Cormack oot!

3 hours ago, Jute said:

Basically some should have reminded Cormack of this when he kept going on about data.

image.jpeg.28ceb4d1445764fd2ec9c88b2cafc982.jpeg

I think someone needs to forward it to the dons supporters trust guy, who used the phrase: "statistics are like mini skirts, they can go up our down". Aye, I don't think that's right mate. 

Fair play to Cormack for going on the show live like. But, he was fairly awful. Getting stuck in to McIntyre after two minutes for firing questions at him, despite having asked only one question was jumping the gun a little. Worryingly, he genuinely sounded like a guy who doesn't see how pish we've been. 

Was out last night so only just catching up and listening to Dave now on Radio Scotland podcast.

Sounds like he is trying to create a real siege mentality and would have been as well telling McIntyre to go fuck himself.

John Collins touting himself for the job at some point in the future 😉

1 hour ago, BigAl said:

John Collins touting himself for the job at some point in the future 😉

Christ, was that what that was? Hadn't even thought of that. He's fucking weird. Managed to ignore everything that was said and just say random things that McIntyre and the others had to translate into actual points for him.

20 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

Christ, was that what that was? Hadn't even thought of that. He's fucking weird. Managed to ignore everything that was said and just say random things that McIntyre and the others had to translate into actual points for him.

Lol dinnae kid a kidder.

I was only jesting but you've set me thinking now🤔

Just joined the site...and first post, so be gentle please...😉

I thought Cormack gave a good account of himself on Radio Scotland last night. The points he made about Neilson and Courts getting it in the neck early doors but being allowed time to turn it around were spot on.

But, bottom line for me, the Glass experiment has failed. Time to punt him before it gets irretrievable.  If this goes on much longer we'll be visiting Gabriel's and Firhill for our away games next seaso

AFC is not the club forvan untested rookie manager to cut his teeth. His appointment shows breathtaking lack of ambition on the part of the club .... second only IMO to appointing Porterfield after SAF left us in 86.

Just now, Powis Crescent Loon said:

I thought Cormack gave a good account of himself on Radio Scotland last night. The points he made about Neilson and Courts getting it in the neck early doors but being allowed time to turn it around were spot on.

But, bottom line for me, the Glass experiment has failed. Time to punt him before it gets irretrievable.  If this goes on much longer we'll be visiting Gabriel's and Firhill for our away games next seaso

AFC is not the club forvan untested rookie manager to cut his teeth. His appointment shows breathtaking lack of ambition on the part of the club .... second only IMO to appointing Porterfield after SAF left us in 86.

Gayfield!!! 

6 minutes ago, Powis Crescent Loon said:

Welcome on board loon.

Never be afraid to share your opinion on here PCL

There will be different views from yours but we're a friendly bunch and don't resort to petty squabbles and name calling of other members here.

I actually thought his point re Ross,Neilson & Davidson were perfectly valid, not so much Courts as he has come in and started winning games pretty sharpish.

Still would have liked him to actually tell McIntyre to do one.

52 minutes ago, Powis Crescent Loon said:

Welcome to the forum.

How can he be spot on with managers needing to be given time, yet Glass needs to be punted?

Last season Neilson was losing to Brora Rangers and Alloa.

I haven't listened to the interview.

Ross and Neilson had another managers shite to move on. Something Glass hasn't had to do.

If I remember correctly Davidson's problem in the first round of fixtures last season was scoring. His work was going into, being difficult to beat/score against. Something glass has been unable to do.

As you have alluded to Court's utd conceded 2 against us and Hearts and have only conceded one goal against the tims since. See above.

I've read stuff on twitter about xG. Of course we'll have good xG as we concede first then spend the rest of the games trying to get back into them. Possession, an entirely useless stat if that possession is passive and we are losing, why would a team in a winning position try to win back a ball not in the final third.

I've even seen someone suggest that some teams use statistics in an effective manner and we should back AFC to do so i.e. Brentford. I think it's quite clear we have not used stats to identify players to improve the first team squad, we didn't recruit a head of recruitment till after the bulk of the players had signed. The way this works is (as Rico keeps banging the drum for) we have a dedicated recruitment division that supercedes any "head coach" role. In fact that recruitment division should have ultimate responsibility for the hiring of the coaching team in order that it fits the style of play. 

Nothing has really changed since last season just the personnel and the fact that we are defensively weaker. We don't know what our strongest 11 is, the movement in the final third is shocking, passing accuracy and vision is piss poor, severely lacking pace, and we have 0 attacking threat unless Hedges is on the pitch (opposition know this and can nullify).

Glass had virtually a blank canvas knew what he had going into the transfer window had backing and this is what he has produced. No amount of statistics excuses the current state of affairs. 

17 minutes ago, LightbulbMoment2021 said:

The guy is a total embarrassment! He's tory centric and as such he runs his fat gob of far to much! He said others who applied for the managers job wanted complete control on signings! Fuck me he is going to get us relegated!

I actually agree with him on the complete control on signings thing. That was an absolute disaster under McInnes and it had to change. It was the one thing that was interesting about the interview, that the interviewers failed to follow up on. Everything in a football club is collaborative of course, but the manager shouldn't be given cart blanche to sign Greg fucking Tansey. The club needed to have that inside knowledge and specialist experience to look at Tansey, or Main, or Storey, or Morris, or Quinn, and so on with a head of recruitment with the authority to put a strong case to the board and override the manager. That should have been in place before making the error in signing Jet. Longstaff was another error that shouldn't have been allowed to happen. 

3 minutes ago, SeeBass said:

One word for that interview;

"Embarrassment."

I'm convinced even more now he is running us into the ground.  If he had the best interest of club at heart one wouldn't have sounded so deranged.  I actually shed a tear while listening to his nonsense.

Ach, the whole point of fitba is for the gossip and scandal. It's just a game. It would be shite for us to be run perfectly and winning every week. We're overdue a period of being on the end of the joke. It's part of a healthy ecosystem.

• Haha 1

18 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

I actually agree with him on the complete control on signings thing. That was an absolute disaster under McInnes and it had to change. It was the one thing that was interesting about the interview, that the interviewers failed to follow up on. Everything in a football club is collaborative of course, but the manager shouldn't be given cart blanche to sign Greg fucking Tansey. The club needed to have that inside knowledge and specialist experience to look at Tansey, or Main, or Storey, or Morris, or Quinn, and so on with a head of recruitment with the authority to put a strong case to the board and override the manager. That should have been in place before making the error in signing Jet. Longstaff was another error that shouldn't have been allowed to happen. 

I'm not sure at all on that Rico.  I think you have got to trust your manager and let him bring in who he wants.  I can see the thinking behind the whole recruitment team thing in that when a manager goes you don't have to rip up the whole script and start again, so in theory it's great.  I think it brings with it a number of issues though.  Firstly, do you end up getting a manager coaching a player(s) who he may not necessarily rate?  For instance, did that happen with Hernandez, who knows we probably never will?  So you have a guy who cost a lot of money not getting a game because the manager did not want him in the first place. 

Secondly, when things go pear shaped, how does someone like Cormack, a non football man if you like, determine whether it is the manager or the recruitment that is the problem?  On the face of it, David Bates looked a good signing.  He had done ok in Germany, played a couple of times for Scotland but now looks poor.  Therefore is he an example of bad recruitment or bad coaching? 

McInnes knew plenty about the likes of Tansey before he bought him and no recruitment expert would have known any more.  Tansey was known to us, not brought in after having watched a couple of clips of him playing in Egypt, he was playing in the SPL.  He was just a poor signing, full stop and you are going to get them whatever route you go down.    

51 minutes ago, SeeBass said:

One word for that interview;

"Embarrassment."

I'm convinced even more now he is running us into the ground.  If he had the best interest of club at heart one wouldn't have sounded so deranged.  I actually shed a tear while listening to his nonsense.

He's brought 20 million of investment into the club, not exactly running us into the ground form.... 

FFS! Everyone just needs to calm down and take a fucken chill pill. Glass is not going anywhere anytime soon.

Now, if we get nothing from the next six games then that might change and although we are playing clubs who are playing well and have points on the board during the next six games, I very much doubt that will happen. 
Let’s get behind Glass and the team and get it right up the hibees!! 

1 hour ago, wokinginashearerwonderland said:

I'm not sure at all on that Rico.  I think you have got to trust your manager and let him bring in who he wants.  I can see the thinking behind the whole recruitment team thing in that when a manager goes you don't have to rip up the whole script and start again, so in theory it's great.  I think it brings with it a number of issues though.  Firstly, do you end up getting a manager coaching a player(s) who he may not necessarily rate?  For instance, did that happen with Hernandez, who knows we probably never will?  So you have a guy who cost a lot of money not getting a game because the manager did not want him in the first place. 

Secondly, when things go pear shaped, how does someone like Cormack, a non football man if you like, determine whether it is the manager or the recruitment that is the problem?  On the face of it, David Bates looked a good signing.  He had done ok in Germany, played a couple of times for Scotland but now looks poor.  Therefore is he an example of bad recruitment or bad coaching? 

McInnes knew plenty about the likes of Tansey before he bought him and no recruitment expert would have known any more.  Tansey was known to us, not brought in after having watched a couple of clips of him playing in Egypt, he was playing in the SPL.  He was just a poor signing, full stop and you are going to get them whatever route you go down.    

I would say that trusting the manager on recruitment has largely failed us. Every manager this century I'd say. It stands to reason that they'll never have the time to scout players and will likely always be swayed by performances against us over proper scouting. I think it's fairly obvious where a player is shite and where coaching of a team isn't working. There are some fairly fundamental indicators: team performing badly = manager, <40% of signings making first team = poor recruitment. It should be easy to fit that into a pre-agreed setup. 

Recruitment has to transcend the management team, and we need a recruitment team that are capable of presenting a case for or against a player, and have the authority and autonomy to challenge the manager. I could have put together a comprehensive argument for not signing Greg Tansey, and I'd like to think I could have also put forward an alternative player. He simply didn't fit McInnes' style of play. McInnes appeared to be completely blinded by previous games against us and a belief that his worrying dip in form wouldn't be an issue (see Gallagher). That lack of challenge at the club caused us problems and if you're willing to be overruled by the manager on such obvious poor decisions then you're probably always going to take the safe option on other targets. A good chairman would always be able to make a call based on the best of two presentations to him. I would add that a manager would also be able to veto on grounds of personality clash after interview or whatever. I'd like to think that over time the manager would trust in his recruitment team and they'd get a balance that works.

It has to be said that the Hernandez signing was an absolute disaster. An example of a disorganised recruitment system and having zero process. Exactly the opposite of what you want a recruitment team to do.

17 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

I would say that trusting the manager on recruitment has largely failed us. Every manager this century I'd say. It stands to reason that they'll never have the time to scout players and will likely always be swayed by performances against us over proper scouting. I think it's fairly obvious where a player is shite and where coaching of a team isn't working. There are some fairly fundamental indicators: team performing badly = manager, <40% of signings making first team = poor recruitment. It should be easy to fit that into a pre-agreed setup. 

Recruitment has to transcend the management team, and we need a recruitment team that are capable of presenting a case for or against a player, and have the authority and autonomy to challenge the manager. I could have put together a comprehensive argument for not signing Greg Tansey, and I'd like to think I could have also put forward an alternative player. He simply didn't fit McInnes' style of play. McInnes appeared to be completely blinded by previous games against us and a belief that his worrying dip in form wouldn't be an issue (see Gallagher). That lack of challenge at the club caused us problems and if you're willing to be overruled by the manager on such obvious poor decisions then you're probably always going to take the safe option on other targets. A good chairman would always be able to make a call based on the best of two presentations to him. I would add that a manager would also be able to veto on grounds of personality clash after interview or whatever. I'd like to think that over time the manager would trust in his recruitment team and they'd get a balance that works.

It has to be said that the Hernandez signing was an absolute disaster. An example of a disorganised recruitment system and having zero process. Exactly the opposite of what you want a recruitment team to do.

And there we have £1m spunked away on the two you mention there.

Now readily accept that no one gets it right all of the time but a club such as ours simply can't afford that level of mistakes.

What adds fuel to the fire from my perspective is the shroud of mystery that is Hernandez. Never mind his contract only runs until the summer of 2024.

It appears that Dave is only a man of the people when it suits him.

3 hours ago, BigAl said:

And there we have £1m spunked away on the two you mention there.

Now readily accept that no one gets it right all of the time but a club such as ours simply can't afford that level of mistakes.

What adds fuel to the fire from my perspective is the shroud of mystery that is Hernandez. Never mind his contract only runs until the summer of 2024.

It appears that Dave is only a man of the people when it suits him.

As I said before, last night was a performance imo.  Pretty much everything he said will have been planned and rehearsed and same with the tone.  He was going in 2 footed on mcintyre (who handled it well 2bf) from the off, now it could be he just doesn't like him but on reflection I wouldn't be surprised if he was just a convenient patsy.  He was far more cordial with English and Collins but they are the not the stirrers that McIntyre is.  

Regardless it was an interesting strategy and I think he's probably happy with the result. Cormack wanted to take the heat off glass a bit and has succeeded, everyone is talking about him now. The added bonus for cormack as well is that if it doesn't work out for Glass he will be an attractive chairman to work for for prospective coaches.  SG must have been delighted to hear the chairman getting stuck into his detractors and give him his full backing.  Collins couldn't get his tongue any further up his arse if he tried for it.  

Q&A with fans this week is up next, that's going to be interesting.  More fascinating is whether or not this intervention has any effect of results.  It could 2bf, glass and the coaching staff do seem to be liked by the players as best I can tell. 

I’m not so sure that interview was Cormack consciously making himself a human shield for his employee.

It was more like a thin-skinned Trumpian reaction to having his own personal reputation being questioned.

Whatever people say, I've got the emails to show what a good appointment it was at that stage. 

I can totally imagine that being a line from a Trump rally speech about some crony he appointed to run a Government department.

• Like 3

I'm not a commie but I think we, the fans should choose who we sign with a weekly meeting inside Pittodrie (zoom for all non-attendees).

I realise there will be a few on field battles and the groundsmen will be a lot busier after but ffs, let's take control.

First signing...Mr Lawrence Shankland

McIntyre is a full-on sh1t stirrer, no doubt. But the questions he asked and the points he raised  were all entirely valid. I felt for Cormack to keep trotting out the same old gash about 'data' and 'statistics' was desperate stuff. It was cringe worthy.

The only stats and data that matter are the ones showing on the league table... the same ones he was desperately trying not to answer head on.

I wish McIntyre or one of the other pundits had asked him outright: How many games without a win is it going to take before Glass gets punted? 12? 14? 16? 20?

It's actually embarrassing now. AFC are a laughing stock. Cormack is the only person who doesn't realise this.

8 minutes ago, HaarDon said:

First signing...Mr Lawrence Shankland

50 Premiership appearances (17 Dons, 33 Arabs) - 8 goals

Despite all the talk of how he was going to get a big move somewhere the only people who came calling were the Arabs followed by the team currently bottom of the Belgian first division with 2 points from 11 games (7 goals for, 23 against)

Well I'm convinced.......

47 minutes ago, Slim said:

I’m not so sure that interview was Cormack consciously making himself a human shield for his employee.

It was more like a thin-skinned Trumpian reaction to having his own personal reputation being questioned.

Whatever people say, I've got the emails to show what a good appointment it was at that stage. 

I can totally imagine that being a line from a Trump rally speech about some crony he appointed to run a Government department.

Trump is an extreme comparison 2bf.  His overall point there was glass was being praised recently.  A Trump crony is unlikely to have had that in their locker.  

Say what you like about cormack but he hasn't got to where he has by not being shrewd or surrounding himself with yes men.  Ego or not he's no fool and I struggle to think of him going on last night without a strategy.  As I said previously I think he will be happy with the result of his radio appearance.  He's taken the heat off glass a bit by becoming the story and removed any uncertainty hanging over the club about glass's future which hopefully the squad will respond positively to. Time will tell on that but overall I admire him for standing tall behind his appointment.