Queen of the South v Aberdeen

It's a long trip down to Dumfries for Aberdeen this coming Wednesday as they take on Queen of the South in the League Cup. It begins at 7:45 pm.

Victory will seal qualification for the knockout rounds, and I think we will do it with a scrappy 1-0.

• Replies 64
  • Views 2.7k

Most Popular Posts

• OxfordDon
    OxfordDon

• dons8321
    dons8321

Good jinxing - goal from...

• RicoS321
    RicoS321

I wonder if Devlin is still struggling with that injury he got last season? It looked like the type that could cause lasting problems. A dirty challenge that not enough was said about, and resulted in

Posted Images

I'm going to call him anonymous more often

36 minutes ago, BigAl said:

I'll start and end with a positive

It is a lovely summer evening here in Dumfries.

Nothing else to add apart from the face that this young gull had the freedom of our right hand side for over ten minutes without being disturbed IMG20260722200412.jpg

Do they have a Seagull Management Plan in place, at Palmerston?

image.gif

YYYAAAASSS!!! .... Lyons ... 4-1

I was getting a wee bitty jittery all the time it was 1-1!

Couple more goals please. Still got time

League Cup final this year is on Eoin Jess' birthday.

It's meant to be.

Edit: Also three days after Stephen Robinson's birthday.

It's definitely happening.

Edited by Panda

Good win again. Fitness of the top side showing in this one, we were much better second half. The subs made a difference, with Armstrong especially looking very good, and bringing the best out of Ronan too. I do like Kjartansson too, his positioning is excellent, I hope he is given the opportunity to develop here if we've turned down offers for him. Looks like we're going to have to really on the carnage brought by Olusanya a lot this season! Not sure about the Morrocan lad yet. Overall, we were fine though. Need to keep Armstrong fit.

On the performance, took Lyons a while to settle in at right back but eventually he warmed to it and we essentially had five players across the middle and stretched Queens. Knocked it about okay, but the concern was some of the balls into the box weren't great from midfield.

But, aye we were fine. I said previously Lyons will get a few goals this season, but outwith him and Nisbet it's a concern. I get it, it's early, but no-one looks like they're pushing Nisbet for a starting spot.

Much better second half. Moved the ball quicker and had more legs across the park.

A lot of our deliveries into the box are still dire, though Armstrong delivered a couple of quality balls and Ronans corners were in the main very good.

Olusanya caused his usual chaos, Lyons came onto a game second half, though we still need a first choice RB, and Obi two was better at LB.

Nisbet hat trick - can’t ask for more than that. Third goal was the pick of the bunch, excellent move and finish.

So optimistic signs second half, but still plenty work to do…

They really do feel like friendly games, very difficult to judge the new guys. Enough to be slightly optimistic about.

Hearts at home first day of the league should be rocking

Brutal first half. Comfortable second half. Sad to see how downhill Palmerston is going. Main stand propped up with scaffolding and terracing behind one goal just been allowed to fall into disrepair. Even the seating are we were in is knackered.

Not sure if they showed the pitch invader on the tv coverage or not but still can't fathom out what the fuck his game was.

During 2nd half, young lad dressed in black complete with balaclava on, came out of their support behind Muller and ran towards the Aberdeen support in the stand. Got to half way line, looked behind himself, realised no one else was with him and shat himself, did an about turn and ran like fuck back into their support.

Not a single steward or polis went near him but did eventually huckle him out a couple of minutes later , followed by the young crew.

Still have literally no idea what the fuck it was about.

Curious if they said anything about it as it happened on Premier ?

36 minutes ago, BigAl said:

Not sure if they showed the pitch invader on the tv coverage or not but still can't fathom out what the fuck his game was.

During 2nd half, young lad dressed in black complete with balaclava on, came out of their support behind Muller and ran towards the Aberdeen support in the stand. Got to half way line, looked behind himself, realised no one else was with him and shat himself, did an about turn and ran like fuck back into their support.

Not a single steward or polis went near him but did eventually huckle him out a couple of minutes later , followed by the young crew.

Still have literally no idea what the fuck it was about.

Curious if they said anything about it as it happened on Premier ?

Aye, Stewart was having a good laugh about it. Unfortunately the cameras didn't show it, so we didn't have much idea what was happening. He said that the guy had pants on his head, and his trousers were falling down. Although never quite sure with Stewart if that's his attempt at humour.

Couple of Queens fans I know said he got slapped a couple of times by older folk at the back of the terracing before he was led out.