The Worth A Look Thread

I get the impression that Calderwood needs some help identifying good players who could actually improve the team, so lets compile a list of available quality players for no-one to pay any attention to.

No. 1 - Marcel Seip

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/t...yle/7335091.stm

I've been looking on Plymouth forums fairly regularly to see how Anderson is getting on and just about everyone thinks this guy is the best thing since sliced bread, and rate him higher than Anderson.

Still got another year on his contract but has fallen out with Sturrock so might be able to get him for a small fee.

Marcel Seip (born 4 May 1982 in the Netherlands) is a Dutch footballer who plays as a defender for Plymouth Argyle.

Known as a tough-tackling player - who can play at right-back, but prefers to play at centre-back - Seip made his debut for BV Veendam in 1999 and enjoyed a two-year spell with the club before being signed by established Eredivise club SC Heerenveen in 2001. He really made his break-through in the first team at the start of the 2003/04 season, appearing for the club regularly in domestic and European competition for the next three-years, scoring two goals in the process. His contract expired during the summer of 2006 and after showing interest, Seip joined Plymouth Argyle initially on a three-month contract.

Marcel made his debut for Argyle on September 16, 2006 as a first half substitute at St. Mary's Stadium against Southampton . His first goal coincided with his first start at home against Norwich City on September 23, 2006. Seip's impressive displays made him an ever present in the starting line-up - making 42 league and cup appearances, scoring two goals - and he agreed a three-year contract with the club, extending his stay with Argyle until at least the summer of 2009. On the 5th of April 2008, Marcel was told he would be included in the Plymouth squad against Charlton Athletic as a substitute but, after 4 successive starts he refused resulting in Sturrock adding him to the transfer list.

• Replies 112
  • Views 28.8k

There is a league two striker with 24 goals for the league season which is outstanding, I think his name is Mclean or something.

Aye plays for Peterborough. Was league 2 top scorer with 29 followed by Mcgleish  :thumbsup:

Ahh ok, see these are guys we should be looking at, in a lower league to ours but they have the ability to score, not saying they'd score that up here but i reckon they'd score atleast 15 in our league if they can score 25+ downthere.

Completely agree. I doubt they will be on very much more and won't command that big a fee. We just need someone that is a proven goalscorer (apart from Lovell). I'd imagine that league two is quite physical so its not like they should get bullied off the ball easily.

Yeah i watched the league one play off on friday, even though SOuthend got humped 5-1 from a very good DOncaster side i thought some of their players were really good, these are the leagues we should be looking at, i know they aint world beaters but they have to be better than Dutch nobodys and dundee united rejects.

As mentioned earlier in this thread I still think Andy Dorman would be a cracking signing. Also, Medhi Taoul from Killie looks a flair player who can unlock a defence. Supposedly attracting interest from Hertz, surely we're a more attractive prospect than them at the moment

Dorman supposedly getting interest from Bolton, and a number of Champ. sides.

Wathced the league two play off final between Stockport and Yeovil Town after the fa cup yesterday. The striker who scored the winner for Stockport,Liam Dickenson, looked quite decent, tall lad with really good feet - showed in his goal. If they dont win the final may be worth a wee look at buying

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/eng_div_3/7393798.stm

_44666170_dickenson_b282.jpg

Wycombe, I'd say plenty of bargains to be had in League One and Two, McGleish is getting on a bit, think Easters with Clarke and Anderson at Plymouth now, don't think he went there for £20 million though ;D . He was always about pace though never seemed to do much the times I saw him. Nicky Maynard (Crewe) impressed at the end of the season and Steven Gillespie (Cheltenham) has always impressed me, maturing into an excellent striker, if he stays at Cheltenham next season I would expect him to go for big money next summer.

Sunderland boss Roy Keane has begun his summer cull by telling eight players he will not be renewing their deals.

Veteran striker Andy Cole, along with defenders Ian Harte, Stanislav Varga and Stephen Wright have all been released, as have four youngsters.

Any of these?

Worth a look thread?

OK.

Ta.

Couldna see it.

Any of these?

In a word, no.

But that's 4 words!

Burton O'Brien has quit Sheffield Wednesday and apparently Falkirk are going after him.

Jimmy previously wanted Burton. Remember him being a very decent player.

Thoughts?

Says in today's EE that he's a possibility. Keen to move back north.

I see Paul Dixon (left back for Dundee) has opened talk with Dundee Utd.  I thought we were supposed to be in for him too?

Fucks sake  :hammer:

See Gow is going to Burnley as part of Lafferty deal. Another off the list.

Don't worry, lads. Jan Koller is mulling over his contract offer with a cup of tea and a custard cream in a wee cupboard room in the Dick Donald stand and will undoubtedly sign any minute.

Hope he'll pass the fitness test after being assualted the other night ;)

Dinna worry min. AFC don't bother wi fitness tests.  :thumbsup:

I see Paul Dixon (left back for Dundee) has opened talk with Dundee Utd.  I thought we were supposed to be in for him too?

You'd think they'd eventually get bored signing all OUR targets. Do they have worse scouts than us?

"Heh min, abehrdeen want this guy whey don't we sign him"?