Panda Posted Friday at 20:46 Report Posted Friday at 20:46 3 hours ago, Bukta Bertie said: Speaking of managers. What are we thinking about the behaviour of Alex Ferguson in recent years? It's quite clear he holds no special place in his heart for Aberdeen. Are you well? Quote
Bukta Bertie Posted Friday at 22:05 Report Posted Friday at 22:05 1 hour ago, Panda said: Are you well? I'm in a lot better mental shape than Mr. Ferguson of the Hun parish. Quote
swaddon Posted Friday at 22:43 Report Posted Friday at 22:43 I mind Fergie was pally with Russell Martin when he got the Hun gig, but it turned out he was really trying to weaken them. Once a Top Red, always a Top Red. Quote
tlg1903 Posted Friday at 22:57 Report Posted Friday at 22:57 My take is Fergie is trying to help stick it to the ugly sisters one last time 2bh. There's no doubt in my mind that the Dons hold a very special place in his heart but so does the game in Scotland in general and I can understand why he's taking an interest in Hearts. Don't forget we took Stein with us to Gothenburg and I personally have no beef with AF offering some wisdom and encouragement to McInnes given what's at stake. 1 Quote
Panda Posted Friday at 23:48 Report Posted Friday at 23:48 1 hour ago, Bukta Bertie said: I'm in a lot better mental shape than Mr. Ferguson of the Hun parish. Going by your posts, I doubt that very much. 1 1 Quote
wokinginashearerwonderland Posted 23 hours ago Report Posted 23 hours ago 18 hours ago, Bukta Bertie said: It's easy to weedle out the xenophobes on this thread. It's abundantly clear that for some small-minded types only a Scottish manager will be welcome. Wanting your local side to have a Scottish core is only natural, it is, in my view, what identifies them as YOUR team. I don’t think there is anything particularly xenophobic in that attitude. In the same way, I’d like to see Real Madrid with a Spanish manager and mainly Spanish players. The abolition of the three foreigner rule is when football started to become shit and the European cups lost their magic because it was no longer nation against nation, just 11 random players against 11 other random players. Your view may differ, but I would prefer a Dons team full of Scots that finishes fourth in the league than a team with nine foreigners that goes on to win the Champions League for us. For me, that is Hun behaviour and akin to cheating. Quote
RicoS321 Posted 21 hours ago Author Report Posted 21 hours ago (edited) 2 hours ago, wokinginashearerwonderland said: Wanting your local side to have a Scottish core is only natural, it is, in my view, what identifies them as YOUR team. I don’t think there is anything particularly xenophobic in that attitude. In the same way, I’d like to see Real Madrid with a Spanish manager and mainly Spanish players. The abolition of the three foreigner rule is when football started to become shit and the European cups lost their magic because it was no longer nation against nation, just 11 random players against 11 other random players. Your view may differ, but I would prefer a Dons team full of Scots that finishes fourth in the league than a team with nine foreigners that goes on to win the Champions League for us. For me, that is Hun behaviour and akin to cheating. Aye, it's not xenophobia to want a Scottish core in a sport defined by its national boundaries. It is xenophobic to suggest that there's something intrinsically wrong with foreigners, or their abilities, or "passion" or whatever else because of their foreignness, but that's very clearly not what you're saying. I liked the fact that the three foreigner rule was always referred to as such, and not the eight players from country of origin rule or some pish, for fear of offending. I'd like to see it reinstated, but perhaps with loyalty rewards for players who remain with a team for more than three seasons, who drop into the nae foreigner category. Obviously, foreigners through the youths is also acceptable. Edit: I should add that I don't think that the foreigner rule should apply to management. Not for any particular reason that I can articulate though. Edited 21 hours ago by RicoS321 Quote
Panda Posted 13 hours ago Report Posted 13 hours ago 9 hours ago, wokinginashearerwonderland said: . Your view may differ, but I would prefer a Dons team full of Scots that finishes fourth in the league than a team with nine foreigners that goes on to win the Champions League for us. For me, that is Hun behaviour and akin to cheating. Is it a full moon all this week? 1 Quote
Bukta Bertie Posted 4 hours ago Report Posted 4 hours ago On 27/02/2026 at 23:48, Panda said: Going by your posts, I doubt that very much. You'll never see me at a Dons game against hearts wearing a maroon scarf I'll tell you that much. Now that Cathy has gone he has very much returned to his hun roots and his statue should be dragged across the golf course and dumped in the north sea. Another stark reminder as to why it's daft to hero worship club employees. Quote
Elgindon Posted 3 hours ago Report Posted 3 hours ago Someones got too much time on their hands....... Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 3 hours ago Report Posted 3 hours ago So we turning on an 83 year old man, who won us three titles, four Scottish Cups, one League Cup, one European CWC a Super Cup and the 1986 Tennents Sixes Doesn't matter where he watches his football or the colour of his tie, the important thing is he gave us our greatest spell as a club. We should focus our anger on the shitshow we put up with on the field, instead of turning on Fergie. He was always a Hun, which makes his record with us all the more sweeter. 1 Quote
RicoS321 Posted 3 hours ago Author Report Posted 3 hours ago Just now, TheDonbytheDee said: So we turning on an 83 year old man, who won us three titles, four Scottish Cups, one League Cup, one European CWC a Super Cup and the 1986 Tennents Sixes Doesn't matter where he watches his football or the colour of his tie, the important thing is he gave us our greatest spell as a club. We should focus our anger on the shitshow we put up with on the field, instead of turning on Fergie. He was always a Hun, which makes his record with us all the more sweeter. Bollocks. The Judas cunt should never have left us. 2 Quote
swaddon Posted 2 hours ago Report Posted 2 hours ago I don't know about "always a hun". After the way that club treated him, I like to think his love for them ended when he left Ibrox for the last time as a player. 1 Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 2 hours ago Report Posted 2 hours ago 13 minutes ago, swaddon said: I don't know about "always a hun". After the way that club treated him, I like to think his love for them ended when he left Ibrox for the last time as a player. The fact that he has been at hun games over the years suggests he is still one. He was probably pissed off with folk at the club during his time, rather than the club itself. Your team is your team. Even if it is the huns or tims. I've have even less respect for folk that switch their teams. Quote
swaddon Posted 11 minutes ago Report Posted 11 minutes ago He's been at lots of matches at lots of different clubs. He just likes his fitba. I have no doubt that if it's a Dons v Huns game, he's shouting for us. I also don't like those who switch teams. Pat Nevin springs to mind. Quote
Elgindon Posted 8 minutes ago Report Posted 8 minutes ago 1 minute ago, swaddon said: He's been at lots of matches at lots of different clubs. He just likes his fitba. I have no doubt that if it's a Dons v Huns game, he's shouting for us. I also don't like those who switch teams. Pat Nevin springs to mind. Is/was Nevin nae a Hibs fan? Who does he support now if not Hibs Quote
swaddon Posted 8 minutes ago Report Posted 8 minutes ago Just now, Elgindon said: Is/was Nevin nae a Hibs fan? Who does he support now if not Hibs He switched from Celtic to Hibs. Quote
Elgindon Posted 5 minutes ago Report Posted 5 minutes ago 1 minute ago, swaddon said: He switched from Celtic to Hibs. That a bad thing in this case?Was that nae something to do with him or his Dad not liking sectarianism Quote