Today's World Cup Games

Mexico and South Africa start off the World Cup tonight at 8 pm, and that's followed by South Korea v Czechia at 3 am. Both games are in Group A.

I think a home win and a draa in those games.

• Replies 553
  • Views 13.2k

Most Popular Posts

• InversneckieDob
    InversneckieDob

I really need to learn. Every two years I get the fear, every two years wendys lose to the first good team they play.

• Did their solution involve pointing and laughing as I have found that a great way to deal with their defeat. I had a zoom call with my colleagues in London yesterday and the start was delayed 15 minu

• CurlsLikeTattie
    CurlsLikeTattie

Sorry, but just no to all of this. I am in a current minority who still love America (despite the obvious orange turn offs), and I love American sport, but not everything needs to be Americanised, and

Posted Images

5 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

More football ruining pish from the Yanks at half time here. For players' entire careers they've had their bodies tuned to a fifteen minute break, and the most important game of their careers some yank dicks decide to change it.

Like it or not, football is not a traditional man’s sport any more. It’s global entertainment, and the half time show was global entertainment for the whole family. What an experience for those kids to be part of that show. Do I like it, no, but it’s entertainment.

We see totally different European club tournaments now, for better or worse, the world cup is evolving too. More subs, water breaks, more teams, and a half time show. Cant argue it’s been the more spectacular World Cup ever, and I expect it only to get bigger with 64 teams and a bigger world spectacle.

25 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said:

Like it or not, football is not a traditional man’s sport any more. It’s global entertainment, and the half time show was global entertainment for the whole family. What an experience for those kids to be part of that show. Do I like it, no, but it’s entertainment.

We see totally different European club tournaments now, for better or worse, the world cup is evolving too. More subs, water breaks, more teams, and a half time show. Cant argue it’s been the more spectacular World Cup ever, and I expect it only to get bigger with 64 teams and a bigger world spectacle.

I can't argue that it has or hasn't been the most spectacular world cup ever, because that's a meaningless, subjective term. The water breaks aren't an evolution. They're terrible and will likely not be repeated. Hence why they were booed throughout the tournament, by actual football fans. No actual football fan wanted to see that half time pish, that every other host country has managed to avoid since 1930. Have a closing ceremony if you must. You know it must be really bad when the hand picked, dull, BBC pundit (Rooney in this case) says that he thought it was crap live on air.

You thinks the changes to the European trophies are evolution? It’s all about money, nobody cares about hype footballing the players. Water breaks are tv time out, someone making a fortune from those. Money talks. They may go, may not. And most traditional football fans will agree, crap half time show, but it’s entertainment that gets people to watch.

It's about time that an Argentinian player got sent off.

1 minute ago, BigAl said:

FFS another thirty minutes of this pish

The last five minutes was entertaining.

I want Spain to win, but I can see the kings of shithoosery sneaking it with a late winner or penalties.

Weel, Ah decided tae tune in jist efter the 2nd half juice break. By aa accounts, Ah've seen the best o' the game.

Ah'm rootin' for Spain, and the bonus might be seein' Trump's coupon handin' the cup ower tae a country he's been slaggin' aff 😉 (Tho Ah'd rather piece o' shite wisna there tae stink the place oot).

Spain take the lead at long last.

Spain deservedly win. Argentina were a disgrace to the game.

Best team won. Thats Spain reigning Olympic, European and World Champions.

Wee square go from a few of the Argentinians at the end

The spirit of Antonio Rattan, who died earlier this month, lives on in this World Cup 😂

The last team to beat Spain in a competitive match was Scotland in Euro 2024 qualifying.

Justice done. Viva España!

Not exactly a revelation but what a horrible bunch of cheating bastards the Argentinians are. They should be tried for war crimes for that performance.

Edited by STFU_Donny

Loved Rooney summing up the half time show.

Well done Spain, noo jist fuck aff an' let us aa get back tae proper mannie's fitba.

1 hour ago, swaddon said:

Spain deservedly win. Argentina were a disgrace to the game.

Absolutely. Argentina can get in the fucking sea. That some of them ignored drumpf, fair play, but they were an absolute abomination today. Thank fuck an actual football team won it today. I still don't see how a foul was called for Otamendi. The guy was flying down even before his foot was "stood" on.

11 hours ago, OrlandoDon said:

Sorry, but just no to all of this.

I am in a current minority who still love America (despite the obvious orange turn offs), and I love American sport, but not everything needs to be Americanised, and not everything needs to be an entertainment fest. Take half time to go for a piss, have a drink, chat about how crap your team are. Just take a break from the 'entertainment' you actually tuned up / tuned in to watch.

You don't have to keep people stimulated every second. Just drop the shit.

Edited by CurlsLikeTattie

31 minutes ago, CurlsLikeTattie said:

Sorry, but just no to all of this.

I am in a current minority who still love America (despite the obvious orange turn offs), and I love American sport, but not everything needs to be Americanised, and not everything needs to be an entertainment fest. Take half time to go for a piss, have a drink, chat about how crap your team are. Just take a break from the 'entertainment' you actually tuned up / tuned in to watch.

You don't have to keep people stimulated every second. Just drop the shit.

I think most people are able to separate the US from its politicians, generally speaking. It was an excellent world cup, overall, despite the final and with the next tournament being in Europe (and Africa) we'll see an end to pish like the half time show. The Europeans will have no truck with that shite. Although in four years time in the Mediterranean, I would expect that water breaks will certainly be a feature. All of this assuming that there will still be a world cup by that point!

21 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

I think most people are able to separate the US from its politicians, generally speaking. It was an excellent world cup, overall, despite the final and with the next tournament being in Europe (and Africa) we'll see an end to pish like the half time show. The Europeans will have no truck with that shite. Although in four years time in the Mediterranean, I would expect that water breaks will certainly be a feature. All of this assuming that there will still be a world cup by that point!

Water breaks for health reasons are fine by me. But teams in centre circle and not an excuse for tactical talk from boss. And no water breaks in a covered aircon stadium.

24 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

I think most people are able to separate the US from its politicians, generally speaking.

I’m not. A third of them knowingly voted for a demented rapist & another third of them didn’t care either way

None of them are doing anything about it and their piss poor choices have a huge knock on effect around the world.

I switched it off after Bieber brought the guitar out. Doesn’t sound like I missed much. The tournament shouldn’t go there again

5 hours ago, Mason89 said:

I’m not. A third of them knowingly voted for a demented rapist & another third of them didn’t care either way

None of them are doing anything about it and their piss poor choices have a huge knock on effect around the world.

I switched it off after Bieber brought the guitar out. Doesn’t sound like I missed much. The tournament shouldn’t go there again

People get too caught up in stuff that does not affect the fitba, exactly the same as in the Qatar world cup. Who the president is in the host country had no effect on the watching of France v Spain. We pretend that we are o so perfect in this country and we are far from it.

9 minutes ago, wokinginashearerwonderland said:

People get too caught up in stuff that does not affect the fitba, exactly the same as in the Qatar world cup. Who the president is in the host country had no effect on the watching of France v Spain. We pretend that we are o so perfect in this country and we are far from it.

It does affect the football. The ridiculous appeal for the US team, the half time show, what happened to the Somali ref, the Congo fan, the Iranian team, the Argentina banner, the peace prize, awarding the trophy… what World Cup were you watching?

Qatar shouldn’t have got it either.

Edited by Mason89

37 minutes ago, Mason89 said:

It does affect the football. The ridiculous appeal for the US team, the half time show, what happened to the Somali ref, the Congo fan, the Iranian team, the Argentina banner, the peace prize, awarding the trophy… what World Cup were you watching?

Qatar shouldn’t have got it either.

So you were really thinking about the Somalian ref not getting into the country and Trump getting some made up award at the draw when you were watching the Scotland matches? Dinna speak shite.

The biggest problem was 48 teams which ruined the group stage. When you're watching on TV it doesn't matter which country it's in because it looks like it could be anywhere.

57 minutes ago, wokinginashearerwonderland said:

So you were really thinking about the Somalian ref not getting into the country and Trump getting some made up award at the draw when you were watching the Scotland matches? Dinna speak shite.

My enthusiasm was sapped for this farce long before Scotland kicked off, although they made it worse

Every ridiculous thing that happened, only happened because it was in the US