching of the game efter a band rehearsal turned intae a pub crawl ... nae lang hame so excuse if Ah dinna mak sense. First half ... some good, dare Ah say clever attackin' moves ... looked like we had it won wi' a good goal fae Nisbet ... nice wee turn in the box under pressure, and a good finish after great work by Keskinen ... 'stealing' possession he had no right tae expect. Second half?? Err ... As Ah've said before, too many occasions where 'clever' play produces nothing due to 'abandonment of 'the basics'. Milanovic epitomises this feature of our second half effort. I commented to my chum ( a good chum even tho he's a Tim ) .... "Milanovic is the guy fa charms the draars aff half a dizzen lassies but gings hame an' wanks intae a sock!" ... Same can be said o' ithers. Total disregard o' fitba basics! Late stages o' the game, it was like any player forward o' the defense, too often chose tae try and impress wi individual skills rather than be a connection within a team. Nae a new phenomenon ... and it always ends with the same outcome unless one such individual produces an individual spark of quality (Lazetic v St Mirren, Keskinen v Hearts .... dare I say, Morris v Celtic .... list inexhaustable ) Ah would like tae comment on the substitutions .... however, it'll prob tak a few days tae mak sense o' them! Ah rarely post negative comments on Dons games, even when we're shite .... but a) Ah'm pished, and b) Ah jist need tae put it on record that Ah thought that was diabolical .... particularly after they scored ... wi their only good move o' the game, and we turned intae a collection o' 10 individuals and a goalie rather than an 11 strong team. 1 Quote
Blow.Up.Sheep Posted 14 hours ago Report Posted 14 hours ago 7 hours ago, Elgindon said: One bright spot was Lobban,who got better as the game went on and then our numptee manager hooked him and replaced him with fkn Milanovic who should be on the next flight out of ABZ on a one way ticket with final destination Australia. He is pure Quote
Blow.Up.Sheep Posted 13 hours ago Report Posted 13 hours ago 17 minutes ago, Blow.Up.Sheep said: and then our numptee manager hooked him and replaced him with fkn Milanovic who should be on the next flight out of ABZ on a one way ticket with final destination Australia. He is pure With fkn Karlsson boarding the same flight out of ABZ with a one way ticket to Sweden (selfish twat, will never be a team player) Quote
Radiored Posted 13 hours ago Report Posted 13 hours ago 2 minutes ago, Blow.Up.Sheep said: and then our numptee manager hooked him and replaced him with fkn Milanovic who should be on the next flight out of ABZ on a one way ticket with final destination Australia. He is pure Yep ... strange decision .... but as Ah pointed oot .. Milanovic is the outstanding example representing a collective. There is no point in a player who can beat two defenders only to pass the ball to a third. There is no point in a player who can outpace a defence only to sky a cross over the crossbar There is no point in a player who receives a ball with a clear path to goal only to pass to a midfielder There is no point to a 'wide' player who cuts inside only to be mobbed/crowded out ... or at best, passes to a player out wide who is not a 'wide player'. I could go on ... feel free to elaborate .... but to summarise, the thing that pisses me off is not the lack of effort/energy/ability/will/flair .... it is the lack of effectiveness and attention to the fkn basics ... which starts with retaining possession by way of accurate passing .... especially when pressured Quote
Blow.Up.Sheep Posted 12 hours ago Report Posted 12 hours ago 1 hour ago, Radiored said: I commented to my chum ( a good chum even tho he's a Tim ) .... "Milanovic is the guy fa charms the draars aff half a dizzen lassies but gings hame an' wanks intae a sock!" Now that did make me laugh mate, (needed that cheers min) I have said it from the first time I seen Milanovic in a dons shirt he is pish and not the standard we should be bringing in. As for Karlsson he is a selfish little twat and will never be a team player, we need to be cutting his loan short and sending him back. Has Lazetic got some sort of lead weights in his beets that prevents him from attempting to jump to win a header, seems to more interested in trying to wrestle defenders to the ground than focusing on where the ball is and fcukin jumping for it if he has to (frustrating as fcuk watching him) It's no big secret I am a fan of Nisbet, I like the lad a lot and was delighted when we brought him back full time in the summer window. We just need to try and play with a formation and tactics that will enable him to play to his strengths and be far more productive. But sadly our useless cunt of manager seems to be just too fkn stubborn to admit that he needs to change his approach and he continues with trying to ram good quality round pigs firmly into square holes which is clearly nae working and will ultimately cost us much more points than it will ever earn us. Quote
Don Julio Posted 11 hours ago Report Posted 11 hours ago Agree with most of what’s been said on here. First half was dull, but we exercised some control and they didn’t look threatening. So I was happy enough at half time. second half I thought we were playing our way back into it after their goal but the subs were baffling. Completely set us back, with the exception of Clarkson who at least tried to make something happen. I’m not a Jensen hater but I don’t think he works on the left and Lobban is a better choice than him on the right. Not sure where that leaves him. We did look toothless down the left all night as Michael Stewart kept pointing out. No doubt we’re out now. if anyone wants to flog a couple of Sparta Prague tickets I’m your man… otherwise, January is going to be important again. Quote
BigAl Posted 10 hours ago Report Posted 10 hours ago Brutal night in more ways than one. Not really much to say that's not been said already. Atmosphere from the word go was flat and this was on and off the pitch. When we took the lead it was literally with our first decent chance and for a guy who has played so little Nisbet deserves great credit for his calmness with the finish. Getting that break just before half time I thought we'd kick on in the second half and possibly score another or two. Noah obviously got an arse kicking in the dressing room and looked like a different team in the second half. At no time after they equalised did I really feel confident of us winning the game and at times they actually looked more like getting a second. A distinct lack of leadership on and off the park on display. Not really one for singling out individuals but totally agree with Rico's comments regarding Karlsson as I lost count of the times I shouted at him for not doing the simple things and when what he tried didn't come off he seemed hell bent on berating those around him. Is he becoming a luxury we can't afford or does Thelin get him told to keep it simple. Didn't realise just how brutal the wind was during the game as was reasonably sheltered in the South Stand. Only when we got onto Merkland Rd afterwards I realised how bad it was. As for the drive down the road, the further south I got, the worse it got. Awful fucking journey home. December is going to be a seriously tough month with the number of games we have coming thick and fast. Much as we might on paper have a reasonable looking run of league fixtures we're going to have to up the ante somewhat to continue climbing the league. 1 Quote
Blow.Up.Sheep Posted 9 hours ago Report Posted 9 hours ago 24 minutes ago, BigAl said: December is going to be a seriously tough month with the number of games we have coming thick and fast. Much as we might on paper have a reasonable looking run of league fixtures we're going to have to up the ante somewhat to continue climbing the league. Yip 100% and unless Jimmy changes his tactics, approach and formation we are going to struggle to climb anything. Looking at our next three league games.................. on paper we should really be taking 9 points from them. Unfortunately we dont play the games on paper we have to play them on a football pitch. I really have no fkn idea how many points we will take from this next three games. It should be 9 and it could be but for that to happen Jimmy needs to take his head out from his arse and make the changes that simply must be done 2 up front (Nisbet and Lazetic) bin Karlsson and thats a good starting place. cmon tae fuk Jimmy jist fukin dee it min Quote
OrlandoDon Posted 7 hours ago Report Posted 7 hours ago I don’t get why people think two up top will work. It’s in midfield we are really poor. We had to go to a back 5 because of that. Going two up top will, in my opinion, mean more long ball. And neither lazetic or nisbet are strong in the air. To dominate games means you have to dominate in midfield. How does two up top help us there? We also don’t have width/wingers to stretch the field to give two up top more space to operate in. Quote
RicoS321 Posted 6 hours ago Report Posted 6 hours ago 15 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said: I don’t get why people think two up top will work. It’s in midfield we are really poor. We had to go to a back 5 because of that. Going two up top will, in my opinion, mean more long ball. And neither lazetic or nisbet are strong in the air. To dominate games means you have to dominate in midfield. How does two up top help us there? We also don’t have width/wingers to stretch the field to give two up top more space to operate in. You might be right, but Nisbet has shown throughout his career that he's really only useful in a two. It doesn't have to be rigidly a two of course, Nisbet was at his best when playing in a 4-2-3-1, with Gueye occupying defenders ahead of him - a role that Lazetic would be great at. Lazetic wins headers, but can also take the better ball on his chest or just generally get his body between defender and ball and do something. Nisbet is great at bringing the ball in and distributing it, just not when under concerted pressure. Two up front doesn't mean less in midfield either. It does mean less width, but we should be good enough at home that we can allow the wing backs to play a lot higher (like how Lobban started yesterday). We could have two sitting midfielders, with Armstrong in front, a flat three, or one sitting and two in front of we choose to go long. The width would be the biggest concern, as you point out, however none of our wide players are operating in a role that prioritises width currently - they are all inverted. Our width, with Karlsson, Keskinen, Milanovic basically serves to narrow the pitch, or make the run for the very difficult over the top ball. If we had Morris still, I could see how we might lose something by playing two, but I think it could only be a gain, in that we might get more out of a guy who will score goals. Quote
Panda Posted 6 hours ago Report Posted 6 hours ago 27 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said: I don’t get why people think two up top will work. It’s in midfield we are really poor. We had to go to a back 5 because of that. Going two up top will, in my opinion, mean more long ball. And neither lazetic or nisbet are strong in the air. To dominate games means you have to dominate in midfield. How does two up top help us there? We also don’t have width/wingers to stretch the field to give two up top more space to operate in. We have very little link between midfield and attack. Our two midfielders sit really deep - whether that's by accident or design. Our wing backs don't get up the pitch or overlap quick enough. So we build up slowly, then have a line of four players passing to each other while the opposition are very comfortable in their defensive shape. I was looking at the 'average positions' from recent games on the opta stats website (I'm on my phone at the minute and the mobile version of the opta site is chronic, so can't post the graphics). It's noticeable how deep Nisbet generally is as opposed to Lazetic and Karlsson. He essentially plays as a number 10, which he did to great effect last season. But last year - as @RicoS321has just said - he had Gueye to play off of. Karlsson tends to sort of drift, not knowing if he's a striker or inside winger. At the other side, Armstrong or Aouchiche aren't forwards and don't play as such. When Lazetic plays, he plays further forward, but then there's this big gap between him and the midfield so he receives very little of the ball, certainly not in dangerous areas. Our tactics appear to sort of hope he can pull defenders out of position so Karlsson and whoever is on the other side can exploit the space, but it doesn't really happen, especially when playing a three-man defence. There's two options with a front two. Play Nisbet as a 10 and play Karlsson and Lazetic as a front two. Or play similar to Hibs' set up. Three in midfield, meaning two number 8s step up further forward (a role that would suit Armstrong) and allow the front two to move the defence more while the opposition try to cover the extra bodies. It would also allow to press more. Quote
RicoS321 Posted 6 hours ago Report Posted 6 hours ago 18 minutes ago, Panda said: It's noticeable how deep Nisbet generally is as opposed to Lazetic and Karlsson I said to my mate last night that in the first half Nisbet played much more like Lazetic would. Previously, he's been assuming the centre of almost a flat front three, but he actually broke away from that and pushed further forward. I couldn't tell whether it was just because their defence was pish, or it was a change in approach. Quote
Elgindon Posted 2 hours ago Report Posted 2 hours ago 18 hours ago, OrlandoDon said: It’s my 30th thanksgiving this year. Sweet potato with marshmallows, served most years but I’ve never tried it. Just can’t. Would be like glazing the turkey with WD-40. When he asked for a football top,he probably meant more Miami Dolphins,Dallas Cowboys ish.Nicely guided back from obscurity Quote
OrlandoDon Posted 1 hour ago Report Posted 1 hour ago 35 minutes ago, Elgindon said: When he asked for a football top,he probably meant more Miami Dolphins,Dallas Cowboys ish.Nicely guided back from obscurity No chance! There is only one football. My boys were born in LA and I lived there 17 years, the only American sport I’m really into is the NBA and the lakers, but my older son has one laker top and three Aberdeen tops. 1 Quote