The Hills and Outdoors thread

Elgindon

Cul Beag,Assynt 769m

Any hill in this or the Torridon area gives great rewards if the weather is good.Only problem is some of them have a fairly long walk in.to avoid this most folk opt for Stac pollaidh,which is at the roadside.Down side to Stac,is that just before the summit,there is a tricky,exposed section which stops a lot of people carrying on to the summit,thereby blocking views out West

Cul beag is a fine alternative,situated just before Stac pollaidh on the road round to Achiltibuie,and as good a viewpoint.The tourist route up is from the roadside,following a path(shown on OS map) along the base of the western side of Cul Beag,before a seperate path turns off and starts a very steep ascent to the summit.

I avoided this by parking at the East end of Loch Lurgainn,and following a more gentle ascent to the summit

http://35271912074_b5fa4cb30a_b.jpgIMG_1702 by [/url], on Flickr

Bit rough at the start,but dry.Kept to the Loch Lurgainn side all the way up

35271931004_ffa37664ba_b.jpgIMG_1701 by , on Flickr

36111947395_69a30c7ee7_b.jpgIMG_1705 by , on Flickr

Turned rightish angles to get to the summit

35978589321_7cfa25af71_b.jpgIMG_1710 by , on Flickr

Timed it to watch a fine sunset go down beyond Stac Pollaidh and the Hebrides beyond.Took 1.5 hours up,and an hour down just before dark.Great hill

Stac Pollaidh about to erupt on the way down

35304189203_10351b68d4_b.jpgIMG_1800 by , on Flickr

Speaking of Stac Pollaidh,took a group up of inexperienced walkers up yesterday.Managed up onto the ridge,but that was as far as they went,as most of the tourists do,but its very worth a wander to the far end,if not the summit.Some great views and rock formations along the way

Theres a dedicated car park at the foot of the hill,on the road round to Achiltiebuie from Ullapool.The path leads straight up the hill from the car park,giving you the choice of a West or East route further up.We chose the east route.

On the way up,summit to the far left

36375197082_9cd313f2b2_b.jpgIMG_1988 by [/url], on Flickr

Path winds round to the opp side,steeply,before getting onto the ridge

36405874791_08b827b1f6_b.jpgIMG_1951 by , on Flickr

Once onto the ridge there are various routes along to the summit.Its a case of trying one,come back down if its awkward and try another til you get as far as you are able.

36147114970_d77f19b65c_b.jpgIMG_1955 by , on Flickr

Unusual rock formations en route

36543692965_980624fa67_b.jpgIMG_1972 (2) by , on Flickr

The trickiest bit is just as you approach the summit,explained well in the later part of this report here http://www.scottishhills.com/html/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=8883

I took the above bypass option which looks a lot worse in that report than it was.

A great wee hill at only 600m with outstanding views and interest.An hour to the ridge(with non regular walkers),under an hour to the summit and back,and an hour down

A fine time of year to be on the hills with the light waft of heather in bloom.Did these 2 on Saturday before the game,and made it a sunrise walk since I was up early anyway.Quite a few of the East Aberdeenshire hills have unobstructed views East and West,giving the option of a sunrise or sunset trip to enhance sometimes dour hills.

But these 2,Lord Arthurs hill,and Coilliochbar hill were fine hills,with the bonus of being hame and showered in time for an afternoon nap at Pittodrie

Lord Arhturs hill - 518m  Headed for Tullynessie,past Bridge of Alford,and took a turn off West,to Dubston farm and parked at the end of the track.

Walked past the buildings below,to the 3 or 4 deciduous trees just beyond,where the track splits in 2

35865480153_0710eccc18_b.jpgIMG_2006 by [/url], on Flickr

Route was via Fouchie shank - Lord Arthurs hill - Manabattock hill - return via deciduous trees to Dubston.

Split in the grassy track at the deciduous trees below.Ahead for Fouchie shank,left,where you return via Manabattock hill

36536390871_11861d2e64_b.jpgIMG_2073 by , on Flickr

Nice glen further on,good firm track/path underfoot

35865512543_43b53580bd_b.jpgIMG_2017 by , on Flickr

Track continues,less firm, on beyond Lord Arthurs summit to Manabattock

36536604821_ff6377b904_b.jpgIMG_2050 by , on Flickr

From Manabattock its a 15 min pathless descent through a field and woods,back to the deciduous trees and Dubston

Nice hill,1.5 hrs up/same down

Coilliochbar hill - 532m  Drove from there onto the road between Bridge of Alford and Lumsden,and took the turn off for Ardhuncart,parking just ahead at the steadings at Brux,where the old bridge crosses the Don.

36322763030_ca2b3b8dfa_b.jpgIMG_2081 by , on Flickr

Crossed over the bridge and came to a split in the track,and took option to the right,through the buildings and along the edge of the Don.It appeared the track was going past where the summit area was,but eventually(canna mind,a good 1/2 an hour) came to a split where going left took you uphill

Fairly steep at times

36579745391_d1a51a00e9_b.jpgIMG_2105 (2) by , on Flickr

Before easing off a bit further up,good going underfoot

36505722142_e7669559e3_b.jpgIMG_2097 by , on Flickr

36675157805_8bbecd0657_b.jpgIMG_2099 by , on Flickr

This one had a bit more going for it.More variety en route,nice glimpses if the Don on return

35840257484_1678faf08f_b.jpgIMG_2113 by , on Flickr

1.25 hrs up,1 hr down.Was taking a short cut,but hit a hasty retreat when I saw this  :o 

36514634762_008be3eae2_b.jpgIMG_2107 by , on Flickr

Working along the North Deeside rd yesterday,so thought I'd have a pre work,dawn wander up Hill of Fare.Have never thought previously of walking up this one,looks a bit dour,and so it proved as I made my way up.

Took the B9125 just after at Garlogie,and turned right at the McIntosh of Echt depot onto the B977 road to Echt.Parked at the second layby on the lhs where there is an agricultural gate leading into the woods.From there it was just a case of following the track to the first summit/mast

36808635156_0301091ddc_b.jpgIMG_2153 by [/url], on Flickr

Half an hour,I was on the summit.Pleasant surprise to see a film of mist below,and the sun about to rise directly above Aberdeen

36824621912_657ba09aa0_b.jpgIMG_2195 by , on Flickr

36808378676_b5a80b03f0_b.jpgIMG_2175 by , on Flickr

36824642592_bfb1fa8db2_b.jpgIMG_2182 by , on Flickr

36856247501_185224df4f_b.jpgIMG_2216 by , on Flickr

The walk itself wont stick in the memory,but worth a sunrise wander for all the time,and with sunrise getting later.Should point out that the true summit is a fair bit further on to the West...

Latest offering - Beinn Eighe - Spidean Coire Nan Clach 993m

Did this one at the w/e.Beinn Eighe is quite a long horseshoe of a ridge which contains 2 Munroes.It can all be done in a day,but involves going in and out the same way with lots of ascent and descent.Lot of folk start at one end,with another car parked at the other end,or,do it in 2 stages,of which I did the first stage on sunday.

Parked at the parking space beside the little bridge at Cromasaig,just outside Kinlochewe.A short walk(aim for the higher ground) through the trees takes you onto a track up the side of the Allt a Chuirn,and from there its just a case of following the track,and aim for the highest pointy top on the right of the below photo

37384423204_6afe4b474a_b.jpgIMG_2625 by [/url], on Flickr

There are bits of scree to negotiate on the way up,but its not too hard to pick out grassy or rocky sections to walk on

At the pointy summit,looking at the route ahead

26317183909_6afb9393e3_b.jpgIMG_2595 by , on Flickr

The Munro is the second last summit in the photo.Terrain here is pretty straight forward apart from the second summit,where theres a bit of scrambling,though there are often bypass routes if you look hard enough for them.

Great hill though,took about 6.5 hours there and back.

A bit of snow on the tops  :confused:

38040988966_675fa491ea_b.jpgIMG_2523 by , on Flickr

Buachaille Etive Beag 958m(brother of the more famous Buachaille Etive Mhor)

A fairly easy Munro in prime mountain country(Glencoe).Parked at a parking space on the main Glencoe road(A82) just beyond the start of the Lairig Eilde which goes through a pass to Glen Etive.

Set off from Portlethen at 3am to catch the sunrise,and hung about on the other summit to catch the sunset.

Caught neither  8)

37627517305_d4674cd9e7_b.jpgIMG_2887 by [/url], on Flickr

38458653986_56e3656100_b.jpgIMG_2886 by , on Flickr

Good paths all the way up to the ridge

37798869524_e733fbd658_b.jpgIMG_2882 by , on Flickr

38514970791_7dd8ee9fcf_b.jpgIMG_2881 by , on Flickr

Onto the ridge at the first cairn looking towards the summit.Snavvy kine'

24642695088_3fef0ef468_b.jpgIMG_2837 by , on Flickr

The summit from the above photo looks a bit intimidating,but on closer inspection,there is often more width than expected

37628136185_fa64e77404_b.jpgIMG_2856 by , on Flickr

Great views from the summit down loch Etive and the surrounding hills.Took about 3hrs up and down at a good pace

Sgurr Domnhuill(Beinn a Beithir) 1001m

Had time to add this one on after a lunch break.If youve ever headed down from Fort William to Ballachulish and noticed a fine looking mountain in front of you as you turn round  the road into Ballachulish.This is that mountain.Parked at the Chaolais car park beside the Ballachulish golf course on the Oban road.

There are markers at the start to guide you to the right hill

37799506274_cffeed91ae_b.jpgIMG_2913 by , on Flickr

26739481909_336b178bd2_b.jpgIMG_2918 by , on Flickr

Path heads uphill quite sharply and becomes less distinct further up,and if you lose it,you only have to aim for the lowest point(bealach) to keep on the right track.

Scree slope on the way to the bealach,avoidable by ascending the grassy strips either side

24642988928_a033b91d5b_b.jpgIMG_2926 by , on Flickr

....before turning left towards the summit

37799540674_c022c921a6_b.jpgIMG_2928 by , on Flickr

A bit stony as you approach the summit,but great views down loch Linnhe and Glencoe once you reach the summit(assuming its clear.....which it wasnt very)

38459345316_cd91d27e4a_b.jpgIMG_2959 by , on Flickr

We did a blog on our travels so i've lifted a few of the photos we took along the way.  If you ever get the opportunity to do the Inka Trek, do it. unreal scenery and well worth the early wake ups!

Pisac, old inkan settlement with a large number of terraces still in tact.

img_2795.jpg

Ollantaytambo

Another inkan terraced city.  This was made famous as one of the rebelling generals came from here and eventually married one of the Inkan daughters.  This town is where we spent the night before embarking on the trek early the next morning.

img_2808.jpg

I'll go through a few of the photos during the actual trek now:

Walking up dead womans pass (approx 1.2km incline - mainly up steps). some farmers had set fire to burn some of the shrub away but as expected, it got out control so the local rangers had to try and put it out with rubber mats:

open?id=1w5V-VlSYjQRck17L2uanD1jMmHyYotUJNQ

img_0157-2.jpg

Cloud forest area

img_2884-1.jpg

img_2917-1.jpg

Local Llamas making their way back home after a day on the mountains.

img_0246.jpg

Final inkan site before our last camp site and Machu Picchu the next morning

img_2952.jpg

view from sun gate which you arrive at about 6:30 am. Annoyingly, the gates all open at 5:30am so that allows the non trekkers to get there by bus and so it was pretty busy by the time we got there.

sun-gate-machu-picchu.jpg

img_3018.jpg

img_3068.jpg

There's a lot to be said for their architecture.  Nothing has fallen down due to earthquakes etc...whereas the colonial stuff has.

• 5 weeks later...

Spent a few days up at Lake Taupo and National Park around New Year. Awesome area, which I've been to before, but the other side of the lake.  Some epic walks which we will be doing over the next few months.  Weather unfortunately stopped us doing the Tongariro Crossing, so did a couple of walks in and around the area:

Pukake Bay:

2C42040C-4FDC-4E61-8176-4DFBFDA8AB40.jpg

Taranaki Falls - National Park:

0DAA0277-FDCE-4C66-AA54-6C80CB896D45.jpg

685897C8-E58F-4EE6-9071-3D88D88B7F5C.jpg

Taranaki Falls walk:

2_03_Taranaki-Falls-walk.jpg

Area reminds me a lot of the Cairngorms, minus the volcano when you can actually see it.

That last pic does look like the 'Gorms.Reminds me of looking over the plateau from Monadh mor to the back of Cairn Toul/Devils point etc etc

Had planned to blitz a lot of hills over the festive period but the amount of snow at times put a stop to that

Did a fine walk with the brother in law above Dunkeld over Xmas.A circuit of local lochs(Dowally,Polney,Mill dam) etc.Around a 10 mile trip all in

25610807948_94e58f679a_b.jpgIMG_3639 (2) by [/url], on Flickr

Frozen Loch Polney

25610836178_180de15707_b.jpgIMG_3645 by , on Flickr

27703502509_c2d9747e69_b.jpgIMG_3643 (2) by , on Flickr

Also did Ben More and Stob Binnein in deep snow.What a plowter though

Parked at Ben more farm(seen further ahead),near Crianlarich,on the A85.The sign in the foreground,which is to the east, is the starter for the track along to Ben more

39399474762_de8bfc56a0_b.jpgIMG_3513 by , on Flickr

Easy to follow track

24563662487_f397451683_b.jpgIMG_3436 by , on Flickr

The track comes to an abrupt halt at the tree below(top slighlty right of centre) and heads steeply uphill  :-\ 

27652670739_e7f743f42d_b.jpgIMG_3448 (2) by , on Flickr

Eases off further up

38722091684_1493b29ce9_b.jpgIMG_3463 by , on Flickr

Stob Binnein is ascended by dropping down to the south from Ben Mores summit,to the dip between the 2 hills,and up again,to the Stobs summit .Then come back down to the dip between the hills,and aim for the track again on the floor of the glen.

38722147584_c1236292cd_b.jpgIMG_3476 by , on Flickr

For scale,it took half an hour to get from the lowest point in the photo to the summit in the photo

38552017015_2e2753e32f_b.jpgIMG_3507 by , on Flickr

Tough hills,made tougher by the snow,but great views.6.5 hrs all in,for a normally 4 or 5 hrs trip

Its been a good year for those of us that like winter walking.Though theres been so much snow,kinda reaching the had enough now stage

Wouldnt recommend winter walking without proper eqpt or training,but the below 2 Munros are fairly wide ridged enough for room for error.The only downside being an incursion to Tayside to climb the hills

A pair of micro spikes to bite into the snow crust would be a minimum requirement for any potential adventurers.

Meall Corranaich 1069m, Meall a Choire Leith 926m

Parked at the top Lawers car park along the North shore of Loch Tay.and headed straight up the ridge ahead

25651832937_33b48fdbec_b.jpgIMG_3843 by [/url], on Flickr

Couldnt find the start of the path because of the snow,but met up with it further along the ridge.Summit of Meall Chorraniach beyond

25651840097_e5cdfe4ce2_b.jpgIMG_3852 by , on Flickr

A look back at the wide ridge and Loch Tay.Easy walking so far

40479743112_236383e47b_b.jpgIMG_3863 by , on Flickr

Steeper approaching summit

25651849077_453a9d52d4_b.jpgIMG_3855 by , on Flickr

At the summit.We looked at the route ahead,and wondered where the next Munro was.Worked out it was the round lump just to the left of where the 2 walkers are

39626904735_1e6f72267d_b.jpgIMG_3874 by , on Flickr

Race on for the scoop of ice cream

25652242667_6187b1fac6_b.jpgIMG_3873 (2) by , on Flickr

Approaching summit of Meall a Choire Leith.A path leads off just above the dip

,to the road back to the car park to avoid retracing your steps

40479750692_985d48efdc_b.jpgIMG_3896 by , on Flickr

Done a couple of walks of late, nothing too long due to other plans, but there are plenty to do in and around Wellington.

First one was out from Makara, which had a couple of old gun positions from the second world war.  Cracking hour long walk from the beach up, we decide to jog down which seemed easier due to the loose gravel.

375664D2-47C0-42F9-90CE-5A388013149F.jpg

Second one was closer to our house, a quick walk up Mt Kaukau which gives you a fantastic vista over the city.  WAs just a shame that the weather clouded over a wee bit when we got to the top.  It's part of the wider Northern walkway which covers a fair chunk of the cities surrounding areas, including towards the back of our house.  Will need to do the full one soon before winter comes.

khandallah-park.jpg

151C5C90-FC12-4427-B33C-480DC0FC1F8D.jpg

Sister stays across the water in Nelson,South island.Last time I was there we went around Marlborough and Queen Charlotte sounds.Beautiful bays,deserted beaches as was the Golden Bay area,though busier up there.

Two of the best hikes in the world are in South Island.Hope to do this one in a couple of years http://heaphytrack.com/

And this,allegedly the best hike in the world https://www.newzealand.com/uk/feature/milford-track/

Cheers Elgin, we’re still to do the South Island properly so will add them to the list. Next one is the tongariro crossing which we’ve attempted twice but the weather was too bad so had to postpone. Think tom widdows has done that one.

Nothing planned yet, Rocket. Getting married first and then see what happens. Would like the world to chill out a wee bit and things to settle down in the UK before considering coming back.

Good attitude dude.

Don't hold yer breath about the UK settling doon any time soon but the choice of woman is bigger than the choice of location so test-driving thoroughly is heartily recommended. And trust yer instincts.

You’ll have to wait till I get back to welly on Monday for photos, but managed the tongariro crossing today. Wow. Awesome hike and a lot harder than I thought it would be. The downhill section especially despite being downhill, still seemed to go up a lot!

Tom, probably changed a lot since you did it. We started at 9am but was rammed with folk pretty much all the way up and down. They’ve done a lot of work to create some proper paths. Still, stunning views. Managed to see Taranaki too  :thumbsup:

Righty, finally got around to doing this:

32C06589-6C28-48F3-AAF0-109BE49C72F4.jpg

ACB7076D-4B11-4635-A4C3-D55A98D47C86.jpg

Mount Taranaki in the distance

C00AF2AD-4510-4C2B-9351-E7E36EDD21D3.jpg

Mount Ngauruhoe - aka mount doom

8C2A2245-2327-4773-B4AF-3BC8DD355746.jpg

8B3F3CE6-E060-4F5A-A4B5-908D33C38932.jpg

76B56D3B-DB38-4EC4-B408-806A41AFAD57.jpg

909A31A8-4C4B-4E59-A6CB-CEDE757FFEB9.jpg

8708950E-C36C-4758-83D8-E0D5337D7262.jpg

637DA59D-5BDC-4652-BBA2-332EE7DCC03C.jpg

Along with the old Coach Road track which was pretty chilled out, mainly 19km of down hill with a few small climbs, I did the 42nd Traverse which was easily the most intense mountain bike ride i've done (i'm not a mountain biker).  42kms through the mountain side, which normally would be fine, but it had rained the night before and the track is shared with 4x4s. They completely tore it up which made it incredibly muddy (to the point you had to try to walk without stacking it).  Needless to say it was unsurprising a 4x4 got completely stuck and didn't look like it was moving any time soon, despite the efforts of 5 random guys trying to dig it out.

Anyway, awesome ride, through incredible scenery and a few river crossings  8)  Got up to 35km/h on the way day.

8F96C229-5BF5-4CF2-847A-88ACEB120951.jpg

F5024BF8-5D56-4266-B276-7072C4A6A1BE.jpg

53D6FA2E-2CAA-4271-89C3-AA9F959ACE9B.jpg

CADF7BD4-E5AA-43EC-B752-595AEB44F3E7.jpg

2A121868-B6D2-4C0E-8687-9D7DA4C4A884.jpg

785A26DD-30C2-46A2-BB1C-33D0DDC5C7AB.jpg

AF60F3BB-CD27-4392-B5B3-D1D7F6467ACD.jpg

Top photos look a bit parched post summer,but some similarities to Scotland in a couple of pics.Bottom pics are more what i remember the Nelson/Motueka/Marlborough area, South Island looked like

A couple of guys dropped out of hillwalking this last w/e,so my Sisters loon offered to come along to A Ghlas Bheinn instead.

Started off quite promising....

26355788457_82a1b746c8_b.jpgIMG_4055 by [/url], on Flickr

Got very near the top but the snow started coming in,and he didnt look too comfortable.Hung around for half an hour to see if it would clear,but decided to head back because it would get dark soon.

Forlorn looking nephew

27354845718_9ece06b81d_b.jpgIMG_4071 by , on Flickr

5 mins later the skies cleared and we realised we'd only been about 100m from the summit    :mad:

We went up to Kintail last w/e to stay in a bothy(Camban) overnight and bag a few hills the next day.Got up onto the first ridge and realised the snow was a bit more avalanche-ish than anticipated and decided not to risk it.

Thought I'd post some details up,as its well worth a trip to the bothy alone,with some of Scotlands finest mountains flanking the route,a triple waterfall(Allt Ghranda) on the way,and ending up in a remote glen with access to some great hills,if you can be arsed.

Park at the Kintail outdoor centre,Morvich,near the caravan park,and follow the track up the rhs of the River Chroe..Its just a case of following this track all the way past the Allt Ghranda,and on to Camban.

Total distance around 10 miles to Camban from Morvich.Total ascent appx 350m.Took us appx 3hrs with full gear and a shared 10kg bag of coal.

Camban bothy

41349758452_6a82b47a89_b.jpgIMG_4108 (2) by [/url], on Flickr

Inside

41392570651_1650e933cf_b.jpgIMG_4097 by , on Flickr

No electric,no water(stream nearby),no toilet.2 rooms with 4 bunks,and fire in each room(no fuel) Top tips - Get there before 4.We got there at 3 and thought we had the place to ourselves.By sunset it was a full house,(holiday w/e).

Go in summer,no fuel to carry 

39999009190_388ebac488_b.jpg31091991_1637419483032570_333026545746575360_n by [/url], on Flickr

Following Jezzas lavish praise,a good time to post up the latest wanderings.

Beinn Alligin(a ridge containing 2 munros, Sgurr Mohr 3234ft,Tom na Gruagaich 3024ft,and the horns of Alligin)

What a cracking day we had here at the W/E. Havnt seen views like we did on these hills.We did the whole circuit which includes the horns,but its possible to do the 2 munros without doing the tricky horn section as explained below

Parked at the National trust car park about 3 km West of the village of Torridon,and followed the path up on the rhs of the river(Abhainn Coire Mhic Nobuill),which is next to the car park

26905853757_a8417f9142_b.jpgIMG_4170 by , on Flickr

Most people do it Clockwise,but we did it anti-clockwise.Followed the path up crossing the 2 bridges you come to en route,and headed sharply up the ridge for about 20 mins before it eased off for a bit

The first horn to the right,with the first munro,Sgurr Mor to the left

26905866197_0f3f79fa2f_b.jpgIMG_4189 by , on Flickr

The first horn was the trickiest,requiring a wee bit of scrambling,ie using all fours,and a couple of bum slides on descent.

Looking back at the first horn descent.Looks worse that it was in reality,paths weave in and round the slabby sections

41774399271_1f5e73cd58_b.jpgIMG_4212 by , on Flickr

On the 3rd horn,looking over to the 2 munros

41774407481_3f3bea1da6_b.jpgIMG_4227 by , on Flickr

Best not to be done in snow,but the path zig zags up the inside of the rhs edge

39966695150_cdb904cd60_b.jpgIMG_4247 by , on Flickr

Once youve done that part,the trickiest bits are out the way.Sgurr Mor offers 360o of outstanding views

The route ahead from Sgurr Mor over to Tom na Gruagaich

27905603428_2057b85f85_b.jpgIMG_4317 by , on Flickr

Ptarmigan en route  :smile:

39966775490_85eb1dbe0d_b.jpgIMG_4345 (2) by , on Flickr

Just after the summit of Tom na Gruagaich,theres a cairn(left-mid photo) to mark the descent back to the car park.We managed to miss it and find an awkward clamber over rocks and scree instead  8)

39966891640_8d94c52c9c_b.jpgIMG_4365 by , on Flickr

Mistakes aside this is a superb mountain,voted in the top 10 of Scottish Munros.The tricky horns section can be avoided without missing much of the views,by ascending Tom na Gruagaich first,(follow lhs of river) and onto Sgurr Mor,and return the same way

Sgurr mor and the 3 horns on the way down

27905708708_ae2fb288ab_b.jpgIMG_4393 (2) by , on Flickr

Forecast looking good for most places the next couple of weeks,and nicely timed as a few of us go S/C up near Achilitbuie this next week for an annual bit of fishing,walking,and sunsets with a beer hopefully.

Last weekend,we made a late dash to get to Blaven(Bla Bheinn) on Skye for a summit sunset.Blaven is one of the 4 easier Cuillin Munros,along with Sgurr nan Eag,Sgurr nan Banachdich,and Bruach na Frithe.Easier,though a head for heights is handy.

Parked at the Torrin car park on the road to Elgol from Broadford,about 10 miles after Broadford.

40428285120_2865f5a696_b.jpgIMG_4422 by [/url], on Flickr

To get there you have to come through the village of Torrin(seen in below photo),and round the edge of the Loch before you get there.Car park is among the trees in the foreground

27365531217_4997ba07a6_b.jpgIMG_4428 by , on Flickr

To get going you have to walk out of the car park on to the road,turn left until you come to a gate that leads onto the path up the rhs of the stream

40428299540_8926776870_b.jpgIMG_4424 by , on Flickr

Blaven ahead on the left.Path crosses the stream further up and is just about visible going up to the left(below)

28362976938_70c68d82f0_b.jpgIMG_4429 by , on Flickr

42235905151_ab276ef461_b.jpgIMG_4435 by , on Flickr

Look out for a small lochan on your lhs(the only one around) as you go on.There is a path going straight ahead,and one going uphill.Go uphill.Gets steeper here

28362597268_27dc4315a8_b.jpgIMG_4440 by , on Flickr

Path can be seen zig zagging right of centre(click to enlarge)

40428984990_62282be7ae_b.jpgIMG_4455 (2) by , on Flickr

gravelly but not as bad as it looks

28362611058_d371b6b080_b.jpgIMG_4459 (2) by , on Flickr

Windows start to open up

40428501270_8afdc9fc39_b.jpgIMG_4473 (2) by , on Flickr

A bit of a short clamber for the last section before you get to the top

42236670561_a7c38cb6a4_b.jpgIMG_4446 by , on Flickr

This was the second time Ive been up Blaven,the other in winter.The views both times were outstanding all round.Another hill that was voted in the top 10 of all Munros.Well worth the effort.Took us 2.5 hours up,and 1.5 down,but we were nipping on to use the last of the light.Think around 6 hrs is the norm for non regular walkers

Without giving too much views away,got our sunset at the end    :smile:

42207905842_d2faa7138b_b.jpgIMG_4542 (3) by , on Flickr