Brora Rangers v Aberdeen

Proper fitba starts next Tuesday 14th as the Dons travel to Brora to take on Rangers in the League Cup.

I fancy a 2-0 away win to start off our treble winning season.

• Replies 53
  • Views 2.5k

Most Popular Posts

• I would expect as close to our strongest team as possible, very little experimenting. Think Robinson knows he still has many Dons fans to win over and nothing less than a win by a few goals will do. P

• Radiored
    Radiored

It wisna a great game, the condition o' the pitch had a part in that, but there were some mildly encouragin' signs. For starters, less playin' oot fae the back. Generally, oor play was mair direct th

• See Nisbet is El Capitano Not a fan of a forward being captain as I like my captain's to see the game in front of them, NOT behind them. Just my opinion and don't expect you all to agree with me

Posted Images

31 minutes ago, Ajja said:

Team looked like they were still in preseason to be honest. Other than about 10 mins in the second half Brora didn’t trouble the penalty area at all. That lack of danger in this and Linfield game meant Aremu was comfortable holding the midfield alone giving Lyons and Ronan license to press higher. Lyons in particular got into dangerous areas consistently and could have had 3 or 4 in the first half. Similar to Linfield, the defence weren’t troubled but strolled it. Didn’t get much from Smith but the pitch was dreadful, grass was long and surface was bumpy so no ability to move the ball quickly. Yogane is a funny player, looks cumbersome and lethargic when he picks up the ball then accelerates like a tractor but once he gets going he glides past players. He saw much more of it than Smith and looked a real threat. At one point we had Nisbet, Olusanya and Mouloa on against a tired out Brora and we didn’t create much which was a worry. Game was probably done by then though. Routine win and on to slightly more challenging game Saturday.

We had three center forwards on the field, no space as a result, and limited width to create for them. Clearly nisbet was left on to get a hat trick, olusanya should have been wider, and Mouloua given minutes to help gain fitness/connect with the team. Game was over by then anyway.

Job done without too much drama.

Saturday will be / should be a bit more of a challenge but I expect much of the same and a similar outcome (maybe even a goal or two more)

Pretty sure Robinson referred to last night's game as "extended" or "glorified" pre-season in his interview after Linfield. Maybe a slightly dangerous mindset but it sounds like that's exactly the type of runout that it was.