Cormack oot!

I have no time for him from his support for the Atlantic league through his constant carping about restrictions during a global pandemic to claiming that after an exhaustive search a development team manager from the MLS who just happened to be his mate was the best candidate he has completely called things wrong. I would like him to go if I am honest but financially I am not sure club will survive him going so suspect much like Glass we are stuck with him.

11 minutes ago, wee toon red said:

The only major mistake he’s made so far is appointing Glass. If he rectifies that sooner rather than later then he can stay.

The whole link up with Atlanta was his doing and so far it's been atrocious. 

Although we can't really get rid of him now that he's named the training ground after himself.

Obviously it's Cormack's fault for hiring Glass, but really what you want from a chairman is someone that invests money and he's done that to be fair. Most chairmen are clueless when it comes to the actual football bit so that isn't a fatal flaw necessarily if we can tombola our way into the right manager.

If he refuses to sack Glass then that will be different but it's starting to make Cormack look bad so I think he'll do it out of self-preservation if nothing else.

According to former director Andrew Little DC and his American pals are into afc to the tune of 20 mill.  It's hard to say he's not put his money where his mouth is.   Glass was always a gamble (and it doesn't look a good one at the moment) but it was his to make.  Unless we get caught up in the relegation dogfight you would think, as cormacks man, glass will  get the season but we don't really have any previous form to compare to. Maybe he will be ruthless 🤷‍♂️

While I don't agree with everything Dave Cormack says or does, the boy has put money into the club, not only helping fund the training ground but also steering the club through a pretty rocky 12-18 months due to covid and then giving the manager funds to invest in the team afterwards.

He's also tried stuff with the merkland which has proved popular.

If we're calling for him to go after that then I don't see why anyone would ever want to take us on.

Edited by Panda
  • Like 3

39 minutes ago, Panda said:

While I don't agree with everything Dave Cormack says or does, the boy has put money into the club, not only helping fund the training ground but also steering the club through a pretty rocky 12-18 months due to covid and then giving the manager funds to invest in the team afterwards.

If we're calling for him to go after that then I don't see why anyone would ever want to take us on.

Yeah and have I missed the lenghty queue of wealthy folk waiting to buy him out ?

Lots of worry and understandably so but I'm willing to give Cormack a chance. He's pumped money into the club at a time we needed it.

On the field I think we are getting knee jerk too. Glass wasn't my choice but he needs a season at least. I know we said the same in '95 that we were too good to go down, but I think we are this year. Think we'll be top 6, maybe 5th or 6th.

We needed a brand new team and he's been forced to do that.

Taylor was bang average at best, and crippled Hoban was getting worse. Andy is old and in decline, despite being reliable he makes his mistakes. We're blooding two excellent young fullbacks and McGrorie, Bates, and Gallagher aren't bad players. I think they are good additions. They need time to develop as a unit. I don't think dropping Lewis was the right thing, mistakes happen when you have a shaky defense. Plus, we know he's a good keeper, dropping keepers doesn't usually make them better, especially when the back up is average.

Our best two midfielders (productivity wise) in the last 10 years has been Hayes and McGinn. They're almost done. Wright had potential but left. Ferguson needs to leave. Kennedy and McLennan aren't good enough. Hedges gets injured. We need(ed) a whole new midfield, on top of a whole new defense. Personally I'd drop Ferguson and would even prefer McRorie replacing him in midfield.

We had no forwards last year. I think Ramirez is the new Rooney if given the service, plus you'd get a similar return if you give him penalties too!

McInnes needed to go and Glass inherited a total mess. We needed a whoe new starting 11 for the most part. Only fair we give him a little time to try to figure it out.

6 hours ago, Panda said:

The Merkland thing was put on a plate for him by the fans. Fuck knows why Milne didn't do that sooner. But a good move, as you say.

There's a certain level of job that you expect complete competence in, and Cormack is at that level. If your only attribute is being able to put money in that you earned in another field, then it's good to raise questions as fans. Unfortunately, "Cormack oot" is not how it works (nor "Milne oot!"). However, Cormack has so far shown complete footballing naivety and that he's not fit for purpose in the role as chairman and thus may be better taking a non-exec role or simply watering down the Chairman's involvement, as happens in most other companies (football being the exception).

The Atlanta linkup has so far been an absolute failure. There appears to be little similarity between the teams, and literally an ocean between them. The signing of Hernandez was a disaster, not just because he was a terrible footballer, but the fact that we blew our budget out of the North Sea and I'm guessing that would have raised resentment. His handling of the McInnes departure was awful. We could all see McInnes' flaws, and Cormack did nothing to attempt to address them. The January transfer window was an absolutely disgraceful way to treat a manager and left us a window behind where we should have been. He made no attempt to get a recruitment specialist in until McInnes left, when both club and manager desperately needed one. He took the budget approach to Director of Football, which is fine, but don't do it after McInnes left and don't do it after you've appointed your pre-ordained manager. The appointment of Glass was indeed pre-ordained, and an absolute shambles. The fact that he tried to lie about it was just embarrassing. The appointment of Brown was pathetic, with the club doing nothing to address the racism element and force an apology - it was weak as fuck, and we're left in a weak as fuck position now that our manager is failing. He should never been offered a position on the coaching staff, that should have been a future role based on merit within the club. Jack fucking Gurr. That's just fucking wrong.

He's made many errors, and I think it's good that, as fans, we continue to highlight them. It's like watching Milne going through the learning process all over again. He's paid his money, bought his toy. Well done to him.

8 minutes ago, manc_don said:

How are we too good to go down? We’re losing to everyone and not even unlucky about it. Give him a season and we’ll be down. 

p.s, don’t want cormack out. Not many would have stuck by the club in testing times, for that I’m grateful.

Agree with your first statement, but what do you mean by the second? He's financially invested in the club, he can't just walk away, there is literally no option for him. We took a large loan (correctly) fae the Scottish government, and took in a shite load of cash in player sales to plug the hole.

18 minutes ago, manc_don said:

Was on Sportsound just now, haven't had a chance to listen to it yet, but I know mates have said it was horrendous.  Will listen to it myself before passing judgement

Don’t do it while driving or near the bairns or they may learn some new words.

• Haha 1

Nah, I don't agree it was a car crash.  It was a performance certainly with the intention  of building some siege mentality to take the pressure off glass.....  And with some success too I would say.  Most of what he said was fair but there was hyperbole in there too.   I don't think he likes Kenny Mcintyre much though, he seemed pretty snippy with him but I suspect that some of that will be showmanship.   

The short and curlies is glass isn't going anywhere anytime soon. 

I think it's a bit deluded to think we're just being unlucky. If you look at expected goals, which most teams focus on now rather than possession/shots, then we aren't outplaying anyone. The only game in the league we've really dominated was Ross County. We have a lot of aimless possession, a lack of cutting edge in attacking areas and a leaky defence. Teams set up like that don't usually have a lot of success.

Listened to it. I liked most of what he said, and he was right to point out that many wanted Neilson out, and had written off Tam Courts early in the season.

But, he was out of order with his comment to Kenny MacIntyre though about wanting Aberdeen to fail or whatever the actual quip was. 

But, I wonder if that and a lot of his quite noticeable anger on the show was down to what he's been getting on Twitter and also what was written about him in the papers. Bill Leckie wrote a piece about him in the sun that was really going for him personally, and bizarrely comparing him to the Saudi Arabia owners at Newcastle. It also criticised him for promising a training ground and funds in the team, like that was a bad thing.

Anyway Cormack has convinced me we're gonna pump Hibs and I've just bought a ticket for the away end at Ibrox too. A magic week coming up, intae them.