Queen of the South v Aberdeen

It's a long trip down to Dumfries for Aberdeen this coming Wednesday as they take on Queen of the South in the League Cup. It begins at 7:45 pm.

Victory will seal qualification for the knockout rounds, and I think we will do it with a scrappy 1-0.

• Replies 64
  • Views 2.7k

Most Popular Posts

• OxfordDon
    OxfordDon

• dons8321
    dons8321

Good jinxing - goal from...

• RicoS321
    RicoS321

I wonder if Devlin is still struggling with that injury he got last season? It looked like the type that could cause lasting problems. A dirty challenge that not enough was said about, and resulted in

Posted Images

3 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

That's what I was going to ask! Think it's a 4-3-3 with Lyons at fullback.

If it's a 4-3-3 then it hurts my head that Yogane is listed before Ronan.

Is everyone in the team getting a shot at being captain? Expecting an email from AberDNA offering me the chance to captain the team against Kelty.

Said it already but these games are 100% being treated as pre-season, rightly or wrongly.

Opta (via the BBC) give it as a 4-1-4-1 formation.

I see QOTS have A. Trialist in goal, the latest member of the famed Trialist family to play professional football.

9 minutes ago, swaddon said:

Opta (via the BBC) give it as a 4-1-4-1 formation.

I see QOTS have A. Trialist in goal, the latest member of the famed Trialist family to play professional football.

Deniz Mehmet, ex Dunfermline.

They originally signed Trevor Carson to be a playing coach but he got injured in pre season and retired, then they had a young ex rangers keeper playing a couple of games, now mehmet.

1 hour ago, Kowalski said:

Is it not the order that it comes out of the tombola…

4-1-4-1 with Aremu at RB according to the beeb

Screenshot_20260722_194321_BBC Sport.jpg

13 minutes ago, wester_ross_don said:

4-1-4-1 with Aremu at RB according to the beeb

Screenshot_20260722_194321_BBC Sport.jpg

And QotS have a quine called Hannah in defence

I said it two seasons ago Liam Smith is a baller. Amazing nobody has taken him from QOTS

Holy fuck!! 😮 ... sucker punch ... 1-0 tae the wrang guys ☹️

Penalty ;)

GOAALLL!! Nisbet 😃

Edited by Radiored

Is fawanews down? Was hoping to watch the rest on my way to work but doesn’t seem to be working. Was a woeful first half from what I saw (I missed the pen).

2 minutes ago, manc_don said:

Is fawanews down? Was hoping to watch the rest on my way to work but doesn’t seem to be working. Was a woeful first half from what I saw (I missed the pen).

Workin fine here ....

http://www.fawanews.sc/Queen%20of%20South%20vs%20Aberdeen.html

Poor game, looks like an old school turf pitch, awful to play on and players don’t look overly comfortable.

Well I don’t think this tactic of playing with no actual full backs is going to catch on.

Not impressed, Ronan has been lively but far too much huff and puff and aimless punts up the park or as diagonals.

Need to see much better second half…

Aye, fawa fine. Unfortunately! We've been poor. They've pressed us very well, and we don't move the ball quickly, nor does it appear that any of our players can move it quickly. Lyons not a good experiment at right back. Yogane been poor, and Ronan not really doing it either. All a bit meh. Hopefully this is our preseason, and we're still involved in getting up to speed. Briedl looks worse than at the weekend, hasn't responded well to pressure. Aremu been okay. Keeper looks slightly more keeperish today too.

Pretty poor first half. On this showing Happe will struggle with pace of premier league. Very little being offered by midfield and wingers. Second half can only be better.

5 minutes ago, manc_don said:

Whilst not working the keeper hugely I was impressed with how we responded to going behind.

Somebody tell Lyons the rules of the game do allow the ball to be passed forward as well as backwards.

I'll start and end with a positive

It is a lovely summer evening here in Dumfries.

Nothing else to add apart from the face that this young gull had the freedom of our right hand side for over ten minutes without being disturbed IMG20260722200412.jpg

Pretty dire stuff. Several issues but one point I’d to make is that Nisbet is never suited to a 3 up front / lone striker. He works much better when there is another striker in there.

Crying out for some decent full backs though.

I've barely watched the first half. I actually turned it on just as Queen's scored, so I can't comment too much on the half.

However, it's maybe what we needed in pre-season (which is what it is), falling behind and having a few moans from the fans. Just a wee kick up the arse. Certainly the goal we concede, Aremu is a little too casual in possession and in trying to win it back.

This isn't great. Nisbet totally anonymous. Stale safe play. Needs to be much better.

YAASSSS!! ... Nisbet! 2-1

2 minutes ago, redordead said:

This isn't great. Nisbet totally anonymous. Stale safe play. Needs to be much better.

Good jinxing - goal from...

And now the h-t

Double jinxin .... 3-1 ... Nisbet 😃

Edited by Radiored